Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Purchasing new Michelin tyres

• 29-10-2023 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭masterboy123

I have a Tucson Hybrid with Michelin Primacy 4 235/50 R19.

The dealer replaced the front tyres at 62000 km, and now the rear tyres need to be replaced.

The car did 76000 km already and I am satisfied with the Michelin tyres, low noise, good grip and lasted 76k! (Still at 3mm, rear ones). Two local garages said it's not in stock and they don't know when it will be and suggested I go with Continental UC6 that are on fronts. Personally, the Continental are not as comfortable as Michelin and I believe they will need to be changed at a much earlier time.

Do any of you have experience with TyreLeadrer or other online stores? This Michelin tyre is available online and they can be delivered to a local tyre shop. And the local shop will charge €20 per tyre to change.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If you want to stay with Michelins then check if there's a dealer near to you. They can order then in fairly quickly if they're still being made or point you to their replacements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I always buy my tyres online, the last set were Michelin Primacy that I bought off ebay, i think it was Germany they were shipped from. Superb tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,446 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

In my experience, the factory set of tyres on every car seem to do far more mileage that any replacement even when doing exact swaps.

Must be just down to everything being perfectly setup when new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭mikewest

https://www.oponeo.ie/tyre/michelin-primacy-4-235-50-r19-103-v-xl#454232309

And search for mobile tyre fitting near you.

You don't have to leave home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭masterboy123

Thanks.

The local dealer is closed today. Maybe they will open tomorrow and I will give them a ring.

Do you install them yourself?

Can you share the ebay link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭mulbot

Yea have bought tyres online. Delivered with 4 days, michelin cross climate tyres, all weather, brilliant tyre.

Thanks for the link. It's brilliant price.

But it shows B rating for noise. On TyresLeader its A rating for economy, rain and noise.

Are these used tyres or demo tyres?

And I can't find mobile tyre fitting on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭mikewest

Use google for a mobile fitting service, Oponeo don't provide one. If you are in the west I can recommend someone.

The tyres are brand new and ship typically from Poland. They are not always cheapest (again google and compare prices) and take a week or so for delivery.

There a number of tyre fitting places that will fit your own tyres also which can be cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,486 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I recently ordered 4 Michelin Crossclimate 2 from Tyre Leader on a Thursday evening and they arrived on Monday. They shipped from the Netherlands. Got them fitted that same afternoon by a mobile tyre fitter. He told me that if he'd ordered them himself from Michelin in Ireland it'd be at least a week.

Ok 👍🏼

I read reviews that if you buy online and take it to a local tyre shop they charge environmental fees to get rid of old tyres. So €30 per tyre in total which I find in excess.

I am based in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,486 ✭✭✭✭Alun

The fitter has to dispose of the old tyres anyway and pay the fee regardless of where the tyres came from. I guess if you bought the new tyres from him that fee would be hidden in the cost of the tyres. My mobile fitter charged €25 per tyre.

I bring them to my local garage and he fits them. I take away my old tyres and give them to a local farmer for his silage pit.

Check ebay yourself there are loads of sellers.

DEMO tyres are about 50€ per unit cheaper.

Are they with 8mm tread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,118 ✭✭✭893bet

Any decent tyre place will be able to order what you want. I use cross climate myself and always have to get them ordered. Some places don’t want the hassle. 90 percent of people who go in there “want a new (or 4) tyre, the cheapest possible”.

Someone who wants a special order, of tyres that are 2x + of the budget tyres and might not come back to get them fitted leaving them with tyres they can’t sell are a hassle to them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Dublin based here and €15 a corner for fitting, balancing and disposal is what I pay when I bring in my online bought tyres.

TyreLeader German website is about 25€ cheaper for the same tyres.

Would it cause any issue if I order from German .de website?

None, we're all one big happy family in the EU.

😊 thanks. I will search other European countries in case there is a further reduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,288 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I bought 4 tyres from tyreleader.ie this time last year. Had them delivered to my home, they were the cheapest online and bricks shop simply couldn't match online prices. Took about 1 week to arrive. My front and back tyres are different sizes so one pair shipped from Holland while the other pair shipped from Germany within a day of each other. I'm in Limerick too, got them fitted by Ballysimon Tyre Centre for €50 including balancing and disposing of the old ones. These are run flat tyres which some places tend to charge a little more for fitting them.

The tyre business in general here needs a kick up the ass.

They are still pushing cheap crap and pretty much scoffing at the idea that someone might buy Michelin or whatever.

The markup on the Chinese stuff must be crazy when they will push to sell 4 tyres at circa 500 instead of 4 decent ones for 700 to 800.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,444 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

totally agree, went in for some 235x17 all season and all anyone wanted to sell me was petlas.

then my local place sells alloys 5 fitting bays etc etc basically started on with random tyres he was getting in.

luckily a new guy has taken over a smaller place said he would order anything in so he got an order for 4 continental all season. 800 odd quid.

he will be getting the other car business which has a mix of uniroyal and Bridgestone all season for the same reason.

Tyre businesses are stocking what people want. I've never had issues with getting brand tyres from places.

You need to find out how much it's going to cost to the get the tyres fitted. If you can only find someone who'll fit them for €30 then it's costing you €5 more.

Yes, in Limerick tyreleader will deliver to a one particular fitter and they charge €25 per tyre + €5 to take your old tyre away.

When was this?

Brendan Walsh Limerick charging €30 a corner to replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭enricoh

Used to work in tyre place- 90% of people had only 1 question - how much!!

Serious amount of different tyre sizes these days compared to 20 years ago. Huge money tied up in stock. Often had lads ordering well known brands and never turn up- on a set of 19s it could be e1000 left sat there .

No issue with stocking what sells but alot of them could be more helpful when you want something they don't have in stock instead of giving off the wall prices for the branded stuff.... saying that I have found a good shop locally who will get what I want but even that shop will always say he has such a tyre in stock that would be very similar.

Interestingly this same fella was always happy to fit tyres bought online while others acted the bollix. Now I generally buy everything from him so not being shortsighted paid off for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,288 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Around this time last year. €30 for fitting a tyre is expensive.

Many of the independent smaller tyre centres will fit tyres bought online but they may not want them delivered directly to them. Ring around who will fit tyres online first, then get them delivered to your door and bring them in to be fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Often wondered why places don't insist on a deposit for special orders? Ordered a couple of Pilot Sports myself last week, best part of 500 quid fitted. No deposit requested. Kind of assumed they had an agreement in place with suppliers to take back anything not sold so weren't fussed.