Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

putting seat back on EI flight DUB FAO

• 20-07-2024 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Hi guys

I travelled with my family (5) from FAO to DUB on EI last week. We were on the A330-200 nice and spacious. The guy in front of me reclined his seat which he is entitled to do so, I did the same. I was working the next day and thought to myself I could get a rest ahead of my 12 hour hospital shift.

As I reclined my seat I felt a shaking which I thought was perhaps a spring in the mechanism so I tried again and it seemed like someone was kicking my chair. I thought this idea was inconceivable so I tried again thinking perhaps the chair was faulty. I heard a child behind me say to the father, "Dad why are you kicking that chair."

I got up and turned around and it was a grown man with 2 children and a wife. I said to him, please refrain from kicking my chair. He gestured that he was watching tv and had no room for his legs. I explained that the reclining mechanism doesnt impact on leg room and if he had an issue he should communicate this verbally as opposed to having an outburst in front of his children. He spat that I should get out of his face.

I thought at this time to alert cabin crew to this aggressive behaviour. However I dont think they are paid enough. I am wondering about the general consensus of "normal" people and how they feel about this situation? I'd be interested to hear any helpful and insightful opinions ( pile on not welcome). I discussed this with my husband after the flight and he said the issue of putting seats back is a devisive one. My view is that if you are respectful and you have bought a seat you are entitled to do so and if you have an issues you can verbalise it in a mature way.

Post edited by dory on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Its your seat, your controls.

I believe the TVs tilt to account for reclining seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,600 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If the seat tilts, go for it. The seats behind tilt too to compensate for the loss in space.

Sounds like you just had an eejit sitting behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 msmandy

Yes I thought he was a pure D*I*C*K but was also concerned at his level of aggression, is this the new thing?

Amen Padre………have a good weekend friend and thanks for the insight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Reclining am airplane seat certainly does have an impact on leg room.

But would mostly only effect tall people.

I'm 6ft 5 and if someone in front reclines there seat I get literally wedged between there seat and mine

It's why I book extra leg room every flight.

But yes your man sounds like a big child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Soc_Alt

No it's not a new thing . People like myself have always dispised people like you who recline seats.

You are fully in your right to recline your seat as the option is available to you so if you feel the need to then go ahead.

Some people like myself and the guy behind you value our personal limited private space on a plane only for D×I×CxK like your self to reduce that limited space.

But I guess we are both being completely selfish. That's why Ryanair is a better option for me.

thanks for insight, i'm curious to hear why you dont book an extra legroom then. I agree at least with FR you know where you stand (or sit). Do you feel his reaction was therefore justified?

Do I think his reaction was justified?

No.

You have the right to utilise the options available.

Do you think you reduced the available space behind you by reclining your seat at face level to the person behind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭mulbot

Takes a real pri*k to recline a seat on any short haul flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Wondering why you feel the need to mention a '12 hour hospital shift' ?

TBH I didnt think at the time……………I did it as the guy in front of me put his back and felt it was fine, I thought I could get a rest ahead of my shift in A and E! Have a great day!

nice to get a bit of rest to be fresh for work my dear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I don't fly long haul often.

I know it's a feature, and I am reasonably tall, but I was really internally angry when the person reclined on front of me.

The only option other than to girn and bear it is to do the same behind me

nice to get a bit of rest to be fresh for work my dear!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I'm 6"4, the seat in front reclining severely impacts my comfort on a flight.

yes if he had explained I honestly would have no issue, the issue was his absolute outburst shaking and kicking the chair!

defs noted for next time! Thanks for your comment

That's life :)

Your not wrong for what you did.

You're just my worst focking nightmare on a plane. :)

Keep an eye out, mad irish woman normally travelling with 3 buck mad teenagers so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I'm only 5'7" so it doesn't impact my leg room, but it is really annoying to have the seat in front pushed up against your face for the duration of the flight. It's mainly a problem on the Aer Lingus wide body planes as the seats in front recline way too far back which makes sense for a night time flight with people sleeping but is **** for a day time flight when people want to watch the TV screens/use laptops, iPads etc. At least the cabin crew will ask someone to put their seat up when the person behind is eating. It's not nearly as bad on the European route planes as the seats only go back a reasonable amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,900 ✭✭✭✭ted1

exactly. No need to recline a seat on a day flight. It’s actually more uncomfortable of you are trying to watch things

on a night flight knock yourself out, recline and go asleep.

Also when food is being served , put your seat back up.

Why is is always the smallest people who put their seat back first ?

understood but would you shake and kick a chair if someone did it? In front of your children? Point absolutely understood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭StormForce13

In the halfpenny place for me!

Worst, by far, is the toddler in the seat behind who spends their time kicking the back of my seat while mammy and daddy (if there is a daddy, often there isn't) completely ignores them. Or the glaring mother with the tats and the constantly crying baby.

So, if we ever meet on a plane (unlikely, as I shun Aer Lingus like the plague), then I'd be delighted to swap seats with you.

LOl yes understood, dont blame the kids……….blame the adults and this adult was essentially a kid!

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I'm a bit tall also so not too fond of people reclining in front of me as it impacts my legroom and can be uncomfortable for prolonged periods. I have multiple sclerosis too and can get restless legs sometimes.

I had a woman on a flight to Chicago who reclined her seat on top of mine for 8 or 9 hours. The whole duration of the flight more or less. I asked her to sit up during the meal service and she did so for all of 2 minutes. I had only finished my salad thing and she was back reclined. I wouldn't have minded so much if she was sleeping but she just watched movies all the way to Chicago. Very inconsiderate behaviour from her.

I would only recline my seat if there was nobody behind me.

Post edited by Nigel Fairservice on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

You had every right to put it back.

Want more leg room, book an emergency aisle seat. I'm 6'3" and can manage perfectly when seats are tilted back on flights. It's called 'getting on with it'.

Airlines need to clarify this otherwise you have half-wits getting all jumped up over their personal space being invaded.

Same people would be the first to whinge about everything in life.

Guarantee that guy wouldn't have been half-aggressive if your better half was with you msmandy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Tbf, not really the consensus on the thread.

I wouldn't condone kicking the chair obviously. Tho it is a difficult one to broach of someone responds with 'im well within my rights "

thanks Nigel, that really was despicable and very selfish of the other person……hope you have a better flight soon!

I think there is a happy medium, obviously there was no meal service and the chair only went back slightly as per the chair in front of me which I had no issues with. I think we are all adults but his response was shocking, I honestly wasn't prepared for the level of aggression.

hi happy out my husband was in another row and lets say I didnt tell him for a reason, didnt want a detour to Bordeaux with Gendarmerie and emergency vehicles waiting on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,900 ✭✭✭✭ted1

it’s not about leg room. It’s chest room and arm Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,158 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I'm just glad that there's no recline on the Ryanair aircraft, saves all the sh*t that goes on with reclining seats in economy. If you want a more comfortable seat find an Airline that has a Business class section..

100% on the kicking of a chair. It's moron behaviour. People need to pay and upgrade to a better seat if they are impacted so greatly by someone exercising what is still offered by the t's and c's of their flight. F*ck this 'manners and consideration' crap.

People are gone ridiculously precious and entitled. In most cases, the flight costs sweet feck and I'd guarantee most giving out here wouldn't think twice about reclining their own, especially if it was a lone female behind them.

He wouldn't do it to your partner, myself or any other male who happened to be in front of him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Well he has just given a superb display of behaviour to his kids.You ask is this level of aggression nowadays normal??It seems way over the top to me, but a grown man behaving like that is sowing the seeds for the next generation to behave that way too (and worse).

It's your seat, it tilts back....that's it really.Same as his does.If he wanted to tilt his back, I am quite sure he would be doing it and asking nobody's permission.I'm familiar with that flight, that route and that plane, and there is no issue with screens when seats are tilted back.It's one of the bigger aircraft on those short hops.

We all know by now that all airline seats tilt back. A bit of tolerance for others is sorely missing in today's world.

I wish I could have nailed it on the head as simply as you did.

The recline feature is there for a reason. If you have an issue with it drive, get the ferry or stay at home.

As mentioned, plenty of parents are oblivious to their kids kicking chairs for the duration of a flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭sugarman20

This is partly why I fly business. Can't be dealing with people annoying me with this kind of crap.

Based on all your comments, You are the exact person that most people over decades will try to avoid.

The person who has zero awareness or purposely invades peoples space for personal gratitude.

but hey. Everyone knows that one person who does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

if the airline provides a seat the reclines, you are 100% entitled to use it, the issue of tv viewing behind is for that person to resolved with the crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,949 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Jesus. Bit harsh. Seats are made to recline, people can recline the seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭JVince

Had something similar on a flight to Germany. Window seat in front was vacant.

Girlfriend of guy on aisle seat decided to move over and proceeded to recline the seat fully.

I'm 6'2" - it was uncomfortable. I asked her if she could move it up a bit and got an earful of foul language.

Thankfully the air stewart saw it, asked for her boarding card and removed her back to her original seat. When she gave the two fingers to me she was given a warning that such behaviour is not acceptable and may find herself banned from future flights.

She went very very quiet.

If she had a tiny bit of respect for others, there'd be no issue. Partial recline would have been fine.

Designed badly to recline. Complete pain in the ass for anyone sitting behind, absolutely no need on a short haul flight,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I cant believe there are people who think it's inappropriate to put the seat back. And feel they are entitled to decide on behalf of others when its ok or not and what is long haul and what isnt. Faro is still 3 hours not that it matters.

Either way this debate is pointless IMHO. Seats have a reclining function and it's there to be used and nobody is in any position to make demands on a fellow traveller to not use that function. They may ask nicely but should not be offended if declined. Just have to suck it up and recline themselves or pay for better seats.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Mod note: Keep it civil. This is an age-old debate. No need to get heated.

For those put out by a seat in front of them being reclined, I find a water bottle placed in the seat pocked it front of you can cause a seat to pop upright again until the water bottle can no longer be felt….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭beachhead

Sounds like I have missed out big time by not travelling long haul on Aer Lingus with their generous comfortable recline

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I feel this thread has run its natural course. Closed