Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2025 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Hot metal and methedrine, I hear empire down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭traco

Just a guess here but looks like a currecny issue. 872 in GBP£ is pretty close to €1,052

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Parklife1978

Yep, just got an email to say they incorrectly charged in GBP, refunds on the way. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

All completely irrelevant as at Croke park, all ticket sales are for a single act, for stadium tour, an act can clear several million per event.

At a festival, they're the hired hands, festivals have to budget for several acts and have budget limits as to what they will pay the acts.

As to the below, the acts still need to **** pay for that ****.

1. The logistics of getting a stage together - do you think EP paid for Kylies fancy set?
    2. Equipment such as guitars/drums/mics
    3. Roadies to set up equipment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭endainoz

😂😂😂😂

I actually enjoy the retro sound of the first album, the rest of it not so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,790 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Finally in, 2hrs 20mins for moonligh meadows.

Make sure it says EP at the top before you book as the landing page takes you to the Isle of white camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,302 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Got Pink Moon for myself and my group (Just the pitch spots).Group ain't getting any younger and while there was no hassle or anything where we were camped (Janice Joplin), just like the idea of a bit more space. For those who've been before, each spot seems to be decent enough sized (Can't log in now to check as getting thrown back into queue). I have a new decent sized 3/4 man tent I used this year (Blackout. tent HIGHLY recommended). But some of my group have 6 man tents (You know the longer ones with two sides). It LOOKS like they will (just about) fit but has anyone any experience with these?

I mean they also have smaller tents but like the space.

What are the queues like for showers in there?

I didn't see that as an option, i've heard of a few people giving out where there pink moon was this year, i booked moonlight meadows, it's got a bar, no real q's and it's easy in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Bunk Moreland

Sorted for next year with Pink Moon. Moonlight Meadows is probably the only place I'd stay. It's not overly expensive and right beside the Electric Arena so it's a great location.

Snarky Snark Snark

Used the self pitch option in 2023, you should be able to find the dimensions of the tents on the manufacturers website and just check it against the pitch size (7m x 4M). Found it fine, the showers and loos were the same as the main pink moon area, no real queuing.

They'd not got a bar like in the main PM site but did have a coffee dock, you can see in post #1 the types of tents that people had in the background of my tent. There were many much larger than mine, will see if i have a pic of the row and post it for reference.

edit : not great but gives an idea of tent sizes you can fit in the pitches.

Also as reference, my tent in post #1 is a vango tay 400, it's dimensions are as below.

Post edited by scruff monkey on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭TenPicnics

Just got my Moonlight Meadows sorted, was around number 10,997 in the queue since 9am but all grand really as you could safely leave it and they let you know when you were "in". Now I just need to get EP tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

I remember enjoying the debut and caught him supporting the Chemical Brothers around that time. Acceptable in the 80s & I Created Disco were good tracks, a lot of Gary Numan, Giorgio Moroder and LCD Soundsystem to the stuff. Had potential but got lost along the way.

That's great info, yeah. Thanks scruff. Yeah, I just was able to confirm it's 7M X 4M. More than enough. My friends have ones similar to the green ones in your pic. Mine is more of a standard "4" person tent (I use quotes as I am a short lad but I still use a 4 man to leave room for rucksack etc. Plus I use a lightweight camping bed - Plus I like a bit of a porch that you can leave open to air out). That looks like more than enough room. My vango finally died and I got Portal 4 Man blackout. Pretty much same dimensions as the Vango.Tthe difference a blackout tent made!!! Have been festival camping for over 20 years and this was the first time I got a blackout after my last one just started to fray after a good long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Hoboo

There should by that logic be a queue of great bands lining up to play festivals. Noah something, Kylie and Calvin Harris. The latter being the MASSIVE name they moved the dates for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭nc6000

They moved the festival for Calvin Harris? I thought Kylie was the big name. 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭Fanirish

bands don’t pay for venue rental, nor do they fully pay for stage costs.
    bands get a guarantee fee and for bigger shows they get a revenue/profit split on top of that. The promoters cover Venue costs and dozen of other costs.
    the guarantee fee is based on the circumstances of the stage set up. If your Ed sheeran touring his in the round stage then his fee is vastly more as he is bringing over a purpose built stage. If oasis end up using a standard stage design then the local promoters may cover the stage costs and fee is reduced as a result.
    Bands like oasis don’t rely on ticket sales alone for, it’s a mixture of the guarantee which could be in the €5-10m range for these uk and ireland shows and then profit split on various income sources including dynamic pricing, vip, merch, meet and greets, venue parking etc. the list goes on.

bands playing main stages at EP or any other big festival very easily have a dozen to twenty people on their tour crew between sound and light team, guitar and equipment techs, roadies, tour manager , assistant, bus drivers. Their wages, travel costs and accommodation easily eats into any festival fee. Add in the agent taking 15% and mangers taking the same and whilst the fees are high.

Snarky Snark Snark

My next tent will be a blackout, i'd have booked the self pitch again for this year only it was not available when they were doing their initial bookings as the field had been re-allocated.

Think their prices are still insane for what you're getting but it's so much better than being in down town mogadishu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,953 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Don't think they officially said what big name they moved this years event for, and they probably wont... But it was unlikely to have been the Saw Doctors

Snarky Snark Snark

It was coldplay.

you know what, we did this to death in the 2024 thread, it's done, that fest is over.

let's never speak of the fecking thing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭nc6000

I wonder how they will handle this, I was also charged in GBP. Will they refund any currency charge from my bank also?

Thing is ... EP should've been on this weekend coming … when Coldplay are doing their nights in Croker, and, leaving aside Calvin Harris, that was one possible reason for the change in EP dates this year - Tbstard logistics etc etc a problem on the Coldplay in Dublin weekend. But now we have Oasis on sale across Ireland & UK this weekend, which will surely mean a ginormous strain on Tbstrd resources, so Coldplay happening the same weekend couldn't really be the reason for the EP 2024 date change?

Calvin Harris, hard to believe but maybe that really was THE reason for the date change.

Snarky Snark Snark

Got a call from a mate in need this evening, his kid and her mate are going to coldplay tomorrow evening but his sister who was supposed to shepherd them is in the horrors with the rona…

I have agreed (he did just bring a fuc.kton of booze back from France for me), pray for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Was lucky enough to be in the overflow this time. Was perfectly fine. Don't think I could ever justify paying pink moon or the likes prices

Snarky Snark Snark

The security, showers and shitters almost make it justifiable.

They keep the shitters spotless and they're the powered vaccum type (like airplane shitters) that just whip the intestine goblin spew away.

The showers are not really much to write about but there's plenty of them, they're relatively clean and constantly running.

There's lads keeping the site clean constantly, your tent is in its own dedicated pitch and it's secure, you don't need to worry about some scrote trashing your stuff.

Yes, it is expensive and if so many of our fellow attendees were not scrotes and knew how to behave in public and correctly pitch a tent not on top of someone elses then we wouldn't have a market for it.

Note : I've only ever used their cheapest option (2 man or pitch site), i honestly look at the prices they charge for the larger offerings and wonder what the hell people are thinking when they pay for them, 1 - 2 grand for a tent, for a weekend, are ye out of yer fecking minds? How much money are you on that dropping a grand on a tent for the weekend is a thing, a tent that you don't even get to keep? wtf.

AND WHILST I'M RANTING ABOUT IT!!

Sleeping bag hire, who doesn't own a sleeping bag, seriously, what sort of freaks are out there!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Ah scruff you might enjoy yourself, I'm looking forward to the gig myself :)

Snarky Snark Snark

to be seen, his kid is an absolute dote, not met the other one but she's been described as like a sheep dog with adhd.

Fair enough, but not for me. The showers would be nice tbf, didn't see any in normal camping this year! Toilets were we were were regularly cleaned and didn't get a disgusting one thankfully! If I had been in Hendrix I may say differently though! If it's an easier spot to sneak cans in too you will make some money back right away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Dutchy

Pink Moon is a must for me. Security, decent bog, shower, price point tends to keep the riff raff away, more often than not get a decent kip as they have quiet hours during the night. But, most importantly, handy to smuggle booze in - securiy ranging from a walk on through to a limp touchdown... and then straight into the main arena.. no brainer for an aul lad like me !

I think it's an auld man thing, "what's in the bag, oh just some spare clothes. Go on!" Garda hair cut and culchie accent probably helps as well.😁

Got loads of cans into the main arena no problem from Pink Moon.

Snarky Snark Snark

The older I get the less I could be arsed with this, this year I brought 12 cans of beer with me and 4 G&T, 8 beer came home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭Genghis

I've had a 100% success with getting cans in, but honestly the hassle is too much, am completely with you on this (age thing too no doubt).

For 2 of the 3 days this year I decided to drive instead of taxi home (I live nearby); on those days I bought one beer early doors in the Stradbally Inn and otherwise stuck with soft drink / water or Zero. Perfectly good time was had.

I had a couple of arguments with security where they told me to dump non alcohol beer from my bag (eventually they relented), and seperately where they told me to dump a Coke Zero can (again I refused and eventually they let me keep it).

Honestly, its easier to just walk in with no bag - if only they had a speed lane for people with no bag I would never bring a bag in again. Entry queues too long especially at peak times.

Sleeping bag hire, who doesn't own a sleeping bag, seriously, what sort of freaks are out there!

I have these jocks for hire too. Still warm.

Snarky Snark Snark

de premium level in Croke park really is a very very nice place to see something from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,421 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

No idea how people smuggled a few cans in. May as well have got a full pat down each time. They were only short of asking to empty the pockets

Suggestions welcome for next year haha

Post edited by stephenjmcd on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭jams100

Coldplay for EP25? (Presume they are too big a paycheck), although there's a chance they'd be doing festivals next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Pal works for them as their piano tech. They’re booking tour dates for 2025 and 2026 so no fests til after that and it’s unlikely they’d ever do EP.

In the waistline in the back of my shorts I got two and a couple in the hood of top I was wearing. Got caught on the hood once. Wellies are grand if the weather is bad or go in holding a jacket and put them in the pockets of them if they are zipped. I have to admit I did a bit of racial profiling on who I went up to as some people generally had a much more relaxed search than others

DO they play festivals anymore (Apart from Glasto of course)?

nah the last time they played a proper in europe that wasn’t glasto was the oxegen back in 2011.
    they are simply too big/expensive/creatively seperate from run of the mill festivals.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,727 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Yea exactly the fact they can do multiple stadiums in every city makes it a no brainer, plus they always have a bespoke stage set up so wouldnt work for festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭rubick

Kind of pleasing that there's more chance of getting Aphex Twin than Coldplay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Snarky Snark Snark

Scruff feels it important to say, christ almightly they put on one hell of a show, wouldn't necessarily pay to see it but glad that i saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭riddles

Hotplay, Scam Fender and U3..all better than the originals according to Belvin

Snarky Snark Snark

Against my better judgement, I did enjoy my self.

My summer run of concerts is now done, think it was decent, Patti, Air, Elbow, MSP+Suede, Leftfield, EP and finally Coldplay. Had tix to Arap strap but sold as won't be about, next up is Last Dinner Party & Crash Test Dummies and then nowt till the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Nice run of gigs, I have ride and Melts in September then a run of 8 weeks with at least one gig a week in oct/nov

Does anyone know if your able to buy tickets from the :box office" in the 3Arena or is that only for guest list etc.?

only for guestlist collection or ticket issues relating to that show

Thought as much, ticketmaster down and people looking to get a late ticket for 3Arena tonight, looks like a no go. Cheers