Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment 2023/2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭AssassinJimmy100

Can you tell me what mistake you made? I can't see your earlier comments. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 dmirelande

Thanks Paddy, is it with your own GP or do you've to bring any info from your own GP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 bryn169

I’m in batch 4 still haven’t gotten a word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭runnerboy

Next class is due to start this Sunday, next class will be end of Dec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Spaghetti99

I got an email that their office will be back in touch once a date is agreed for the December intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 JayK966

I have my PCT this coming Saturday the 28th but I can’t get access to my starting times I have emailed about this I know it is first thing in the morning can anyone that has done theirs already or going this week let me know it’s the morning ones is a 8:30 or 9:30 start ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,712 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭giseva

It will be interesting to see what comes out of this, if anything. The trainee pay has gone up which I'm sure many have welcomed, but the whole process seems incredibly slow.

Maybe a direct entry system for specialist areas will be introduced, cyber for example, which could speed things up in terms of recruitment.

The Defence Forces periodically take in specialists, who then do some form of condensed training depending on the role.

Regarding the satellite training setup, I wonder how serving Gardai would feel about that.

I'm sure it would be welcome for applicants that have lengthy commutes or maybe it's to accommodate those who are living abroad for the time being, could that be a thing?

I would say if it's not broken don't fix it. I don't think training in Templemore is the issue recruiting and retaining Guards and I'd imagine it's vital in fully embracing the history and culture of the job. If an individual can't commit to the few months residential training down there then maybe they shouldn't be in the job.

I believe a new Guard must do a number of years front line policing before moving to a specialist role and I understand the earning your stripes mentality, but if you have applicants with expertise in a particular area, should they not be sooner placed into an area relevant to their qualifications, again taking cyber for example.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2024/0925/1471771-garda-superintendents-recruitment/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 JayK966

Hi has anyone had to get an affadivit regarding their form B if so can anyone help me with what steps I need to take to get this do I write it out myself or do I have to get a solicitor etc to write it out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Streco80

Quick question - does anyone know what the privacy notice is for the Garda fitness exam? clueless here. T.I.A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 chief_okoafor

I did my interview on the 19th of September and still haven’t received any word back, is it meant to take this long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Ciano1997

out of curiosity how many left from2023?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 1234_1234

I’ve all completed since nov 2023 still waiting on suitability checks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 TonyTiger100

Is suitability checks just another term for vetting or a different part of it?

yea I think it’s just the same sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Road Runner 999

Hi all, I have my main zoom interview nxt week,any tips would be welcome thanks.

is anyone else waiting on vetting since this time last year?

I submitted my form B on 6th of October last year.

I’m the same near enough, it’s such a long wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 user3169

what oom are we at for zoom interviews now? I’m still waiting just trying to estimate when il be up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dngl0527

I applied in 2023, interviewed July 2023, fitness Dec 2023, medical Jan 2024. It’s been a long wait but I was invited to Templemore for December intake. Anyone know if there is a WhatsApp group for Dec recruits?

Good luck to everyone who is waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 bryn169

have you been emailing them before you got the call or was it unexpected? I’m still waiting did everything last year still no word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,712 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

It was just a call to 2024 candidates from hr asking us to let them know which intake would we prefer to go down with i.e. December, March or June. It doesn't necessarily mean you will be in these intakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 SkyBoy69

Applied in March 2023, everything completed and passed by March 2024..still no word absolutely ridiculous system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 illuminator

I’m the same.. everything complete since April. Still waiting” Suitability checks”( vetting).. rang every week without fail.. feels horrible really being on hold for it.. keep the faith though.. can’t be much longer 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Iphone1923

Anyone still waiting on suitability checks from 2022 campaign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 andreafarrelly00
    af2000

Applied Feb 2022 and still hanging around waiting! Awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Irishguy215702

just a few things for applicants to consider when applying for the job and need to go into it with eyes open:

Pension: many people join thinking the pension is great. we get fed this from our parents who are basing it on their era from their age. anyone joining post 2013 the pension is disgraceful. you will get about 215-230 euro a week when you reture at 60, which is in line with the old age pension which everyone in none state jobs get. when you join a station you will quickly be told of this and advised to pay into your own AVC to supplement your poor pension. this fact is kept very quiet as it no doubt will affect peoples thinking when applying for this job and correctly so. the lump sum payment at retirement has also been slashed since 2013. nobody realises this and isnt publicised about in the media nor will you find it marketed by them as a reason to join as it doesnt exist anymore. people are walking in blind thinking great pension setting me up for life

work life balance - won't be able to plan things for your days off due to required court appearances/ taking calls on work on days off also and also if you are sent to a call at the end of your last shift and arrest you have to work on into your day off to tie it up.

if you go for specialist unit in time have to go on 6 on 4 off roster driving childcare and travel costs up.

annual leave cut from 35 days to 29 days which sounds good but bear in mind general public get bank holidays off on to of their annual leave whereas we do not.

Work: I appreciate many have wanted to do this since childhood and want it desperately for whatever is their reasons. if its for the day to day work then be prepared that it is all paper work orientated. everything is reports, duplication and beurocracy which snows everyone under. helping decent people is actually rare who for the majority will rarely come into contact with them in their lives but to get passports sorted etc. you will mainly be refereeing domestics with people who call you to get one over on an ex partner due to child custody or if its current partners they will later withdraw complaints but for it to start again further down the line, mental health persons which you are not trained to deal with, frauds which you will be beating your head off a wall trying to progress but cant due to banks delaying you and outside of this any other crimes tend to be between one low life against another one or wrestling with drunk lads on cold rainy nights out facing being attacked.

morale is rock bottom in the job, people are resigning in their droves as they see the realities and the work load expected of them, the day of staying in the job until retirement is in the past now which used to be the case for sure. i know many will view this as overly negative summary of the job so what i would advise is before following through with it talk to others you know in the job and hear what they have to say first. i dont know anyone in it that would recommend it anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 illuminator