Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: "I'm down in the hood, I'm on tik-tok" sez Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭mountain

a nice Christmas present for her dead mother

Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,534 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Widju."

Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Joe might volunteer to help move the ashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭Tow

Audio walking tour of Glasnevin

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

"I lived with her"

Joe "well done"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,748 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Olden days people should be brought to a funeral home to get an estimate on the costs of being buried in a graveyard, it's rather shocking depending on what graveyard you want.

where did her fear of fire come from…?

350k a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,139 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Over half of today's show was set aside for Kathleen's passing. And who knows, he might even come back to it before the end.

He sounded disappointed the mother didn't fall face first into a bonfire as a chisler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

He ran out of people to talk to probably, has the researchers doing a ring-around/scope around the canteen for any other luvies

Still swallowing his snackeen from the ad break.

Back to carers and mean testing.

Revenue Bashing.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

Joe: "Her majesty's revenue service".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,553 ✭✭✭CH3OH

I suggest a Gofund me

Ye can always tell who the tourist is - he's the one wearing a kilt.

M

There's a great documentary on Channel 4 called 'The King, The Prince & Their Secret Millions', it shows how much money the royals take in from land leases to the government, hospitals, RNLI, schools, Department of Defence, offshore windfarm companies, all sorts.

Another David Drumm mention

I came across that a couple of days ago.

23 million and 27 million respectively for Bill and Chas - all rents and lease incomes from public services that millions of hapless 'subjects' have paid for through their taxes.

The sooner there's a bloody revolution in that cesspit, the better.

M

Social Welfare should take in transition year students for work experience and get them to trawl RIP.ie records against the names of people claiming pensions in those towns.

It's not the eve of the election, Joe.

She must be earning a good few bob for the part time job

I suspect there's more than a few keeping a careful eye on longevity records, so that Uncle Joe's years on this earth don't attract attention.

"He went out for a walk one day and didn't come back. Amazingly fit for a man of his age."

Joe,

There’s a man getting 350k a year for 250 hours of wurk a year, where do I complain to?

Caller: My father passed away in 1988.

Joe: Very good.

1960 ...recent!

M

Ray at the buttons early?

What de feck was dat?

"Monday morning quarterbacking…"

Ray on the buttons again

May as well attempt to teach a goose about thermodynamics.

M

Audi A4 RIP…it's no wonder VW is going up the swanny.

Joe caught rotten watching FOX news in the background

"Monday morning quarterbacking"???

Joe: "Another programme is trying to bleed in".

Disgraceful! Don't they know this is the Kathleen Watkins tribute show?

M

It's mad how de Trump hater politicians are now trying to kiss his hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭purifol0

They follow power not principles

A tale as old as time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,021 ✭✭✭archfi

David Lammy's (the actual UK Foreign secretary) pre-Nov 5/6th tweets are extraordinarily, immensely dumb even for a student activist. And his colleague Yvette Cooper (the UK Home Secretary) to name just two.

I'm having a great time the past day or so!😂

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Caught a bit of the early part of the show. On the one hand, fair enough Kathleen Watkins worked in RTE, they can mention her passing.

But this eulogising stuff, she loved her kids and her grandkids etc. really??? never.

And was that her daughter that came on?? Her mother literally passed away this morning... sorry thats a little bit gauche.

It was like a wake, without the free booze.

An interesting aside, didn't uncle Gaybo, Kathleen and her set, have a right old merry time of it. Jetting off to London on a whim to see a play…eating out all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,539 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

oh he is still hated world wide, but they still have to deal with him. They offer congrats to all the elected presidents, but no one accused them of kissing Bidens hole.

they now have control of everything, and they can move on back to the 1950's where the men can die young of fags and booze, and the women can concentrate on having as many children as possible. Except they have no one else to blame going forward. But at least it might be a bit whiter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Kat lean Wok-kinns - sez Joe every time.
    He knew her well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Joe in his best suit paying his respects on the 6.1 news

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/1107/1479732-rte-wrc/

Will Duffy be sizing this up for a claim of his own?
    he has passed comments previously about him being a contractor

AFAIK a WRC payment is limited to two years of salary and they have strict a 6 month (12 in exceptions) limit to make a claim. Is this just a first step before going to the Labour Court and/or higher?

I wonder if the 238k includes lost pension contributions and pension growth over the 11 years. My feeling it that it does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,539 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I bet being a 'contractor' suited them for all those years. Suddenly it dawned on them (after 11 years) that avoiding tax, but missing out on holidays and the pension may have been the wrong option. tough shite. Missing out on €21500 per year ??! How much was she been paid, and how much tax did she manage to 'avoid' paying

She could have applied to become an employee after 2 years of contracting, and then taken a case to the WRC if RTE said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Peter Dragon

It is an awful pity that all of Noel Kelly’s clients are simple creatures unable to understand the figures and complications of employed versus contractual status. Ryan Tubridy publicly painted himself as essentially being a nincompoop when confronted with the dastardly complexities of handling his enormous salary that didn’t affect his soul after all. For all of his many faults I’d certainly say Mr. Tubridy would be a smarter chap than Mr. Duffy (a relative statement for sure but bear with me), so if we are to take the former at his word, can you imagine how bamboozled Mr. Duffy would be by such complicated matters? I’d wager he would be cast down by the weight of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,036 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I think you have it the wrong way around. I have seen Duffy operate live in person in the 90s. There were no flies on him back then. His persona changes when 'On Air'. I am not saying he is nice person, he has his own agendas and will manipulate the flow of the on air conversation to generate 'good radio' and cover his own interests or agendas.

Tubs just seems to trust and follow NK blindly. If he just admitted or kept his gob shut that he was wrong and paid back the 150k he would have been back in Montrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Peter Dragon

Perhaps my mistake was in the subtlety of my post. I fully understand what a mercenary Mr. Duffy is when it comes to matters financial, my post was written firmly tongue in cheek.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,036 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Joe called the election three weeks ago, so we will have it on the 29th. The means-tested carers moaning about bills. Some company in Cark going to be shut down by 3pm. AnPost have moved into the 21st century SHOCKER. And some whistlin whistlin