Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air Rifle Licensing Laws

• 09-03-2025 08:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭

Just wondering, was there ever a discussion in Ireland about adjusting the laws to match uk rules air srifle of 16 jules or less to be license free?

I see them as great rat rifles and safer in more build up villeages or farm yards for vermin or maybe rabits.

Might buy one in time just couldnt be bothered with licensing for another rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Even a (real) liberal, like me wouldn't want it.
    Too many eejets out there.
    They removed that law in Scotland…

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

It was mentioned in the last FEC but nothing has been enacted on that score yet.

To be fair licencing a 308 and a 22 air rifle should not be treated the same, yet in the law as it stands it is.

Utterly ridiculous.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭john_aero

I understand that side of any idiot getting gone. however there should be something like a cert from local guard like they do for starter pistol

I had heard rumours of it been relaxed pitty not moved on my much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,216 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Let's face it.If we liscense a glorified toy[paint ball marker] a mediveal device that hasnt been used as an instrument of warfare since around 1492 and the rest of the world, even Communist dictatorships allow its people to own[Crossbows].What chance do you think a paranoid unarmed police force informing gutless politicans of "blood on the streets" type scenarios ,if this was to happen would give us on getting these types of guns even under a 12foot/lb[in the old money] limitation that the rest of Europe allows 14 year old kids to shoot safely in their back gardens or at local improptu air gun ranges held once a week in the local back room of a pub or bowling alley?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Ya I see them as a great way have funs safely and teach people how to shoot.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Unfortunately the best you have on that front here without a licence is an airsoft gun.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

How many commercial hunting/target air rifles are actually under 16joule?

1j is ridiculous, but I was under the impression that it was most slightly higher range toys/airsoft that were caught up in it.

I’ve no idea how light “proper” air rifles can be?

I used one of them to teach few how to shoot and operate a pistol safely.

told the local club to buy a few as safe way demo the functions and risks. Safer make mistake with airsoft then .22

Was watching video from UK lad who was reminding people dangers of air guns and fact lot lads get them, tune them up and have been caught by police with an illegal firearm as exceeded limits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭civdef

From the first report of Firearms Expert Committee 2023

[quote]3.1 Regulation of gas-operated firearms
    The Committee agreed that there would be merit in reviewing the regulation of some gasoperated
    firearms. The Committee understands that gas-operated firearms of over one joule
    are defined as firearms under the Firearms Act 1925, as a result possession of these devices
    is subject to the same certification and security framework provided for firearms which use
    an explosive propellant. Ireland appears to be an outlier in Europe for applying this level of
    regulation to gas-operated firearms, with many neighbouring States permitting the
    possession of these devices up to a higher joule rate without the need to obtain a firearm
    certificate. However, Northern Ireland and Scotland, like Ireland, require the possession of a
    firearms certificate for gas-operated firearms with a muzzle energy above one joule. England
    and Wales, in comparison, permit some gas-operated firearms with a muzzle energy under
    16 joules be possessed without a certificate subject to other restrictions.1 The Committee
    noted that some Member States (DK, FI, ET, CZ) would appear to permit access to gasoperated
    firearms up to 16 joules and over.
    An Garda Síochána advised that gas-operated firearms of a lesser joule are at the lower level
    of concern in relation to public safety. However, An Garda Síochána does not believe that this
    means they present no risk to the public and any deregulation would have to be carefully
    considered. An Garda Síochána contend that some level of control must continue to be
    applied to these firearms.
    Bearing this in mind, the Committee recommends that consideration be given to a less
    onerous form of licensing for gas-operated firearms, while remaining subject to licensing.
    The Committee identified that there are three types of gas-operated firearms, these are:
    airsoft devices, paintball markers and gas-operated firearms which can use metal projectiles.

3.1.1 Airsoft and paintball
    The Committee was made aware that private ownership of an airsoft device or paintball
    marker over one joule is uncommon. The Committee understands this is because using these
    devices for events and competitions involving combat style shooting may only be undertaken
    at locations authorised by the district or division’s Superintendent under Section 2(4)(d) of
    the 1925 Firearms Act, as amended.
    The Committee believes that, as there may only be a limited number of individuals seeking to
    be granted a certificate to possess a gas-operated firearm for the purpose of airsoft and
    paintball, the resources required to provide a separate regulatory regime for these firearms
    would be disproportionate to the number of users who would benefit from their deregulation. Therefore, the Committee did not consider changes to the regulation of these
    devices as part of their discussions.

3.1.2 Other gas-operated firearms
    The Committee believes there would be merit in exploring the introduction of an alterative
    regulatory framework for some gas-operated firearms over one joule. The Committee
    identified these as gas-operated firearms that use 1.77 wasted pellets and metal “BBs”. These
    could be rifles or air guns with a muzzle energy not exceeding 16.27 joules, or 8.13 joules for
    an air pistol.
    The Committee identifies that these gas-operated firearms can be used for the control of
    small pests such as rats and for some types of target shooting. The Committee notes these
    gas-operated firearms are often more expensive than traditional firearms and believes that
    while the same barriers for their possession remain in place they are not attractive to
    prospective shooters when compared to firearms that use an explosive propellant.
    The Committee suggests that, if it is recognised that these firearms are at the lower level of
    concern in relation to public safety, then a more accessible process for possessing them could
    be introduced. The Committee believes this would encourage some prospective firearms
    holders to acquire these lower powered gas-operated firearms instead of higher powered .22
    rifles or non-restricted shotguns.

However, the Committee recognizes that there is still a degree of risk associated with these
    firearms and that, therefore, persons should still be subject to Garda vetting and need to
    present a good reason before being permitted to acquire them. The Committee believes that
    these firearms should still only be sold by Registered Firearms Dealers who would record their
    serial numbers and other identifiers. The Committee believes that reducing the licensing fee
    and simplifying the licensing process could make the acquisition of these firearms more
    attractive to prospective shooters.
    The Committee considered the storage standards provided by S.I. No. 307/2009, Firearms
    (Secure Accommodation) Regulations 2009. While the Committee agrees it is preferable that
    firearms are stored in a gun cabinet, it seems disproportionate to the Committee that the
    legislation applies a higher standard to a low powered gas-operated firearm than a nonrestricted
    shotgun.
    The Committee also believes it is disproportionate that possession of a low powered gasoperated
    firearm could result in a person needing to upgrade their security arrangements.
    For instance, if a person who possesses three non-restricted firearms wishes to acquire a low
    power gas-operated rifle as a “training” firearm for a family member, this person could be
    required to install an alarm and additional locks. Instead, it would be easier for them to seek
    a training certificate for one of their existing firearms and as a result the inexperienced
    shooter could have access to a more powerful firearm than is necessary.

The Committee believes that the current framework of the regulation of gas-operated
    firearms creates an environment where there is little motivation for a person to seek to be
    granted a lower powered firearm. The Committee believes that under the existing framework
    there are less barriers in place for the acquisition of more powerful firearms and this should
    be reviewed.

Recommendations
    The Committee recommends that the licensing framework applied to low powered gas operated
    firearms should be reviewed to make it less onerous for both sides of the licensing
    process.
    The Committee recommends that the storage requirements for low powered gas-operated
    firearms provided by the S.I. No. 307/2009 Firearms (Secure Accommodation) Regulations
    2009 should be reviewed to make them more proportionate.
    The Committee recommends that these reviews should aim to make the licensing of these
    firearms more accessible when compared to higher-powered firearms.[/quote]

So maybe in 20 years there maybe a change

Least its been discussed and the decisions are not a bad idea, i dont see much issue with how they plan on working the system, small step down on regulation but still some oversight by all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,216 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

"Gas powered Firearms" LOL! No one notice the oxymoron in terms on this so called "Expert comittie" Cold gas or air pressure powered arms is the term you were looking for L&G.

So suummarising up this two pages is;"Well we in aGS as the "experts"are paranoid still that these if they are not licensed as strictly as genuine firearms it will create mass mayhem and rivers of blood will flow on Irish streets if so much as anything stronger than a child's sucker arrow toy is given to the public! Yeah we know those foregin countries,that we didn't bother to research properly on ANY aspect of their gun laws and just picked the bits WE like to illustrate our points, allow their kids and citizens these dangerous yokes, and God forbid handguns and "Assault rifles"but We are Irish and ala carte EU members.So we won't discuss or consider this further,and so yeah,maybe sometime when we are not in this job or in office and this particular can has been booted well down the road maybe someone with more testicular matter MAY consider loosening the licenses on these."

The more I read of these[aptly named] FEC reports over time the more angrier I become at the sheer bloody incompetence and outright maliciousness displayed by the AGS/DOJ side of this committee to both of our side.One who rightly so resigned from this pre decided ministerial loaded with favourites from his constituency and political pal circus. There are so many holes in these reports and recommendations,that our current Ceann Comhairle,in her former job as a lady trucker,could drive her 40 foot Artic rig thru them with no trouble at all.Which she started to do in the Dail public accounts committee,and never got the chance to finish off.

We as gunowners and our organisations should reject outright any recommendations of both reports as they are utterly one sided and toxically loaded to taking more from us than actually giving us some crumbs from the AGS/DoJ table. You can be sure all the negative parts of these reports will,if ever, be implimented quickly and anything positive to our side will be done "in due course".IE dragged out as long as possible and obstructed too.

Sincerely

Grizzly45

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,852 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

From the FEC and every other committee, it's pretty clear that the Gardai are 'agin' everything.