Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Richard and Judy

• 08-12-2004 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭

Whilst channel surfing last night I happened upon Andrea Corr on "Richard and Judy", towards the end of the interview they had a little bit of fun lined up for Andrea. They sent a camera around the "Richard and Judy" office and asked all their researchers to do an Irish accent, of course many of these were of the "top o'da mornin' to ya" variety. Andrea was none-too-impressed and complained that they were stereotypical accents that made the Irish out to be thick, cue a lot of backtracking and condescending praise for the Irish and our accents.
    Whilst I wouldn't say it offended me particularly, I would have thought that in this day and age we would have been a way towards removing the "thick Irish Paddy" stereotype, alas, it appears not, and with stuff like this still being churned out in the name of humour, it could still be some time.

If I can be bothered, I may send them off an email highlighting my concerns, for all the good it'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Before you do, think about what you would say if someone asked you to do an accent from another country.

"I'm from Canana, eh"
    "Gu'day mate!"
    etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

viewerenquiries@channel4.co.uk is the email address you need ;)

Alternatively +44 20 7306 8333 9am-9pm weekdays, 11am-9pm Saturdays, 10am-6pm (closed 1pm-2pm) Sundays and public holidays and bend C4's ear directly ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Dr. Dre wrote:
    Whilst channel surfing last night I happened upon Andrea Corr on "Richard and Judy", towards the end of the interview they had a little bit of fun lined up for Andrea. They sent a camera around the "Richard and Judy" office and asked all their researchers to do an Irish accent, of course many of these were of the "top o'da mornin' to ya" variety. Andrea was none-too-impressed and complained that they were stereotypical accents that made the Irish out to be thick, cue a lot of backtracking and condescending praise for the Irish and our accents.
    Whilst I wouldn't say it offended me particularly, I would have thought that in this day and age we would have been a way towards removing the "thick Irish Paddy" stereotype, alas, it appears not, and with stuff like this still being churned out in the name of humour, it could still be some time.

If I can be bothered, I may send them off an email highlighting my concerns, for all the good it'll do.

Why should you care? Unless youre English of course. It's just another reason why we generally don't like the English. They are ignorant towards every nation but their own so I wouldn't get my knickers in a twist over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Fair play to her. I always thought the Corrs were far too 'media careful' to make any waves so I'm impressed AC didn't let that one go.

The English seem to think because they famously can 'laugh at themselves' (as individuals but not as a nation mind you!) that that therefore gives them the right to take the piss out of every other country on earth.

So R+J (and anyone else to whom this 'harmless' racist blather may concern) my advise is ... you should first joyfully embrace YOUR OWN NATIONAL STEREOTYPES ie
    1) Having the worst teeth in the developed world
    2) Being latently homosexual because of your range of (mainly) effeminate nasally accents
    3) Living on a diet of fish+chips
    4) Being sexually repressed

... and then by all means come play 'be the hokey' with us. Not so funny now is it?

But don't worry I'll be laughing hard as anyone when you come round to it!

Pigman II wrote:
    Fair play to her. I always thought the Corrs were far too 'media careful' to make any waves so I'm impressed AC didn't let that one go.

The English seem to think because they famously can 'laugh at themselves' (as individuals but not as a nation mind you!) that that therefore gives them the right to take the piss out of every other country on earth.

So R+J (and anyone else to whom this 'harmless' racist blather may concern) my advise is ... you should first joyfully embrace YOUR OWN NATIONAL STEREOTYPES ie
    1) Having the worst teeth in the developed world
    2) Being latently homosexual because of your range of (mainly) effeminate nasally accents
    3) Living on a diet of fish+chips
    4) Being sexually repressed

... and then by all means come play 'be the hokey' with us. Not so funny now is it?

But don't worry I'll be laughing hard as anyone when you come round to it!

Worse Teeth???? Homosexual ????
    (well if you think)

But what about :
    - Most hated country in Europe.
    - Brutal education level
    - Most ignorant race in Europe
    - A nation that mourned Dianas death for years and she wasn't even Royalty.
    - A nation that treats their Monarch with way too much respect and they're all Germans!!!!!!!!.

Great Thread this...... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Before you do, think about what you would say if someone asked you to do an accent from another country.

"I'm from Canana, eh"
    "Gu'day mate!"
    etc...

or

"yes Massa, I be pickin' so cotton' fo you"

although I didn't see the show, I'd imagine that area is a bit of a minefield, think the problem is more Englands history with Ireland, so anything that can be taken to cause offence, even if it is done lightheartidly, can cause offence.

I'm sure if they had been asked to do Welsh accents they would have gone on about leaks, rarebit, and coal mines.

And if someone was asked on Irish tv to do a cork accent, I wouldn't be surprised to hear someone say "like he's a langer like"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭mwnger

- Most hated country in Europe.

In a recent Europe-wide poll, the Germans were voted the most hated country in Europe. I think the French were a distant second
    - Brutal education level

Compared to who? If just Europe, than I'm pretty sure they have a better education system than most Eastern European countries. And there's no way they have the worst in the world.
    - Most ignorant race in Europe

Again, where's your evidence? Surely the most ignorant race would be the one with the worst education system. And when you say race, do you mean English or British? How ignorant are the Scots or the Welsh? And can the English be described as one homogenous race anymore?
    - A nation that mourned Dianas death for years and she wasn't even Royalty.

I wouldn't say the whole nation mourned her. There is a sizeable republican element in England (English republicanism, I mean) who wouldn't have been too bothered about Diana's death. And to be fair, most of the criticism - and cynicism - about the over-the-top grieving for her emanated from the British media itself, from what I remember. And don't forget, a lot of Irish people bought into that bullsh*t as well. Our papers were wall-to-wall Diana for weeks after her death.
    - A nation that treats their Monarch with way too much respect and they're all Germans!!!!!!!!.

Actually, from observing the British media, I don't think the Royal Family are treated with respect at all (whether they deserve any is another matter). Tabloids view them merely as a means of selling newspapers. On nearly every British comedy programme I can think of, the Royal Family have the piss ripped outta them on a regular basis. I don't know how many times I've heard the 'Queen is really German' joke on programmes like Have I Got News For You or the Jonathan Ross show. Any English people I've talked to are more embarrassed by their monarchy than anything else.

Before I go, I would like to add that I'm not some Kevin Myers-style pro-British trumpet-blower. I would consider myself an Irish republican (of the Wolfe Tone variety). But we're just as liable to stereotyping them (and other nationalities) as they are of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

Please give Richard a slap

your sincerely
    Paul C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

chewy wrote:
    Please give Richard a slap

your sincerely
    Paul C

Pretty much sums it up really.

Having a go at the English because Richard Madeley said something stupid is a bit unfair. The man is a complete moron, even by English standards. His wife spends half the programme trying to explain away all the dumb things he comes out with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

Don't see why we shouldn't jump on the old racism bandwagon. I saw a guy getting clamped who was jumping around saying " Thees ees racist attack" over and over, despite the row of similarly clamped paddies.

I think that ANY mistake made by that pair should be capitalised upon. They are everything that's wrong with TV, and she's a sexist pig to boot.

So there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

overdriver wrote:
    I think that ANY mistake made by that pair should be capitalised upon. They are everything that's wrong with TV, and she's a sexist pig to boot.

MAN POWER!!!!!!!!!!

mwnger wrote:
    Before I go, I would like to add that I'm not some Kevin Myers-style pro-British trumpet-blower. I would consider myself an Irish republican (of the Wolfe Tone variety). But we're just as liable to stereotyping them (and other nationalities) as they are of us.

Oh you may not think you are but you are mate. The ENGLISH (not the British) are a shower of unpopular, ignorant, poorly educated (see an A-Level paper???, its a Primary school here standard!!!), royal loving (and yes the country SHUT DOWN when Diana died), not to mention racist nation(they are highlighting the racism in Spain and Portugal at matches these days when that sort of thing goes on weekly in England (see Ron Atkinson: typical old school racist, doesn't even realise he is one))

Mossy Monk wrote:
    MAN POWER!!!!!!!!!!

Absolutely! Sexism isn't ok when women do it... Have you seen the little bits before Cornation Street where the woman won't share her chocolate with her boyfriend and is teasing him with bits, then snatching them away? Wonder how that'd go down if the shoe were on the other foot??

Actually, there's a thread in that!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭mwnger

Oh you may not think you are but you are mate.

Wow, I never looked at it that way. You're right! I must be! What a great argument!
    The ENGLISH... are a shower of unpopular, ignorant, poorly educated... royal loving... not to mention racist nation
    ...typical old school racist, doesn't even realise he is one))

The words Pot, Kettle and Black come to mind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

although I didn't see the show, I'd imagine that area is a bit of a minefield, think the problem is more Englands history with Ireland, so anything that can be taken to cause offence, even if it is done lightheartidly, can cause offence.

Or could it be that Judy Finnigan has a chip on her shoulder about being a plastic paddy :D

pork99 wrote:
    Or could it be that Judy Finnigan has a chip on her shoulder about being a plastic paddy :D

No, I reckon its because she's fat and ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Does anybody else find it alarming how much a Richard and Judy interview resembles some sort of Dominant/ Submissive dynamic?

R: "Hello Frightened Celebrity. I hear all your fans are wierdos."
    J: "Meekly stated real fact. Interesting question."
    Frightened Celebrity. "Potentially interesting answer-"
    R: "LOUDLY SHOUTING IRRELEVANT THINGS! SILENCE JUDY! ONLY RICHARD MAY SPEAK! LOUDLY!"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

LOL - A psycho-sexual analysis of Richard and Judy. Dammit I want to rep you for that biggrin.gif

I miss my rep crack hits... :( Seriously, I leave you people alone for like a week...

give j ross a slap aswell...

he had dara o brien on and dara seriously asked him not to do the oirish accent whihc he did repeatedly

Difference is that Ross is equally willing to take the piss of the way he speaks himself. R+J aren't known for their keen self deprecating wit.

he was explain how he avoided bowing to the queen at the royal variety performance as an irish man...

he also mentioned that he pointed out to Johnathan ross while he was doing his Oirish accent if he was Indian and Johnathan started doing a thick stereotypical Indian accent it would be considered racist... so why is he doing an Oirish one... the BBC cut it out though... ???

he gone up another notch in my book for those ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭PRE_10_DER

BolBill wrote:
    Oh you may not think you are but you are mate. The ENGLISH (not the British) are a shower of unpopular, ignorant, poorly educated (see an A-Level paper???, its a Primary school here standard!!!), royal loving (and yes the country SHUT DOWN when Diana died), not to mention racist nation(they are highlighting the racism in Spain and Portugal at matches these days when that sort of thing goes on weekly in England (see Ron Atkinson: typical old school racist, doesn't even realise he is one))

wow, you are a complete an utter muppet ain't ya.