Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

microsoft deteting piracy?

• 07-12-2004 1:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭

hey just a quick question.
    how do microsoft know if someone install's win xp home on 2 computers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

They'd only know if you registered your copy of XP ,online, on both PCs (shouldn't have to register anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

you have to activate xp, either online or over the phone

not necessarily.....

were not encouraging piracy are we...

Of course not, but the original question was "How does microsoft detect piracy" and the answer is that they don't, as long as you don't register your copy.

http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/activation.mspx

the only way around would be to "crack" the software, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

NO.
    "Customers who acquire licenses for most products through one of Microsoft's volume licensing programs will not be required to activate those licenses."

why would he be worried pircy when installing 2 copies of xp if he has a volume license agreement?

Very true. And I like the way you put crack in inverted comma's! If he wants to crack it let him off. He's not going to have Bill Gates showing up to his door with 2 FBI agents to confiscate his pc. There's plenty of cracks available, he'll just have to find them himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Modified wrote:
    NO.
    "Customers who acquire licenses for most products through one of Microsoft's volume licensing programs will not be required to activate those licenses."

Err... if he had acquired a volume licence, he'd know about it. Assume he has a normal copy.

Legally (without cracking), you can't. You have to activate each copy if you're playing by the book and that means you can't activate it on two systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Chalk wrote:
    why would he be worried pircy when installing 2 copies of xp if he has a volume license agreement?
    i am just pointing out the statement below can be wrong :D:D:D:D
    Chalk wrote:
    the only way around would be to "crack" the software, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

if he has it cracked, can microsoft tell?

The only way they can tell is if you use a microsoft online service on your pc, like auto-update, which checks your volumn license, but it will only do that if you try to install a service pack, it doesn't do it with normal upgrades. Also it only gives you a message on-screen saying there's an error with your license and service pack installation cannot continue. It doesn't actually notify microsoft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

piracy makes baby billy cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

ok lads, appreciate the help ! thanks a mill!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Modified wrote:
    NO.
    You need to buy at least 5 full price licences to participate so not your average home user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭jessy

hey just a quick question.
    how do microsoft know if someone install's win xp home on 2 computers?

Is this 2 desktops or a desktop and a laptop? I'm nearly sure that it’s legal to install a single licensed copy of XP on your Desktop and laptop.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

jessy wrote:
    Is this 2 desktops or a desktop and a laptop? I'm nearly sure that it’s legal to install a single licensed copy of XP on your Desktop and laptop.
    I'm very sure this only applies to non-oem versions of microsoft office where the laptop belongs to the designated primary user of the desktop and only one if them is used at a time.
    There are radio adds about the academic version of office - check the license
    IIRC you have to uninstall it when you finish full time education, but you are allowed to install it on more than one pc in a household

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Just use opensource, problem solved :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

ok, at my parents house, whn i use to live there, i bought win xp home edition.
    i installed it, and registered it...
    now, i moved out, and bought my own p.c...
    and now i want to install that version of windows on to that 1. but would microsoft cop on to it?
    ive got auto updates turned off, and all that.
    and no 1 will upgrade it, as the other people dont have admin rights to the p.c.

so im guessing they wont?

youll still have to activate it in within 30 days
    which means going online and registering your xp with microsft
    if you dont do this windows xp will disable it self and youll have to ring to get the activation code

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

I have windows xp pro, and I have it installed on 3 computers, you just ring MS free activation line, input the registration code that ms activation program gives you(it's always different) and the bot tells you the code that you have to enter, that's it! get updates and everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

yeah i thought when the screen comes up after u install, u just click "Phone Activation" or watever and then it just assumes u've registered! i never did any registerin!