Boards Golf Society Rd 1 – Portmarnock Links (Jameson Links) 21st of February | 11:00am | 1st Tee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 552 ✭✭✭a post punk

Enjoy the round today looking forward to the debriefing also !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭tigerwood1

Nice morning here in Portmarnock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Break80

Honey honey cafe for me first.

One shot coconut flat white, ice vanilla latte, skinny latte. Ice caramel latte.

I think I'm a bit old for this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭bobster453

We are a bit old for a lot of places😁

Except winning a boards outing😄

Never too old for that hopefully.

Need to start getting the fivers back from Benny.

He's getting too good.

The 18th looking good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Lads, a point on the bunkers. If there is water in the bunkers, you can take a free drop but ONLY IN THE BUNKER. If you have to drop the ball outside it is a ONE SHOT PENALTY.

The bunkers that are full of water are mostly marked as GUR, normally GUR rules apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭blue note

Alright lads, I'm going to start the journey now. Hopefully it won't be too long.

Well that took slightly longer than expected, but the journey wasn't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Antokelly5

Had to head on after the round but enjoyed the day. Golf was a bit rusty but that was too expected. Thanks again and looking forward to the next round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 frankiekk

Had to leg it too! Cheers to @Sorbet @weapon of grass destruction and @conor222 for putting up me! Had a complete disaster! Was good craic though, good to get the first one outta the way!

Just a quick update with today’s result we actually got lucky in the end, the weather wasn’t half as bad as forecast 😅

Congrats to the winners:
    🥇 1st – @blue note– 38 pts
    🥈 2nd – @ciano15– 37 pts
    🥉 3rd – @FixdePitchmark– 35 pts

Prize Winners
    • Nearest the Pin (11th): @ciano15 86cm
    • Longest Drive (18th): @Alanm
    • Best Back Nine: @FixdePitchmark– 20 pts

Two’s Club (6 total)
    Alanm
    Ciano15
    Roadrunner (2)

@briansmith54

@awec

Well played all will post a full update tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

A year of the Tiger

Has been a good few years in the making – but was a great day to have Tiger as boards captain – we have all asked him multiple times to take on the job (particularly Benny) – as he is a long standing and much cherished member of this mad society.

Been a rather dramatic month in Dublin – and I know nationally the Dubs are known as a bit soft and over reactionary to weather events – but it has been an historical month – with courses closed for the longest period in their history. Unknown river banks burst – and still massive standing water on low lands. But we bounce back – The Pale.

So to get out at all – is a real pleasure – and your expectations of course conditions are at a low. Just getting out and moving and trying to master this game , is what keeps us moving and at times, awake at night.

I normally try play with some new members – but the way it fell, played with 3 guys I know very well at this stage – Space , Roadrunner and Break80 – the banter can be a bit harsher (my fault) – the laughs a bit harder (their fault) and messing a bit messier (my fault).

The course has gone through some dramatic changes – and changes to courses that people love, are high risk. Conceptually you get some of the ideas and some of the holes are great new holes. But sadly and this time of year. The course is still trying to bed in and some of the new greens are just not working at present. Unfortunate – as the course is solid under foot for the most part.

But, I love the layout – the flow of the course – the variety of holes and the technical challenges. I love the new views in places. In theory it will all work at some point. But as we know, theory and real life are very different.

The 4 of us got off to an ok start – and with the golfers I was with , you are going to see good to great shots every hole. Nice to see guys who can hit the ball well , hit the middle of the face and have a real chance of getting close. Roadrunner is a prodigious golfer of the society – was it a 74 he had around here last year – but it is more his contact and flight , is something you just do not see too often in society (or even club) golf – the height , loft , spin – contact – is incredible. The amount he is pin high or close – is incredible.

Space has a great all round game – and whilst a bit off today, he always hits great shots across the bag. He maximises his game more than anyone I know. He is a clever lad – and uses this in his game.

Break 80 – is a solid very experienced golfer – has a great game around the greens – but this let him down a bit today.

Break 80 is great fun on a course – but he is a golfer who keeps everyone safe and honest in a game , he is a golfer and bloke of the highest integrity.

Myself – well , very limited golf the last 6 months (as is case with all) – but I enjoy the day out way more when the body lets it happen. Today was a day like that.

Whilst we had a few slow holes – overall the pace of play was good today in my opinion. We lost a tad bit of ground at one point – had the chat and moved on a bit.

Whilst I normally hate rain – it was ok , and you just had to be pragmatic and go – I’m with lads I’ve a good bit of time for – most places are in bits or closed – try be a bit like Roadrunner – enjoy the moment , the course , the game – be positive and hit a bomb on the next one.

We all lacked what is called match fitness in soccer – a lack of control around greens – speed control – touch , you could see the early season signs in all of us. But we got around , enjoyed the day – bit of food – sausages from Break80 – Oxtail soup and Scotch. A few birds and magic moments – a few “fores” and for **** sakes. The things that make this game more than a game.

I finished with 35 pts – a costly lack of knowledge and shot choice on 17 was my only scratch – I couldn’t cope with the spectator of Seve (lol).

As I left the course – I had a chat with Space about the human condition – our ability to fool ourselves about how it could have been better – how it will be better the next time – how golf needs hope. How life needs hope - If you do not have hope what do you have .

We hit the snug – a few chats and laughs – scoring was on low side. Playing long and tough pins and mixed ground conditions with no placing – a test.

Tiger got up – did a great job and some very nice and unusual prizes. He spoke so well about what is ahead for the year. He is a person that loves the golf society and it loves him back.

Enjoy the year of the Tiger all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭weapon of grass destruction

Home about an hour now. I had the pleasure of @Sorbet @conor222 and @frankiekk. 3 Absolute Gents. had a good fairly quick round, watch said 4hrs 10m. Both sorbet and conor played realy well front 9 back 9 caught sorbet out a bit but played some lovely. Conor kept it going the back 9 to he was very consistent. @frankiekk had started with his hybrid off the tee he would of had a decent score, played some cracking shots but with having probably his worst day in a while golf wise he was such good craic and never let the golf get him down and had a smile on all day. Probably the 3 easiest going people in a group I've ever played with.

I had an eventful day, I'll be here till tomorrow writing if I put it all down. The one thing was my irons were on steroids today I was clubbing down and still flying the greens quite a bit. Had a 6 iron uphill into wind 187yrds to middle and sent it 30 yards over the pin off the back. I was in a divot on the fairway I've nevet seen anything like it before about an inch deep with 5 different iron paths in the one divot I even called the lads over to take a look.

Onwards and upwards, looking forward to New Forest.

Cheers to captain @tigerwood1 for organising a great day and all the lads on the committee for all their hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sorbet

Great first day back out with the Boards crew and a really enjoyable day as always. Congratulations to new captain @tigerwood1, everything ran like clockwork and thanks for the extra touches - loving the new long drive and nearest the pin flags, felt like I was out on tour 😁! Ironically it was on the Jameson links that I had last played a proper 18 in October. Had the beginnings of some back trouble that day that ultimately kept me out of golf until today (apart from a must play round in the European before it closed at the end of November). Put a bit of work into the back over the winter and all was looking good until Thursday this week when getting out of a chair in the office put my back out! I was gutted, I didn't want to miss the first day out but when I went to bed Friday night I thought it was 50:50 whether I'd be able to play. Then this morning arrived and I slapped a deep heat pad on my back and hoped for the best. Warmed up in the nets with half swings and although I could feel a bit of stiffness, no problem at all - was going to be able to play and in the end it freed up so much that it didn't impact me at all.

Met playing partners @weapon of grass destruction , @conor222 and @frankiekk around the putting green Never played before with @weapon of grass destruction but knew it would be good craic going around with him and @frankiekk was on his first Boards day out and @conor222 his second after attending once last year - welcome to the big show!

So we headed to the first tee, a bit nervous as always and unsure of what game there was. Put my drive a little right but followed it up with a lovely 140yd shot to maybe 6 feet - 2 putt par. Nice fairway drive on the second and then just off the front of the green with the second - things were going better than expected. Front nine couldn't have gone any better - 22 points. Memories of @bobster453 marking my card last year came back when I had a similar great front 9 came back to me but sadly there wasn't to be any repeat of last years countback second place. 10th - first scratch of the day. 11th Second scratch of the day. 12th 1 point. 13th 3rd (and happily last) scratch of the day. With that run of holes all hopes of a win were gone but I reminded myself that although it's early, with the good start there were still some decent jug points available. Dug in and eeked out 11 points on the back nine, half my front nine total for a total of 33 points 7th place finish. Disappointing to not do more with the good start but honestly was blessed to get out today given the back and lack of golf so very happy with it. Highlight on the back 9 was a GIR 2 putt par on the 18th after a nice drive (although nowhere near @Alanm 's long drive!).

Marked @conor222 's card and he had a very tidy 32 points - very good on the back 9 and with a better start or a few less 3 putts as he said himself would definitely have been in the mix. @weapon of grass destruction can really hit the ball - amazing distance off his irons and front 9, was doing well but back 9 as he said himself lack of golf fitness let him down. @frankiekk 's first day out with the group and he played some really solid shots - showing some great potential, some lovely low penetrating woods. All three of the lads were in great spirits even when the heavy rains came for a bit and were great company.

Thanks again to @Golfgraffix for the chance to play such a great course - always such a great day. Congratulations to the all the winners and @blue note on the win - hope you got to enjoy it with a few pints and the long journey home. And thanks again to @tigerwood1 for all the organising - it's clear how much thought and planning you've put into it and if today is anything to go by it looks like we are in for a great year.

The only pics I took….

image.png image.png image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭conor222

That was great fun, a savage course and really enjoyed it. First round of the year for me (and first full 18 in nearly 3 months!), as well as my first time on a links course. Was a big fan of it and once I got the kinks worked out of the swing was going well. Struggled a bit to work out the greens, too many 3 putts. looking at my stats 41 putts so doesn't look terrible (not good but not round crushingly bad), but it was when they happened. The photo above was middle of the green, maybe 15y from the hole, 3 putt. Similar on every birdie chance I had 😂

Managed to only lose one ball which was quite an achievement for me, driving was decent but lost some accuracy in towards the end. Played a lot of holes from neighbouring fairways on the back 9, but scrambled well to keep it alive.

The lads were great company as well, good craic for the round and I'd be happy to paired up with any of them at future rounds.

@Sorbet had us doubting his handicap across the front nine, it was wet but we didn't need more sandbags 😂. Shot 22 points on the front nine but hit a bad run starting the second nine which killed his overall, still a very impressive outing from him. Best shot the chip on 7 from the 8th tee box, off a downslope, partially blind over a hillock and sand trap, flew it 45y, stopped on a dime to 5y from the worst pin position he could've had to deal with.

@weapon of grass destruction was hitting his irons incredibly well, you'd nearly be hiding what you were pulling out of the bag when you heard what he was hitting (and going over the back with) but had a few errant tee shots that caused him to lose momentum. A very good player for sure, best shot would be either the sand shot on 7 to right on the hole, or the fantastic drive on 18 that was about 3ft behind the long drive marker at the time.

@frankiekk played very well, but struggled at the start with what to hit off the tee, moving from driver to 3 wood, to 5, to hybrid. That being said, I'd not be moving away from the driver seeing how it went on the last few holes (cracker drive on the 18th in particular). Also was hitting the irons well on the par 3's, got unlucky with a bounce off the back on 15, but probably the best lag putt of the day locked up a par from him there (I'd hazard about 45/50y plus downhill).

Cheers to the organisers, sponsors etc. and hoping to make it to a few more this year 😊

Well that was a very nice surprise yesterday. I had no idea how I was going to play yesterday, but if I was to guess I wouldn't have said particularly well. So I'll take the good days as they come. What is a less good surprise today is that it's my wedding anniversary. I don't think she's mad, she says she's not at least. I won't question her.

As always, thanks to the Captain and other organisers. Particularly yesterday with the postponement and all the work that went into us actually getting out there or elsewhere. It would have been very easy and I wouldn't have complained if the first event had simply been cancelled, but I was delighted it wasn't. The rain here since the new year has been relentless. Cabin fever had well and truly set in. So getting out for an afternoon in dry weather was an absolute treat. The course, with the exception of the new greens, had held up remarkably well. While there were a lot of really wet patches, they rarely affected play at all. I suppose it's almost as if the designers made it that way.

I played with @Golfgraffix, @benny79 and @awec on the day. I think we all played well to be honest. No-one would have needed to change much to have had a very good score. I can't believe awec only really took up the game properly in 2024. There's no sign of that in his striking of the ball. He was very unlucky on 9 that it wasn't the nearest the pin hole, but the birdie was a sweet consolation I hope. Benny declared before the round that he has no shortgame and proved that to be absolute bollocks many times throughout the round. He was very close to having a very good score. And it's been a few years since I played with Golfgraffix but he was as complete a golfer as I remember. I couldn't pick a hole in his game. He was cocky on the 14th and declared he was going to hole his tricky putt and he did - another nice bird. I decided to copy him and declared I wasn't going to three putt and also delivered on my cocky prediction.

On my round - it had the typical 3 components of a good score. I played well, got a bit of luck and of course felt I could have done better. I swear to God, if I shot a 59 some week (as my first ever time breaking 80) I'd feel it should have been a 58. But I think that's just normal. It was actually my second round of the year, both on that course. On the first, I'd actually struck the ball very well, but 43 putts on the day stopped me from having a good score. I couldn't stop blowing the ball past the hole that day, so I was determined going out yesterday to not repeat that. On the playing well side of it - I generally drove the ball well which really gives you the chance of having a good score. And despite 3 three putts (one I blame the green for! two were entirely my own doing), I putted well. I got up and down for par on the first two holes which was a great start, particularly into the wind. And I was very happy with a lot of my 2 putts. On the bit of luck - I suppose the purest bit of luck I had was on 13. My ball was in a divot, but also in standing water, so I got a free drop. I still scratched the hole, but I can't deny I got a good break. But where I was really lucky was on a couple of drives that were offline. On a more tree lined course, or a tighter one I'd probably have been reloading on the tee hoping to salvage a point for a double bogey. But on 6 I pushed it down the wrong fairway and it must have gotten a great bounce forward. From a bad tee shot, I was left with an 8 iron into green. I got the birdie which was much needed after two triple bogeys on the previous two holes. I turned with 19 points which was, but then just didn't play as well on the back 9. But aside from the scratch on 13 managed to keep up the bogeys. Then on 18 another bit of luck. I pulled my drive, plenty left of that fairway bunker, but again left myself a high iron into the green. I'd a perfect lie and managed to put it close enough to finish on a birdie.

Whatever it is about that course, I tend to play better there than anywhere else. So I think it should be first on the rota every year! And I see we're off to New Forest next - a course I absolutely love! I've actually booked in there for another round in May on a mini trip with my college mates. I'm looking forward to seeing you all there first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭benny79

And the Tiger Roars! (Finally, only took about 20 years 😂)

And what a great day it was! had the pleasure of playing with @Golfgraffix @blue note & @awec. 3 solid members of the society at this stage! I am not surprised the winner came from this group to be honest as the level of golf was very high. @Golfgraffix has the home advance but is a very solid player some would say a tour pro the amount he plays lol.. but there is literally no faults in his game 1 or 2 bad swings cost him on the day as is the standard his game is at though. Something I could only dream off. As he remarked how he was out driving me (Just lol) for an old man lol.. He has probably one of the best short games I have witnessed and I really enjoyed the chipping competition we had before the round plus the fact I went toe to toe with him showed me how much the work I have been putting in paying off and confidence building! Especially on links with tight lies! The fact I actually have a short game now. (Take a bow Dan Grieves)

@awec - I actually taught he was in the hunt. As I didn't see him hit any bad shots, great swing and seems powerful too. Hard to believe he's only playing golf a couple of years. I know he lost a ball on 1 or 2 holes which hurt. (I felt his pain).

@blue note The Bubba Watson of the society! His swing is just mad… lol.. Goes against all the golfing physics brings it back slow, no where near parallel at the top of his backswing, then its like he gets a Super Mario power up on the downswing beautiful connection and boy does it go… lol.. His handicap doesnt do him justice but 3 kids will do that and I can feel his pain 😂. Congrats on the win! I say Portmacnock might have a new member in the future.

On my own game - What could of been! I had 7 pars & 1 birdie… but sadly 6 scratches 🤦‍♂️Someone said I had 31 or 34 points. I have a new coach the last year and not only has he been working on my swing but also my mental state of mind. So I cant look at Golf Ireland (mainly because of my HC) and I obsess about it. So have to play strokes in my head and unless I shoot par, its a sh!t score and I'm a sh!t golfer! (long story 😂) but its working.. plus its harder than you would think. I started how would I say stupidly. Poor knock down drive lucky to have found it, was hitting a 9i back into play and my eyes started to water (unfortunately down to my eyes been lasered, it takes a bit to adjust to windy conditions) and the ball just disappeared. It was like I hit it with my eyes closed. I was more p!ssed off that I had felt it and didn't back off. Something I need to work more on. Then the second, poor enough drive but excellent recue only for to pull it slightly and wind to catch it and lost in the gorse should of know not to miss left. I think it was just the excitement of boards been back and actually been out playing my golfing brain hadn't switched on yet. But my driver has been hit & miss lately which is a work in process.

On the course - The more I play Portmacnock the more I love it to be honest. I taught the course was in great condition considering all the rain and while there was standing water on some parts of the course it wasnt in play. Sadly the new greens are still struggling which is a petty. Still dont understand why they changed them holes, maybe for better flow but feel they just changed for changes sake as is the way these days.. Look at The European for example.

Great to see all the faces old & new and have the banter in the Snug. Oh and win the Fivers off @Break80 & @tigerwood1 😁 Its a great start to the season.. hey lads! lol..

My only gripe of the day was the prices in the snug. €8.50 a pint of Guinness is taking the P!ss we aren't in Temple bar! 😂

Sadly missing the next 2 outings 😪

Post edited by benny79 on

And we're off.

Congratulations to Tiger for getting us away on our new adventure. A week late but I've never seen pooling water on Jameson Links in all the years we've been there.

I played with Fix,Space and Roadrunner, three old friends at this stage. You would get away with comments which maybe a newer member might find triggering but that's the vibe with these 3.

Roadrunner didn't play much over the winter but he still has that explosive power when the club meets the ball. Effortless, a pleasure to watch. He seemed to enjoy the day as he wasn't expecting much from lack of playing but it's still there.

Spacecoyote has a lovely game. All aspects of the game he does well. Rarely in trouble and he never compounds a mistake with another. A pure gentleman and great company always.

Fix just goes about his business, chopping up the course with some crazy strikes, the ball always finishes where he expects it to be. 100ft putt no bother put it to 3 ft. Hit your drive 10ft off the ground but it just keeps going to middle of the fairway. Only for a misjudged iron to 17, he could have won the event.

I was happy enough with the big stick but really rusty with the irons and wedges. Only had 1 scratch but enough 1 pointers to make your eyes water. Didn't expect much as Jameson and myself never met in the middle.

I don't mind, I had a fun day with some great characters.

See ye in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

20260221_155712.jpg 20260221_155900.jpg

Managed a couple of shots of the lads teeing off on 18 for the LD hole. Took no more photos on the day, guess thats a good indication of the company. Too busy chatting with sound lads to fit in time for the phone!!!

An early year round in the Jameson with Boards feels almost like tradition at this stage. Seeing the familiar faces and the slightly sheepish new faces (I remember the feeling well) is like the start of the golf year now, alongside the strange looks in the clubhouse when the prizes are being read out...and the winner is "Blue Note"

Getting 18 holes of qualifying in, in February, is always a nice bonus, and to do it in great company is even nicer.

There probably aren't enough superlatives for Roadrunners swing. We've all seen it. The thing is, it looks easy and unforced. There are other lads in the society that get it out there, but they generally look like they're trying to swing hard. For Roadrunner, most think of the big high drives, but its down the bag where you see the real benefit of the power. Going into greens with 2-3 clubs less and the bonus of the height is such an advantage. A little rust in the short game from lack of practice, but thats to be expected.

The start of your game with Break80 is figuring out which clubs has he brought for today's adventure!!! One thing that doesnt need changing is the driver and 3w. He hit them beautifully all day. Some loose stuff, and really it was with the scoring clubs in hand that he probably had the most pain. A few too many thinned wedges. Lag putting as always is super from Break80. And most critical of all, he supplied some gourmet sausage rolls for us to share a snack on the 8th tee.

Fix is probably the most consistent golfer I know. He's got such a tight control on his game, that even on off days he can still get around in a half-decent score. On the day he played really well, in particular on the back 9. Never in trouble off the tee, well measured approaches, and superb with the texas wedge. One over-club was very expensive and cost his only scratch of the day. Was a pity as his round deserved better.

My own game was pretty average to be honest. Biggest issue was the bad shots. Every poor strike I took seemed to receive maximum punishment. Problem was a 2-way miss. I did hit some fantastic provisional though 😂. Highlights of my own day were, a nice regulation birdie on 6. The lads were all taking the scenic route and my Drive, 7w, 9i bump and run, and 5ft putt all went unnoticed till they asked me what I scored! That and a tasty 8i to 2ft on the 14th, to save a par after 3 poor shots.

Much excitement, cheering and craic on the NTP where Fix hit the green, i then hit inside his, Roadrunner then hit inside mine, followed by Break80 who's ball went off straight at the hole, but hung in the wind, caught the front and rolled back down the hill, a yard further he likely would have released out and snuck past Roadrunner

3 sound lads on a class course, you can't really ask for much more on a Saturday afternoon.

See ye in New Forest

Post edited by spacecoyote on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭bobster453

This the one @benny79 ?

Just got it, bit of light reading while I am recovering.

20260223_181448.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Benny looked for a lesson with Grieve ..but apparently Grieve rang the 120 pros ken went to in Ireland...and he refused him a lesson...even for 2 fivers more......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭benny79

Yes @bobster453 thats the one 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Class day.
    Met was giving a poor forecast, which really came pretty good in the end. I had the umbrella out a few times and I had my light rain jacket on for part of it, but never was bad enough to warrant the rainpants. Rainpants are my barometer. I remember is as being milder than expected and surprisingly pleasant to be outside and not struggling to stay alive!

Qualifying golf! LOL! What a world.

The quality of the company in our 4ball was definitely way better than in any other of the groups. That there is no doubt of.

Break80 provided sausage rolls with some red spicy dip, no-messing hot sauce on the 8th tee. Bit of messing maybe. I was in great form right there as I had just made a special up and down from the bunker left of the green for a 3point par, plus was starting to get hungry and only had crap in my bag. Spacecoyote produced a novelty whiskey gift in his bag which warmed each of our stomachs at that point too. The lads behind, jealous I'd say, hit in on us. The four of us ducked for cover. I think it was sorbet (never liked him!) who was then left with a tough looking approach from there back to his own green.

Fingers starting to smell like gourmet sausage roll and belly warmed I nailed a savage drive down the right side of 8 into a growing breeze and made a solid par there too.

The golf in our group was good. Every shot felt captivating. Something to watch. Will it go in the hole? Bunker? Water? We struggled around the greens, well I did. When you are not playing, you get nervous over the driver or long fairway, long irons shots. But those were all fine for me. It was chipping, putting, gentle touch around tough lies that abandons you first. I should have played the numbers and taken my putter more from off the green. I remember a few approach shots, struck perfectly executed, which maybe just didnt' budge in the wind, or budged too much. And were just a yard or two off which got gobbled up in a cavernous bunker or, hit the a downslope on the green and careened off. It felt like a good round, or it could have been.

Spacecoyote really unloaded off the tee, very impressive, centre face strikes with each and every single one of his provisionals, right down the centre. Too many provos though. And a bunker nightmare or two around there for him on the day which is always the danger at jameson. Consistent and clever. He's beats courses down with pure logic, normally. But Jameson outsmarted him on Saturday I think.

Break80 has some kind of connection in his swing with power seeming to come from his legs and hips. I don't understand his swing, or where his power comes from. He has a movement you don't often see where he's gets power from an incredible movement originating from his hips which moves through his whole body. It gives him incredible carry distance with the driver and the ball seems to hang in the air for ever. Imagine his wife's lucky lady too?

Fix is Fix. He always gets it done. Always. Whether injured or not. No challenge is too much. He has the complete game. The contact with driver is amazing, ball speed with driver is truly pro level. But's it's the putter where he really makes that count. I'm not sure I ever seen him hit a bad putt. He's been going to the gym I believe and the arms on the lads are utterly ridiculous. Over a pint of guiness afterwards he flexed his biscep and I suddenly realised that I'm a different sub-species animal to whatever genus he comes from. His muscles have muscles. He topped our group, and I suspected at the time that it may have been enough to clinch a sneaky little win given the conditions. Well done to bluenote who must have really played out of his skin to shoot three shots better. On the, 15th, maybe, he overclubbed slightly, sent the ball slightly long, which could the downslope after the green, and the ball jumped on into the heavy marram grass. Will I provo, I think he asked me. I said no, I think i can see in still in the marram there. I thought he was going to ask me "will I be able to get a club on it", he started asked, but it came out as "will I get the putter on it?" made me smile. He always thinks differently to me and sees things in his own way.

As coyote mentioned, the par 3 11th (I think), the closest to the hole shot was probably a highlight. It started with me ranting about losing a club, my 9i, one of my group stole it I was sure. They didn't. It was just already in my hand while I was scouring my bag for it. Received a fair bit of stick about it and still with smiles on our faces from my mishap, each of us hit a pure strike, which hung in the air hovering right over the flag stick. Each of us looked like we hand a real chance of it going in. We each missed the ace and I ended closest (+made the putt for my first of two twos!). Actually fancied myself to take the closest to the pin. But alas, I see I was pipped for that honour too. Screw you ciano!

All in all, I hadn't been playing much and this round is after bringing me right back into the obsession again.

Cheers lads. Wish I could have hung around a little longer for the prize giving, but had left my daughter with my folks and need to get back. A really well organised outing given the weeks before. And some very nice touches by the new captain who is a very popular guy and destined to go down as the greatest captain of our time, but surely another who's golf falls to bits during his captaincy too, right?

• Administrators Posts: 56,327 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Two years in a row I've marked the card of the winner of this outing, so set a reminder for 2027 lads to get your name onto my line.

Came into the weekend hoping to put in a score I could be happy with, unfortunately it didn't happen. I struggled to put back to back scores on the card, I'd have a good hole then follow it up with a stupid mistake on the next hole. It was around the greens that killed me, I just didn't chip or pitch well. To be honest, I made some stupid shot selections from good positions, I tried to play shots I'd play on my home course rather than adapt to the Links conditions.

On the hole where the stream runs across the front of the green I laid up perfectly after my 2nd, with the aim of getting up and down for the par or bogey at worst. Instead I put my chip miles off the back of the green. Did the same thing a few holes later. On the 12th I hit a good second shot with my 3 wood but couldn't find the ball anywhere. I lost concentration a bit in the middle of the round when I got frustrated at some of my errors.

I did manage to get a 2 on the 9th. I thought it was the nearest the pin hole and went for it, and stuck it to within a few feet. And then was told the NP was on the 11th this year. 😅

@blue note had a great round and a very worthy winner, running up that sort of score with 3 scratches on the card is some going.

@benny79 is always great craic to play with. Had a slow start but then started to get into the groove of things. Was either feast or famine for him on the scorecard.

@Golfgraffix another gent to play with, has the local course knowledge obviously but also has the game to put in a good score. Some great short game golf on show from him.

The course itself was in good condition, apart from the few spots of standing water and the obvious major issues with a few of the greens (putting on these was a lottery). Definitely a course I enjoy playing on despite the fact it beats me up every time.

A great start for captain @tigerwood1 , the day went like clockwork, there was good chat in the bar after. The addition of the back 9 prize was a great idea, keeps everyone interested for longer on the day.

Looking forward to New Forest.

Pity ye’d already moved on from the 8th tee — missed my recovery shot onto the 7th green.

Plenty of spice in that one too 😉 missed the par putt though 😢

They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks but I still have hope I might be the exception. Maybe I’ve just been barking up the wrong tree all along 😁

Playing with @scotty_golf9 and @ciano15 is a real eye-opener to how simple the game can look when you get the basics right and actually allow yourself to relax.and enjoy. The lads obviously have serious talent and plenty of self-belief and why wouldn’t they? They both hit the ball a country mile.
    I’ve played with them a good few times over the years, and if I could hit it 70% as pure as they do, it’d be hard not to want to tee it up three or four times a week.
    I had to laugh at one stage — the two of them were chatting about whether to hit a hard wedge or a soft nine iron, while I’m standing there internally debating between a four or five iron. Different game altogether.
    For a long time it looked like Ciano was going to cruise to victory after a brilliant front nine. He even claimed nearest the pin on the 11th with shot to 54cm. But a couple of mistakes — and some unfortunate bad lies on relatively straightforward par fives (even with his distance) — cost him dearly. Still, he hung in there for second.
    Scotty started well too, but when the weather turned he lost a few off the tee and maybe a bit of focus with it. Never easy when conditions change on you.
    There was great excitement on the 18th tee, as the two boys were fairly confident one of them was taking home the longest drive. Sure enough, they hit two absolute scorchers and the celebrations started early… only to discover walking down the fairway that Scotty had out driven @Alanm by about 50 yards but unfortunately had run out of fairway. Keano, meanwhile, had just finished a few yards short. Never count your chickens before they hatch, lads 😂
    The less said about my own game the better. All I’ll say is I’m glad there were no cameras on the 18th. I did, however, have a few moments during the day where I managed to hit a couple of quality golf shots so there’s hope yet for the next outing 😁

It was great to get the first outing of the year out of the way and it was a very enjoyable day .

Now we can look forward to the record snowfalls scheduled for 21st March 😂
    Thanks to our sponsor @Golfgraffix for not only subsidising the green fees but also enabling us to secure a rescheduled date so quickly. A big thank you as well to the committee for all the hard work that goes on in the background. I believe @Seve OB is working hard on getting the full results out shortly.

And finally can ask everyone please to update their GUI handicap with the Portmarnock round, just to keep us all on a level playing field 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Snackbox20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

And just to Tigers last point about registering rounds, we did flag up in the overall thread that you are not eligible to win a prize if we're in qualifying conditions and you do not register the round