Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter 2024/25 - General Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

January has been awful here. Cold and snowy and then dull and now wet. Very little sunshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Robwindstorm

Located your chart. Great work as usual sryan. I remember those big storms of the 90's, but 1988 still sticks out above all for it's longevity and strength .Thanks for the great statistical work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Artane2002

A quirk I noticed this month in Dublin Airport is that the sunniest day of this month was the mildest day and the coldest day of the month had zero sunshine. Very unusual for January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kutebride

Heavy frost.

-2 Meath

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Heavy frosty morning this morning in D13, lovely sunny cold morning. Winter has actually Wintered for once this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,868 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Close to normal is an understatement in Dublin, it's been exceptionally sunny by January standards. The airport set to go over 80 hours after today for the month. There have been only 5 Januaries in the record back to 1942 that has been achieved and 2 of the 5 were in recent years (2022 and 2023). 2024 nearly achieved it too, now 2025 looks to do it as well.

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

A fairly forgettable winter so far in Meath, December was awful, barely any sun and very mild. January has been very wet and mostly on the mild side except for the opening week of January but majority of that cold spell just wasn't enjoyable with so much cold rain and then ice. Plenty of rain over the last week or more and power cuts from wind so I can't wait to see the back of this winter. A few nice sunny days this January but probably not as many as Dublin has enjoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,868 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Dublin hasn't been fortunate enough to avoid the rain. Whilst much of the month wasn't wet - aside from that horrific day on the 5th - the past week has been wet enough to make it the first wetter than average month here since last April. Had over half the month's total in the last week.

I'm sure January will be one to be forgotten by many for obvious reasons between the snow and then Éowyn, but I've enjoyed it as far as Januaries go with the amount of variability it's had and most interesting month weather wise in a while following a very benign, mediocre 2024. I especially enjoyed those spring-like sunny days here in the third week, the 15th was particularly an unreal day.

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Super photos (as usual) @sryanbruen!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

I enjoyed this January too had a mix of everything, amazing photos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,832 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Nice weather the last couple of days. Helps with those without utilities or workers repairing the damage.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭pauldry

29 out of 31 days in January will have had rain in Belmullet by end of month.

It is always raining. That's why people are emigrating. Supposed to start raining here at 9pm on last nights forecast then they changed it to 7pm on Met Eireann. It's been raining 40 minutes now. At least we had 8 dry hours today. I actually saw a dry footpath for the first time in 2025. Puddles back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭compsys

Thanks Sryan. I knew you'd have the facts and stats as always.

I'm not sure what type of weather people are expecting in the middle of winter in Ireland of all places…

Appreciate it hasn't been as sunny further west but that's pretty much always the case…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭acequion

Jaysus ye're all giving out! 🙄

Maybe it's because we get so much poor weather here in Kerry and maybe that poor weather is now being more equally shared around the country and the rest of ye can't cope! Dunno what it is but I honestly don't think the winter has been that bad. Incessant rain does my head in but funnily enough there has been a lot of dry weather here in Kerry this winter. Only the other week Cluedo was joking about how well we've done. My other pet hate in winter is "mild" as in teens and granted we have had a fair bit of that, but for once unaccompanied by rain, so no complaints.I wasn't mad about the snowy spell but it was different and I suppose ditto the storms. That said, my heart does very much go out to those adversely affected, but it wasn't our case here in Tralee is what I'm saying. This past week has had more rain but no worse than we'd expect in winter and personally, I'm very happy with the lower temps. Do ye not think expecting more sunshine is a bit much in our Atlantic isle in January? We don't even get sun in summer when we really want it.

All in all I'm happy. It's been more winter like and that might just mean the other seasons will follow suit. A proper summer for once, maybe, hopefully 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

At least it's almost finished...hopefully things pick up. Have noticed a lot of daffodils and snowdrops blooming in the last week. Also birds in song which really leys us know Spring is here...no storms would be nice though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭pauldry

We didn't have any of that snow in Sligo just the rain. But perhaps we will have the snow in February when there is likely to be one more snowy spell or even March and April which I have a feeling will be cooler than usual. We will see. Just an opinion as impossible to predict that far but certainly February I'll be very surprised if there's no more snow. Won't be as cold as January though.

Amazing sunny morning in Galway.

It's been a dry January in Galway despite it all. 55mm in Athenry so far this month. Average is 116mm.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I just looked up Dunsany expecting a wetter than average month but we've recorded 66.7mm of rainfall, that may tick up a tiny bit for today with some rain last night but the overall average for January here is 80.2mm. Half of this rainfall fell over the 30+ hour cold rain event around 5th January and the other half over the past week. As for temperature we are 4.3C which is average for the time of year or ever so slightly below by -0.3C so we have more or less unravelled the very cold opening week to 10 days of January.

December finished almost 2C above average and with January coming in basically close to average, all hinges now on February in what will probably finish up as another warmer than average overall winter. February would have to offer a prolonged cold spell lasting at least a week or more with temperatures 4 to 5C below normal for us to have a properly colder than average February which would go someway towards balancing out the very mild December and relatively mild 2nd and 3th week of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭OldRio

Hi everyone. We had black ice the other morning. Treacherous conditions. Also snow one morning following the storm.

Beautiful morning here. Sunshine and early morning birdsong, nearly, but not quite drowning out the sound of chainsaws.

Leitrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,856 ✭✭✭yagan

Beautifully sunny morning in Cork Harbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Billcarson

Yet another second half of January goes by without a proper cold spell..............................

Very familiar the wait for snow goes on for most of Northern half of Leinster for some flakes this winter and we're now basically into February from tonight, a noticeable stretch in the evenings already and the clock on winter is ticking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭pad199207

Beautiful day in N Kildare

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Lovely day in Greystones to end January. Clear/sunny and calm. 8.3c atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭adocholiday

And January 2025 finally bows out, a memorable one for sure particularly given our more recent winters. Overall I thought it was decent in the SE as far as January can be. We weren't overly affected by the snow/cold snap and Storm Eowyn passed us by with minimal impact. Still bright out as I wrap up work for the weekend and it has me longing for the Spring now. Next few weeks will be prepping the garden for March veg planting and looking forward to the milder days and brighter evenings although the PV may have something to say about that yet looking at the FI thread. Once we get into February we usually start seeing a bit of life come back into the place with animals and flowers and it's a time of year I very much enjoy, even though it's still a month of winter to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,300 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Dry January in Galway , very good ! ;)

Lovely January in Dublin, lots of good bright days as evidenced by @sryanbruen 's lovely photos .

Looks like it may be mild , wet and windy for the next while from forecasts . Hopefully bit more sun though for everyone .

I love February with days lengthening a bit . Don't mind really as long as it's not too wet .

Spring is awakening

A windy February morning here at Dunshaughlin but you can tell that Spring is just around the corner.

It's time for a spring thread Gonzo, but I think your quote above is being a bit giddy considering what you know could be on the horizon 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,010 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

January was a good month, mixed bag of all sorts. Today was beautiful in Dublin. I feel we've had a lot of calm sunny days here in 2025.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

A memorable January between the snowfall and storm.

It's a January that won't be forgotten by people in the North, West, North Midlands and other areas. Hope those without power get it back soon.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭OldRio

A January I'd rather forget.

Another cracking day out west. Wall to wall sunshine. I feel it has been relatively calm and dry since the big storm. I can recall at least 4 bluebird days. Any rain seems to come at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Very miserable morning and afternoon in Wicklow. The rain just won't move off into the Irish sea. I had a good bit of outdoor work planned for today but that's not happening now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭pureza

https://x.com/liamdutton/status/1885978482678632858?s=46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Billcarson

Happy imbolc. Happy candlemas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭ongarite

Absolutely stunning day in Galway.

So calm & postcard blue sky after the rain front passed through overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭ScorchedEarth

THe article on Dublin Live about the Beast from the East 2 coming in a few weeks... more clickbait nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭appledrop

Miserable auld day in Dublin pretty much raining for whole day which wasn't forecast.

Ah well the spring flowers popping up will be happy, I've beautiful snowdrop at the moment.

I hope tomorrow is drier, we are hoping to have a day out with the kids.

There all at it. Models are hinting towards an easterly in about 2 weeks time but most of the runs are weak easterlies with no real cold to tap into. It's possible we could get a decent easterly in the second half of February but alot needs to happen first with positioning of high pressure in order to pull in a proper long fetch cold easterly. We could easily end up in no man's land being too far west and too far north. Quite often the beast will sink south-eastwards and miss Ireland entirely. There is certainly some interesting stuff happening in the models right now but nothing at the moment guarantees a beast from the east, maybe in a weeks time we will begin to see a better idea as we get closer to mid February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Beautiful winter's day in Cork, very heavy rain overnight but cleared through before sunrise, clouds cleared up mid morning and it was blue skies for the rest of the day.

Better chance of me winning the lotto than a beast from the east event happening this year.

If anyone believe those clickbait articles I have some beast from the east insurance packages* to sell you.

*Come with free Brennans Bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,821 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

That was the nicest day of the year so far. Lovely blue skies and the mountains were so clear in the distance

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Lovely day since early here near Tralee. NASSA Sat Pic showing the front crossing the country from earlier today.

Felt mild in the sun for a time and cooler in the afternoon in a bit of a breeze but grand once wrapped up. Out cutting wood

for a good few hours and wrecked now, relatively mild still at 9.4C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭pureza

given the chat in the FI thread

Here’s Arklows south Quay road opposite the Bridgewater shopping centre,a frozen river Avoca,and snow over the flood protection wall,so at least 2 feet deep at that stage near the sea during the 2018 beast from the east

And Maisie Kelly’s pub (with a roaring fire on inside) later that evening at the top of the main street

Beasts when the come properly do GIVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Listening to Imbolc, Na Féilte Tine. So much rubbish.

Talking about the first heat being felt on 1st February every year.

'Spring is a very feminine season, we can feel Brighid's gentle hand and it brings fertility'.

Brighid is now very much pagan, her cross wasn't Christian but gave the directions North, South, East and West. We have a girl doing some sort of impressionistic dance throughout.

I've never seen such a congregation of wafflers. It's all one very revisionist feminist take. The Christianity cut out. To the best of my knowledge she was a real person. Now it's all just symbolism. You'd need that poster Orion's take!

I know there's no real place for this post but from a weather temperature point of view 1st February is being painted much more like St. Patrick's Day, the Spring Equinox. I didn't know where else to post. It's like saying we start to feel the cold on 1st August. We don't if we look at average temperatures.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

My little one came home from school with her St Bridget's cross and reciting the poem 'St Bridget brings the spring'. I had then forgotten that meteorological spring is not until March 1st and was looking for the Spring thread here on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,300 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Some heavy convective showers here today around Tralee, some with hail . The place is squelching , a lot of rain here recently in Kerry with very little drying. About 14mm since yesterday afternoon on top of already saturated and waterlogged ground .

Tomorrow looking a lot drier with good levels of sunshine, fairly widespread touch of frost tomorrow night in from the coasts it would seem

6.1C atm

A lovely day and evening. A few showers and chilly but a grand winters day all up.