83 year old grossly overcharged - what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

Ridiculous comment, many people of any age would run things like this past someone before going ahead or get support on organising stuff from someone else. I am very comfortable/experienced in organising trades and would employ no one without discussing it around the kitchen table at a minimum and ideally getting other external feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,507 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

If they refuse to issue a receipt, it could be tax evasion. You could report it to Revenue as well as AGS. All confidential. Here:

https://www.revenue.ie/en/corporate/assist-us/reporting-shadow-economy-activity/index.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,314 ✭✭✭Deeec

There is probably no point reporting them to revenue. These guys cleaning gutters, driveways etc are usually members of a certain community who constantly claim to be discriminated against and the authorities are unwilling to challenge them on their bad behaviour. The op probably doesn't even have a correct name and address for this guy let alone a PPS number for him.

It's a harsh lesson learned for the op and their mum. They're main concern now should be that these guys or their mates don't come back now that they know the lady is on her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

none of that is relivent to this situation. they were asked to come to the property to fix the gutters not cold calling. they quoted the work (all be it at a stupid price) . the work was done and no complaints from op about the quality of the work. then the agreed amount of money was colected from the customer.

there is zero over charging here. . she didnt have to accept the quote but once she did its a normal transaction.

obviously there should be a receipt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

There's a stark contrast with what you're suggesting and "take some responsibility and organise this stuff for your mother who has proven herself to be naive." Which is what I was responding to. She's an adult that's entitled to organise repairs on her own home. Anybody of any age can get scammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

@the_pen_turner

there is zero over charging here. . she didnt have to accept the quote but once she did its a normal transaction.

From my reading the OP there absolutely is overcharging here and it 100% falls into the scope of the call to action by Cork Garda.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Overcharging / not completing the schedule of work they said they would for quoted price. It's all in the OP.

Ultimately, it's for the Garda to investigate/ determine. If it was not a problem, AGS would not be asking people to report.

Post edited by Kaisr Sose on

what work was not completed. the op clearly states that they did the work that they quoted for.

where is the over charging. i agree the quote is stupid high but thats the value they put on their time and is their right to do so. a few years ago i paid a consultant 250 euro for 5 minutes telling me exactly what i told him and confermed that all the tests i had paid to have showed the result that they showed . was he stupid expensive yes but he charged me what i agreed to pay so i wasnt over charged.

they quoted 800 and charged 800 . nothing wrong there. no over charging.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The OP's mother was not overcharged. She was charged exactly what she originally agreed to pay when she commissioned the work.

As For work not done, maybe you can clarify what exactly was not done.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Its in the OP. Suggest you read it carefully with ref to my post above.

what work was not completed.

the only thing is collecting the downpipes but it is not stated if that was part of the original agreement or not.

6.—(1) A person who dishonestly, with the intention of making a gain for himself or herself or another, or of causing loss to another, by any deception induces another to do or refrain from doing an act is guilty of an offence.

(2) A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or both.

what part of that applies to this case. a quote was offered for the work , accepted, work carried out and money paid . where is the dishonesty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,030 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

AGS are asking people to report cold-calling followed by dubious behaviour.

There was NO cold calling in this case.

From the post re AGS

I would also ask that If anyone feels like they, or someone they know, paid for building work or other services that was not carried out or that was substandard, to call any Garda station and report the matter.

This is in addition to cold calling ...maybe there is nothing to see here but they said they would dismantle and refit gutters but did not do that. It's all in the OP that many posters are overlooking.

Maybe it's just as well they did not remove them as they may be worse after refit. However, if you give a quote based on a schedule of work, and then do not do that work as per quote, that's over charging or not completing the work as agreed and in the scope of what AGS said to report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭JVince

We all know these are most likely from an indigenous Irish "ethnic" group.

She got overcharged, but difficult to prove "scam".

If you put the mobile number of the main guy into Google you most likely will get several different results with the same number and it will include roofing, gutters, driveways etc

At 83 she is likely still well able to organise these things herself, but maybe get her to read a few stories about scams such as these and it will make her aware of the type of people out there.

where does it say that they didnt take down the gutters and refit .

it says

''paid the guy 800 euro in cash after they had basically only corrected the alignment of the gutters that are in place already, and renewed the two downpipes''

to correct the allignment you would have to take them down and refit them in most cases.

Silly post...you assume they had to take them down and then add 'in most cases' which contradicts the rest of the sentence saying they would have to be taken down..OP said they just corrected the alignment which does not require them to be taken down. OP did not say they were taken down. You assume an action in the absence of anything to back that assumption up.

in most cases the fixings are behind the gutter so would have to be taken down to move them. some dont like seamless gutters where they are fixed through the top or front if older type with nails.

im assuming yes but so are you . either way the job was done so its safe to assume that if they needed to be taken down to move them that they did take them down otherwise they couldnt move them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

3 men for a half day would be €500 minimum, and the downpipes another €100, 20 per cent profit comes to €720.

Plus vat at 13.5% comes to €817. Nice of him to give your mother a discount.

This is the way legitimate businesses operate. People have zero clue about the cost of running a business, and in fairness, he said he'd give a receipt if he doesn't report him to revenue.

Even if he was a hundred less, would you really go to the guards over your belief your mother was overcharged €100

Absolutely nothing you can do as the quote was offered, accepted, and by your own words, the job completed. Tell your mother to run these types of jobs past you in the future and make sure she's more diligent in hiring tradesmen

I doubt these guys are vat reg or paying other taxes.

That may be but all that should have been clarified before the job was granted, the question was, was the ops mother overcharged, it seems not as any reputable business would charge that anyway

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,713 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

People expect a business to pay VAT etc.

You shouldn't have to clarify that for a job no more then you would in a shop.

People want the the best deal, let's not fool ourselves that the majority of customers won't take a cash deal if it means a better price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Too late now but I suggest anyone tempted to use Bark, to reconsider. I'm sure there are legitimate businesses on it but a lot of cowboys too.

A number of years ago, I requested quotes regarding an overgrown tree. To say I was harassed is an understatement - from constant phone calls, to knocking at my door when I declined their services due to price and lack of insurance - this happened with 3 separate 'operators'. Had to call the cops on one of them.

It was bordering on intimidation.