Ryder Jug 2025 - Tulfarris 4th October @ 09:40am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Break80

Congratulations to all involved.

Great memories which will stay with ye forever.

Many thanks to John@clubnet for setting up the live scoring. It was being followed the length and breath of the country yesterday. A fabulous dimension to the rivalry of the jug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,477 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

yes I actually forgot to mention @Golfgraffix in my earlier post. I had a quick scramble to set up the live scoring ahead of tee off but once I got it up and running it’s a really great way to keep tabs on matches. We use it in my own club for our interclub matches also as I know lots of other clubs do also. I think it’s fair to say we’d be lost without it in this day and age.

Huge thanks to @Golfgraffix and ClubNet for their facilities throughout the year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,038 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

well done lads, another great win

many thanks to @Golfgraffix for the live scoring yet again. Such a brilliant service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭boccy23

Another finish to a BGS year and delighted to have participated in my second Ryder Jug matches. As ever, a brilliant occasion and thrilled to win it again and retain the Jug for BGS.

Arrived to Tulfarris and with storm Amy having passed through, the wind was still up but what I wasn't expecting was the cold. Christ 'twas freezing. I was off first with @Kiith for company and we played Alan and Brian from the Reps. Really enjoyed the match, both super guys and real good golfers. We ended up winning but if the lads had started a small bit better and holed a few putts, this match could easily have gone the opposite way.

We started out and a few nervy drives negotiated. Kiith went a bit right on the third but and excellent up and down won us the hole. I was on the tee for the Par 3 second and I said with a 3-4 club win in and across, a ball on the green would make it hard for them. I hit a 5-i for a 148 yard shot and melted it. Wind took it a bit at the end but I was 20 feet below the pin. They ended up in the water and not making an up and down, so 2 up through 2. We had the start we wanted and pushed on from there. Kiith and I dovetailed well to turn 5 up. Highlight was a nice birdie 2 on the 6th for the win.

We knew then that we just needed to match to win our point. Lost 11 to an excellent par from Brian and by this stage Alan was really striping the ball. A small turning point was after losing 11, they had a short putt to win 2 in a row and get to 3 down. As Brian said, the Bryson come back was on, but that missed and we dodged a bullet there.

Stayed 4 up and then on 14, Kiith hit a magnificent iron to 10 feet beyond the pin. An easy 2 putt par and we closed it out 5 & 4. Delighted to win our point and bonus of being close to the clubhouse. With the weather, wind/rain/cold, I decided to call it a day and head to the showers.

Stuck around for the rest of the lads and really happy that we pulled off the win and as the Americans would say retained the cup. Fair play to the Reps for sticking around for the chat and banter. Really enjoyed the day.

Small word for the time taken to complete. We played 14 and that took 4 hours. I reckon the last few groups too nearer 6 hours to complete. With the very heavy rough not too far off the fairway and the winds, everyone spent an inordinate amount of time on the day looking for balls. They could really do with cutting all that back for winter especially. But overall despite the poor weather the previous day, the course was in remarkable condition and very playable.

Thanks again to everyone involved. Thanks to Captain Kiith, @Seve OB for his administration and @Golfgraffix for the excellent platform for the scoring on the day. Also, fair play to our incoming captain @tigerwood1 for showing up for some moral support.

On to 2026. Hope for another great year which will end with a similar or even better result in the Ryder Jug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Sorbet

Enjoyed my first ever Ryder Jug in my second year with the Boards Society. Can see what all the fuss was about trying to qualify - a great day out with real competition with the lads from the Reps. It was golf but not as I knew it! The tension if that’s the word was palpable You really got the feeling that every shot, every hole mattered. I was really lucky to have been partnered with @spacecoyote , couldn’t have asked for someone better to guide me round on my first ever team match play match. I’m sure he felt the weight of carrying me on a few holes on the back 9 when my driver let me down but never showed it. We were up against Richie and Steve from the reps and three of the four of us were in and around 21-22 handicaps so @spacecoyote was to give a shot on about 14 holes - a tough ask.
    I had a decent putt on the first for a half after Space had found trouble in a green side bunker.
    Bunker trouble for me on the par 3 2nd and a wayward tee shot from Space led to 1 down after 2.
    Well placed drives and second shots by us on 3 meant we were on to get one back - but the Reps must have also been following the advice of never give up - never know what can happen. Richie was in trouble all hole with nearly lost balls but we managed to snatch a loss out of the jaws of a win to go two down - really gutting one that.
    Onto 4 where @tigerwood1 was waiting in the trees to see my recovery shot onto the green which deserved a half but the Reps sank a long putt for the win - 3 down after 4 not the start we’d been hoping for.
    Good drive on 5 (some nice words from future captain @tigerwood1 raising the spirits) followed by a good green side bunker shot led to an unlikely win - 2 down. Will give that one to @tigerwood1!
    Played 6 well but another good putt from Reps gave them the win - back to 3 down. Bit of a blow as we had probably deserved the half and halted our comeback!
    From there match was really tight nip and tuck but by 13 we’d managed to get back to all square for the 1st time since the first and I felt the tide was turning after taking advantage of the one hole where I was the only one with a shot.
    My driver deserted me on two holes in the run in so that @spacecoyote was playing alone - tough ask we were one down after 15

A good putt on 16 got us the win on the par 3 and we were all square. A lost ball off the tee on 17 for me left @spacecoyote a great half on his own so that we came down 18 all square. Two reasonable drives from us vs one lost ball and another short drive put us in pole position. I pulled a 5 iron for a safe shot up left of green but changed my mind and went 3 hybrid to be more aggressive- too aggressive as it turned out and put the ball in the water - out of the hole. Steve from the Reps had lost his drive but his provisional was his best drive of the day - followed by a good approach to green and another long putt - birdie off his second ball, was enough to win it for them. Gutted of course to lose it on the last, especially from the position we’d managed to get ourselves back to after the slow start but the match was played in great spirits and really enjoyed it. Again great partner in @spacecoyote who also did a lot of the live scoring which meant that by the time we were coming up 18 we knew we had the Jug retained at least (thanks @Golfgraffix your line scoring meant I didn’t f*** my hybrid into the water after my ball on 18 🤣).

Well done to Captain @Kiith for leading the win and enjoy the Jug on the mantelpiece for the year! Thanks for support on the way round when your match ended. Thanks to all the committee and @Seve OB for all the work - much appreciated and I’m sure I only know the half of it. It’s some society and I’m so delighted I found it. Look forward to 2026 and dying for @tigerwood1 email with course choices! Winter well everyone.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Nice one folks!

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Excellent win, well done lads! Enjoying the writeups too. First Jug I've missed in over 10 years, I made the cardinal mistake of winning the first event and being unable to compete for the rest of the year 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bobster453

Yea but what a win!!!..75 gross was it?..sticks long in the memory the round you had that day.

And lets not forget the Jug 2 years ago either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

A 74. About to drop it off my 20 rounds sadly. I've had a great run in the Jug. The 6-0 win two years ago was amazing!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

What an end to the year. Went in confident with the picks we had, and wasn't let down by anyone. Thanks to everyone who took part. You earned your spots during the year, and that's 3 in a row now 🍻

Played with @boccy23, and i feel like we had a great partnership. Any time my drives went wayward, he was solid off the tee. Some cracking drives, and his putting was also on form. We built up a nice lead early on, and was tough for Alan and Brian from the Reps to claw their way back in. Had a chance at 12, but a missed 2 footer cost them a win, and we closed it out on 14. Was fairly happy with my game overall, and ended with a real nice drive/9 iron to about 10 feet to win the match.

Matchplay really is a different beast, and i find it extremely enjoyable to play. Loved the round, and absolutely delighted to bring the trophy home.

Fair play to @tigerwood1, our incoming captain, who braved the weather to provide support for the team. That dedication will serve him and us well next year 👍️ Thanks to Gregg from the Reps for doing all the organizing, and for all the Reps players who came out. Could have easily swung the other way, and i'm sure they'll be raring to go next year. And finally to @Golfgraffix for the use of Clubnet, and the Live Scoring feature, which is brilliant for keeping everyone involved even when not playing.

Looking forward to just playing golf next year and having no responsibilities (a few people will be relieved as well i'm sure 🤣).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭benny79

To make the the jug by skin of my teeth felt like justice from finishing 3rd last season without playing the Captains due to holidays & then missing the jug due to a death in the family 🤦‍♂️. Mad how close it came this year. I was well out of the top 10 & the win on Captains propelled me to 8th! Shows how close it is and good to see the points & handicap system working well! very hard to get right! Especially when you have a load of golf nuts off the internet to deal with! 😂 but the tweaks over the years, Golf Ireland & the mathematics geniuses in @Seve OB & @spacecoyote seem to have it down to a Tee 😁

Had the pleasure of playing with a good pal at this stage in @Seve OB. I suppose we are 2 veterans in the society now but a great partnership it was & we had a great match against the 2 lads Adam & Gregg two sound lads in fairness. But are match was never in doubt..

I was totally unprepared for the weather more so the cold! And started slow from us going 1 up, level, 1 up level all the way to around the 8/9th i think and then I started to kick into gear to go 2 up. I told @Seve OB there having a wobble let's put the foot down & finish it early. I'm fcuking freezing 😂 & we quickly went to 4 up.. with a hole to win the match the lads put up a fight with a 1/2 on one hole & then won 2 on the bounce typical 😂 but we won the next & the match… I was glad to get of the course & warm up. More importantly happy with my good form still there although i was slow starting but weather didn't help. But had a absolute melt down week previous in the Presidents at my club 🤦‍♂️ so wasn't great preparation.

Thanks to @Golfgraffix & Clubnet for everything you do towards the society each year. It's has really propelled it into the 21st century and all the lads that helped out throughout the year. Some not even committee members. @Seve OB @spacecoyote the mathematics genius. @Kiith for taking the role as captain not an easy task but no doubt a rewarding one.

To incoming Captain @tigerwood1 one of the longest serving members of the society and still has the title i think of most outings made.. It only took me about 6 years to convince you to take up the role! 😂 but im sure one you will cherish! We are all here to help buddy 😂

Now to convince @FixdePitchmark to play another year! He secretly loves it 🤫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 weapon of grass destruction

Well this was my first Jug so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Was chuffed to make it,I had a decent year so was going into it fairly confident. We had alot of players in fine form.

On the day I had the pleasure of playing with @bakerbhoy which in hindsight was the perfect partner for me, I utilised his experience and his know how and tamed down the approaches I'd normally make like a 3 wood from 220 yards out in the tree's with 30 yards of movement required, so he took me off the ledge quite a bit and the punch 5 iron was my best club on the day because off the tee on the front 9 I was a bit wayward but I think only 1 of them took me out of the hole. We were in control early on I think the 3rd hole we went ahead and held it steady throughout the round, we would have been ahead earlier only for a rogue blade of grass attached itself to bakers putter😂. We lost 2 holes on the day but recovered them back straight away. By about the 7th I ditched the 3 wood and went to one of the 2 drivers and it seemed to do the trick. We went dormy on 15 and sealed it with a par from myself on the 16th. The round itself was good laugh the 2 lads from the reps were two sound lads I think we gave them 8 shots altogether and finished 4 and 2 on the 16th, it was quite a long round though the watch said it was 5 hrs 46 minutes for 16 holes so thankfully the rain stopped and it warmed up.

Baker himself was on fire on the front 9, I don't think he missed a fairway. He had a quality chip in for a birdie too which was sublime. He gave solid advice throughout the day. I wasn't sure that we had to update the holes after each one I was updating them when there was a score change, I apologise to those keeping track at home.

I will say the live scoring setup was excellent it couldn't of been any smoother once @kev_s88 gave me 3 tutorials one while on the course😂. So much thanks to @Golfgraffix for setting it up that was stellar.

Also thanks to captain @Kiith and all the committee lads yous all made it a great year and also a cracking day, it was a great day had by all. And also the new captain @tigerwood1 for coming out for some moral support was great to see him and lighten up the mood a bit.

Sad that's its over for the year but looking forward to next year already.