Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nitelink attack

• 03-12-2004 11:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭

Hello, I don't know why I'm posting this, but please give it a read and gimme some advice

Was out in dublin city last night. Had a great night, and ended up getting 3.30 nitelink home with a good mate of mine.

On the way home there was a few young rowdy fellas at the back upstairs... It was all harmless fun though. I was up about 5rows from the back. Anyway about half way into the journey the lad directly behind me starting smoking. So I says to him, please can ya cut it out. So soon he does. Anyway ends up getting a it argy bargy with me, it was rolling off me anyway and thought was a bit of harmless slaggin.

A bit later, after not having said a word for a bit, he gets up to go... but he stands up and he asks me to take it outside, I was miles from home, so I'm not interested in getting aggro off some lad, so I tell him I'm miles from home and not getting off the last nitelink to fight with him over nuttin. So he keeps at it. And again and again I tell him I'm not getting off...

Anyway he ends up lunging into me and swiping at me, bursts open my nose, I didn't know what was going on... anyway I was stunned and the lad fecked it down the stairs... after a few mins (i had to get my bearings ;)) me and my pal get up and go down see what story is, I'm still bleeding all over the place. Downstairs he's with his older bro... I thought he had got off the bus, that's why I thought he got up in the 1st place...

I say to the older bro look what ur bro did for no good reason etc.. He threathens us, saying I've got a fukking knife and Ill use it... I talk to the driver and tell him he should call the gards, he mumbles at me... meanwhile my mate, whose 6"5, no1 would touch is talking to the eejits, anyway a stop comes up and some1 gets off I think, suddenly out of nowhere both of the brothers attack us, downstairs in the middle on the bus, driver and all watching. I was near enough the exit so I stumble out, having taken another one to the nose. My mate couldn't believe wat was gona on and the two lads shoved him outa the bus and started shouting a the bus driver to go...

Bus driver drove on, leaving us stranded middle of nowhere, me bloody head, on one of the coldest nights of the year.

I call the gards a few times, a whole hour later they come and bring us home ... we told them the story and they said they were gona check the bus, see if it had cams and all that, but basically said to us... lads, bad luck... will prob hear from the female gard tonite...

Anyway story is... I feel sh!t about the whole thing... I feel like an ass for not having fought back and for taking that crap as me and my mate cudda whooped them in a fair duel, but we didn't want to fiight or anything...

we were just completely taken by surprise... luckily all I got was a bust up nose, not sure if it's broke, any1 know how can I tell, it's bloody, sore, nd swollen, but's it still dead straight...

any advice would be helpful cos right now i feel like the ultimate chump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭scribs

You win some you lose some :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

yeah go to the doctor to get it checked out if its sore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I've been attacked more randomly than that. It feels sh*t, you wonder what you could have done. Scobes will be scobes. IMO it's the bus driver you should be more pissed off with than anyone. I can undersatnd why he wouldn't want to get involved but he has a responsibility for your safety whilst you're on his bus. You'll be a little more wary and probably sit downstairs from now on...

forget about the two lads going home to sleep with their sisters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Sounds like a rough night, chump... I'm not sure what kind of advice you're looking for. Hopefully the whole thing is captured on camera. Even then, there probably isn't alot they can do. The lethargy of the bus driver is a bit annoying to be honest, but I guess they aren't getting paid enough to get involved.

I'd say in hindsight, telling a (possibly drunk) knacker to stop smoking at 3am on a bus wasn't the smartest move in the world. Sorry it turned out the way it did....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Gav1n

But i take it you had a good night then?! :D

Anyway! I work for Dublin Bus, I'm part time mechanic, and have a fair idea how these things work in the traffic department. The only thing i guess you can do, is press charges against these guys. They assaulted you first, right?

If so, don't delay and contact Dublin Bus Head Office in O'Connel Street, tell them the bus route you were on, the time, and the place etc. And ask them for the phone number of the Bus Depot, where the bus was from. I.e Donnybrook Garage, Phibsboro Garage etc. When you get in contact with the garage tell them to hold a copy of the CCTV footage from the bus.

All the buses that operate on the nightlinks are fairly new, and all the cameras are fully functional and working fine. Then i suggest you get back in contact with the guards and show them a copy of the tape. It might help them identify the guys who attacked you.

From then on, it's up to you what to do. If ya don't wanna let these guys get away with it, chage the bastids!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Absolutely, be sure to write a letter of complaint to Dublin Bus. Why on earth was he acting like a personal scumbag chaffeur? Does he drive them around all night so they can beat people up, and then race off? Disgraceful behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Bessacadia

chump wrote:
    Anyway story is... I feel sh!t about the whole thing... I feel like an ass for not having fought back and for taking that crap as me and my mate cudda whooped them in a fair duel, but we didn't want to fiight or anything...

we were just completely taken by surprise... luckily all I got was a bust up nose, not sure if it's broke, any1 know how can I tell, it's bloody, sore, nd swollen, but's it still dead straight...

oh gawd poor you - but don't feel bad, you did the right thing.

What a bunch of ****.Things could have been a lot worse, people have been whacked for less. I think you should be proud of your self -restraint, I know you are sore but really you could have had a knife in your chest or worse.
    You were brave (or nuts, depending!)to say anything at all, I am often scared even to smile or make eye contact with anyone. What a sh!t world this is.

What would have been the point of thumping them? Might have made you feel better momentarily, but then what? Sleep easy, you are NOT a chump, you are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

My God, Dublin Bus have a bad enough reputation with the public as it is without this!
    The bus driver didn't make any attempt to call the Guards? Doesn't that make him partly responsible for the assault? And he drove off and left you there, and let the scumbags stay on the bus?

I'd be pressing charges against DublinBus as well as the scum who assaulted you. Contact them ASAP and get that video footage.

Go to your doctor and get him/her to examine you and take a photo of your injuries.

Although having said that, any time i've ever gotten the nightlink i'd keep myself to myself, I certainly wouldn't ask a bloke to put out a ciggie, you just never know what might happen, as you have learned :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

yea, lesson learnt on keeping my mouth shut... drunken courage n all that
    gona ring dublinbus now... hopefully i'll get somewhere...

thanks lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

those scum will get theirs but was it really worth telling him to put out his fag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Gav1n

Quote: Uberwolf

"IMO it's the bus driver you should be more pissed off with than anyone."

I agree with you Uber, it would be great if every bus driver was a 6ft5in ex-navy seal, who with without thought or hesitation will willingly jump out of the cab and shield a scumbag drunk from another scumbag's blade! lol

Get real! In reality, a bus driver is just like you or me. He's out there doing overtime on a nightlink comming up to christmas, for an extra few bob to buy his kid a playstation or whatever. Not to get stabbed in the neck by someone. A bus driver does'nt get paid danger money!

It's Dublin Bus policy, that bus drivers must never leave the cab of the bus and get involved in any confrontation with the public. They ain't insured. However, I have seen some pretty heroic bus drivers who'll let no shyt happen on their bus, my dad being one. Nowadays all a driver can do, is get in contact witht he inspectors and the gaurds if a fight breaks out on a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

And he didn't get in contact with anyone, and just drove off after the scumbags told him to, like an accomplice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

down with this sort of thing.

careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

TmB wrote:
    I'd say in hindsight, telling a (possibly drunk) knacker to stop smoking at 3am on a bus wasn't the smartest move in the world.
    This thing is exactly the reason why standing up for what you want isn't the best idea on the nightlink.

During the day, most scumbags will put out their cigarette if you ask. They might grumble a bit, maybe even slag you in hushed tones. But once they get drink on them, they could spend an entire journey swearing and cursing at you without your knowledge, and hop on you when they get off. They think they're hard and indestructible.

I've seen it plenty of times, and I don't know why people put their safety at risk to put out cigarettes. I saw one guy actually pull a cigaraette out of the mouth of the biggest knacker one day. Made the journey into town that much more interesting anyway. I've also seen scumbags closing windows on the bus to stop their coke getting blown all over the place on the way home, and guys then reopening and telling the scumbag to f*ck off.

I mean, assertiveness is great, but not when it's going to get the **** kicked out of you.

That's not to say you deserved it chump. Nine times out of ten, nothing would have come of it. You happened to get a combination of poor luck and a prick of a driver.

As said, write a letter to Dublin Bus. Include places and times. That kind of behavious is not on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Horeb

chump wrote:
    Hello, I don't know why I'm posting this, but please give it a read and gimme some advice

Was out in dublin city last night. Had a great night, and ended up getting 3.30 nitelink home with a good mate of mine.

On the way home there was a few young rowdy fellas at the back upstairs... It was all harmless fun though. I was up about 5rows from the back. Anyway about half way into the journey the lad directly behind me starting smoking. So I says to him, please can ya cut it out. So soon he does. Anyway ends up getting a it argy bargy with me, it was rolling off me anyway and thought was a bit of harmless slaggin.

A bit later, after not having said a word for a bit, he gets up to go... but he stands up and he asks me to take it outside, I was miles from home, so I'm not interested in getting aggro off some lad, so I tell him I'm miles from home and not getting off the last nitelink to fight with him over nuttin. So he keeps at it. And again and again I tell him I'm not getting off...

Anyway he ends up lunging into me and swiping at me, bursts open my nose, I didn't know what was going on... anyway I was stunned and the lad fecked it down the stairs... after a few mins (i had to get my bearings ;)) me and my pal get up and go down see what story is, I'm still bleeding all over the place. Downstairs he's with his older bro... I thought he had got off the bus, that's why I thought he got up in the 1st place...

I say to the older bro look what ur bro did for no good reason etc.. He threathens us, saying I've got a fukking knife and Ill use it... I talk to the driver and tell him he should call the gards, he mumbles at me... meanwhile my mate, whose 6"5, no1 would touch is talking to the eejits, anyway a stop comes up and some1 gets off I think, suddenly out of nowhere both of the brothers attack us, downstairs in the middle on the bus, driver and all watching. I was near enough the exit so I stumble out, having taken another one to the nose. My mate couldn't believe wat was gona on and the two lads shoved him outa the bus and started shouting a the bus driver to go...

Bus driver drove on, leaving us stranded middle of nowhere, me bloody head, on one of the coldest nights of the year.

I call the gards a few times, a whole hour later they come and bring us home ... we told them the story and they said they were gona check the bus, see if it had cams and all that, but basically said to us... lads, bad luck... will prob hear from the female gard tonite...

My Advice learn krav marga, also never let a person within arms length of you and if so hit the hard were it hurts, never back down.

I had an similar incident a few years ago but the guy who tried to attack sober me coming home from work, ended up in ICU.

We are not all tough but if you can help it stay away from Nite Links and Taxi ranks, try to organise a taxi in advance or a lift etc.

This is now the pyscotic (spelling) season so stay away from the flash points.

Look after yourself and try learn krav marga, it will help anyone in close quarters.

If you need any advice PM me, I have advised a few nurses to go on it and they actually used it to their advantages.

Don't get disheartened about it as they will do it to someone who will kill them hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Its so bloody frustrating when skangers smoke on buses. I'd love to say something to them but would be afraid to. I've seen people assaulted (physically and verbally) for asking skangers to stop smoking. I contacted the Office of Tobacco Control and Dublin Bus about it and Dublin Bus' official line is :

"The company is also investigating the possibility of installing pre-recorded
    announcements which would be activated on the detection of smoke. On the
    issue of smoke detectors this has been attempted in the past by the company
    however, there were many incidences where the smoke detectors were
    maliciously triggered by people using lighters or matches. the Company has
    also launched an advertising campaign both on bus and on bus stop carousels
    today we have installed 750 on bus notices and 1500 carousel notices"

I'd be careful launching assault charges. These knackers are vengeful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Dublin Bus may well want to avoid responsibility for attacks on passengers by claimimg "it was all over before the driver could do anything" but that won't hold in this situation. Once you reported the first attack and the attackers were pointed out to the driver Dublin Bus has a duty of care to you as a fare paying passenger. The driver could/ should have taken some action to ensure your safety but didn't. I think you have a case. Get a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I presume nobody else came to your aid at all!!!? While i understand the driver not wanting to get involved...he just has to...he is in the position of authority on the bus. I just can't believe he drove off and left you there without informing the authorities....

I gave up on nitelinks a year or two ago due to unpleasant atmosphere of intimidation and fear on them. Getting started on by some 16year child trying to impress his mot was the last straw for me. putting some child in his place is not something i looked forward to after a good night out with my mates...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Sorry to hear that buddy.
    Moral of the story - don't tell drunken scumbags to put out their smokes upsatirs on the night link.

Seriously though, it's not your fault, and you did the right thing not fighting back - but WHY did you even bother? What sort of person smoke on the bus? A decent law abiding person? Someone who's sound? - there's a chance.
    A scummer that'll pick a fight - there's more of a chance.

Be wise people - don't get yourselves into these situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

See a solicitor. Similar thing happened (attacked on a Nightlink without provocation) to a friend ten years ago. He sued CIE and got a not insubstantial settlement for his troubles.

The law regarding such cases has changed in the meantime, however it’s worth your while to take a few pics of your bruises and to consult a solicitor within the next few weeks.

See a solicitor. Similar thing happened (attacked on a Nightlink without provocation) to a friend ten years ago. He sued CIE and got a not insubstantial settlement for his troubles.

The law regarding such cases has changed in the meantime, however it’s worth your while to take a few pics of your bruises and to consult a solicitor within the next few weeks.

Go to a doctor first! Get your nose reset....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭doh.ie

Sorry to hear about your bad night, Chump. May sound like giving in, but I'd just sit downstairs from now on and avoid the scangers completely. Dublin Bus really do need to get a handle on the smoking on buses issue. If the pubs can manage it, it's incredible that the buses can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Zulu wrote:
    Sorry to hear that buddy.
    Moral of the story - don't tell drunken scumbags to put out their smokes upsatirs on the night link......Be wise people - don't get yourselves into these situations.
    bingo

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Nasty story and it just increases my desire to create a targeted scumbag virus. I'm with doh.ie on this one though - sit downstairs. That's what I did on my Nitelink - 31N - and never received hassle. Although, from previous threads, the 31N is apparently one of the most peaceful Nitelinks of the lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Annoying as hell these kinda incidents.

Maybe suing Dublin Bus would be the best route. Hate to say it but pressing charges, even if you could on these scumbags will go nowhere, and they generally have nothing better to do except make your life a misery. Do you want them turning up at your house? If you can teach them a lesson and walk away, then fair enough, they deserve it. But all it takes is one of these scumbags to stab you somewhere vital and its all over. At worse you could end up brain damaged and/or disabled. So theres that to consider.

But I'd be pissed at the complete failure of Dublin Bus to get the guards, or even report the incident. If he saw you bleeding, how did he know you didn't need medical attention. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

RuggieBear wrote:
    Go to a doctor first! Get your nose reset....
    Take a few photos then get your nose reset.

There should be CCTV onboard this can be used as evidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd go down the route The Corinthian is suggesting. Get yourself a solicitor and sue Dublin Bus. The driver had a duty of care to you his passenger. That duty should have involved stopping the bus and calling the cops. He didn't need to get out of his cab and that cab is fairly secure to prevent him getting injured in this type of situation.

I'd also ask Dublin Bus for a copy of the tape, tell them you're using it to prosecute the scumbags. That way you'll not only have evidence if the cops can identify the little ****ers, you'll also have footage of your complaint to the driver and therefore evidence for your lawsuit against Dublin Bus.

You may actually end up glad this happened as I'd imagine the court settlement will pay for a nice holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Was on to dublin bus anyway, said would get back to me about cctv footage...

I just want to forget the whole thing to be honest... I feel like a twat for asking him to put out smoke, but thing was he really didn't seem at the time like a complete scumbag... i was mistaken obviously... anyway his older brother who threathened to stab us certainly was a grade A knacker ...

I don't think even if did find out who they were would I press charges, people like that don't seem to have much to lose, so would go to all sorts to wreck my life and my family... and could turn into a mess...

I'd very much like to see the cctv footage though...

chump wrote:
    Was on to dublin bus anyway, said would get back to me about cctv footage...

I just want to forget the whole thing to be honest... I feel like a twat for asking him to put out smoke, but thing was he really didn't seem at the time like a complete scumbag... i was mistaken obviously... anyway his older brother who threathened to stab us certainly was a grade A knacker ...

I don't think even if did find out who they were would I press charges, people like that don't seem to have much to lose, so would go to all sorts to wreck my life and my family... and could turn into a mess...

I'd very much like to see the cctv footage though...

chump, don't just forget the whole thing. When the innocent just forget about incidents like these, the powers that be don't protect them. When state companies get sued because they're not providing adaquate care to the average citizen from the scumbags two things happen: the state company makes it harder for these things to happen again and the state starts to get stricter on crime.

Sueing Dublin Bus in this kind of situation is actual doing a service for the country. It's not like some scumbag suing them because he broke his nose when he was fúck-acting on the stairs. It's a genuine case where the company failed you, it's customer, in providing a reasonable duty of care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

first of all they would be fined for smoking on a bus secondly dont back down you cant let this go away people do it too often. stand up and be a man. you've already shown us youve got the balls not to fight. take the next step and bring charges against them, you never know who might know them. the bus driver might, he should also be sued for not taking action and indangering more of his passangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭mise

Not a big fan of the nitelink so try to avoid them, and when i do i sit downstairs. One night was on it on my own, and this big guy was gettin grief off two young punks, i'd say they were about 17, and he was mid 20s. They didnt hit him but started throwing stuff at him when he wouldnt answer them. Anyway after a few mins of this, he just got up (he was about 6'3" and stocky) walked over to them, they were in the standing section downstairs, he grabbed them and dragged them to the door, told asked the driver to open the door and he f*cked them off on Cork Street. And then sat back down. Was brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Bessacadia

mise wrote:
    Not a big fan of the nitelink so try to avoid them, and when i do i sit downstairs. One night was on it on my own, and this big guy was gettin grief off two young punks, i'd say they were about 17, and he was mid 20s. They didnt hit him but started throwing stuff at him when he wouldnt answer them. Anyway after a few mins of this, he just got up (he was about 6'3" and stocky) walked over to them, they were in the standing section downstairs, he grabbed them and dragged them to the door, told asked the driver to open the door and he f*cked them off on Cork Street. And then sat back down. Was brilliant

Brilliant - if you are 6'3 and built like a brick sh!thouse, but not so good if you are not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭uum

Anyone who tells you to fight fire with fire or get your retaliation in first is either mad, huge and able to to fight or has never been in that position before.

Never, never ever act the hard man or even challenge these scummers because im sorry to say it will get you killed. Plain and simple. Unless an innocent is being seriuosly hurt but definitely not over a fag.

You have to understand what drives these guys. They are among their mates and if they back down then they are yellow whereas the nightlink is often an easy oppurtunity for them to raise thier profile as someone not to be messed with. There's a great chance they can kick the **** out of some1 who wont hit them back. These people are easy to spot from their clothes and attitude. If you had went out with him or even not ignored his slagging then there's a good chance he'd back down.
    They went back to their mates on monday morn drinking cider saying how they bate 2 lads clean out of the bus and one of em was almost 7 foot!!

Personally i've been in that situation many times on buses and tbh it was plain and simple maths. Id never start anything and try my best to get out of it but if its inevitable then fcuk that but no one is gonna get thier jollies from hitting me.

I've had my nose broke twice and been kicked to a pulp. Twice was my fault and i deserved it (i was young and invincible i thought) but since ive learned it the hard way that no matter who you are or how strong you are there's always always someone tougher.

Say nothing but pick your battles. A crowded bus is a recipe for disaster, middle of the road with a big lad beside you then they'd be easy pickings as long as there's only 2

Moral of the story, stay away from and ignore scumbags 99% of the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Nitelink is a disaster, very very dangerous. Sit downstairs on a journey home. I gave up travelling home on it after witnessing such incidents.

Dirtbirds will always be dirtbirds, there is NO talking to them, no pacifying, no reasoning. A night out for such scum is - GET LOCKED, ABUSE PEOPLE, FIGHT.

Only advice for future reference I can give is just avoid the scum and if you feel like there might be confrontation, hit first, ask later and leave the vicinity immediately as they WILL strike you. Unfortunately it has come to this, if you try and talk your way out you may very well be kicked to death. Look at the amount of young men being beat to unconciousness and into coma's over issues such as a cigarette or a beer.

They work/hunt in packs and look for an individual like yourself who might question them.

I'm as pissed off as you after reading this but just try and ignore spliff smoking dirt at the back of a bus. You'll get no medals.

Good luck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

i'm bewildered as to how come there aren't any security personel put on nitelinks, espcially ones where there are continuous outbreaks of fights. Even if they were put on the bus's randomly, the sight of a guy neon jacket with secutiry written on it and a walkie-talkie can be a great preventitive measure.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Sorry to hear what happened, goes to show what a rotten world this is getting to be. In defence of the driver, what else could he have done? I work in retail and if the shop gets robbed the policy is always in a choice between giving them what they want or being assaulted, give the buggers what they want. No one gets paid enough to risk being injured. And if you fight back, believe me the lousers know the law better than you do, and you could find yourself sued. Chalk it up to experience, none of it was your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

It just dawned on me, why in gods name do they use double deckers for nitelinks?! Some of you mite say capacity, then switch to bendy buses, and if they dont have enough to cover all routes do it on the scum routes. You would expect less trouble on the single deckers as they can be more easily monitored, if you wre on a single decker i doubt those scum bags would have smoked in the first place, thus eliminating any potential agro.i wouldnt have taken that ****e from that scum, fair play telling him to stop, but if your mate could have taken the prats why didnt you, thats the problem here, people take too much crap, those scum bags are the biggest cowards youll meet, if youd have stood up to them they have backed off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭tck

Well first off, sorry to hear about your nose, get it checked out

i for one would never get the nitelink, i know some people don't have a choice etc.. i'd prefer to walk and have done many times.

NEVER confront drunken louts at the back of the bus, especially for something like smoking, i can't believe for one you actually had the balls to say that (and not be prepared to back it up) /me tips hat

The best case scenario would be to tell the driver that someone is smoking and stay sitted downstairs if seats were available.

Im sure he would have at least done that, but in relation to driving off after that incident, i believe that alot of CIE employees would have done the same thing. People will do anything to avoid a fight/confrontation.

Close the door and drive off or sit there for an hour waiting for the garda to arrive and deal with the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

KatieK wrote:
    In defence of the driver, what else could he have done?

Are you serious? Did you not read this thread!? This guy was bet up on the bus in front of the driver, he was thrown off the bus by the thugs in front of the driver and the driver just left the guy on the side of the road!

He could have at least phoned the guards for him. He obviously didnt give a sh*t about what was going on on his bus! He sits all safe behind a big screen - he was only looking after himself - didnt care about anyone else!

Guys FYI

http://www.kravmagaireland.com/

This is a good course and effective and applicable to real life unlike some martial arts.

Eh, the driver had two choices:

Close the door, sit safely in his cab where he personally can't be harmed, wait a few minutes for the Garda (because to be fair to them, they've a pretty good prescence around town at night).

Or be an accomplice to an assault.

He chose wrongly and placed his company (and possibly himself) into an actionable position.

wasn't there a similar case a few years ago regarding a dart driver buggering off from a station when there was fight on the platform....think DART were successfully sued...but can't really remember the details....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Yes, write a sternly worded letter of complaint to CIE toute suite, that'll help hahahahaha.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭pollyantic

Dont bother with a letter of complaint.
    Do the rest of the population a favour. Get the tapes bring them to your solicitor and charge the gougers if they can be located and definitely sue Dublin bus and the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

pollyantic wrote:
    and definitely sue Dublin bus and the driver.

eh, it was my understanding that the driver is not insured if he gets involved in any argy bargy. If thats true and I was a driver, I would of done the same

koneko wrote:
    Disgraceful behaviour.

Not necessarily. Think about it, if the bus driver decided to stay he would of been the one getting the bad attention from the scumbags, or a more serious fight would of started between the 4 guys if the bus stayed. I can understand him driving off, it neutralizes the situation pretty much immediately.

Honestly ppl, wtf do you expect from the bus driver???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

KatieK wrote:
    In defence of the driver, what else could he have done? I work in retail and if the shop gets robbed the policy is always in a choice between giving them what they want or being assaulted, give the buggers what they want

completely differant situations though arent they?

driver could have
    - called guards when original fight broke out.
    - not driven away leaving victims of assault in the middle of nowhere in the middle of the night.
    - he could(should) have even called the guards after driving away

you really think the drivers best course of action was keeping the scum on the bus after they did this, think the other passengers were safe?

ando wrote:
    eh, it was my understanding that the driver is not insured if he gets involved in any argy bargy. If thats true and I was a driver, I would of done the same

Not necessarily. Think about it, if the bus driver decided to stay he would of been the one getting the bad attention from the scumbags, or a more serious fight would of started between the 4 guys if the bus stayed. I can understand him driving off, it neutralizes the situation pretty much immediately.

Honestly ppl, wtf do you expect from the bus driver???
    That's why the bus driver is safely locked into a cab. All he had to do was stop the bus, refuse to open the doors and call the cops.

And what do I expect of a bus driver? The same as I expect from the rest of society: his civic duty.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Guess it shows I dont travel on Dublin bus very often, have no idea how safe/unsafe driver would have been. I consider myself civic minded, so i guess im trying to understand why the driver would have driven away, did he know who started the fight, were there other passengers on the bus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

Jesus loads of people going on about civic duty and all this.

1 Bus driver's job is...... to drive the bus. I wonder how many would actually leave the safety of the cab to approach 2 scumbags who are locked and one has been saying that he has a knife and is going to stab another passanger? I understand that in a perfect world everyone would band together and do the right thing blah blah blah The point is at 4 in the morning with 2 scumbags causing trouble anyone in their right mind is going to leave them alone.

2 Anyone care to guess said scumbags reaction to hearing driver call guards stop bus and close doors? Fvcking hell I'd tell the driver to keep his mouth shut and drive.

3 Its impossible for the driver to contain the scumbags on the bus while waiting for the guards for 2 really really simple reasons. The doors on a dublin bus are not that strong and anyone (defo 2 people) could open them using their hands. Second failing that there are emergency open door buttons which override all other controls (I know because I use it to let myself off sometimes if the prick of a driver wont open the doors while stuck in massive tailback of traffic)

4 Not that the original poster deserved what happened its terrible. However telling someone on a nitelink at 3am to put out their smoke is asking for trouble