Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

150KTubs - future career in Virgin Radio and other soulful pursuits **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I have to say I did and I thought it might, not sure why? Perhaps I just assumed no one would set up a shot like that.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I guess I can see your point when you express it so - it’s so staged, indeed over-staged to the point where it looks completely unnatural and looks so false that I hadn’t considered it to be AI-generated, I had just considered it badly staged, but I can see it from your perspective too.

As I and others have pointed out you don’t read on the tube standing up, and you certainly don’t read holding a book and a satchel in the same hand whilst holding onto the overhead rail with the other. Your balance is off here and you’re at risk of stumbling or falling if the carriage was to come to a sudden stop. No-one could hold a satchel of that size in that position for very long without it becoming a dead weight either - it’s in a completely unnatural position for reading a book with the same hand. The logical place for the satchel when standing if you’re not holding it is between your feet. Not to mention the etiquette on the tube of not taking up space unnecessarily…..which he is absolutely doing in that shot. And all of this is before we discuss the maniacal and unnatural expression, completely misaligned to the book he’s “reading”.. And of course the fact that you’d be an immediate target for a pickpocket (and the tube is riddled with them) if you did.

There is no doubt in my mind he is fully aware that he is being photographed by Oisín (who he says is a friend), and that he is also fully complicit in this staged photo. It screams of trying too hard, as usual. I’d also assume they discussed the shot before taking it, indeed probably took a few and picked what they thought was the best one. A photo of him seated with his head-down and immersed in a book without him posing (like he is) would be far more natural and engaging. A “look who I spotted on the tube” type caption would be (again) far more natural and engaging than the “there he is with his book!” type caption we got instead. But that’s the problem with him, nothing is natural and nothing is real.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭nonetheless

What will be the next one? Oisin suddenly catching Tubridy cycling along Finchley or Wellington Road late for work because he missed the tube with that satchel strapped across his shoulder akin to Indiana Jones but this time clumsily clutching a London A-Z.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭yagan

Perhaps getting mugged by a Messiah in a hoodie will be his next staged appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭animalinside

Well, he's making some effort and dare I say some shreds of improvement. But of all the anti-establishment people he could have chosen, why did he pick the Healy-Raes?! It's the Healy-Raes that make the elites look good, the elites can say "look at those eejits, they're what you'll get if you throw us out!".

He could have put out a completely normal article this week if he had just chosen someone else. Am not sure people who voted the Healey Raes are the type to read even a newspaper so they likely won't see it. Nobody outside of Kerry likes them and I'm sure inside of Kerry it's probably more for financial reasons they get voted in. Typical disastrous attempt of a clueless elite to align themselves with common people.

Notice the words he's chosen "a fool or a snob" - he's calling a LOT, like a LOT of people a fools or snobs there, especially people who would mock the Healy Raes but never really get a good opportunity to.

Great to see the London Diary continues to have very little if anything to do with London…..

This week self-proclaimed political nerd Ryan (who recently thought Joe Biden had served 2 terms as American President) offers his thoughts on the Healy-Rae’s, and regales us with even more tales of famous people who had the pleasure of meeting him. Finally, he offers some thoughts on some recently released films, including a Ryan-line if ever there was one - “I thoroughly enjoyed it despite the messaging being a bit confusing”. God help poor Ryan if he’s ever exposed to arthouse. World Cinema, or other less mainstream genres if he was confused by that. Could you ever for instance imagine him watching something with subtitles? Far too much work.

I see the paper also engaging in the printed version of click-bait too - the largest picture on the page is of Nicole Kidman. At a first glance you’d think she met him that week, but no; he simply saw a film of hers. 🙄

It reminds me of the scene from Bruno where Bruno says he has an exclusive one on one interview with Harrison Ford:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭rightmove

"I've sat in a few pubs in kenmare"

drinking miwadi I presume.

What is he now the toyman nerdy bookie kind young old foggie wild hellraiser!

Probably heads in after a tough sessions training with the senior hurlers.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

lets forget Donal Dineen.

Ryan was the man who first introduced David Gray to Ireland.

Ryan in his best partridge voice went

"come over to Ireland Mr Gray where you will climb the white ladder of the irish shillalagh"

He often talks of drinking creamy pints of Guinness, so he does drink. No doubt we’ll get a reel of him drinking a Guinness with Oisín in The Devonshire soon enough, a quid pro for the tube pic last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Field east

what kind of a message/ picture is he trying to get across and to who????????"?????????????????? If you presented 100 different scenarios to promote yourself and you were asked to eliminate all bar one and you are to start with eliminating from the obviously worst one/s first I reckon one of the first ones to go would be the TUBE one?

One thing you would NOT be doing on a tube would be to do anything that would deflect from being aware of your surroundings eg reading a book , because of pick picketers, avoid being engaged by trouble makers, bag snatchers, respond to people getting on and off out of courtesy, looking after your own and others safety if the tube stops suddenly, etc.

That smile is SOOOOOOO contrived

Is the ‘document holding bag’ not between his ‘reading eyes’ and the book?

IMO the VAST majority of individuals on busses , trains, LUAS, Dart airplanes ,tubes. , etc, when laughing/smiling at something would do so in a dignified /quiet way and not in in a fully blown / kind of uncontrollable way . Our Ryan was asked to smile/ laugh at something in the book and must have thought that he was in a photograph studio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

God, that Healy-Rae piece is teeth grindingly awful. If you told a Junior Certer to write an essay on Kerry's dynamic duo, you'd be shocked if they vomited up tripe like that. €700k salary in 2011. €700k.

Someone should really acquaint the chap with AI. He'd be far better off just asking ChatGPT to spit out an opinion piece on the topic of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭supereurope

And it's hilarious for Tubs to call anyone a 'snob.'

Pot, kettle, black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

The man has no shame and I'm beginning to doubt he can feel any embarrassment otherwise he would have slinked off into a corner long ago and shut the fup up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭animalinside

"look at me guys, I'm so into books I'm even reading one in the most awkward of circumstances, I just can't stop!"

It looks strange and ridiculous. It's actually a bit rude, sort of like eating in front of people.

If he was really addicted to books he would stand there and - think about the books. Think about what's happening in them and literature in general. Though I guess we do know that Ryan's the type that would rather get through more books so he can say he's read them than actually care about what's in them.

It's also dangerous - an unnecessary distraction and if there were to be a massive pull up by the bus he would have a lot harder time stopping himself from going into something - what a terrible tragedy it would be if Ryan himself were to get hurt in this way (heaven forbid..) but as the RSA ads for seatbelts remind us you're a large flying projectile with a very hard skull so what about the poor person he could go flying into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

^^last sentence most pertinent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭RunningFlyer

So his fake Facebook page had 2 million followers? Shame it’s probably been taken down now so no one can confirm 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

That photo is clearly staged. If he was standing like on the tube regularly. One of two things would happen.

• He would be robbed blind.

Or

• Beaten to a pulp by regular commuters.

Buy a Kindle dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,570 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Just got home and caught the end of the Trump YMCA rehearsal on Sky News.

Just place Tubs at the back looking lost and that could be the meme if the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Loblox

Instagram stories are auto deleted after 24 hours.

I know. I thought it was a post rather than a story.

Irrespective of one's politics and just to clarify, I am not making this about Trump and Biden as those are discussions for other threads and I am NOT getting into a politics debate. I am just illustrating this as a classic example as to how Ryan works. He is supposed to be a light entertainment music radio presenter on a radio station that has listeners who will be on both sides of the political fence. For the life of me, I can't understand how VRUK tolerate him.

I'd argue there is no commentary there, he's not saying anything political, it actually shows how unwilling he is to say anything of substance. My issue is his obsession with people representing Ireland on "the world stage". If I was Virgin Radio I'd be asking "what are you doing to bring our audience to you and from their to Virgin Radio".

______

Yesterday

My point being, with that Instagram no comment is needed. That CNN screen picture illustrates exactly what he wants to get across. I would seriously doubt that he really gives a damn about Donie O'Sullivan tbh.

he is lick arsing and kinda saying he is doing the same in H'england since he came over from the west indies or D4

I'm surprised he hasn't claimed he discovered Donie.

Tubridy’s politics are very obvious, he doesn’t ever attempt to hide them:

https://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/rte-star-ryan-tubridy-shows-23488036.amp

Fairly nailing his colours to the mast there. Also a spectacular waste of money on behalf of the US Embassy, how many of these packs were sent out? Just because you’re in Ireland guys doesn’t mean you have to mimic the Irish Govt’s wasteful spending.

And not forgetting….

He named the titular sheep in his Christmas book after Hilary, and don’t forget Patrick and the President…..

yes, that’s Tubridy on the left. He put numerous (this is not the only one) illustrations of himself in a book about a boy meeting JFK on his visit to Ireland….in 1962, before he was born.

I could go on with many more examples including some disturbing ones from the launch of Patrick and the President but I’m flying to London in the morning and should have been in bed hours ago.

In London a few hours now, no sign of any posters of Tubridy or any large groups of school kids searching for The Toyman. Intriguing.

I’m staying tonight but one place I won’t be going to is The Devonshire, where after further enquiries I’m told the clientele is more D4 (and wannabe D4) than D4 itself. Don’t think I could stomach that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭GSF

after Prince Harry has taken his bosses to the cleaners, they will be lucky to be able to afford a fly poster for Tubridy

IMO Tubs is one of those people who just goes with whatever is perceived to be cool. It is easier that way.

He not be able to debate to either side, its all very shallow.

And you can see that with his TV / Book / Film reviews its all brilliant until its not and sure he says everything is brilliant so who know if he ever got it wrong.

I doubt he ever said on his new podcast, you know I wasn't a fan of this book.

But he probably said "I remember reading this book and not being a fan, but since you said it was the one that made you cry, I went back to it and I really see what you got out of it."

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Ah hah oh wow, didn't know that about him putting himself in the book back in 1962. What a feckin muppet, there is no other word for him. Actually, there are, and lots worse!

a bit unfair to Tubridy. He’d equally accept freebies from Trump if he were offered them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So my few free minutes of Hate listening.

Noel's wife called in to remind Tubs about that time he call her and how things change and she happy and glad to see that he is happy where he is!

Does anyone in England know about the nudge nudge don't mention the war in that communication, and do they care about the National Ploughing Championship?

Followed by non-committal tik-tok view.

______

Yesterday

Wait, are you serious? He had a call on air on his radio show with the wife of his agent? Were there no other middle-aged ladies in south county Dublin to ring into this London-based station this morning? 🙄 Actually, now that I think of it - I wonder what percentage of calls/texts to the show come from Ireland? I’m guessing 95%+.

I mean there’s filler and there’s filler, and then there’s this. Wife of agent rings in to confirm just how amazing he is and how he’s conquering the UK radio waves and everything is just brilliant!

Ha never thought of that Noel, haha, no I think it was someone else. This Noel is retired now, just back after morning Golf and annoying his poor wife!

______

Yesterday

He does seem to get through books rather quickly, that is if he really reads them of course. The storyline of The Ghosts Of Rome is quite interesting, actually. Maybe he will really dare to scare himself by following that up with with Philip K Dick's The Man In The High Castle? Whether he is in a barbers/hair salon or even NewsUK's makeup department, it seems a little bit on the bonkers side to hang around to pose for reading a book after getting the haircut. Maybe he now realises that the tube pose wasn't really such a good idea.

Post edited by nonetheless on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Jim Herring

^ Does he have toilet paper stuck to his right shoe?

All freebies that he gets sent from the publicists. I remain convinced he doesn’t read them - if you look at the spines of the paperbacks you’ll see they’re never creased. If you read a paperback it will show signs on said spine of being read through cracking and creasing. Looking forward to the comments though from his adoringly deliciously deluded fans.

Such a coincidence that someone happens to be there to take a snap when Tubs starts reading a book.

He’s definitely been told to curtail the pointing:

Another completely staged pic. To quote Mr. T “I pity the fool” who had to take this. If he was getting his hair/make-up done he’d have a couple of minutes max to read a couple of pages….that’s not how “readers” read….1 page here, 2 pages there….who does he think he’s fooling? And then the chair positioned like it is, just conveniently turned around from its natural position facing the mirror etc. and perfectly so that the person taking the pic just happened to catch him like this. 🙄 It’s all so utterly fake and false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,910 ✭✭✭✭L1011

O'Connor books aren't really "dip in and read a few pages" either.

Does remind me I need to go buy that one. Not in Eason.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

He’s definitely been told to curtail the pointing.

I was scrolling up, and saw the photo before I saw your comment. I was about to say the very same. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,786 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

"The lyricism of his writing is sublime".

Its like Sh1tGPT, throw a few words in there to try and sound smart. Im sure the tone was haberdashery and the theme unequivocal as well...

jaysis the NK hype machine is out in full today bigging up Garrihy’s return to 2FM (yes). Garrihy’s Instagram makes Tubridy’s look like the postings of a man with no ego and mountains of self-awareness. Everything is a junket or a freebie, including a Renault car…..you’d have thought they’d have learnt from the Tubridy fiasco but apparently not. 🤷‍♂️

does anyone buy Renault cars or do they just get them gifted? How does the company make any money?