Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What businesses are successful these days in small towns?

• 15-04-2023 9:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

So there is a unit looking for a business soon and trying to figure out what would be good for the town. No vape shops or salons as loads of them in the town. Loads of pubs too and besides this unit would be far to small for a pub. Would or could a book shop be successful in this day and age?

Or maybe a dog grooming shop. There is none of them in the town. We used to have one but they want away.

Any other ideas?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭prunudo

Coffee shops, they seem to be multiplying rapidly these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭slay55

Massage

vapes

thats it really

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,549 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Betting shops seem to be doing alright. Pubs look to be in bother. Those aside, I'd say places doing the essentials like corner shops, butchers and so on are about all that'd be viable for new businesses in small towns.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Lot of business don't need high street, like the dog grooming. The best rent payers no doubt are bookies. I often rate towns on the number of bookie shops they have. Trade I don't like. Definitely room for a florist in each town. Turkish barber, phone and electronic accessories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

Coffee shops are all the new rage in the towns local to me anyway. Where is this unit based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Ye there is a Costa Coffee in the town right beside Tesco with free parking so that's out.

A Massage parlour could work alright.

Vapes no not interested.

Definitely room for a florist in each town. Turkish barber, phone and electronic accessories.

Already a florist in the town and never all that busy except around mothers day and Valentines. Amazing its still there.

Them last two are good ideas do.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

livestock marts , they charge 12 euro for a dinner you wouldn’t feed a hungry dog ( 5 star cuisine for the bachelor farmers though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I live in a small village and the butchers closed recently, due to retirement. The queue use to be out the door at certain times. Nothing better going into a proper butcher to discuss what the best cut is to use for meals or the butcher going in the back to bring out a side of meat to cut your steak off. Just outside the village there is a farm shop selling fruit and veg and it is packed there, get a big bag of onions for €3 which is nearly the same price as one of those net bags of onions with 5 onions in it in the supermarket. That is busy as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Mobile phone repair shop, fix screens, issues etc, also sell cases and used phones.

Ms

Ye Thats going to work lol.

Tgere was at least three of them in my town and one stage now I think there is only one.

Ye there is a few of them in the town already. In fact there is nearly as many of them as there are pubs lol.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,225 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

A really good bakery still gets plenty of footfall.

That seems to be a big issue. Butchers in Limerick are very busy so it's not trade that's the problem but people wanting to take up the vocation. Same for a lot of of the long standing independent retailers in town.

Butchers, farm shops etc. are actually making a big comeback in one sense as part of a wider trend towards locally sourced produce but sadly it's not reflected in shop units.

Ms

It has 4 or 5 pubs a Dunnes stores at one end and Lidl,Aldi and Tesco at the other with a Centra and a Spar a lot of hair salons and barbers as well as phone repair shops and a few polish and Brazillian shops about the town and a couple of Bargain shops as well as charity shops and the town has a population of about 7000 people.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Ideal for a couple of decent coffee shops so. They're all thriving around here and in the nearby small towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Slot machine / games arcade - little space needed, good income and easy to manage.

The latest shop to open in my midsize town is a combined sex shop / tattoo parlour called 69 Ink. I’ll be interested to see how long it lasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

Stick a bunch of claw machines with toys and random crap in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Seems to a problem with a lot of trades not just butchers. Hard to know who to make the trades more appealing. The butchers in the supermarkets are not the same. They don't seem to have the same knowledge as a local butcher and god forbid if you asked them to cut up a whole chicken into the different parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

A really good bakery is a real rarity , not something we ever excelled in for the most part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Re: butchers

There is a few businesses I've seen in Derry which started out as a butchers, but have now branched off into providing a lot of ready made meals, stews, homemade pies, various potatoes in different sauces etc, all prepacked, and they never empty. Regularly a queue at the door.

And they offer things like 3 packs for £10 etc, so folk can mix and match. Seems to be a great success for many years now.

Also seen an explosion in dog grooming businesses. I know one guy who was one of the first to open one here, and he's doing very well for himself, but he has a lot of competition now as dozens have opened over the last few years. A pleasant take on them was the self service dog washing places. They provide all the bays, water etc, but you wash your own dog rather than a stranger doing it. Might be an angle?

Tanning places seem to get regular business as the new generation become obsessed with their Insta-look.

Perhaps a place that does Botox? Or whatever it is that they pump into their faces and lips these days, cos I see a lot of people whose faces look weird, so there must be money out there for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Yeah, a polish fella opened one up near me- only does repairs of laptops, fones etc. He's flat out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Bakery / Deli.

Fresh bread and cakes, deli salad lunches and soup to eat in or take out, maybe an all day brekky, small catering service for communions, house parties, funerals etc. Fresh made birthday cakes and treats.

If a place like this establishes a good reputation they can do a bomb, retain great loyalty and get word of mouth business from far and wide.

Friends of ours, a couple, have left their 9-5 jobs to do exactly this in a busy small village and are having a wonderful time doing it, have become really popular with the local organisations and clubs to cater events for them. All the school mammies throng the place for coffee and eats after 9am and the farming contractors and builders flock in for lunch.

All told, they work 7.30am to 4pm, 6 days and deal with any catering jobs as required, have a good roster of local casual staff to relieve them and take short holidays.

They love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

Sounds like it's doing well for a town of 7000. Definitely needs more coffee at least one place doing really good coffee and another a good big breakfast.

Also pizza an Asian food but not in the little unit you mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

whats the unit got planning for ? cant just put anything in, might not get planning for anything else.

Ms

There is a pizza place in the Town actually totally forgot about that.

Also plenty of chippers and the odd car sales garage and a local Kia Showroom.

No idea. It belongs to the parents. Just trying to help them out.

It's a small town in the Midlands.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Sounds like Thurles. It isn't because for one thing they have coffee shops but it's the town came to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Any florist in the town? Seem busy, good margins I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭walterking

Do people not die or get married in the town? (Are these two things related 😀😀)

The "walk in" business of a florist is a sideline to their main business.

Dog grooming is a good option if rent and rates is under €12k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

Krispy Kreme donut shops

Ms

Do people not die or get married in the town? (Are these two things related

I am sure they do lol.

Yes there is.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

That would not work here either tge units too small. Besides there is a well established very busy one in the town. The last thing in it was an auctioneers you know the people who advertise properties for sale.

Yes Donut shops seem popular.

Or maybe a health shop could work. None of them in the town.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Noticing a lot of gyms popping up in smaller towns and doing well for themselves.

Fitness in general is a huge growth area: yoga, pilates, jiu jitsu/other martial arts, HIIT training, crossfit, all that business.

Lads and ladies on the local GAA teams are more likey to be looking after themselves than in yesteryear, and they've kind of become the "third space" in a lot of places. Throw-in a low-fuss coffee dock in the gym to hang out in after and you have a tidy little business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The wholefood, organic local produce is viable. Each town can carry one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Maybe an old fashioned hardware shop. If there isnt a woodies or b and q nearby. Or kitchen shop

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Zero waste type shops/bring your own packing like this are starting to become popular

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

No donuts shop. Be gone in no time. Suppose if you have the kitchen you and create crepes, falafel and tacos. It's a fad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

CrossFit gym. You don’t need a high street place with expensive rent. An industrial unit will do

These days drinking is down, smoking is down and people will pay for fitness training. You could split the rent if someone else runs martial arts classes

As with everything, research is required

In our town a closed down factory was turned into a CrossFit gym and seems to be going well

Nope. How many trainers of different knowledge do you need. Loss of money unless people are complete fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

I live in Dundrum - it's a hugely built up area of Dublin with a town, massive shopping centre and huge apartment blocks.

Places that are ridiculously popular here are;

- Gym

- Coffee Shops / Cafe's

- Barbers

- Cosmetic Dentists

- Donut Shops

- Gaping Stores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Again, ditto for cafes. Was driving from Waterford to Dublin a while back and decided to go off the motorway to grab a bite to eat. Ended up in Thomastown, which seemed like a nice little village. I found at least 4 coffee shops to choose from which seemed disproportionate for the size of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,827 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Clamping companies.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭Glaceon

The last time I was in a particular Irish town which I won’t name, it was pretty much all Chinese takeaways and barber shops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Indestructable

It's almost certainly Edenderry. Though I didn't think 7,000 live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Mentioned before but Coffee shop was what first came to mind. How about a Magic/Joke shop with costumes etc. might do ok with the younger ones? Anything that appeals to women seems to do ok too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Kloppo