Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought a car from a dealer, broke down days later – no help, blocked on Facebook

• 13-04-2025 01:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Hi folks,
    Just looking for advice and maybe to warn others. I bought a used car from a dealership recently. No issues were mentioned before the sale, but just days after driving it home, it broke down. A mechanic told me the thermostat and water pump were gone and needed replacing.

I contacted the dealer immediately—calls, messages, even through Facebook—and was completely ignored. After commenting on their public posts to ask for help, they blocked me.

I didn't get any warranty, but I thought consumer laws in Ireland still offered some protection? I’d appreciate any advice, especially if others have been through something similar or know the best steps to take.

Unfortunately I can't get my story out as they have blocked me on everything and my Google review seems to not appear

Thanks in advance.

Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Raichų

If you have their address can you not go down and demand your money back or that?

Otherwise I’d be inclined to engage a solicitor. How much did the car cost you and what car was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭sniperman

afaik without a written warranty,its like buying from a private seller and sold as seen,maybe im wrong since its a dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,093 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

If it's a dealership why not call in to them instead of relying on Facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Whocare

Lol what a sc6mbag you knowingly bought car without warranty probably got it cheap and now it broke down you want to put in a warranty claim lol 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭Sono

Out of curiosity what was the cost of the car?

also reading your OP again it appears you deserved to be blocked in fairness. Before even allowing them a chance to respond to you- instead you posted on their public page accusing them of selling you a lemon.

I understand your position but it’s totally out of order to assume they knew this would happen and then posting on their public page like that of course you got blocked!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think you've approached this incorrectly too.

Thermostat and water pump can fail. Nothing too terrible about those, and they aren't a massive job to replace either on most cars.

Go see the seller in person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,022 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

a dealer can not retail a car to an ordinary person and wash their hands of it if it breaks down, op has a warranty even if was not written. If he’s in the motor trade and it was a trade sale then no warranty would be given.

Rather than take it back to the dealer for repair it looks like he went to a 3rd party for repairs. He’s kinda goosed himself there in the way he’s went about getting it fixed. I don’t think they’re under any obligation to pay for a 3rd party repair, they may do but he’s kinda spent any good will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,538 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The caliber of dealer who sell cars to the public without a warranty should be a red flag to begin with for a buyer. If they won't stand over the car with a warranty then they don't have faith in it. Buying a car knowing it is being sold without a warranty and then hoping the SOG Act mitigates against it can be a risky game. Getting a 3rd party to diagnose a problem just muddies the water even further as to what the OP expects to achieve from all this.

Irrespective of what laws are out there, these cowboys are not on their first rodeo and are well versed in dodging responsibility.

Good luck, I think you will need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Not sure how a dealer could knowingly hide a water pump issue. Not a big deal to replace .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,865 ✭✭✭User1998

Just contact the CCPC in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why am I getting a feeling this is another spam thread?

Brand new poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Anyone else think boards.ie start these threads to generate traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

spam or not if a water pump goes say after 2 months after purchase does a dealer have to fix it?

lads in fairness if you have a question to ask on this forum and you otherwise don’t use boards how else can you ask other than making an account?

Regardless the only thing to do here is contact CCPC. Why listen to strangers on the internet over the CCPC? I thought giving legal advice isn’t allowed on Boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

what car and year and how much did it cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 DanielMcCoy2024

I was going to but it's more money wasted on a journey I don't wanna take they are so shady and I really don't wanna waste anymore money on them. I couldn't afford a solicitor on top of all this. It's a 142 Mazda and paid just shy of 4 grand

They are 2 and half hours away

You don’t need a solicitor. Just contact CCPC in the morning.

I've givenn them a week to respond

That's only the begining I am imagining of the issues engine still doesn't sound perfect

Will do thanks

Is it a 2.2 diesel?

Yup

Jesus. Get rid of that car ASAP

That bad ya ?

Its quite literally one of the worst engines ever made