Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

May 2024 - anyone sick? cold? flu? other?

• 22-05-2024 6:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭

been laid up the last 2 days or so with a plethora of symptoms, temp and aches, nasal congestion - sinuses - chesty but it its not a chest infection according to GP - anyone else under the weather?

its weird - i rarely get sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,424 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Healthy as a horse here, not a drip.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

nope, feeling well, get well soon.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Yeah had a bad cold at the start of the month, took about a week to go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Dirty chesty cough the last week or so. Sound like a 70 yr old on 60 Major a day.

Haven't been ill in any way since a mild dose of covid 2+ years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

Couple of positive Covid cases in my workplace this week..

• Subscribers Posts: 42,166 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Got a very bad dose after coming back from a week in the sun at the beginning of may. Took over a week to get over it

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I've been sick for months. My GP gave me antibiotics for a chest infection and I've had horrible GI symptoms since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,963 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

We had a nasty low grade cough for last few weeks. Definitely something doing the rounds. Know a lot of people who had it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭recyclops

Phlegm each morning and a miserable cough, couldn't sleep all last week. Only really getting over it now but throat still at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

had a bowel resection three weeks ago, a meter of it.. scars healing up nicely, been pooping liquid and stomach acid almost like clockwork every hour for the last two weeks.. worst case of Ghandi's revenge ever :P

i used to enjoy a good barry white, dread it now :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭sporina

thanks for all the replies - hope we are all feeling right as rain asap.. not cool being sick while the sun is in the sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

same here. Banger of a cough since early last week. Unusual enough in that I’d normally get cold symptoms first and then develop a cough but this time a cough came from nowhere. Was chesty first but now is a constant tickly bark. No aches or pains or other symptoms. Negative on the covid test too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Is anyone NOT sick?

Depserate sinus dose doing the rounds, heads down to the chest into a horrible cough.Pollen is also causing havoc.I am just coming out of it, it's gone through the house - no antibiotics needed, just a couple weeks of general misery - and a lot in the area and my workplace have it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭mrperty2011

yes just after getting over Covid. Whole house got it. Never had before. symptoms, temp and aches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I had very similar symptoms from 11 May after returning from a day trip to UK. I normally don't get anything either but I was very low on energy with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭circadian

Had temp and aches a week or so ago for about 2 days. Was floored. Whole house got it at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭sporina

i'm well over the worst of it now - no temp/sore bones thankfully

hope all are doing ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Is anyone with covid symptoms bothering getting a covid test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

pain in me bollix with work but other then that am grand,fireing on all cylinders,thanks for asking 👍️

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Yes, like a dreadful head cold. Severe aches and pains, shivering and sweating at the same time, sinuses blocked. Slight runny nose. Throat and chest fine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

I'm extremely unwell last 3 days. Vomiting, diarrhoeria, severe stomach cramps, bad lower back, neck and head pain. I rang my GP earlier and waiting on a call back from him. I'm just so miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭RINO87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Citygirl1

Of course! And, please isolate yourself (as much as practical) if you're positive.

I was on a week's holiday last week. Arrived back on Monday morning. Two days meeting friends and enjoying the sun. Then developed symptoms Tuesday evening, and tested positive yesterday. It's a right pain. Definitely picked this up on my travels… Biggest issue is awful scratchy throat, and blocked nose. Spending the last few days of my work leave sitting at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

There is a new variant of covid that has arrived. It known as FLiRT (no joke) and has some of the symptoms in your first post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,284 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

That applies to any viral illness, not just covid. You shouldn't need a test to tell you that you're sick and shouldn't spread it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

had a full colectomy with ileostomy 8 years ago, have the bag. Also had some small bowel resection when I got a strangulated hernia. You need to get well hydrated and take your vitamins, particularly B12 after a big small bowel resection. Will take a while for system to get used to shortened plumbing, some types of fibre supplementation may gel it up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭mykrodot

Identical. Got an an awful dose 2 weeks ago, just 1 day after returning from Portugal. I can't remember being this sick in decades. I never got Covid. But I have a feeling this was Covid. Lost all sense of taste and smell and its still not back, everything and I mean EVERYTHING tasted like metal. Aches, pains, extreme fatigue and the worst cough, even now 2 weeks later I can't shift the cough and I have a deaf ear and still no taste.

I haven't taken a Covid test, does anyone anymore? I assume its a coronavirus, no point in going to the doctor, my immune system will fight it naturally. But its certainly a bad dose. Funny thing nobody else on the place (I was with a group) got it, just me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,846 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Might you have had covid? I've heard a few stories of people being given antibiotics for chest infections which was probably lingering covid - me included - and the latest versions of covid are known to cause GI issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,289 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I wouldn’t say I was sick but nasal problems , headache and complete lethargy since march . I had a dose of ‘ stomach flu ‘ then and it’s completely knocked me since . Plus the warm humid weather hasn’t helped .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Darwin

Wife had a dose for about 2 weeks, started with shivers and flu like symptoms, then full on cough for ages. She still went to work so it wasn't that bad, strange thing is I didn't get anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Yep I went to Croke park on Sunday, I’ve been feeling rough since Tuesday. Blocked nose, lack of energy, flushed cheeks and generally feeling crap. Early night for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Shur a bit of bat soup will sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭50HX

Yip same as with the last 3 weeks

On 2nd round of antibiotics to try & free sinus infection hateful sh1t tbh.

Negative test for the rona so at least that's something, hard goin with young kids & d job, herself has it as well but on the turn since Monday with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Initially i was told i would need the bag too, but they managed to do it without so far. Good advice with the hydration, lashing the water out of it every day, i may ask for a B12 injection when I'm back for dressings again, wouldn't have thought of that at all.. very foggy-minded since the op. Thanks :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Could be? I had tested a few weeks ago but it was negative. Don't know if that means anything though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,846 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i was on two rounds of antibiotics in august or september to clear a chest infection which was not a chest infection, but probable post-covid guff.