Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driven shoots

• 07-12-2004 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭

Are there any good driven shoots in your area,I usually do one every year, and am looking for a few new options

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Pull!theother1

Whats your area?

Shoots appear to have increased prices between 10 and 20% this year and expect to pay €30-€40 plus a bird.

When will the bubble burst?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

cant see that happening, in a few years time very few farmers will let you shoot their lands so we will have no other option butto pay big money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭allnight_2002

homerhop wrote:
    cant see that happening, in a few years time very few farmers will let you shoot their lands so we will have no other option butto pay big money

Lets hope that never happens here. As I know allot of shooters who just could not affored to pay the amount that some of these driven shoots charge. Myself included :(

Any way I much perfer riugh shooting. One man and his dog !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Irishglockfan

30 to 40 a bird?????Jeeze!!!!!.It will be cheaper soon to hop on a plane and fly to Poland or Hungary and go shooting over there.
    A bird is appx 3 euros over there!!!And a average day is 80 to 100 WILD birds.Not farmed and released two days before the drive type shoot.Ok I can understand a commerical shoot wants to make money,and the costs of rearing,etc etc
    .But I personally think some of these shoot reard birds are as tame and dopey as domestic chickens.Maybe they are "sport" for the social climbing once a year type hunters.I would rather just shoot ONE wild bird that gives me a tricky and challenging shot,than a dozen dimwitted reared pheasents.

Folks,I have to say it but every day and in every way .We are being RIPPED OFF more and more here. :mad:

I am in a club and we rear 1000+ every year. From the day they can get out of the release area they are on their own, except we put out feeding barrels for them. They are far from tame and tent to be every bit as good and sometimes better to shoot at, as by the time a bird comes near you they are in full flight and in the heavens, but I understand what you are saying.
    In small shoots it costs in the reigon of €300, but in some of the big shoots esp some of the estates in wicklow it can come closer to €600+
    A few of us tend to go to one once a year since we spend most of the year rearing them, its nice to go and have someone else burst their ass for the day, plus its a good excuse to get away and have a lads weekend away!!!

30 to 40 a bird?????Jeeze!!!!!.It will be cheaper soon to hop on a plane and fly to Poland or Hungary and go shooting over there.
    A bird is appx 3 euros over there!!!And a average day is 80 to 100 WILD birds.Not farmed and released two days before the drive type shoot.Ok I can understand a commerical shoot wants to make money,and the costs of rearing,etc etc
    .But I personally think some of these shoot reard birds are as tame and dopey as domestic chickens.Maybe they are "sport" for the social climbing once a year type hunters.I would rather just shoot ONE wild bird that gives me a tricky and challenging shot,than a dozen dimwitted reared pheasents.

Folks,I have to say it but every day and in every way .We are being RIPPED OFF more and more here. :mad:

Irishglockfan I have to agree with you 100%. There is an shoot close to the my club. The pheasents are complete dimwitted. I was driving up the raod close to the shoot the other day and I had to get out of my car to hunt the pheasents of the road there must have been 15 cock together. you could walk up to them and catch them with you hands. :(

I ask you where is the spot in this. there is no challange in shooting these birds. It would be like shooting fish in a barrell :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I ask you where is the spot in this. there is no challange in shooting these birds.
    It's reverse psychology. The pheasants have figured out that the wild, challanging ones get shot :D

Sparks wrote:
    It's reverse psychology. The pheasants have figured out that the wild, challanging ones get shot :D
    OH MY GOD :eek: Thats it
    Guess I will have to just take the easy shoot to teach them a leassion :D

homerhop wrote:
    In small shoots it costs in the reigon of €300, but in some of the big shoots esp some of the estates in wicklow it can come closer to €600+
    QUOTE]

Where are these shoots? Most of the big shoots are charging €1000 plus per gun per day....... and some a good deal more

Most driven shoots have good birds these days, but there are still a few rip offs. Tame birds are just bad mannagement, I have seen reared birds that go balistic at the sight of a human or dog!

We get good value by going North where rip off Ireland is still but a dream.

The best value per bird is dove shooting in Argentina....

Oh for a Lotto win.

We beat a few days for some of the estates in wicklow so we usually get a day at the end of the season for about €400.
    Waiting for confirmation on a days shooting near Tullow going to cost in the reigon of €300-€400.
    Our own shoots wer €350 this year,we only ran 3 days and I seen one guy use 3 boxes of ctgs and shoot only 4 birds. He was delighted cos he got good shooting just couldnt hit the broad end of a barn.
    As you said tame birds are bad mannagment, and when you think about it if you are hunting a ditch you have a much beter chance of shooting a bird flighting from a ditch than a bird that is in full flight over the top of a plantaion of beach trees

There used to be a good shoot up of the coast of Ballycastle, on Rathlin Island.Dont know if that is still on the go though.

There used to be a good shoot up of the coast of Ballycastle, on Rathlin Island.Dont know if that is still on the go though.[/QUOTE]

The island is still there :D ,but that shoot is gone I am afraid, but not forgotten......

I went there for three years, 2/3 shoots per year, and each day was different.

Was last there almost this time two years ago and it was on its last legs then.

Did you go often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

There is a guy who shoots as part of a syndicate on our shoot, 2 years ago he spent over €7,000 on shooting and didn't hit one bird.

But that aside driven shooting is very challenging and is totally different to rough shooting. The birds are high and travelling very fast, roughshooting is easy by comparison.

It amuses me to see the kind of ranting and raving that some fellahs go on about driven shooting being so wrong. In my opinion it is the most challenging type of shooting the birds are coming towards you as opposed to going away from you and it really is a test of skill to hit them when they are high and fast. Sur most fellahs out rough shooting are only engaging in drive by shootings. In and out of the car shooting birds, they don't know the first thing about hunting with dogs and as for walking they might as+well+forget+about+it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

from what i can see the lads who waffle on about how can there be any sport in this driven shooting the birds are so tame etc etc etc ect have no idea what it is about, a pheasant flying at full tilt over your head at 40yrds up takes some hitting 1000times far more difficult than bum stuffing a bird getting up 20 yrds ahead of you out of a ditch inmvho
    it's not about how tame or wild they are it's how they are presented to the guns
    birds well back fronm aline of guns are a testing target as anyone who has tried it will testify
    too many of those experts will flush a bird miss watch where he goes then go hunt him again if they are fit enough to walk that far half the time they drive around till they see a bird on stubble or such like hop out and slam the car door so it hits the ditch then go try and shoot him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

landkeeper wrote: »
    bum stuffing a bird getting up 20 yrds ahead of you out of a ditch

Lovely description,that had me laughing in front of the screen !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

I can understand prices going up alright. I reckon demand for single days shooting is on the up.

In my case, I am not paying the big syndicate shillings this year for a number of reasons
    1. Money is tighter- nuff said there
    2. Last 2 seasons had big closures / travel disruption really cutting back the chances to make it to days!
    3. Value for money dictates it's cheaper to buy one or two days only than even a half gun on the syndicate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

i've down both forms of shooting and enjoyed both.driven shooting is by far the harder theres no comparison.but its just to expensive for myself and most guys i know.but just let me point out not all rough shooters are lazy feckers and not all of them spend all day getting in and out of ther car.but i have to admit there are quite a few of them guys that would drive around all day and never get out of the car if they never seen a bird from the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

I also have done both types of shooting and enjoyed both.I have to say the driven shoot I shot on have some cracking birds and are very challenging.But I rather rough shooting and I wonder if some of you lads know what rough shooting really is.You are going on about lads hopping in and out of cars and calling this rough shooting.Thats a load of bull,thats poachers you are talking about.We bring 2 jeeps with us park one up at a farm and drive to another and walk 2 or 3 farms back to the parked jeep.I rather this type of shooting because I get to work my dogs all morning and maybe go home with a bird or two at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭X1R

I haven't done driven shooting, plain and simple cannot afford it, but can imagine the difficulty that a high fast bird would bring.
    Rough shooting for me is a day out with a bunch of mates, the banter and craic. A beautiful fresh morning, seeing a tail wafting over some cover, the sound of smashing briars and the crash of white thorn as a dog does its absolute best to put up that bird up for you :) and the reward is seeing the "smile" on thier face when they retrieve the quary (if you knock one):rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Jeez Im shocked about the reputation of rough shooters. I'm not saying its unjustified, just that I never thought enough people would 'hunt' like that to get themselves a name.

Personally whenther I'm out with the rifle or shotgun now, Ill spend most of the time walking. The shortest route I take would be 2 miles and thats when I go for a quick shoot. My normal route would be 4 - 5 miles over hills rivers and ditches.

Cant understand the mentality of driving along till you see a bird in the stubble and then get out shoot and drive off again:confused: Get out and hunt ye lazy hoors. (unless of course your not physically capable due to health etc then its understandable)

I'm not giving out about roughshooting its my favourite type of shooting, its just that whenever anyone comes on here asking about driven shooting someone always has to come on giving out about how driven shooting is cruel as the birds are tame, can't fly, its only for the rich etc., etc.

If it wasn't for driven shooting, rough shooting would probably cease to exist.