Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,078 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Gakpo had a greater impact than Nunez on the day for me - I wouldn't even say it was close.

Who knows why he took Gakpo off. tiredness might have been an issue and just because he did doesn't mean he was happier with Nunez's performance over Gakpo's on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,966 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

People need to remember the squad cost restrictions are coming in next season and we were about 1% either side of the limit last year so in order to give Salah, VVD and TAA increases well need to boost income a good bit. This could also affect signings next summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,119 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Poor Real, they'll have to try to get by with Mbappe up front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,106 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Mohamed Salah on Liverpool contract situation: ‘I’m probably more out than in’

Mohamed Salah says he has yet to receive a formal contract offer from Liverpool as he admits “I’m probably more out than in (next summer).”

The forward’s current deal expires at the end of the season and his future is increasingly uncertain.

Salah, who has scored 223 goals in 367 games for Liverpool since arriving from Roma in 2017, could sign a pre-contract agreement with a club overseas from January 1.

“We are almost in December and I haven’t received any offers yet to stay in the club. I’m probably more out than in,” he told reporters following his match-winning double in Sunday’s 3-2 victory at Southampton.

“You know I have been in the club for many years. There is no club like this. But in the end it is not in my hands. As I said before, it is December and I haven’t received anything yet about my future.

“I love the fans. The fans love me. In the end it is not in my hands or the fans’ hands. Let’s wait and see.”

Asked if he was disappointed that he hadn’t received an offer at this stage, he added: “Of course, yeah. I’m not going to retire soon so I’m just playing, focusing on the season and I’m trying to win the Premier League and hopefully the Champions League as well. I’m disappointed but we will see.”

Salah has scored 223 goals for Liverpool since joining from Roma in 2017 (Jan Kruger/Getty Images)

Senior Anfield sources insist that discussions with Salah’s representative Ramy Abbas have been positive and remain ongoing.

It was a situation that sporting director Richard Hughes inherited following his appointment earlier this year with captain Virgil van Dijk and vice-captain Trent Alexander-Arnold also out of contract next summer.

Salah’s age, his status as Liverpool’s highest paid player and the club’s need to plan for the future meant that a swift resolution was always unlikely.

The 32-year-old has been heavily linked with a lucrative move to the Saudi Pro League in recent years. Liverpool turned down a £150million bid from Al-Ittihad in 2023 but Salah refused to be drawn on the ongoing interest from Saudi.

“I don’t want to speak about that. I am focused with the team now,” he said.

Salah’s preference is to remain at the highest level in Europe and he is showing no signs of slowing down. He has provided 12 goals and 10 assists in 18 appearances for Liverpool in all competitions this season.

“I’m very professional. Everybody can see my work ethic,” he said.

“I’m just trying to enjoy my football and I will play at the top level as long as possible. I’m just doing my best because this is who I am and I try to give it all for myself and for the club. We will see what happens next.”

A hard-fought victory at St Mary’s extended Liverpool’s lead at the top of the Premier League to eight points to ensure momentum was maintained going into a crunch week. Wednesday’s Champions League home clash with Real Madrid is followed by next Sunday’s visit of Manchester City to Anfield.

“We were not at our best but it’s an important win. After the other international breaks we struggled against (Nottingham) Forest and Chelsea. I’m glad that we managed to win after being 2-1 down,” Salah added.

“I’m just playing my game. trying to chill and relax and just play. The whole team has the chemistry now with the new manager. Hopefully we keep winning and win something in the end.”

(Top photo: Michael Steele/Getty Images)

James Pearce joins the Athletic after 14 years working for the Liverpool Echo. The dad-of-two has spent the past decade chasing women and Liverpool across the globe to give fans the inside track on the Reds from the dressing room to the boardroom. Follow James on Twitter @JamesPearceLFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Talisman

They played a pedestrian paced game against a CD Leganes team that couldn't/didn't want to lay a glove on them. Valverde played at right back, Bellingham on the left of midfield with Mbappe and Viniscius Jr. as the front pairing in what appeared to be a 4-4-2 setup at times. The goals they scored were due to keystone cops like defending.

The first came from a midfielder turning back to the defenders and playing a lame pass on the edge of the 18 yard box, Viniscius Jr. intercepted and slipped the ball across the 6 yard box for Mbappe to tap in.

The second goal came from a free kick at the edge of the area, the ball was rolled to the right and none of the defenders reacted as Valverde put a pea roller through the gap into the bottom left corner. The goalkeeper dived but couldn't reach it.

The third goal came from a corner which resulted in a shot from outside the area. A defender deflected it on to the crossbar and Bellingham reacted to the looping rebound.

Arda Guler and Mbappe both repeatedly tried to take on every player rather than play in a team mate. It was the first game back for Courtois after being out for over a month and he couldn't have asked for an easier game. I think there was only a single shot which was straight at him. The players will be fresh for the game on Wednesday and the prospect of Guler versus Robertson is scary but other than that I didn't see anything to be concerned about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭dogbert27

One positive for Wednesday is Vini junior being out. He's the one player I see that would make a meal out of every tackle trying to get our players booked or sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

This sh1t with Salah needs to be kept in house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭Damien360

I heard the interview. He did all the talking. The club has kept quiet. It's the same tactics used for the last contract. Going, going, signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

He will have it signed by the time he puts out his annual Christmas picture with the family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

2 year deal for Mo and VVD makes sense at this stage, or ideally 12 months + 12 month club option.

Trent is gone i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,038 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Yup, and the lads on the Totally Football podcast were saying that his agent has been in continuous talks, so negotiations are at least taking place. It's interesting that we've not heard much from his agent publicly actually, he's normally been one to really kick up a lot of public noise around contract time. Maybe bodes well.

I'd be quite grand with 2 more years on current terms for both Mo and Virg, plus an option of a 3rd at a maybe slightly reduced wage. Could even see things getting extended longer down the line even — both guys are the sorts who will age well I think. Could very well see Virg being like Tiago Silva was, staying at a decent level right up to his very late 30s.

I think the substitution was made with Wednesday in mind, Nunez will more than likely move to the bench. Gakpo, Diaz and Salah will cause the Madrid back line a lot more problems. Against Leverkusen, Diaz was given the #9 role because Slot felt that Tah would have been more comfortable against Nunez. Rudiger would also be more comfortable facing Nunez than Diaz. And as seen against Leverkusen, the front three can swap positions keeping the defenders on their toes.

Given their injury list, the Real Madrid starting line up practically picks itself: Courtois, Mendy, Ascencio, Rudiger, Valverde, Camavinga, Ceballos, Bellingham, Brahim Diaz, Guler, Mbappe. Ancelloti could move Valverde into midfield in place of Ceballos if Vasquez is ready to return at right back, but that's about the only possible change to their line-up. However Diaz/Gakpo would likely get a lot more joy out of facing Vasquez than Valverde.

Think Tchouameni is back from injury as well.

We'll go full strength, the Greek at LB, Diaz for Nunez and Mac for Jones the changes from the weekend game.

I suppose the bigger question is, who does he rotate for the city game if any?

Tchouameni would be a risk to bring straight back into the starting lineup. He hasn't played since suffering the ankle injury against Barcelona in October and didn't make the bench at the weekend.

Given the option I'd prefer to see him in place of Camavinga because he lacks the versatility. Camavinga has been popping up everywhere and as well as doing the donkey work he makes runs to create space for the wingers and Bellingham. He's also starting to pick out passes that find the runs of Bellingham and the forwards. In contrast, Tchouameni just breaks up play and recycles the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭dogbert27

I don't see Ancelloti risking anyone coming back from injury for this game.

Apart from the history of the two teams the way the new CL format is, this game can be considered meaningless for both teams as we both have a focus on our league positions.

Real Madrid are 4 points behind Barca with a game in hand so they will be focussed on that as much as we are focussing on the City game.

I think both teams would take a draw right now with no injuries.

It's good that City have a CL game against Feyenoord at home. They should win it and put a stop to their losing streak. If they were coming to Anfield with a 5 game losing streak I think they would be doing everything not to lose and even play out for a frustrating draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Liverpool would be the happier of the two teams with a draw on Sunday I’d imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭riddles

the squads still a bit light - Robbo looks done. I would like to see some activity in January which is not our norm but Sunday we had come off a run of 7 games in 21 days and then two international games. A lot of games played for a good bit of the squad and still November. Getting Jota back and keeping him fit will be crucial and hopefully Elliot returns with the pre-season form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,792 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Get Salah done , he is extremely fit and not injury prone . If he falls off a cliff the Saudi’s will still buy him . I hope it’s not penny pinching by the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

How much will it cost cost to replace Salah?

They should give him a two year contract without a shadow of a doubt. He's been incredible for us, and is still flying.

Same for VVD.

How do you know he doesn't want 3+ years and has said he won't sign anything less.

We don't know what's going on in the negotiations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

I was watching the Kelly and Wrighty show yesterday. And one of the journalists on that was hinting that his source was saying that clubs stance is 2 more years, where Salah wants a minimum of 3.

Its a very hard call to make. I think an additional 2 years would be ideal myself. He will be turning 36 the season that contract would run out. I know people talk about Ronaldo, and looking after himself with longevity. But the Ronaldo we got once he turned 34 was a completely different player to what we saw in his prime. He has basically being an out and out No.9 the last 9 years or so now.

Do we move Salah centrally in a year or 2? I don't think it's reasonably possible for him to be playing as he's currently doing so in a wide position at 35 years of age or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭ratracer

⬆️⬆️This!
    Obviously the club want to keep Salah, and him and his agent will make noise to force the clubs hand and create fan pressure on them.
    I think it’ll be done, Virg also before Christmas. Trent will be making a Couhtino size mistake if he leaves for Madrid, but I think he’ll go.
    Salah is coming close to being my all time favourite Liverpool player, but has a bit more to do yet before he overtakes King Kenny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

I think we can assume, without any of us being experts on the situation, that the contract length is the main issue here. A 3 year + contract could leave you with a 350k a week plus player, fading badly as the peak of his powers quickly dwindle in his 36th year!

Also, this contract will not be a rewards contract like his last 2! Richard Hughes is not going to be offering Salah a huge money contract because of what he has done in the past. He’s and his team are going to have to try access what he can do in the next 2 to 3 years and see how much that’s worth paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

40 million odd Salah earns (sterling).

Does it make sense to let him go (he's proven) and spend what you'd pay him over the next 3 years on a gamble of a replacemwnr, that's the question for the money men.

I suspect it'll get done, don't like seeing it being negotiated in public though.

Im blinded by recent ism bias but if there is one player I would give the extra year to its Mo.

Cant help but feel that the safety net of a sale to the ME or MLS would be possible 2 years into a 3 year deal as well if needed.

Of course, the bigger issue perhaps is the precedent it might set. Bar Vorg though, there is no on else approaching that age I would even consider breaking the 2 year deal 'rule' for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,695 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

The match officials announced for Sunday. Let's hope Salah is on fire and we can get this contract sorted in due course 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Trent and Chiesa trained with the first team today no sign of Jota.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭CliffHangeroner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Which set of refs would Liverpool fans be happy with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭kingshankly

There was an error displaying this embed.

none I’d say ,i genuinely think Liverpool fans are the worst for giving out about officials

Pre-match press conference news: Alisson, Alexander-Arnold, Tsimikas, Elliott, Chiesa and Jota will not make the team for tomorrow night. TAA may get a few minutes but he's not ready to start a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,106 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Problem is they answer to no one. That needs sorting, and they all clearly need to be drug tested. They are the kings of silence, praying for a new news story to come out about something else, to take spotlight off of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

The only 2 referees that I never want involved with our games for the last few years would be David Coote & Paul Tierney; no issues with any of the others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,552 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Hard to really criticize the club on the contracts for Salah and VVD, we have absolutely no idea what the players are looking for, given their ages the club is right to be cautious and get the best deal. Reality is though they will cost alot more to replace atleast in the short term. The important thing to remember with these contracts is it isn't reward for what they have done, its how the club values them as the players they will be next season and beyond. You can't be sentimental in these decisions.

I will absolutely criticize the club for letting Trent run his down though and I'm absolutely convinced hes going.

My point is the club need to make it happen. He clearly wants to stay, and the cost of replacing him will be nuts.

How it got to this is beyond me, the three top players at the club with no contract. Somebody dropped the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Arne showing some humour at the press conference today when asked about Salah’s contract and his comments after the Soton game:

The only thing I can say is, if I look at my line-ups, Mo is more in than out

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,469 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Better to have them playing like they are in a shop window than have them sulking and not playing at all, hopefully it is the small margin that wins silverware.

Bit of the club give the three of them what they want then we'll 100% breach the squad cost rules next season. What do we do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I wonder have the club any fairly big - and expensive - players in their thoughts with regards replacing Salah/VVD and that is impacting these contracts?

Looking at both players and their performances this year, I'd make allowances for these regarding their contract lengths. They are unique players and are in a category that most professional players can only dream of being in, they don't come along that often.

Mo will have sell on value to the Middle East or the states. VVD probably not asking for as much.

It would be great to know what they are asking for though and what is being offered.

TAA is gone. It's hard to wish him well considering how much I despise RM. Even more after their Balloon d'or tantrums.

The problem is that on Jan 1st they can sign a pre contract with any non Premier league club; so say TAA signs with Real on Jan 1st & both VVD & Salah sign with other clubs….what does Slot do with those 3 players then, there is no way they are going to be 100% given there is likely to be conditions on them being fit re payments with the new club(s).

The club has handled this so poorly; if they are not signing or there is serious doubt this late, then TAA should have been sold in the summer for 50m+ as if any sign a new deal, it will include a hefty signing on fee also.

We are in a completely unexpected position and I just hope that it is not wrecked in January if one or more sign for a different club; e.g. as per above TAA signs for Real and we get drawn with them in the CL, no way you can play him.

How do you know what they want, and if it'll breach the rules? I haven't seen any definite figures.

What about 2 out of 3? How will that work with the rules?

Never hear of it happening nowadays, no doubt there are gentlemen agreements in place but i don't remember the last time a high profile player announced what club he would be joining.

Besides VVD and Salah are model professionals, even if they were to announce they will sign with a new club i've no doubt they would give 100% until their contract runs out.

We were 1% below the limit in the last set of accounts. If the three lads want increases then we'll be over that limit.

The club will know by now how likely it is that the 3 sign on or not, it's vital we do some business in January, even without mentioning the three out of contract we need a LB(sorry Robbo), No.6 and IMO a No.9. (maybe Slot tries Diaz here long term?)

I would'nt be comfortable with potentially having to bring in 6 first teamers in the one window, even if we could afford to do so, which we cannot.

I think Nunez will be sold next summer, possibly Alison gone too. Robbo is in his twilight years too.

There's other high wages out there that can be freed up instead of VVD and Salah. I'm assuming Trent is gone tbh.

I hope you are right; knowing that you will be moving on June 1st and not signing a pre contract seems bananas to me, what if VVD did his acl, it would probably cost his 50m-75m as all 3 will get a huge signing on fee wherever they move to [fingers crossed none move].

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,777 ✭✭✭eigrod

https://www.premierleague.com/news/4175512

Manc Ref, Manc 4th official, Manc VAR for Sunday. Can’t ever remember anything remotely like that before. Sickening.

City collapse again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

snigger

oh..i turned off at 2-0!!