Would Berty make a good President.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,272 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Id vote for this guy.....

540_bertiebasset_02.jpg

Before I'd vote for this guy ...

GJbkAitXoAAIFyP.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

I'd rather dig up Dev and vote for him, than see Bertie in the Aras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭reactadabtc

Would he make a good president - I think he would. He would represent the country well, and he gets the role. However with his past, I couldn't vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

No

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,541 ✭✭✭✭L1011

All inherited from the Rainbow Government including the draft GFA, they were the ones that got the incoming Blair Government to stay on the track they'd been working on with Major

The 97-02 FF/PD Government were incredibly well set up by the outgoing government, something that hasn't happened before or since here. Peace process significantly on track, economy in a great shape, politically difficult social reforms that FF were split over dealt with for the next half a decade or more. But Berties entire career has been down to being a lucky fecker and little else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,228 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Rainbow Government inherited from Reynolds, FF had worked massively with John Major to get the Downing Street declaration.

I'd also argue that the FF/PD government helped FF/LP government which in turn helped FG/LP/DL government, which in turn help FF/PDs.

Bertie won't be president.

Post edited by RoTelly on

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

No, he was in charge when the country crashed. He's a good politician and a good diplomat but his reputation is to tarnished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

No. The only Finance minister not to have a bank account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭megaten

In terms of actually doing the job yeah he probably would. Still wouldn't vote for him though.

I'd be all for abolishing it also. Guessing that there is little to no chance of that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭its_steve116

There was actually a report recently that MM is going to seek the Fianna Fail presidential nomination, with Jack Chambers being mooted as the next party leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭Economics101

Having just logged into this thread for the first time, I was wondering who this "Berty" was? Oh God, now I know!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,878 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“Personally hoping for Ryan Tubridy, people will literally melt with rage.”

Are there no depths of cruelty you won’t sink to 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭spakman

OP, it's Bertie, not Berty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,900 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It was a global recession in fairness. We were having a recession no matter who was in charge.

Whilst some people criticise Bertie for ruining the country, there’s also personal responsibility too which some don’t take to kindly to when mentioned- along with economic events worldwide way out of our control here in Ireland - a “soft landing” was hoped for and that didn’t materialise.

I think it was Bertie’s reaction post recession “I left the country in great condition” (which probably wasn’t incorrect) or words to that effect that stirred up people’s hatred towards him- that and his lax regard for personal accounting and his penchant for “walking around money”.

Nearly 20 years on? I’ve probably softened but I was never scathing towards him in the first place - I probably saw him as comic fodder - a good statesman - he’s now “wise” - we do need wisdom - depending on the field on the day I could well vote for him yet. I’m certainly not voting for some “celebrity” or **** like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Don’t he would do much to necessitate the awarding of a “bad” presidency but it’s more what it would say to the country and, indeed, the world.

Fianna Fáil are back in power, though, and Michael Lowry will be a part of the government. So maybe that is where we are.
    All is forgiven, until we’re bankrupt again and we’re left wondering where it all went wrong.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Doesn't look like Lowry is getting a seat, and TBH it more the fault of Tipperary people for being so loyal to the man. Oh but he gets stuff done, and your other TDs don't?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Francis McM

The current President is a disgrace, anyone would be better than him, even Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

He would be a back bencher, though, right? With the group he’s in propping up the government.

But, yeah, I get what you mean.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Not really sure how that would work for an independent group, will the move over to the other side of the Dail or remain in the opposition benches?

______

Yesterday

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Why would you think Michael D doesn't know the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭StormForce13

Possibly because he's been following the little turd's antics during the past 13 years.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

He knows the rules alright! Just suits himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I just think of the recession when I hear berties name. That was a bad time in the country.

He done **** all in the north. Takes the credit though. They were well the way to peace. He sensed that and decided to jump onboard.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

I've a feeling boards might be out of sync with Bertie's popularity.

He might have a core vote other candidates fail to get, and they end up splitting their vote also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

If we are to continue to ridiculously call this gadge by his first name, I'd advise we use his actual first name proper, which is Bartholomew. I mean, in all fairness, let's get it right before we start to contemplate anything.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

He steadied the ship after John Bruton nearly fcuked the whole thing up, over playing the orange card.

He was a top class negotiator. Do you seriously think an agreement would have been reached under Bruton. A vacuum occurred and Canary Wharf when that gombeen was Taoiseach.