Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BGS 2024 - Captains Weekend - 13/14/15 September

• 20-08-2024 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭

Onto the final rounds of the Boards Golf Society for 2024 already, the year really seems to have flown by. Round 7 on Friday (the 13th 😱) in West Waterford, Captains day in Gold Coast on the Saturday and a fun day out on the Sunday in Dungarvan (this will be a non qualifying team event, details will be provided later).

As we've seen in the latest table, our leader @a post punk has a fairly commanding lead for GOTY, however, there are quite a few people challenging for top 3 and many more in the hunt for enough points to get into the Ryder Jug team. Important note, the Jug match is on the 28th September; the venue will be revealed on Captains day. If you're in with a good chance of making the team and definitely can't make that day, please let me know (PM or whatsapp).

Booking is open now on Clubnet. For those playing Friday and Saturday please book Friday only (this covers the whole weekend of golf). The time you book on Friday will be your start time that day only, the Tee times for Saturday will be based on the Order of Merit table with the leaders going out last. This will be sorted out and published after the round on Friday.

We've opened a couple of slots in Clubnet for those playing Saturday only.

Tee Times
    West Waterford: Friday 13:30 - 14:40
    Gold Coast: Saturday 12:00 - 13:30
    Dungarvan: Sunday 12:30 - 14:00

I'll setup a WhatsApp group for sorting out the accomodation based on those who responded in the poll.

Please contact me directly if you've any specific requirements around Tee times for Saturday or Sunday and I'll do my best to accomodate. Or for any other requirements like playing Friday only or playing Saturday and Sunday only.

See you all in September.
    Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

thanks Captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

Thanks @Alanm ,gonna be a cracker of a weekend and all to play for yet.Nothing in stone until the saturday afternoon….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

Nonsense post punk. If you don't win at this stage, jean van de velde will personally thank you for no longer being the greatest collapse in golfing history.

No pressure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Okay lads I put myself down on the line beside postpunk. To keep my eye on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭bobster453

I take it we will be using live scoring again.

That was brilliant last year. @Alanm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

He's sneaky good this year! Started of poor in macreddin but slowly turned it around to come home in 32 pts I think.. He's a serious grinder these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

booked in for this now. looking forward to my first weekend away with the society. Although if lazing around on Sunday after Macreddin was anything to go by, my body is not going to hold up for the 2nd round on Saturday 😫 and that was without a copious amount of pints….

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Sounds like a great weekend, I had way too much on this year between home and work and too many clashes for outings. Very little golf and still shaking off the Winter rust in recent weeks. Enjoy the long weekend and see you in sunny April/May 25!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Manhatton

Well done captain @Alanm on a great year to date and best wishes for the Captains weekend. Sorry I couldn't make many outings this year due to other commitments. Best of luck to @a post punk and all the competitors for the finale. Have a good one 😜.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Alanm

Yep, we hope to have it in place again this year

We started out the year in Corballis , so why not finish it off together 👍

Cheers @Manhatton pity you can’t make the journey

I was trying to remember where it was we played together last 😀

I helped you with lines and landing areas in Corballis so I want half your haul after captains day 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Richiemaloney

How are we looking on the food front ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Snackbox20

West Waterford did a lovely carvery and coffee bar in the upstairs of the clubhouse, this was when I played a scramble there last year, there was also a food truck in the car park outside too.

Gold coast have a full restaurant and bar in the hotel of the venue, good menu there too and farmer size portions after your round of golf 🔪 🍴 🍴 🍽️

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Have been looking at the 3 courses on Google maps again the last few days. If the weather plays ball with us, we are in for some treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

@Alanm Any update on accommodation details / deposits for the upcoming Captain's Weekend. ?

Sorry for the delay folks, will hopefully get the group sorted out and details up tomorrow…

A couple of quick updates:

Accomodation whatsapp group has been created for everyone who voted in the other thread. Please let me know if you didn't get a message!

West Waterford can't do hot food on the Friday evening so I have us booked into the bunker bar in The Gold Coast resort (as a lot of us are staying there). This is where we'll do the prize giving after the friday round. I realise this isn't ideal for those that aren't staying there, hopefully most can make it over.

We'll also have food on Saturday in the same place after the round. After food and presentation of prizes we'll head into Dungarvan - instead of me picking a pub at random, can anyone suggest a good venue that can easily accomodate 20+ people?

For Sunday, food is available in Dungarvan Golf Club after the round; they also do a fry in the morning if anyone needs something to get rid of the few saturday night beers!

One other thing, I've 27 booked in for the weekend, plus 2 more for Saturday only. If anyone else is thinking of booking in, please do so (or at least let me know that you will be). I need to finalise numbers with the clubs pretty soon if I can.

Thanks, Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Merrys Gastopub looks a decent enough spot, craft beers, live music on a Saturday

https://merrysgastropub.ie/

Haven't been in it, so couple of the more local/familiar lads ( @bakerbhoy @BohToffee @blue note @Break80) might have other recommendations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

I'll second Merrys, it's a good spot

I don't actually know Dungarvan that well - I more know it from a couple of short stays there. But I did happen to eat there last time and it was lovely!

There are actually loads of nice pubs / restaurants in Dungarvan. It's hard to go wrong. The pubs in the square are great for pints. We ate in one of the places on the quay and it was lovely too. There's a nice chipper in the town too - just chips I think it's called. It's a fancy chipper, but a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭BohToffee

Merrys is daycent alright, also does good food.

AndChips I think is the fish and chips shop blue note, and I can confirm it is very good.

The moorings is next to it decent beer garden in it. I'm not sure if it's a pub pub or a food pub though it's been a while since I ventured down that way.. the anchor is another bar and all are quite close to the square and each other.

Still trying to wrangle a day off and drive south for these events would be a shame to miss when it's only 20 mins from the parents.

Take the day off! (I'm on board if you need a fake reference?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

All, there are a few gaps in the timesheet but also a few notable absentees. I realise people may not be able to make the weekend, but I'll give it a couple of days for any late additions before I rejig sheet

oh and I spotted that @LinoRichie is playing himself out of the tournament as he has only booked himself in for 9 holes 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭paulos53

Gusts of up to 60 km/h forecast for Saturday. Around half of the holes have no protection from the wind coming across the bay so we will feel all of it. Should be fun 😐️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭boccy23

Might help to straighten out the over draw (hook) that I currently have going anyway! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I'm starting to get flashbacks of Corballis this year looking at that wind.

I played Corballis after one of the hurricanes a few years ago!! Was great crack. Same with Strandhill, was very tough. Seve mastered it and won the Friday open outright, he’ll do well on Saturday.

Strandhill was insane that day.

Ended up as a reduction only event I think, and Seve was maybe the only person who played in the entire open that broke 30 points that whole day

I think I had 18 points that day in Strandhill, still loved it though !

My golf bag and golf glider nearly ended up in the Atlantic that day too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭paulos53

Just in case anybody got a liking for using a buggy in Macreddin and was thinking of doing the same this weekend 😄

www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/driver-golf-buggy-cliff-waterford-10922509

Hope the ambulance didn’t leave any marks on the fairway 😂😂😂

yea was certainly up there as one of the toughest conditions I've ever played in.

pretty sure I won the open with a mere 29 points

emails just sent out there with updates to the time sheet

very small changes but you will note we have gone to 3 balls so hopefully will help with a fast pace of play

time sheet was set up for 10 minute intervals but we will be a bit quicker so please make sure you are on the box 5-10 minutes early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

I came 5th or 6th that day in the open Think I got a glove or something

Ye all peaked early...saved my golf for Rosses the next day 💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭boccy23

Hi @Alanm, just a few questions on logisitics for tomorrow. Can we get lunch in the clubhouse before the round? And I see there are practice facilities, do they have a range or can you hit a driver on their practice facilities do you you (or anyone else) know?
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I was also going to ask about a driving range. Are there any at the clubs or other ones close by?

Yes, there is food available during the day in West Waterford.

I don't believe there's a proper driving range at any of the 3 courses. I think both goldcoast and dungarvan have small ranges where you can hit your own balls. Not sure what facilities are in West Waterford

If travelling from Cork area on M8 North our club Cahir have full open and enclosed driving range.Take Exit 11.

Dunno about any other clubs.

Maybe Tramore @bakerbhoy ?

There's a driving range in tramore alright, but it's a decent drive away and not on the way at all. Lovely drive from tramore to dungarvan though.

Looks like the closest actual range is about 40 minutes from the course, Tinhalla Driving Range

As mentioned, dungarvan gc has a long enough area, probably 5 min walk from clubhouse or so, and it's bring your own balls. Nets are in a similar spot.

I phoned Gold Coast a week ago and was told its only nets a putting green