Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minor accident

• 15-06-2023 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭

Herself was involved in a minor accident earlier.

Pulling out of a shopping centre and some lad ran in to the back of her at a low speed. Wife is fine, not in any way hurt etc

I inspected the car and no dents or bumps, some tiny scratching. She said no obvious mark on the other lads car either

she took photos, videos and got your mans details, insurance etc

she didn't ring guards as was busy shopping center etc and they were blocking people. I presume you only ring guards if person injured or obvious damage to the car etc (I was never in a car acccident or bump so not entirely sure of the protocols)

is there anything else left to do here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

She should notify her own insurance company of the incident just so it's documented. There is usually something in your policy document around what to do when involved in an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭obi604

right, but is that just another excuse for them to potentially mess with the premium “oh we see here you were involved in an accident”. $$

Your not making a claim and it sounds like the other person won't be either if they were at fault. Your notifying them of what happened. They usually mention it in your policy documents.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

You are obliged to inform your insurance company whether a claim is to be made or not. Most won't.

No need to involve Gards.

The AGS won't get involved unless someone was injured or they were passing by at the time. They will just tell you it's a civil matter between you and the other driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Not necessarily, it's also to prevent the other driver coming back in a year's time saying that your wife reversed into his car and it's instilled a lifelong fear of being reversed into, and he wants compo.