Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Triumph Speed 400 Irish Price ?

• 08-10-2024 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭

It sells for around 5,600 in Germany but I can't find any Irish price. Does anyone know where to find a price list for Ireland ?

40 Hp is decent from the single cylinder, I got around 40 HP from the tmax 500 and it's more than enough.

Be interesting to know the Irish price, although I'm still seriously thinking of a CBF600 with Honda panniers or Deauville 700.

The Speed 400 is lovely looking though and sounds good with stock exhaust.

If I could only sell the Tmax I'd be in a better position !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭geotrig

6895 it's on fb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Thanks, I don't have FB and find it really mad a main dealer can't have prices, absolute joke !

Why so much more expensive then Germany ? VRT is feck all on bikes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭geotrig

i don't have fb or bother with it either but its easy see from a quick google, vrt would be circa 600-1000 on new bike plus our additional vat etc.

This country is ridiculous, it's never been so awash with money but the Government won't bring down VAT, VRT or eliminate the USC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭batman_oh

A Yaris GR here is €85k. It's €47k in Germany and about €31k in America. This is a horribly expensive little hole where you get punished for owning anything decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Agree, it is crazy. I was looking at a bike recently and "accidentally" compared our local prices with German and French, where you can get the same (new) bike for 20 - 30 % less, easily. Sure, some of this is down to volume of sale, etc. but still…

Seriously ? I'm just looking it up, 85K for a 3 cylinder LMAO ok, it may have around 300 Hp but still,

It can't be just emissions, what's the story ? absolutely bonkers.

Ireland is an expensive hole alright, so many greedy b1stards out to rip you off especially the Government.

I heard some friends of the earth Twat on RTE R1 this morning calling for the Government to scrap LNG gas, the government run by NGOs at this point, we need Gas and Oil so isn't it better to come from our own sources than foreign ? Eamonn Ryan think not so decided to ban new oil and gas licenses, we need xxx amount of oil or gas then we need it simple as but the Government want us to have as little per month as possible by the time we pay all the taxes.

Ireland is a rip off, no matter where you go now or what you do you're screwed, want to get work done in the house, screwed, want to get oil in the tank for the winter, screwed, screwed on our salaries, food, electricity, petrol, diesel absolutely disgraceful what the Government are getting away with and the country full of cash now they still won't give us a break yet they get their big fat pensions and can give themselves pay raises.

Well, I have promised myself I will never buy a new car again due to the sheer level of taxes the Government get and so many people now signing contracts on 40-50 K cars most of which are PCP traps, people are gone mad , Cars in general have got insanely priced and people are paying 40K for eco box electric cars that handle like boats and have interiors you'd expect to see in vans, all cars are gone expensive too so no, will spend as little as possible from now on. I'd rather buy a new motorbike though than a car due to the sheer cost of cars but will probably get a 2nd hand bike, a good condition CBF600 or Deauville 4k maybe, I'm still thinking about it, not sure I want to do long rides on a naked, I won't be on motorways much as there's a lot more to see going through all the towns and villages and nicer places to eat.

All true and not surprising. There is no win against the government and even if you own a house, you still have to pay the "rent", because if you stop paying the property tax you are out or your kids will have to carry the debth.
    I like my old, cheap car, which is reliable and frugal, but by paying €800 in tax for the privilege of owning it, they got me from that side too.

A well kept Deauville makes sense, however when I was researching the market, I bought a BMW F800 ST with side panniers, which I think is a great choice with the belt drive, low weight, great handling and low fuel consumption. They are cheap (as people belive they are unreliable) and good value for money.

There's strength in numbers and if everyone took to the streets to protect over all the multitude of high taxes we pay then they would have to do something about it.

I see only 1 BMW F800 GT on done deal and a few F800s in various trim, probably a bit more powerful than I'm looking for but decent enough bike.

I see one a F 800 S 2007 going for 3 K with 35,500 Kms 2007. No panniers though.

The Government is very clever by tightening rules in small steps making us accepting changes by small amounts. That is why people don't seem to complain that much.

The GT is usually priced higher than the ST, as it is the revised model. The ST is more less the same bike (with 40 mm shorter wheel base and a larger fuel tank - both can be viewed as pros) for half the price. They do not come up for sale too often. They have a bit more power than the Honda, but they are more economical too. A bit easier to service as well.

…the BMW is also easier to maneouvre than the Deauville at slow speed due to lower centre of gravity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Banzai600

its ridiculous that the main dealer for that brand here doesnt post prices on their website, like a lot of others for new bikes. this cloak and dagger bullsh1t about bike price has been going on since the year dot - its bulls!t.

our VRT doesnt help prices here either compared to europe.

do some research, those little 400's look great but they have a few issues. probably better buying a jap 600 twin elsewhere and have it restricted if its needed to be. it pays to shop around.

I wasn't aware of any issues with the 400 ?

I like the CBF600, rode instructors bike and liked it a lot, might end up getting one of those as it's not too easy find a deauville that doesn't show signs of rust , I don't know if it was an issue with that model. XCP Rust Protector Clear coat is supposed to be incredibly good, way better than ACF50 but many bikes don't seem to get even the ACF50.

I'm not a fan of modern honda bikes, I just don't like all that tech and TFT screens just make bikes look cheap, to me TFT screens are not progress at all and should be optional it really turns me off Honda as only the Cub 125 has a reasonable looking speedo and the Shadow which no longer available in Europe. Noyt just Honda of course but many manufacturers are going the screen only approach which is why I love the Speed 400 and the Royal Enfields, although I much prefer the Bonneville T100 dials, they're just classy vs nasty looking plastic TFT screen.

Bikeworld are a pain, have to call them up if you want to know the price or go into the shop….Some of the bikes have proces but most not.

Yeah I'll look into the BMWs, there's a lot less of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

not quite.

A new Honda CB650R is €10,099 list in M50 Honda. The same bike is € 9,790 in Germany. That's 3% less, not 30….

Used bikes in Germany are higher than here too. The depreciate to a point and then level off.

In the Netherlands it's €10,649 - that's 5% MORE than Ireland.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I guess it depends on the make and model. I haven't checked any Japanese moto to be honest. However, after a quick search I see an offer for a CB650R listed at €8,490 from a dealer in Bavaria in Germany.

I agree that used bikes are not cheaper in Germany, but in majority of cases the asking price would be justified by the condition of the vehicle.

Sure, and you'll get deals here too. End September is the sweet spot, into October. Old stock to shift and they don't want it on the shop floor into the Spring. I've bought my last 3 bikes at end of September - one on the very last day at about 16:30 ! - and I got about €1,500 off it……..

I bought in the depths of winter from Bavaria too, when there was snow outside. Deals to be done :)

For the same reason, Spring is the worst time to buy……….

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I was in New York City last week but on the outskirts Petrol goes for 66 cent a litre and they are not happy about that lol

I saw on billboards they were advertising new cars with just 3% tax !

We're insanely screwed here and we allow it, I just don't get why we allow the Government to do it ?

saw petrol for sale in Milan last week for €2.29/litre….

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Don't forget, 1 US gallon is just under 3.8 litres.

Was the price $2.99 per gallon? If so, that would be $0,79 per litre.

Not your ornery onager

So you're saying we should be thankful we're not paying more ? lol

On the way to Newark there were plenty of Gas stations advertising $2.65 - $ 2.70 per gallon US - 68 Euro cent.

That was on a major route so probably cheaper again out of the city.

I should have posted a pic in post 1.

Lovely analogue clock, just shame on the way the digital screen cuts into it but still much better than a horrible TFT screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Nice bike.

I like the digital part of it.

Handy gear position, nice rev counter and gives you time, fuel stats etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I like the new Royal Enfield Himalayan LCD cockpit. Has the usefulness of LCD, while maintaining some of the original analog charm. I think it can also link with your phone for navigation and stuff. My MT10sp is a fugly monster, but if you're looking at the screen, you're not having enough fun.

Digital displays don't do it for me, while I like the Speed 400 Analogue speedo I wish they had the digital part completely separate.

In my opinion, the Triumph Bonneville T100 dials are simply Gorgeous, no digital display can replace this. I'm not saying not to have digital screens but it would be nice if they weren't the focus of the bike and if more bikes came without them, It's as if manufacturers tell designers, "whatever ye do lads, the bike must have digital screens in some shape or form"

Here's the Bonneville T120 clocks, 100 is same. Looks gorgeous, nice and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^ Those clocks each have a digital display…

😄

Not your ornery onager

Oh yes I know that but they are one of the nicest pair of dials you'd see on a bike today, can't get any form of modern bike or modern retro without some form of LCD display so I was really referring to bikes that are TFT tablet style, I just think they ruin the look of a bike but it's good to see analogue dials on modern bikes.