If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

How to cope with coming home to rural Ireland for Christmas?

• 26-12-2022 6:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12 Lurth

First of all this is not a knock on rural Ireland. It's great that many of you live there and enjoy it. Nor is it a knock on my family's company. It's about dealing with an isolated location.

Basically I headed abroad to college and now live in a large city. Have my own friends and life there. My parents live back in Ireland, in a house in the middle of nowhere in the mid-west, where you have to drive everywhere.

It's great to see family but being back at Christmas is seriously depressing after a couple of days. It's so isolated and I know nobody back here now.

Maybe my fault for not keeping in touch, but that's the way it went when you lived long distances away from people. The rural location was part of my decision to move abroad in the first place.

Does anyone else feel the same way, or have any ideas about how to make coming back more fun?

Post edited by Lurth on

• Registered Users Posts: 29,353 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

What age are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Lurth

I'm 31.

I bet it would be nice living in a rural area near the coast where you could go surfing and hike up a mountain. Sadly, my parents live inland, many miles away from the sea or mountains.

It's actually not the easiest to walk places as there are no trails - just private fields and roads with no footpaths. The only thing I can think of is renting a car and driving around to scenic spots, which is a bit of a pain to do.

Thanks for white knighting for my parents.

It's not about parents or family, it's about hearing about how other people deal with returning to an extremely isolated location

• Registered Users Posts: 23,237 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Each to their own, but as an urban dweller, I enjoy rural Christmases.

Fresh air and open spaces to go walking, big turf fires, a certain latitude for a bit of late night drink-driving to the nearest lock in

"enlightening anyone that'll listen about how great Sydney/London/Ontario is. Every clown that ever went away comes back with the same old spiel every year"

Yeah there's a reason for that. It's because Ireland has this mad trend stretching back decades for having a sh1t ton of houses dotted randomly around the countryside.

Partly the reason why loads of small local towns and villages are dead/dying. Transport is brutal as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭ax530

With weather hard to do much walking ect.

Next year stay few days less and get lots books for presents.

The days you at 'home' read eat & rest ready to go back city life again.

Anyone you know who could come and visit ?

😂 fecker

Closest I lived to a school friend was 8 miles, as my school was ages away. It was tough to meet up during summer months when school was done, and when I'd come home

• Registered Users Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭pgj2015

😂

would ye not have had a local town ye all went drinking in?

I would just have the attitude of it is what it is when you are back home for a few days. it cant be that bad, A Ukrainian refugee I know, her husband who had a corporate job in Ukraine, is a soldier since February, not what he really wants to be doing but he is sucking it up, sometime you just have to get on with things.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭SmallTeapot

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

They're dying with 70 years since people like yourself first started getting the boat to England, the reality is a lot of towns are thriving but that wouldn't suit the narrative put forward by the likes of yourself in bondi when telling everyone that'll listen what a dump Ireland is and how you can't get a bus from outside your mammys door to the local spar

Yeah, used to meet up and do this back a few years before Covid tbf, but a lot of people moved away or had families. I know a couple of lads who never come home anymore. Same goes for cousins. I'd feel bad if I did that.

Loads of people here will be "oh suck it up you tosser" but it sucks. Loads of pubs we used to go to have shut as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,954 ✭✭✭Wossack

Buy a Nintendo switch

• Registered Users Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Its funny the way you say some people had families, like they died 😂 which in some cases they probably may as well have as they become so dry they cant even met an old friend for a pint. would you not just chill with the family, play board games, listen to music, watch films, have a few drinks etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Sounds like someone who can't be with themselves and needs constant distraction.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,821 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Sadly, my parents live inland, many miles away from the sea or mountains.

How many times during the last 7 days before you went home did you go swimming in the sea or hiking up the mountains in your "big city"?

I understand the frustration OP.

It's hard to maintain friendships remotely. It sounds like you've been gone since you turned 18.

The friends that might still be around have their own groups or families.

I was away for a while, when I came back I lasted about two weeks at home with my parents in the country before i went looking for somewhere to live in town.

I've moved out again as my priorities changed. I wasn't able to meet a friend that is back recently because, unkind as it sounds, I have other priorities, family mainly, and don't have the same time to go into town socialising.

Practically, what did you do to pass time when you were living there? Do that again.

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭BaywatchHQ

When I lived in a city I was isolated anyway due to being autist incel loner so i was used to it when I moved back. If anything it was less isolating as my family were here whereas in the city I was isolated for weeks on end.