Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engine light

• 26-08-2023 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The wife said low oil light followed by low oil pressure warning came on in her car ,

She stopped and got oil and put some in but now the engine light os showing red on the dash bur nothing is showing as wrong on the display screen

It'd a 2015 Octavia,

Any idea or is it straight to the garage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Dont drive it with a red engine light maybe check the oil level yourself to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,424 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Is the car leaking oil onto the pavement?

Maybe look into the engine bay and see if you can see the oil leaking out anywhere?

Also, no offense to your wife, but did she put the right oil in? If you put the wrong grade oil then the car might not be too happy

Anyway, sounds like an issue for the garage to fix

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Cheers lads ,

I'll have to take it to the garage ,

It sounds fine but not risking driving on it so towed to a garage

No leak , so iv no idea

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

What level is showing on the dipstick?

Very very gery low & that's after she's put a litre in it ,l

There must have been next to no oil in it, The engine didn't sound to bad but there was steam coming out of the dip stuck hole after I ran it for about 3 minutes ,To me means a build up of press somewhere,

Just praying she's hasn't done catastrophic damage to the engine with there bein so little sign of oil, although strange the low on oil light never came on before

She said about 40 yards from the house low oil pressure came on & beep led 3 times , which means stop so she just let it roll down the hill to the house ,

That has not come on since but the engine light is on

Don't think about starting it until your mechanic has checked it out.

Sounds like a serious leak then, I reckon the litre of oil she put in just pissed out the bottom while she was driving home, hence why it's reading so low

The oil is going somewhere. If it is not flowing out then you possibly have HG issues. Either way, you need the mechanic to look at the engine.

Ye insurance company are towing it to the garage tomorrow

Praying there's not massive engine issues

It doesn't sound bad which is giving me hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

2014 Skoda here, only had the light come on when low and driving round bends, top up always cured it.

Might be nothing more than a stuck sensor but yeah needs checking out first.

If oil is low on dipstick put another litre in and see if it registers, might be that it was really low and the wifes top up barely registered.

Did she drive it after topping up and the light came on again?

No she didn't drive it after topping up,

I just turned it on & the engine light appeared but nothing about oil this time

So the garage said nothing to worry about filled it with oil and gave her a service ,needed a tyre & pads

Fast forwa2 days later Amd the low oil pressure warning and engine light are back

I rang and they reckon it needs a full oil change , could this be it ? Seems to me that it would be something more serious,

Or a broken sensor?

Check the dipstick to see what the oil level really is, if it's showing full and the low oil light is on then it's probably the sensor

Im thinking could it be the PCV valve,

Its not saying low oil, its saying low oil pressure ? then the engine light comes on

Ah yeah, sorry I misread your post

Could still be a bad sensor, but only the mechanic can answer that

My problem is he said the oil & filter where in a really bad state & it needs to be flushed out & cleaned to fix the problem ,

Which ok fair enough but my question is WHY , it was serviced like 18-22 months ago so it shouldn't be that bad should it ?

• no but chances are they didn’t do that during the service. If you think the garage is talking shite you can get another mechanic to take a look

Just worried there is something really wrong but surely they wouldn't have left that go unnoticed the first time ,

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

The garage should be able to tell you what error code is throwing up the engine light. If it's red, don't drive it, don't start it.

Always check the oil at the dipstick, don't mind the electronic stuff.

For future reference, if you get a low oil pressure light, turn the engine off immediately. The car takes about 4 liters of oil so 1 liter isn't much good. It is certainly possible the car was damaged by the initial driving with no oil.

If you have oil, you next need to determine if the oil is actually going where it needs too. A mechanic can do this. If the oil is getting where it needs too, it could be a faulty sensor.

I'm guessing my best action is to get the Insurance to come tow it to the garage , scared stiff of her driving it back over now ,

The car was in the garage yesterday & they checked this & where happy that is just needed the oil yesterday & said the oil level was good & that the engine sounded fine , it did need break pads & 1 new tyre which they done ,

They did say that it looked like it needed a full oil change & it needed a proper flushing out, although they told me it would be fine for a month & had it booked back in for 4 weeks time ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Depends on mileage and type of driving.

Was filter changed last time? To save costs sometimes people will just change the filter every 2nd service

Just some light reading for you to contemplate

https://www.wheelsjoint.com/skoda-octavia-low-oil-pressure-light-is-on-causes-and-how-to-reset/

• I can’t really say mate! You know your local mechanic better than any of us at the end of the day. Don’t be afraid to go back and ask for some answers why this is reoccurring hours after being told it’s all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭User1998

Never heard of an oil filter not being changed in a service.

Different car I know but I bought a Corsa which had oil pressure issues, oil filter was broken so I changed the oil and oil filters. Still had issues and it turned out the oil pan was full dirt too. Once that was cleaned and oil flushed it was fine.

Oill filter was changed this time but kind of redundant if the oil wasn't changed if you get me,

What you siid is exactly what the garage said, The engine needs deep clean the oil was like sludge ,so they are oging to do it tomorrow

Morning guys,

Got the egine cleaned out Saturday and ran perfectly fine nit a bother, then this morning the missus rang me and said on fhe wYto work , She felt a chug like a drop in power for a second and then it was OK again ,any ideas

Could it be the last of the bad oil working its way out ??