Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Replacing oil with gas

• 26-07-2022 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,039 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I am getting connected to the gas network very soon. Got a deal to connect property for 50 euro.

Currently on oil.

Any ideas it would be to switch to gas. Obviously new boiler needed and installation. I'd also like to put the new boiler in a newly built utility room. Current oil boiler is located externally at the back of the house. There is no rad currently in the utility.

Any ideas or ball parks? Still waiting for plumbers to get back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

€10k plus vat supply and fit. Ball park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,039 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Thanks. I'll be leaving it until the downturn so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

Won’t be coming down in price .

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

It should not be anywhere near 10,000. Get a few quotes.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

What size is your house? How many rads and showers/baths do you have?

Combi boiler is a great option, no need for a hot press and hot water on demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Shouldn't be anywhere near 10k, https://www.gasworks.ie/gas-boiler-replacement-cost/ put prices at below 3k for boiler and install, those prices I think would be based on a straight swap of a gas boiler, so obviously you would be looking at more but it shouldn't be that much.

Will depend on how easy to plumb into existing heating from utility. Also how easy will it be to plumb from gas meter to utility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

What price do you think it will be? Bear in mind now supply and fit. Pipes need relocation and add a radiator etc.

I was hoping 5-6k.

The gas meter will be located on the same side of the house that id like to put the boiler. The gable end. It'll be about 4 meters away on the external wall obviiusly. As ive said there are no rads currently in the utility but it does have a water supply plumbed in for washing machine. Not sure it that matters. Nearest rad is in the bathroom beside it. Approx 2.5 meters away. I'll be getting a pro in but just wanted to get some pointers about what to expect.

Its 138sqm. 3 bathrooms. We have electric showers and dont use the immersion or hot tank anymore. 5 bed.

Instant hot water for washing dishes wpuld be ideal but not a deal breaker.

11 rads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Electric showers so not heated from your central heating? That's a very expensive way to be doing things.

138sqm miight be pushing it slighty but it's worth discussing with your plumber.

I think it's probably swings and roundabouts though. Previously before we had electric showers installed we were using immersion to heat water for showers. That hasn't been switched on in 9 months or so now. House is insualted well so heating is only really used from October to April for 2 hours a day. We wouldn't really have it on between May and September at all. Anyways off topic I suppose.

I'll be sure to let people no how it goes here and if we proceed. Considering the little oil usage we have it might be worth just keeping it for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Irishlad23

Lads, came across a chat about swapping me oil to gas.

I've a 3 bed, 2 bath gaff with 4 people living in it, and a grand Ber Rating of C1. Does anyone have a good recommendation for which boiler and brand would do the job well in the long haul? Just after a second opinion like. Cheers!