2025 NFL Season discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭MileHighGuy

Well thays that, great game.... Takes a bit of pressure off Denver.... However, San Diego really are under the radar this year..... They are right there and no one is talking about them.

Ah yep, I know, it was like a tidal wave, but damn it was all Patriots before that... I just think they proved they are a real team.... All anyone had talked about was the weak schedule.... I like the Patriots more after that tbh... Not the result they wanted obviously.... But I wouldn't count them out if they were to meet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Well the bears situation would be greatly helped by the broncos doing the business today, so I'll be cheering for ye anyway. I think both teams have had a similar situation where desire their records, pundits just don't think they're for real. I can see the argument regarding the bears though, beating the eagles was big but they were not clicking right. So basically both the bears and the broncos can prove they're the real deal the same way: beat the Packers.

OK, haha, finally got the difference between reply and quote!

I hope they can do the business for both of us....

Yep, the Bears had a Patriots type game in a loss last week.... They can hang... And it's on to the playoffs.

It has been such a strange year... The Bears, Patriots and Broncos definitely havemt had the respect their records imy... And maybe rightfully so for one reason or another.... And they all have/had games to prove peoe wrong... But even had they won these games, it's all about the playoffs now. A regular season win won't cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,841 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

And the chiefs are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,926 ✭✭✭✭Penn

The Raiders were the right team at the right time for the Eagles. Sure, the Raiders have been absolutely awful and were without Geno Smith, so was almost definitely going to be an Eagles victory. But even with that, the Eagles played a lot better than they had been and the playcalling was a lot better. Using Goedert more, throws down the middle, Barkley getting more traction. All of which will help build more confidence back as well.

Bills will be a tough game, and we have Commanders twice too. Might be best resting some players for the Commanders games too.

Chiefs being gone is unreal, and Mahomes having to be helped back to the locker room means it could be pretty serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,663 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

With an injury to add insult to … well, injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭dmakc

Did anyone's redzone just cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭dmakc

FFS Sky. Only missed the final drive attempt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,099 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Torn ACLs for Mahomes & Parsons according to their teams.

Big blow for Green Bay. And though Mahome's season was obviously already over, it's the kind of thing which will likely carry over into early next season.

Dolphins are benching Tua Tagovailoa in favour of rookie QB Quinn Ewers for their next match against the Bengals. Can't say I'm surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,230 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I thought Ewers looked pro-ready in college. I was very surprised he wasn't rated a first round pick. He went well over 3000 yards in his last two seasons with Texas.

I'm interested to see how he does.

Sounds like Rams V Seahawks was a hell of a game. Gonna have to check out the replay later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,709 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The listings for Sky Sports Mix are showing some random live games starting tomorrow with Eagles v Commanders.

Then:

Packers v Bears

Texans v Chargers on 27th 21:30

Ravens v Packers on 28th 01:00

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I watched it, great comeback by the Seahawks. Walker had a great game and they finally got Smith-Njigba into it late in the game and it made a huge difference.

Nakua was ridiculous again. I think we were watching the two best receivers in the game right now in that game.

The Bears are the best entertainment in the NFL for years. I'm not sure if there was ever a more exciting team.

10 points down with 3 minutes left and they get it to overtime and stop the Packers and then Williams throws a 46 yard bomb to DJ Moore in the end zone.

They are just awesome to watch every week.

Outside of your own team I can't see how you could shout against them.

Packers will rightly feel they fcuked that away, but I've never seen anything like Williams for always feeling like he can work a miracle under pressure. I wish he'd do it when he's not under pressure, but he is an incredible leader. Feel like while the defense didn't concede much today, they were never in control, couldn't stop the run, got gashed over and over by the backup. Not used to saying this as a bears fan but our QB bailed out our defense big time (helped by a special teams miracle).

As a bears fan, you can say whatever you want about the reasons for it, Love injured, inside kick fluke yadda yadda. I don't care. That was the best craic I've ever had watching football.

Who wouldn't want to tune in for the niners bears game next week?

2 fairly epics games so far this week, Rams Hawks a Friday evening treat, and Bear Packers for breakfast this morning.

It can be slightly weird following a sport that no-one in your friend-group has any interest in, but one small advantage is that it's so easy to avoid result spoilers and watch games as if they are live.

Go Browns. Shedeur with a good first drive.

Now let's see the future hall of famer break the sack record today.

Steelers got away with roughing the passer on 4th down. I can't understand how that happens.

The last (failed) drive by the Lions was an intense rollercoaster - DPI on 4th down to prolong it, then tripping to get the Lions in Steelers territory, OPI to cancel out a game-winning touchdown, another OPI on the final play when it looked for a second as if Goff had scored the winning touchdown after a throw from the ten was caught before the sticks, then lateralled back to him.

I'm exhausted. Lions are doomed unfortunately, down to about 5% chance to make play-offs.

I posted earlier that Goff got pushed to the ground on a 4th and goal and nothing was called.

On that last play St Brown was shoved by a defender before the pass and that wasn't called. Steelers got a lot of help from the officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,841 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I picked the chiefs to beat the fecking titans even without mahomes. It seems they’ve shut up their shop early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,748 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

If that last play was given as a TD it would have been an absolute shambles. St Brown caught it at the 1 and was dragged backwards 5 yards before tossing it to Goff. If a defender had reached in and stripped it at any point between the 1 and 6 yard line the refs would have ruled forward progress 100 times out of 100, but he's allowed to lateral it to a teammate? F**k that.

The stupid ref couldn't possibly have bungled the announcement of the decision any more than he did. Basically says "it was a touchdown" *cheers from Lions fans that drown out what he says afterwards* "but it wasn't a touchdown". Nice work genius.

But the decision was correct to me.

As I said, St Brown was pushed before the pass so the play should have happened again with fouls on both sides.

Anyway my Patriots won which should mean the division title as we have the Jets and Dolphins left to play. I'm not sure about the conference but I think winning the last two gets us the no.1 seed.

Behind Denver on common opponents tie-breaker (key difference they beat LV twice, Patriots somehow lost to them week 1).

So NE would need to win out and for Denver to lose a game (at Chiefs and v LAC are their last two).

49ers walloped the Colts. Rivers didn't do too badly when he got time, offensive line was the problem. He threw a pick six at the end but it was desperation time. Final score 48-27.

Niners will be a very dangerous wildcard team.

As a bears fan, would definitely prefer a handy, psychologically weak opponent like the Packers

It's mad that the playoffs are pretty much all set with two weeks to go.

The only team left in the hunt in the AFC is the Ravens who need the Steelers to lose their last two games to make it. The Colts are still in the hunt I think but it's unrealistic to think they'll make it.

It's the same on the NFC side with the Panthers looking to hang on to beat the Bucs. Similar to the Colts, the Lions need the Packers to lose their last two to make it. Realistically they have no chance.