Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Depeche Mode - Malahide, June 14th 2023.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Kilteragh

I was at the Killers on the same day last year, driving up from Limerick with wife and 2 older teenagers. Last year car park was a complete shitshow with hours spent getting in and out afterwards.

This year we decided to take the day off and go for lunch in Dublin. Booked the Marathon Car Park same as last year. Left the The Spire Car Park at 4.05pm and breezed in the gate at 5.05pm to be parked in the Pavillion Car Park. Different parking system this year. After the concert we left the Gold Circle just as Never Let Me Down was finishing. We headed straight for the car and were one of the first to leave via the Pavillion gate and were directed left. M50 was very well signposted and sat nav helped prevent us from heading back into traffic. This all went swimmingly compared to last year. Only slight hiccup was when finally back on M50 there were roadworks for a couple of miles. Why? Why not just suspend that for 2 hours at this time. Probably not that simple but still I would imagine Co. Councils have to liaise with people re big events. It didn't hamper us too much but I know others were stuck a fair bit more. Anyway this for us is the way to do Malahide Castle. It does cost us both a day off but you know what? It was worth it.

Now to the gig. I don't want to be too harsh on Just Mustard. They seem to be a young band starting out. I think the lead singer may have something but it was hard to tell as she seemed to just drone the same lines over and over with a semi-Dolores O'Riordan vibe. I like my rock loud but the mostly one note distortion pedal guitar got old quickly. Maybe I'm being harsh so good luck to them. Their bass nearly gave everyone a heart attack when it started off and many moved back. Even DM weren't this loud.

Young Fathers were a step up and were excellent at what they do. No complaints.

This was my first time seeing Depeche Mode and they didn't disappoint. Dave Gahan is one of the best frontmen out there and Martin Gore is just amazing. We knew what the setlist would be and knew 80% of the songs to at least some degree. We loved it. The crowd in general seemed to love it and the sunshine had everybody in a great mood. We were in the Golden Circle and so close to the boys when they came down that we could have had a conversation with them. Great experience.

The only thing I thought was off was the synth on Never Let Me Down. At one stage I thought he had missed his queue but it seemed consistent throughout the song. Maybe it was a mix thing or maybe just me.

Great gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭boomdocker

what do you mean by the 'Pavilion Car Park' - is that the one operated by Marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭fits

I thought it was very well organised. Dart home was great. I like the venue.

I think they were all run by Marathon but could be wrong as nobody checked our carpark ticket until just before we parked in our space (last year our ticket wasn't checked at all). As we came in the gate we were directed to the right past the sports pitches (which were car spaces last year) and towards a pavilion beside the playground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

Really enjoyed that. The vocals hold up really well compared to so many of the 'older' bands on the circuit these days. Highlights were 'never let me down', 'Precious' and 'Everything Counts', but it was all good to be honest (only exception being 'My Cosmos is Mine'). A real high energy performance and seemed to enjoy the crowds reaction. Young Fathers were just finishing up when we got in as we misjudged the time (pre-beers were too tasty)

Queues were ok for everything. Felt really busy but was never packed anywhere if that makes sense. Managed to go a bit arseways on the walk out trying to get out the gate by Swords Road, so added a bit to the journey, but really can't complain as I was staying nearby.

Now on to Blur and another visit to lovely Malahide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,594 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

The Cure were charging €25 in Dublin last December. €50 seems very high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,436 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Quick q.

Which gate did you go in - the one on Back Road that leads up the Castle itself? Or the one on Back Road beside the playground?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Aladdin Sane

My 8th DM gig last night and first outdoor. I really enjoyed it but much prefer seeing them indoors. There was a large contingent in attendance who were there to hear Everything Counts and Just can’t get enough. These outdoor events cater for this audience but they seemed bemused with the darker tunes DM have made their trademark.

Sound was deafening for both support acts, which was painful as I thought both were awful, but the volume seemed lower for the headline act?

I reluctantly purchased a €50 t shirt. Shocking price but a beautiful design none the less.

Great performance from the band. Gahan is a force of nature. His energy levels haven’t dropped since I first seen him perform in the Point 30 years ago.. Fletch’s absence has not affected the bands performance in anyway.

I know both Gahan and Gore thought long and hard about going back in the road again for this tour. Not sure they will tour again after this so it’s important to see DM and other acts from this generation while you can.

slight disappointment “Speak to me” from the new album didn’t get an outing as it has been played regularly on this tour but a small gripe about what was a very very good show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Sad but true about outdoor gigs. They tend to attract the one gig a year folk who just want to drink beer in the sun and talk through the songs they don't know. And then when a song they do know comes on they whip out their phones and record it and take a million selfies

It was my one gig in 7 years ha!

I last saw them in 2006 in UK. Dave Gahan was a force of nature back then and still great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

Great show! Had Gold Circle which turned out great, got right next to the end of the walkway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

The phone thing was mad. I know it's par for the course to whip the phone out very now again for a quick picture...but there were lads in front of us holding the phones up and filming for entire songs. Could barely see the stage at points.

All acts need to be like Tool and have a zero tolerance policy towards taking videos and photos during the show apart from the last song. Although might be tricky to police in a venue like Malahide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭cannco253

Long time fan and have seen them a few times. Thought the first half had too many slow burners and needed a bit more energy.

Picked up massively after the Martin Gore interlude and the final run through was great - could have done without I just can’t get enough but probably have to play it at outdoor events to keep the peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Think a group of guys decided to take business into there own hands near the gold circle instead of walking to the toilets. Chucked out I imagine

I'm not sure how best to describe it. After we came in the GAA pitches were immediately on the right and we were turned on to a cordoned-off single lane route along the grass parallel with the Back Road over the wall (pitches now on our left as we headed towards the Pavilion / Playground direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I took one 10 seconds video of the intro to Personal Jesus and one photo just for the record but that's it. Main reason is most gig photos look the same looking back. Well run venue, my first gig at malahide.

My son pointed out 1 guy near us who was doing Facebook Live during the gig. I just don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭citycentre

Suggestion: If you are stuck behind someone who is wrecking your head recording everything and blocking your view with their feckin phone, sing along really loudly and badly. Trust me they soon put the phone away... One song is fair enough but people holding up the phone for the entire gig really riles me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 paul29163

Traffic was grand, getting out of venue was hectic but well organized. Roads leading from Castle busy but moving. Overall not too bad an experience.

great show btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Lads, people who spend their gig lives on phones are not on the Boards music forum. We're all knowledgeable, world wise, cultured models of musical etiquette. You're preaching to the converted here.

Ah I wish it was last night again. Had so much fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭the 12 th man

Anybody old enough here to remember Peter Gordeno's late father (also Peter),great singer and dancer but not this genre..😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I think that was the Disabled carpark last year. Had a friend park there.

The Cure are very good at restricting their prices for merch and tickets.

Robert Smith caused uproar in the States when he got on to the promoters over there to cancel all their expensive high price tickets and resell at the prices he stipulated. 😁

Was a big headache for the promoters but they did as they were told because he threatened to pull out of sold out arena concerts!

Well done The Cure 🖤

Loved the golden circle, got to the back barrier for most of the set

Only downside is the walk to the toilets from there

Haha very good.

Most peope around me will have my singing off key on their videos anyway!

To be honest I don't mind the filming so much as the constant talking loudly during songs, laughing and turning around taking selfies!

Luckily we were amongst all hardened fans with basic /useless phones between us

Plenty of bad singing along and great fun. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

He was also in the TV series, UFO, as was Gabrielle Drake, older sister of Nick Drake. Again, not this genre.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

Haha, well before my time 😊

Peter Gordeno Sr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

It's kinda ridiculous that people can't dance or clap or sing 'cause they've got their phones out. The golden circle was pretty bad for this. Maybe it's the more ardent fans who have to record everything. So maybe that's it ?

I only got the golden circle tickets as these were all that were available when I booked. But definitely worth it for an extra 10 euro.

I had to ask a tall guy in front of us who had his phone held up high the whole time to take his phone down as he was blocking everyone's view. Which he did.

Yep, the first band was ridiculously loud. Wore earplugs for the first time ever during their entire set. Young fathers and especially DM did not have this problem at all. Which is good, cause I didn't want to wear ear plugs for, and didn't for DM.

I definitely prefer an indoor concert, but yesterday got a pass because it was a beautiful day.

Don't buy merchandise as it's usually poor quality for a high price and it's not for me.

Re parking for Malahide, it's the back road carpark. The earlier you book with Marathon the cheaper. Also, if you arrive early you can get parking near the exit. We were in and out and away in no time at all.

Post edited by SuperBowserWorld on

Definitely found that about 'Just Mustard' and the PA music before hand. I have a 'sensory issue' so assumed it was just that acting up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Nope it was stupidly loud. But absolutely fine for DM. Keep meaning to buy proper concert earplugs, but the ones I had were fine for blocking out the sound. My OH used tissue paper. 😁

Stewards handed out a few pairs of earplugs to people up the front during Just Mustard. Far too loud.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

I was walking in and was freaking out as it was so loud. Absolutely grand after that though. I wouldn’t have been able to stick that. I brought my AirPods but glad I didn’t need them. I was hopping around a fair bit so fair risk of losing one.

Just thinking about the massive songs (for me anyway) they could have included:

Blasphemous Rumours

People Are People

Shake The Disease

Barrel of a Gun

Massive and Servant

Strangelove

Policy Of Truth

A Question of Time

A Question of Lust

What a back catalogue they have.

This was the tour in 2005 that I last saw them. Tried to see them three times since and failed for various reasons.

I can’t think of a better frontman.

https://youtu.be/aWGzr-kOoQY

I made a comment about Dave Gahan's Abs before.. 😜And his dancing!

For men in their early 60s he and Martin Gore are incredibly fit , and I think given his past history of drugtaking and overdose, he is an model of how to grow old well and look after yourself.

That level of activity for over 2.15 hours in the heat.. Very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Aladdin Sane

Some of my shots from the Malahide show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

I got 'A Question of Lust' in Bern as part of the Martin bit was great, No 'Home' played though.

The Hot Press review refers to the crowd. "They come in all shapes and sizes, many in DM T-shirts parading legacies of previous gigs, a fair few eternal alt-teenagers and various striking peacocks – a man in full Freddie Mercury royal cape and crown..."

Eh, I think you'll find... 😊👑

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Was away all day yesterday and just getting the chance to pop my memories down now.

I clearly remember my ears pricking up when I heard Dreaming of Me back in 81, from then on it was every album, every remix single and all the US and Japan imports. The Violator US issued trio of WIME, ETS and POL remain my favourite CD singles of all time with class remixes and b sides that I still listen to regularly. Isn't it amazing the way we've gone from 12" singles played to death to .flac rips in the car and my DM mixtape album is over 100 album tracks with another rip of nearly 200 remixes, ETS Quad Mix anyone!!

Speak and Spell was soooooo good and without taking anything from subsequent albums it was Violator that next blew me away, I thought they would never better that but I do have an argument with myself that although it does not have better songs Ultra is their best album, it just seems to be a more complete piece of work. Exciter was sh1te.

I am fearful that was my 4th and last DM gig, looking at their album turnaround they will most likely be pensioners for the next album. Their age was visible on the big screen and whilst Martin has not has his stage antics impacted in the slightest Dave has very obviously slowed down, he was a lot more standing and concentrating on his vocals than previous flying around in circles with the mic stand. This is not a criticism and Dave deffo left something in the tank for both I Feel You which lifted the crowed after a few of the slower songs and the ETS as well as the last two. Thankfully I got to bring my young DM constructed fan with me so she got to see them in full swing.

Only tickets I could get was Gold Circle and delighted, walked in after the YF and about 6/7 bodies from the front with ample space around the jump up and down and play my imaginary keyboards. Alas, as above, they could be retired now which is a shame, never missed a beat in all the DM concerts I brought them too.

I much preferred the remixed live versions of John The Revelator and A Pain That I'm Used To, way better mixes than the album tracks but I would have like to lose one of them for an earlier song, Get The Balance Right is one of my personal favourites from that era (along with Leave in Silence which I think Martin revived a few tours back) and would have been great to hear live.

I enjoyed all the songs, even the one or two I'm not mad on, loved IJCGE, I never grow tired of it and was disappointed and two of their previous gigs where it wasn't play. ETS of course (that Wilder beat that he came up with was a game changer) and NLMD when the crowd release their BO for all to share. But for me the slightly stripped down version of Everything Counts was just class, the raw intro with just the synth and missing some of the pieces was mind blowing and it felt every so slightly slower than the album version (to me), I absolutely loved it .

In closing, can't but not mention I prefer the indoor gigs, Merch was stupid pricing and the car park was an absolute sh1tshow, 1.5hrs it took me to get out.

Thank you Martin L Gore, thank you Dave (and the other 3)

Thank you DM, I don't think I'll See You again😥

Im sorry but Martin Gore in particular has gotten really aged and looks older than early 60s. Not a criticism, I loved the show and I love them, I just don't agree that they're as youthful looking as you seem to think

Oh absolutely.

When I said fit I was talking about physically fit, not in an aesthetic sense. To be able to be jumping and dancing all through a set pretty much is an excellent fitness level for a 60+, year old 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Really enjoyed it. Drove and did Marathon parking and arrived shortly after 6pm, only an extra 10 mins congestion compared to a normal drive to Malahide Castle. Getting out was another story, but was prepared, my daughter had even brought her pyjamas and duvet! So seats back and got out of the car park at midnight.

The gig itself was brilliant, arrived during the Just Mustard set, not my cup of tea. Young Fathers were very good I thought. We were just in GA as our young daughter was with us, she's not old enough for GC yet! She had a great time and was singing along to all her favourites. One of my favourite songs is "It's no good" and I did think Dave was a little off key for it? Also loved EC and NLMD and the obligatory hands in the air. The crowd visibly comes to live for ETS and IJCGE and PJ, but they are outstanding songs and I loved them too.

Overall Dave still has it, vocally and his stage presence is immense. You've got to love his dancing!! Martin is just a musical genius and has a great voice to boot. Musically and visually I prefer an indoor gig, but there's something so lovely about a summer outdoor gig when the weather is as good as it has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Gore's ageing suits him more, I think. He's developed into this weird old glam elf. Gahan - and none of this is criticism, just the inescapable passing of time - is really showing it now even compared to the last tour. I thought he got off really lightly even during the Spirit era but when I watched the Primavera stream from a few weeks ago it was a bit like he was wearing a bank robbery mask of himself and it all took a bit of effort.

Didn't make it to this one but delighted to hear everyone had a good time. I've seen them four times post-Sounds of the Universe and the general setlist skeleton which remains largely unchanged isn't something I'm interested in seeing again.

They'll never do it, because their management team seem to go for the biggest shows and money possible, but more intimate/hall style shows where they done classic albums in full? I'd be back on board.

I saw Martin when he toured Counterfeit 2 (you may well have done so too) and the few DM deep cuts were a nice element, especially in a small venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭bullpost

When you hit the 60s very few escape the aging process, unless you go the Madonna route 😁 But Gahan still has the moves and voice and long may it continue.

The tour schedule is relentless as well. They seem to have a gig every three nights for 6 months

Madonna is a ridiculous person. She's a holy show and she doesn't look young or younger, just incredibly odd