Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what's with the FLOOD of English reg plates on the roads??

• 13-06-2024 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭

I spend a fair bit of time on the road for work, Leinster area

I'd also be naturally alert and aware of English/NI plates…..purely as because in my younger times I'd scan the Exchange & Mart (lol) head across to buy a yoke, import it, keep and run as my daily driver for a while and then eventually sell on (just privately like not a dealer) the sport in it for me being able to have the type of car that wouldn't ordinarily be available to me here (Golf GTi's etc) and to try effectively get my motoring costs for free…great times

ANyWAYS….

in the last year I have noticed a huge increase of English plates on the road out and about and even locally where I live. it used to be certainly up till couple of years ago in a day's driving that I might see 4 or 5 of them. yesterday for the first time I counted over 50 (53 to be precise) in about 6 hours of driving

what's going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Cars from the North down visiting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭damemcd

Derry City fans returning North after losing another game in Tallaght Stadium???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Prefer the yellow background on the GB reg plate meself OP. Gives some extra palava to that battered Nissan Micra they may be driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭User1998

I haven’t noticed any more on the roads than there ever has been and I’d imagine most other people would agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭martco

no honestly I'm not imagining this, daily basis

(fair enuf tho on your own observations like)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭User1998

I’d be fairly aware of UK reg plates too and always look at them to figure out the year, or if they are NI registered etc and I haven’t noticed any more of them on the roads lately

Post edited by User1998 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Not noticed it myself but isn't it usually something to do with "Marching" season? June is a very common time to see more UK registered vehicles so it could also coincide with the beginning of school summer holidays and people just getting away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Ronald Binge Redux

There is no longer any requirement in Northern Ireland for cars brought over from GB registered in the North to change to NI plates. So there are far more GB registered cars in circulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,191 ✭✭✭yagan

Holiday season, lots of Irish return for trips for holidays and weddings over summer. Weddings tend to happen more in the summer months.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Cheaper, no tax, no VRT, no MOT, presumably no insurance. Mainly being driven around by locals, not holiday makers. It's not a huge amount but way more than it used to be. I know they aren't holiday makers as I see them doing the school runs or it is regularly the same car on a commute etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

This must be one of the most pointless threads ever in Motors.

‘Why are you posting in it then, smartarse?’

Sometimes you have to point out the obvious…

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

Cant believe this thread has gotten this far without the blindingly obvious answer .Its by and large people who have bought big ole diesel yokes that had VRT cost skyrocket due to rule change .They gamble correctly that the chance of the car being taken from them is next to zero.At the risk of generalising they tend to work on sites and a fair few to put it mildly probably can use the excuse (much loved by irish in the past ) that theyre only passing through and will soon be in another country. Makes a bit of a farce of people being told they have to VRT cars within a few days and need a pile of documentation to do so (especially if claiming an exemption)Yet another sign of breakdown of law and order in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I knew a few lads in the past from Northern / border areas who, despite living and working in Dublin, had their car, drivers license and everything else official registered to a Northern address they claimed as their primary residence as tax/insurance were cheaper up there and penalty points couldn't be issued to Northern licenses so they could drive like maniacs with impunity.

Probably an element of that still going on.

"They gamble correctly that the chance of the car being taken from them is next to zero"

all things considered this is where my head was kinda at….yes there's probably a mixture of the usual suspects (nordy builders, people from across the water or down on a hollier) but the levels I'm seeing out and about there has to be more to it…I'm thinking add the gamblers like you say + maybe brexit immigrants to the equation. like I know what Bray on the week of the 12th looks lie, this ain't that.

on the gamble well I never did myself but I admit I might have been tempted too if I'd had a NI address and a way to run the car/sell on the motor from NI so yeah I always just did the VRT straight

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Probably Baader-Meinhof phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭beachhead

4 or 5 UK reg cars a day is a lot.You must do a lot of driving.53 in 6 hrs is off the scale.But I do agree that the numbers are on the roads are increasing especially since covid.The guards do not seem interested in taking them off the roads.I do know who is driving them = one group was mentioned in a previous post,there are others.The RSA would rather pursue Irish drivers of Irish reg cars with higher penalty instead of asking the government to get foreign -uninsured cars off the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,287 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Are they not mostly construction crews from NI coming down here for the day or the week to work? They seem to be able to ignore parking restrictions at most sites, and cause havoc for local residents without any risk of enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,803 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

I drive a lot, no increase at all on the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

Regular patrols by customs mobile unit in Howth. Saw a UK car being seized three weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,803 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

This used to be a regular occurance back in the day, then VRT etc copped onto it and now any checks they will have the vehicle seized if you don't have the paperwork to back it up

I had a mate who thought he was clever and brought in a car but got loads of those Irish Ferries badges you hang off the mirror, first time he got stopped, Garda told he to take it off and get the VRT done or the car would be taken off him. That's a few years ago now and the systems have been updated now so Garda can tell if you have insurance etc on the spot now

The myth of more english reg on the road is just that, a myth. Anything to do with immigration is in the news now and people see what they want to see

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Lots of builders in them on the mornings in Dublin city centre. I mean proper mornings, before 7am.

no not vans/trucks/construction, I'm taking that into consideration, just normal motors.

ok so yesterday evening myself + mrs went for a spin after that insane weather thought Teddys & do the pier in DL. for the craic we counted. 12. in a stretch between Kilmac and DL pier. 12. just one way. all sorts, high-end to normal yokes (a brand new Bentley, couple Range Rovers, BMW's and average joe Hyundais/Golfs/Minis etc.) regwise 5 of them were the typical NI type rest UK. dunno lads maybe I'm just seeing things.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yeah, used to see this when i cycled to work; i crossed the east link about 7am and you'd see lads arriving in dublin for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,287 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I see lots of NI reg Skodas and Passats parked around sites in Dublin, often (in the DLR area) with the parking tickets that they ignore on the dash.