Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Trek Generations 30th Anniversery

• 24-11-2024 07:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,692 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

So Star Trek Generations came out in the Cinemas in America on the 18th of November 1994 and here in Ireland sometime in early Janurary 1995.

Very disappointed not to hear anything about it being back in the Cinemas yet for it's 30th.

If not now hopefully in Janurary.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

I went to see Generations in the cinema to celebrate my 13th birthday. No way can it have been 30 years ago, that would make me…oh my!

Excuse me while I hop on board to the next shuttle to Ba'ku.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,692 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Acosta

Such a let down, after a great ending to the series. Which, as I recall was only a few months earlier. I think they had already started making the movie as TNG was finishing up production.

It's certainly watchable, at least. The best thing I can say about it is that cinamaticaly, it still looks good. It's well made in that regard. Pity the plot sucks.

It is hilarious that they used the same shot of an exploding Bird Of Prey from the previous movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭Inviere

I think nowadays, I consider it my favourite Next Gen movie. It's very much the TV show on the big screen. I still really like First Contact, it's a solid movie, but it was the dawning of Action Hero Picard, and definitely a move towards action plots rather than meaningful ones. Nemesis is OK, I'm just never really compelled to rewatch it, and the less said about Insurrection the better.

Ms

Generations is the perfect Christmas Trek movie. I would love to see it in a Cinema over the Christmas that would make my Christmas.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I was a little disappointed at the time which is partly due to my age but really appreciate it now especially watching Stewart and McDowell square off. I find its one of those movies that it just became trendy to sht on and some of the criticism a bit forced.

All Good Things casts a huge shadow on everything as it was a pretty perfect ending. None of the 6 or 7 endings after had the same punch. If we could have had that as a movie instead of crappy Nemesis and had no Picard series it would tie things off perfectly.

Ms

Oh I have to disagree. DS9s "What we leave behind" is brilliant especially the flaxhbacks but maybe it would have been even better if Jadzia had of lived and seen the whole series out instead of being replaced with Ezri as the Flaxhbacks for Worf were crap. Don't see why they could oukd not have been some flashback memories of him with Jadzia too.

Ye ok your right "All Good Things" is the best ending. Voyagers was sh,it , TOS and Enterprise did not get proper endings.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I was just talking about the 7 TNG related stories we got after All Good Things.

DS9 is my favourite ending overall. But that show had a set arc so wrapping it up was always gonna be a pretty grand finale.

The route they went with Voyager would have been good except for all the Janeway Vs Queen nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,338 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

What you mean about Enterprise? I think Terra Prime was fairly good. Not as good as TNG and DS9, but not bad either.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Ms

Yes it was but it was not really the end or at least the ending it should have got and the last said about the episode after that the better.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Generations was a good movie but, alas, was not far off the biggest TV episode ever as well. Well made, great actors, a real homage to the show and the history that came before, it was fantastic if you liked Star Trek but only OK if you didn't. First Contact for me was the best Cinema experience since Star Trek II, and neither have been matched since. Both movies stand on their own, a little side commentary from a fan to a non fan will give them all they need to really enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭McFly85

I thought Generations was poor, if only for the deus ex machina that was the nexus. They can leave at any point in time and space and they choose just a few minutes ago? Picard could have gone back a week and just arrested Soran on the Enterprise.

In general I thought the Next Gen films never reached the highs of the originals at their best. First contact was the clear standout but even then was the first step to making the Borg much less interesting by introducing the queen.

Post edited by McFly85 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭eadrom

Yeah, the TNG movies were mostly crap, unfortunately. Generations was a fun romp but full of problems, and a piss poor justification for ending the series. First Contact was good action-Trek but left a bit of a stain on things with how they handled the Borg.

I watched Nemesis again last year and hated it, again. Tried to watch Insurrection more recently and didn't even get to the end of it. It's difficult to even recognise the characters in those films, and the plots / story-writing is just bad.

None of them hold a candle to All Good Things…, for instance.

Generations might be my favourite of them, though. Almost entirely because it's got the ship looking better than it ever has, and the characters still feel somewhat like they did in the series. I never like the Enterprise-E at all.

Ms

Anything? Any cinemas showing this for it's 30th?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭JayRoc

I know this is an unpopular take, but I love Insurrection. It's probably my favourite TNG flick.

The only one I can't abide and only saw once, when it came out, is Nemesis.

I remember as the credits came on in the cinema, someone loudly exclaimed "Well...that was shite." And no one argued

Ms

Awe it was not that bad. A good fight scene in it in space. Yes it could have been better if the budget had if been bigger. I would watch Nemesis before Into Darkness and rate it higher than ID too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,338 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Its not a great movie. But it is a brilliant two-parter episode if that makes sense (imo)

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭eadrom

i thought that until my most recent rewatch. Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for it but, mostly, the actors just seemed so pleased with themselves that the characters were unrecognisable behind the chummy smiles and little quips. Everyone given something to do even when they had nothing to do, with Action-Picard being the only one that mattered. Again, totally out of character.

If it were an episode, Picard and Riker’s roles would have been swapped and it would have made a lot more sense.