Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Spanish Football Kiss

• 04-02-2025 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭

I guess it fits the bill for a sexual assault by the letter of the law, however I wonder if it is really more about a chance to bring the man down from his position in Spanish football and a chance for compensation money. I personally feel it wasn't appropriate and probably done in the excitement of winning as a gesture of appreciation and not in a sexual way. I feel an apology should have been enough. I of course am regularly wrong

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,172 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Yeah I dont know.

They tend to be a lot more tactile in spain anyway. It's very much storm in a teacup territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Dano650

100%. I can guarantee if a woman did it to a man there wouldn't be as much of a fuss about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,934 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

As yes, the usual 'if a woman did that to a man' whataboutery.

If mouse did it to a cat the mouse would probably be dead.

Neither of those situations are what happened.

Nothing whataboutery about it. You know there wouldn't be the same fuss if a woman did it to a man so don't give me that bullsh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭antfin

In the vast, vast majority of workplaces if a person in a very senior position grabbed another employee and kissed them without consent in front of the rest of the office in the excitment of closing a deal, winning a client etc, it would almost certainly be dealt with very severely and rightly so.

I agree with you 100%. What Luis Rubiales done was wrong and shouldn't have done it but I don't think there would have been the same uproar if it was the other way round

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,161 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Another thread demonstrating perfectly why feminism is somehow still desperately needed.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,072 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We live in a world now where what he did isn't acceptable. It might have been 20yrs ago.

And that's a good thing tbf, consent is a very important thing to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Gary_dunne

It really doesn't matter if you think that, it wasn't the other way around and he should be punished appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭Homelander

I think it was seriously questionable and stupid, but not ill-intended or taking advantage of a situation, or anything like that that would make it sinister or necessitates a court case or his labeling as a sexual offender.

It was a split second kiss of affection rather than being remotely sexual or suggestive. Not something I would ever do to my female colleagues even if we won the Euromillions, granted, and wouldn't be thrilled if my boss did it to me either.

But feel personally it has been somewhat blown out of proportion, an apology, a public shaming, and a very clear message that it was not OK, I feel would have been sufficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,677 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

If i remember remember rightly, he was a long time about coming up with an apology, didn't he brazen it out for days if not weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

Not too sure if it is "whataboutery". I think that it's valid, especially in this day and age, to call out duplicity when it comes to attitudes when it comes to how men and women are held to different standards.

In a tangential point, the video of Demi Moore giving a male child a lingering kiss from years ago would be career ending fpr a man doing the same thing to a female child. Demi Moore is up for an oscar.

What the guy did was wrong, but an apology would suffice in my opinion.

Lol. Feminism?! Which brand?

Personally, I agree that feminism is needed, but I have a sneaking suspicion that your brand of feminism is wildly different to mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

He apologized very quickly for it but then put pressure on the the player to say she consented to it and then lied at an EGM of the Spanish FA saying she had consented to it. I think if he had resigned he would not be subject to the court case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭antfin

It's not really a valid point of relevance to this case as you rarely hear of women acting similarly inappropriately which makes it difficult to compare how people would react. If he grabbed you and kissed you in front of millions of people, resulting in embarrassment for you then you'd probably identify more with the lady in this case. Perhaps he's being treated a bit harshly in terms of consequences but we can't know his true motivation or whether he was being opportunistic and so this element needs to be taken out of the equation. So all we can focus on is that it was an intentional act and it was inappropriate and how it made the lady feel. The consequences for him is an entirely different matter but an employer has to clamp down on this activity regardless of the gender or sexuality of the people on either side. I'd suggest in most workplaces it would be an immediate dismissal if the unconsenting person raised a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,835 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The prosecution is seeking 2-and-a-half years in prison for Rubiales

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,833 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I think he was out of line and a creep.

But a 2 year jail sentence immediately makes me think the people pushing this are full of ****.

They have succeeding in making the phrase "sex offender" be utterly meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

This is a great point.

A lot of phrases that certain people overuse these days have now become nothing but a boon to the people in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,087 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's far more likely a move to just try and force through a plea deal and avoid the time and cost of a full trial. Prosecutors nearly always seek the maximum (or significantly high) punishment, but the judge/court will likely impose something lesser (eg. suspended sentence, community service) and more commensurate to the crime. Whereas if he seeks a plea deal, they'd probably agree something lesser than what the judge would give, and the prosecutors get a successful conviction on their books.

I wouldn't read too much into it. It's merely a starting position to put pressure on the defendant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,172 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I have seen people comparing Gregg Wallace to Jimmy Saville. The former acted inappropriately the other, well you know.

Some people have a "cross this line and its bad" and then put anything else bad into the same category. Sorry, I know thats not very eloquent.

If yer man had grabbed her ass during the hug, that could have been sexual assault, but a brief, not even lingering kiss on the mouth, with the worlds media on them was ill-timed, not thought out, but 2 years in prison? Come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,835 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Was a plea deal offered?

This alleged crime didn't happen in Europe, they had to use a court normally reserved for international terrorism offences to bring him to trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,706 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I don't remember the kiss specifically but I watched that presentation live and he was acting like an absolutely obnoxious coked up muppet for the whole ceremony. Was not a bit surprised to see him in trouble the next day.

Don't know whether it's assault or not but he deserved to lose his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,878 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Would Adrien Brody's Oscar win kiss on Halle Berry be the same as this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭Homelander

Never saw that before but while I also don't think Adrien Brody is a sexual deviant either that was super inappropriate and most definitely much worse having watched it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,915 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I wonder how long she will get in prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭JJayoo

All the videos of the woman in question and her team celebrating and making jokes about the kiss.....she didn't realize it was sexual assault until her accountant told her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,112 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Hi arrogance afterwards deepened the pot hole and made it into a crater. Had he hell his hands up and said sorry and explained himself people would maybe forgive and maybe understand how it could have happened. You could see he was as giddy as a kid in a candy shop, he was hyper with emotion, which led to his misjudgement.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: As is standard when something is before the courts be it here or elsewhere, this thread is closed. It can be reopened once the trial has concluded.