Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would You Go On A Solo Sun Holiday?

• 29-08-2023 7:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭HBC08

As the title says,have you done it,would you do it,where would you go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Of course, why not? life is too short, so if no one else can go, work away.

Ibiza its got the party aspect and also a quieter side to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Only go on solo holidays, but always city breaks; a typical sun spot would bore the hell out of me personally. Maybe try Barcelona or Lisbon where there's plenty of beaches nearby but you still have plenty of other options.

Post edited by Montage of Feck on

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Nah, if I'm going solo travelling I'd prefer to go somewhere else and experience a bit of culture. Sun holiday destinations are usually filled with people just there for the sesh (Irish, Brits, Germans etc.). There's nothing wrong with that, have done it many times with the lads. But if I'm by myself I'd rather go see a museum or some castles or take in a walking tour and maybe meet some other solo travellers and go for a drink. Personal preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Yes. And I have. Many years ago, walking on Talbot Street, I saw a travel agent ad for a package holiday to Mallorca. It was ridiculously low priced for flight, transfers & accommodation.

I bit their hand off. The resort/beach didn't really interest me but there is plenty to see if you stray a few Kms away from the strip. I would do it again, in a heartbeat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭gipi

Have done several times. My go to spot is Lanzarote.

Have also done city breaks alone and gone on organised coach tours as a solo traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭HBC08

Thanks for replies.

I'm used to travelling on my own and have done solo trips at different times to Philippines, Barcelona,Athens,Brussels Thailand and a few more city breaks aswell.I suppose the difference was I was younger then (20s v 40s)and also not flying from Ireland.

I was in Lanzarote for the the time ever a few months ago on a family holiday and enjoyed it.I suppose something like that would suit but I'm looking to go in Early to mid November and on the lookout for any leftfield suggestions.Sun,cheap a bit interesting!

Surprised there isn't more of a market for this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,545 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'd be the same. Tempted by somewhere like Ibiza though as I've a few days to use by the end of next month.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭HBC08

Ibiza would be an interesting one!

If I was clubbing I'd want to be going with a few others,I know the old town is a different prospect but it's fairly expensive there?

I've a week or so to take myself.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I can't be in the direct sun too long so I'm not one for sitting by a pool for hours. I also get very bored of that. I love exploring. Cities and hiking trails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I'd love too but unfortunately the wife or the kids always want to tag along ,

I'm going to do 4 nights in New York on my own next year ,Something iv always wanted to do ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

I've always wanted to visit Morocco for the food and the culture. You can get return flights in November from Ryanair for less than €100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Wouldn't go on a "sun holiday" full stop. Can't imagine anything more boring than sitting on a beach frying like a twat.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

My work is sending me to Chicago for a work thing. Due to fly in Sunday and out Wednesday. I asked for Friday off so I can fly in on Friday. Flights still paid for.

I'm due to arrive at the airport at 4:15 pm. If I don't delay I should be able to make it to my airbnb, check in, shower and head back out to Grant Park for 7pm. Taste of Chicago weekend. At 7pm they will be celebrating Hip Hop is 50 with the legends Doug E. Fresh, Slick Rick, KRS One and EPMD, for free. Open air show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Depends what you mean by Sun holiday I guess, I wouldn't be interested in sitting around a pool all day sunbathing, but I have been to many traditional 'sun holiday' destinations.

Personally I like somewhere where there are a few things to do/see, as well as a bit of sea swimming, people watching evenings.

Whatever your preference, Why wouldn't ya! 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm going to Valencia alone next month if that counts? I've never been to any of the Spanish islands though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

I wouldn't go on a sun holiday but to a place with sun, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I did some solo holidays in my twenties where I basically jumped into the backpackers / Euro-rail scene for a couple of weeks and had an absolute blast and I did a few of the "package sun holiday" jobs with the lads before that. Not sure I'd be bothered trying the latter solo though. One thought that does cross my mind would be a solo holiday to the likes of Malta, Tenerife or Croatia and do a PADI Open Water course for a week, or take a week in Portugal or around Biarritz and book into a surf school. I'm sure there's similar options for most hobbies (e.g. golf lessons, sailing, cookery, art etc.). You'd have the company of those on the same course in the evenings if you wanted it but could just as easily do your own thing after the lessons etc... best of both worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Not a beach sun holiday, but others, yes. Have done as I travelled extensively with my job years back, so would often add on a break.

Camino's include many solo travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Las Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Don’t usually but did 11 nights in Almeria in July, just before the heatwave kicked in, did fcuk all other than up at 7 for a morning swim, back to the apartment for breakfast, slap on the factor 50 head to the beach at 9 until lunchtime, couple of cocktails & a snooze, back to the pool for a couple of hours & out for grub in the evening, rinse & repeat, happy as a pig in sh1te I was, I’m quite happy in my own company but also happy to chat to others too if it happens

It was a much needed rest, I’d certainly do it again, I’ve done plenty of active busy holidays over the years & plenty of traditional beach holidays with the family, this year was a bit unusual as the mrs & daughter were on a girls trip so off I toddled,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

The best thing about solo holidays is you get to do what you want to do. If you are good with your own company then should be no problem with you. As I looked at it I was a but young to be sitting at home praying for a peaceful death.

City breaks can be a good tester for soli holidays. Use websites like get your guide to book day trips and activities. I've done Iceland, Porto, Transylvania, Montreal solo. Then A lot of my friends were settled before me so if I wanted to go somewhere I had to on my own. So did a bit on my In 20s an 30s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Agreed, I’ve done a couple of solo trips and I just about prefer going away with others but only just.

there are downsides and upsides to solo travel…

Downsides….

• it’s far more expensive, nobody to share hotel costs with,
    • in the evenings if you fancy heading for a meal or drink it can be a bit weird initially with a pub or restaurant full of people, couples, friends etc … and you squished into a corner usually at the shittiest solo table…

Upsides….

• you march to the beat of your own drum, no trying to please others. need a lie on, have one, no negotiation on schedule, places to eat, visit… the timetable is yours…. 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm off next week on my 8th solo Camino trip. Can't wait. :)

Love solo city breaks too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

About 15 years abo I went to Gran Canaria - in November. I hadn't been anywhere in a few years, so it was welcome. It wasn't overly busy and ran into the same faces a few times. I got to chill out and do some sight seeing.

Coming back to the end of November in Ireland was a bit of an adjustment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

When I was younger I had no problem going on solo holidays and enjoyed them.

Can't say the same now. I'd have anxiety about it. I do admire people who do it and hope I pick the courage up to do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I did my first solo foreign holiday a couple of months ago, going on another one this month.

my friends never have money to go and have been promising to go the last couple of years so this year I said life is too short and booked one.

I probably would prefer company but solo is better than no holiday, I am used to talking to people everyday with my job so it was easy enough for me to get talking to people while away, met a nice lady on a night out as well, just asked her what shot she was drinking and we were in taxi to a nightclub within a half hour. next solo holiday will be better I think because I know what to expect now.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I probably wouldn't go on a traditional sun holiday by myself because I'm not really into sun holidays but I've been away loads by myself. I did 3 months travelling around the US by myself. Had a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I never have gone on a solo sun holiday, but it wouldn’t bother me

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,545 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Has anyone been to Ibiza here? Where do people usually go there? San Antonio? I've 7 days to use this month and I'm tempted to go there for a laugh.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

No but I once took a three day weekend break in Barcelona twenty years ago in January and that was fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I've been loads of times - we usually stay in Sta Eulalia on the east coast but that's total sleepy hollow, full of retired English people. The best cocktail bar I've ever been to is there, though!

San Antonio I personally think is a kip, but it couldn't be further from my scene if it was the moon, and clearly ticks boxes for loads of people.

Ibiza town is gorgeous, particularly the old town - we got an AirBnB for a couple of nights there a few years ago, right on the edge of the old town, and it was great value.

People think of Ibiza as party central - but there's really only San Antonio and the few clubs on the far side of the harbour in Ibiza town are hopping - the rest of it is a total hippy dippy relaxed vibe, and really lovely.

And Formentera is a short ferry ride away, and is absolutely beautiful. Quiet, relaxed, fabulous beaches.

Couldn't recommend it all highly enough.

The flight over is usually a nightmare though - 5.55am with roaring drunk stag and hen parties filling the plane 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭sekond

I'm not much of a sun holiday person, as I burn very easily and am not suited for very hot temperatures, and much prefer to be sightseeing. But I have done a lot of solo travel, mostly city break type destinations. But one year I really fancied a bit of sunshine and a slightly more relaxed trip. Flew to the Algarve, spent 3 days mostly sitting (in the shade!) beside the pool reading, then did a week on-board a yacht getting a sailing qualification, then spent a couple more days sitting by the pool as I attempted to get my land legs back. It was the perfect combination of relaxation and activity. Once my kids are older I think I'd go and do something similar again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Well from reading this thread there are clearly no boardsies interested in sun holidays.

I always find when people jump to poo poo the sun holiday that they really do lack any imagination. Just because you go somewhere sunny on a package holiday doesn't mean that all you're going to do is sit around the pool / beach all day and eat and drink. If that is what you choose to do then fair play to you! Nothing wrong with it. But until I entered the stage where most of my friends have young kids, any time someone gets home from a sun holiday they'll tell you about all the activities they got up to over there. I've been to the canaries twice in recent years (well, maybe the last 10 years, but recent enough). I got to go scuba diving both times, rented a car each time for a couple of days, did the volcano tour, a days cycling, etc. In both holidays, we spent a few hours on the beach for one day of each and went to the pool together for about an hour on one of the trips. There's so much to do on them if you want to do stuff.

Now that we're in the young kids stage, I think they'll be our holidays for the next while, but with minimal activities. I can only imagine how horrible a city break would be with a toddler and a baby. So I think we'll be doing the sun holiday thing that people mock for a couple of years and we'll be grateful to be getting to do it. And in 2028 we'll go skiing unless the world melts before then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Travel Agent? Walking? Talbot St? What was Mallorca like in 1982? 😀

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

Funny, I was the opposite - I found sun/beach holidays really stressful with kids. I felt there was more pressure to do all those activities you mentioned, plus added heat issues and never being able to take an eye off them for a second because of the pool/sea. We did plenty of city/rural cottage near a city holidays when they were smaller, which I found a lot more relaxing (morning in the city looking at a church or a museum - a lot of them surprisingly kid friendly, trip to a playground after lunch, afternoon back at the hotel/apartment etc, evening meal). It's only now that my kids are a bit older and good swimmers that I find sun holiday more relaxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I know, it's like another lifetime! It wasn't that long ago though...

I reckon it might have been either 05 or 06. Travel agents were still a thing back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Very interesting to read this! We've only done one trip since having our first and it was a villa in Spain. It was fantastic, but there were two of us to one kid, so she was quite easy to manage. She was far too young for activities and hardly walking so they weren't a concern. Whereas if we'd been in a city - getting her into a car every day, in and out of the buggy, car journeys - they would all have been very challenging, just with the stage she was going through. The museums / churches would have been grand I expect, as they would have just been different places for her to explore. This year we'll be bringing a baby too. I really don't enjoy walking around Dublin with a buggy, I can't imagine other cities are much easier. And you can't move big distances with a baby and a two year old and with feeds you can't just get up and go. You might try and then get delayed an hour because the baby demands milk and that's how long that feed takes. Which then makes meal times very tricky. Hmmm, I still think the sun resort will be the winner for us for the next couple of years.

I'd have thought though that as the kids get that bit older the museums and churches would be very boring for kids? Compared to watersports and other activities. I must say even aside from kids that I've gone off museums / gallaries / churches. If I'm doing a city break now I'll probably do a walking / bike tour, research places I might want to eat than and then look for things particular to that city. As impressive as impressive churches are, there's an element of monotony with them at this stage. Yes, it's massive, yes, the stain glass windows are beautiful, wow, it's incredible that they were able to build it then and that it took so long, etc, etc, etc. Same with gallaries and museums - wow they have a picasso / van gogh / Klimt / whoever here, but really I need someone who properly understands what they're looking at to explain the significance of it to me. If not it's just me looking at a pretty picture and if I didn't recognise the artists name I probably wouldn't have looked at it twice. The modern art gallaries are a bit more interesting, but if you go to them in every city you're getting a fairly narrow experience of the cities you visit. They don't tend to be too specific to the city they're in. Some of the museums can be good, but again you need to be careful with them. it's very easy to end up wandering around them burying your head in a booklet and just looking up to see what you were reading about. Maybe I'll go back to the gallaries / churches / museums in years to come, but they're definitely not a priority for the moment. Maybe I won't, maybe they were just something I did in my teens / early 20s and then grew out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I think most people meant that they don't fancy sitting sunbathing and drinking alone.

Most places have plenty to do, I was in a typical sun holiday resort in April and had lots to do. I wouldn't be interested in the 'sun holiday' sunbathing aspect, but yes to typical sun holiday resorts.

Well, maybe its my kids (I mean we are both slightly nerdy so maybe our kids are too) but they have always found something to enjoy in a museum or a church. But you approach them differently than if you were on your own. You don't spend as much time as you might have, you pick certain things, you choose particular museums (music museum in Brussels was a huge hit with my then 4 year old and her baby sister, Auckland museum was a hit at many ages from 1 year old to 7 years old, really surprisingly Waterloo museum was a hit at 4 and 8, and then, at a bit older, we had to threaten 10 year old with not getting lunch if she wouldn't leave a particular room in the British Museum! We didn't bring then 3 year old to the museum in Hiroshima, although 7 year old did go, but the younger one enjoyed the park outside. I could name plenty more). Loads of museums and churches have kid focused things too. And seeing some of the stuff through the eyes of a small child is an interesting perspective. They've been going to churches, museums and galleries since they were born because we wanted to go there. They just didn't get a choice in learning how to behave in and enjoy that sort of place.

And as for the logistics in cities. We may have been lucky with the age range in that there was only ever one in a buggy/pram at a time. But a bus trip from the accommodation to the museum is an activity in itself. And sometimes it doesn't go well, and there's a bit of a disaster, but that's just life with kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I did a solo 14 day sun holiday to Thailand 4 years ago. After the initial hit of the flight price (€520) the 4 star hotels I stayed in cost 25% of the price of Spanish / Portuguese etc hotels. Did not hear one Irish or English yobbo accent for 2 weeks.

Never spent one day or night on my own as being a European was like being a magnate to the locals. By far the best holiday I’ve ever had. Going back on another solo Thai trip in November for 4 weeks.

ps , would never bother with European “sun holidays” ever again .

Thanks for writing this. It's immensely helpful.

To be honest, I'm 35 and almost entirely teetoal. I'm not sure if somewhere like Ibiza would be wasted on me. I'm curious about the club thing but I'm a non-drinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I have never been to one of the clubs, and never intend going! I can't imagine any worse torture tbh. Some of our crew went once years ago, and have never been back.

Like I say, it's only a small part of what the island is about, it's a lovely place to just hang out and chill (or go sailing, which is what we do ). San Antonio is mainly full of young ones and clubby heads so if you're not about trying that scene then I'd avoid it - its very built up and not very pretty. It does have the westerly aspect so you get the fabulous sunsets though!

Lots of smaller resorts, lovely beaches, and it's small enough to hire a car and see most of the island in a day.

Thanks. I don't drive but I'll check to see what the situation is with public transport. Might be nice to try a relaxing sun holiday instead of the usual museums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I did many years ago - if the location is new to you and interesting the day flies- motivation to keep going is harder when on you’re own as you’ve no one to share the experience with- if you’re attached/in a relationship then the weird thing would be going without them but if that was all fine then I’d have no problem going.

I think the one scenario I could envisage if either of us were out of work for a time and the other was working and couldn’t take a break, that would be the time I might consider a break on my own- beach, city, wouldn’t care, as long as it was an interesting place to visit and the food was good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

I did and I'd do it again.

I like city breaks but I think I suffer from overwhelm at the prospect of cramming in as many museums, galleries, shopping jaunts, etc. Plus, in a lot of cities, being a single woman who's walking around looking for a restaurant to eat in is a complete pain.

Could you use this opportunity to try hit the bars and clubs for a few drinks? Maybe get enough dutch courage to chat randomly to strangers - and not necessarily women right off the bat - but you never know. A woman might take a shine to you and approach you.

Even for one or two nights and spend the rest of the time doing the more civilized, non-drinking stuff.

I know from your previous posts you're a bit out of the loop on socializing so this might be a good change for you in a place where no one knows you. 35 is the sweet spot for a man, you can go down as well as up in age.

• Just out of the euthanasia thread, I have MS and other immense challenges, went on a trip a fortnight ago to south-west Spain, Costa de La Luz, as a lone traveller, assistance at every corner, people are absolutely fantastic, I find particularly when you travel to an area in a country that typically attracts locals mainly!

Solo travel, to me, is real travel, in the sense of discovery. Absolutely love it I’m spite of my circumstances!

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Only recently started to travel alone, moreso to test myself because I'm autistic and the thought of doing it overwhelmed me with anxiety - but I love being by myself so I WANTED to overcome the anxiety and do it.

I absolutely love it, can't recommend it enough. Eating when I want, not when others do, bed early or late depending on only my own mood, seeing only what I want to see - bliss!

In fairness, probably. I've a few days off coming up. Must go back and find that previous post about the place.