Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weed legalization in Ireland

• 10-07-2022 11:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

With many Western countries decriminalizing or legalizing cannabis, I wonder what would happen here if the same thing were to take place. No one can argue that while cannabis has it's problems (mainly exacerbating existing mental issues like psychosis and anxiety) it has nothing on alcohol in terms of it's physical, mental, and social harm.

If weed was the main drug of choice and alcohol declined in popularity, how much benefit would we see here apart from tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

No. Wits about you it isn't about health, on the contrary its cultural they both have their "draw"backs we're already restricted from drinking outside where you can only smoke and before you know it we'll have a load of naturalized ganja heads given free reign to flaunt it completely.

Not really. Most of the countries/States that have brought it in, don't allow the public smoking of weed, except in designated areas, usually somewhere that is licensed to do so. Anyway, most stoners would prefer to be stoned inside.. outside has too many distractions, and complications. There will be some who will flaunt it but then, those people already do so..

A decline in violent crime. You don't see many violent stoners, unless they've mixed it with another drug, usually alcohol. And while mental isssues such as paranoia can cause problems, again it's rare that they result in violence.

The simple truth is that weed being legalised means that the product available to users could be regulated in quality, removing many of the dangerous substances which cause side-effects. It's never going to be harmless, but legalising it would provide the opportunity to remove many of the negatives associated with it's use.

It's being smoked anyways, so probably best to decriminalise it at the very least. It's a very dangerous drug though; Dr. Jim Lucey (Professor of Psychiatry in TCD, former head of St Patrick's) was on the radio last year where he spoke about the horrifying amount of young people presenting for psychiatric care as a result of cannabis use; many of them with life changing mental health issues such as psychosis. We've this idea that cannabis is associated with listening to 70's rock, watching Farrelly Brother movies, and heatwave Dorritos, but modern strains are hugely potent dissociatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,436 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

you gotta love the smokers, always down playing such things, weed truly does fcuk people up, but its time to legalize, and get on with it....

I reckon on an average week these days while I'm out on foot or on the bike I'd get the bang of weed from 3 or 4 cars passing me. Shocking stuff, you want to kill yourself fine but those idiots have no right putting me or anyone else on the road at risk.

...what about the drivers that are on other medications, including prescribed ones, that really shouldnt be behind the wheel, and those still tanked from the previous night, and those that probably shouldnt be behind a wheel at all, no matter what theyre on or not......

I'd probably need a good hound out with me to sniff out those ones 😅

100% legalise it

Plenty of people in Ireland could do with it too chill out.

...and a gun, jesus we d have the roads sorted quick time!

There's the makings of a movie/tv show plot in there I feel

What is? The reality that much of the cannabis being sold to young people is of extremely high potency? Or that the result is that cannabis has overtaken all other drugs (including alcohol) for young people seeking help through mental health services? Many of them presenting with psychosis that will impact how they live the rest of their life?

https://www.irishpsychiatry.ie/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/The-Effects-of-Cannabis-on-Mental-Health-Information-Sheet-for-Health-Professionals-CPsychI-14.04.21.pdf

I'm not against less police resources being spent on dealing with people holding small amounts of weed; but the idea that modern cannabis usage is a net positive is preposterous. I will always believe the realities presented by professionals dealing with its impacts, over the "well it never did me any harm" sorts. That applies to all other drugs as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭dasdog

It's so lucrative and readily available I don't see what a change legislation would bring. Yeah you have the choice in the Netherlands to walk in to a shop and get top shelf as opposed to spending €20 on a chunk of hash but there is no way the vintner's and those gateway drug believers would allow that.

Post edited by dasdog on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

there is no way the vintner's and those gateway drug believers would allow that.

No way indeed

This is what I worry about for you nice people when you often talk about decriminalizing again.

Whether it will be the punters or the out of work dealers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

It’s been legal here in Canada for a while. I live in Vancouver which had a reputation for being 420 friendly for a while.

Since it was legalised federally, the standards and control over has made it pretty save and actually quite the market. You have chains now that have fancy boutique-style shops where you can purchase any form of it, so edibles (my go-to, flower, vape, oils etc). All of these are federally controlled in how much can be sold per packet, and with the government having an eye over it, the safety standards and quality are very high.

They mandate how they are packaged as well, in the same way cigarettes are, and have the usual warnings on them. Some have THC and some have CBD and all the rest in between. The choice is bonkers.

The congrats with how it’s seen here to how it is in Ireland is quite amazing. In Ireland it’s a “gateway drug”, whereas here it is just weed…that’s all. It’s used recreationally and pretty much everyone and anyone I know here uses it to some degree. Some use it to control their anxiety in the form of CBD, which doesn’t get you high but relaxes you. I’ve used it before tattoo appointments and flights to great effect. It helps with inflammation from training as well so I’m a fan of it in that regard. Maybe once or twice a week I’ll get high, and the main health concern is the raft of tacos I order when I get the munchies.

The stigma at home doesn’t match up with how it’s perceived here. Everyone and anyone uses it, it’s controlled and available under pretty strict safety standards. I’ve yet to meet someone who says “this weed is great…can’t wait to shoot up some heroin now that I’ve used this gateway drug”.

legalising it would bring in a good lump of money, and also stem the benefits from the illegal sale of it too. But Ireland might be a bit slow on this one…so I wouldn’t hold my breath on it.

Do we need any more introversion? ..can imagine Bohs at the front of a campaign; for more brownie points maybe a product to endorse strike up one of their lads in the Bob Marley shirt. “after 90 minutes of sheer hell you’re gonna get stoned. psychotropic means imbalance in your cerebral fluids”

the dope is a cop out I’d sooner shoot gear, take some uppers or that. And I’m not endorsing heroin in any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The lads who are making a living from it now won't just magically go away. Nor will have criminal records which allow them to work in the newly-legal industry. They will simply focus on other illegal substances and/or activities, which will likely be more harmful.

How would legalising one be more harmful? Explain the logic behind that one.

It would be the propaganda that came out of the US in the 60s/70s with their war on drugs, largely influenced by the Tobacco and Alcohol administrations, with a range of biased research, which has been used as the foundation for the stance against cannabis. Subsequent US political administrations have sought to reinforce that same message to discourage the use of the drug.

Prior to your post, who had downplayed anything about weed usage? Oh, we're not jumping up and down railing at the negatives involved, but that doesn't make us downplaying anything.. although when you're as anti-weed as you are, I would suppose that anything that didn't place it up there with heroin would be downplaying. And yes, I would say you're "anti-" based on your presence and range of posts on any threads that come up about this topic. Just as I would be "pro-".

Life **** people up. Weed simply exaggerates the problems that people already have... just as any other drug will do.

The congrats with how it’s seen here to how it is in Ireland is quite amazing. In Ireland it’s a “gateway drug”, whereas here it is just weed…that’s all. 

Ahh well, the population in Ireland are to be treated as misguided rebellious children, incapable of making informed and responsible decisions for themselves. I've been doing weed for over two decades now, and quite honestly, it didn't lead me to doing other drugs. If anything, the experience of mixing drugs with weed, taught me not to do it. In fact, I'd say that Alcohol has led me to "try" or participate with more drugs, due to the difference in the buzz involved. Anyone interested in experimenting with drugs will do so, regardless of whether they've tried weed or not.

The stigma against cannabis/Weed in this country isn't based on experiences of the people who smoke/consume weed. It's based on the people who don't... and think they know what's involved.

By legalising, you create a framework, and rules that people are bound by. Those who operate illegally aren't restrained all that much by the law. Legalising weed, would force these people to operate within a system that is capable of regulating their behaviour. The alternative is that they continue peddling a drug that a rather large percentage (a guess on my part) of the population has tried, or does so occasionally.

What would they turn to that would be more harmful? Either they're already dealing in the harder drugs, or have decided not to.. legalising weed wouldn't change that. So what's more harmful?

Only thing I disagree with is the use of “doing” when it comes to weed/cannabis. I like to go with “I use it” now and then, “doing” makes it sound like your on a keto diet or something 🤣

Everyone's "habit" is personal to themselves. 😁

The majority of existing dealers already have convictions, so they are not fit and proper persons to be working in a regulated industry.

You are naive about the effects of P et al.

No.

My preferences are irrelevant.

Such people are not going to be allowed to be employed in any regulated industry. And they won't just go away.

Rubbish. I know a variety of dealers who have never been caught or received any convictions. The Gardai are notorious for releasing small dealers with a warning, especially if that dealer only sells weed/cannabis or the "lesser" drugs. Also, "fit and proper"? Good lord, what are you on about? As long as someone doesn't have any outstanding offenses, then they're capable of doing such management/employment in a regulated industry.

Such a strange post. What makes you such an expert that can pass judgment on others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Drugs are for mugs, kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

I'd be in favour of legalising weed. I'd be somewhat concerned about it's availability to younger people though. I know it's widely available now but would legalising it make it more so.

Anyone who says that smoking weed does not lead to harder drugs is talking bollox. I grew up in the 80s early 90s in Coolock Dublin. Everyone was smoking weed, and I mean everyone. You could write a book about the broken families, suicides and addiction that followed. Not all but many who start smoking weed end up at the very least dabbling in harder drugs and at worst strung out or dead.

I think the other aspects of the latter part of your post are important though. Cannabis isn’t even remotely as addictive as other hard drugs or alcohol, and the long last effects aren’t as bad either. There are lots of other factors at play in your post as well that sound like they lead to harder drug use.

Cannabis overall doesn’t lead to harder drugs on its own, and implying that it does (you are not doing that, I’m pointing more towards what you’d heard in the media in Ireland) just doesn’t add up. Like I mentioned, it’s used very regularly and recreationally here in Canada, if there was a widespread leading towards harder drugs, it would never have been legalised.

Cannabis in itself is relatively harmless when taken in moderation I agree. I disagree that it does not lead to harder drugs among young people because Ive sen it first hand. Smoking hash, which by all accounts is far less potent than some of the weed that's available today in Ireland created a culture that made it easy to transition to harder drugs, I lived it, seen it first hand.

Whole estates of teenagers who started off smoking hash moved on to Coke and Ecstasy and many went on to heroin. Now I get your point that location and circumstance had a part to play but in my opinion the rampant availability and smoking of hash played a significant part.

As a 15/16 year old who regularly smokes weed you are much more likely to be around people who take harder drugs and open to trying a line of coke or ecstasy etc.

Not sure I’d fully agree with all of your points, but we can agree to disagree with respect. We didn’t grow up the same so our stances are going to be different of course.

As for the present day, as I’ve seen in Canada, once it’s regulated it is very safe, but there is a longer culture for it here too, so it’s been around. Kinda like how in our youth, we’d remember the pub and all that jazz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Oh look, it's the quarterly "let's legalise weed" thread again! This is sure to contain something new!

Let's not! Substance and alcohol abuse and the effects it has on the individual and those around them (especially family) isn't exactly something we have under control as it is - just look at the Garda Traffic twitter account and the amount of drug driving arrests they're already making.

Plus, what do you think will happen to the suppliers and dealers? They'll just shrug their shoulders, say "oh well, it was nice while it lasted?" and head off to the dole office to learn a new trade? Or will they "graduate" to things like burglary, mugging people on the street, etc? The Gardai can't deal with the dealing and junkies in towns and cities as it is.

But we'll get all those extra taxes! Or will it just push it even further underground like cigarettes, leading of course to more quality issues and problems - and I haven't even mentioned the likely effect on an already failing health system.

No thanks. Just as every time this comes up, the only ones it would benefit are the users, not the society around them.

That's removing the conditions of their own lives though, and blaming their use of hard drugs on cannabis. Many people who end up on the harder drugs, grow up in areas where such drugs are easily accessible. Socio-economic considerations are important, as is the background of the family unit itself.

I know many people who have used cannabis.. and very few of them ended up abusing the harder drugs. Some did, but their own **** lives set them up for it.

As for younger people, the problem is largely due to having too much time on their hands. In many of the articles railing about the effects of cannabis, there's a footnote about them not being in school, or having loads of time to hang around their neighbourhoods, or whatever. It's simply easier to blame cannabis for their problems than recognise that society has failed to lead their development properly.

Pros and cons to everything

The problem is education

Years back when people smoked hash and went into harder things nobody really knew the dangers

I think it's very different now and teens etc have a bit more cop on these days believe it or not

The same argument can be made from starting to drink a bottle or 2 of beer then going onto whiskey or vodka etc

Or driving a 1 litre car to something more powerful

Point is some people will always chase the next buzz its human nature, most folk become fairly content though

Smoking Cannabis will be fantastic for some people, others it won't. The thing with it is you gotta try it a couple times to get used to it

I think legalise it and grow it/ control it/ tax it and see how things go, I'd be shocked if the cons outweighed the pros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

(In response to _Kaiser_, boards decided to ignore my quoting)

Ireland is already in the top 6 or 7 for cannabis use in Europe though, so let's not pretend it's not already being consumed in huge quantities. Legalising it will just remove the legal risks for users, which to be honest are far more dangerous than the health risks. And of course it would be to the benefit of the users, you say that like it's bad thing? Cannabis users are regular people who vote and pay taxes too. If it was regulated people could choose products that agree with them better as well, experienced users could still go for 20%THC buds or DAB rigs. Light users could go for 1:1 bud or 5mg edibles. Most weed dealers are either guys who sell a bit to their friends to buy their own grass or else guys who sell other drugs already. There isn't going to be a big shift to criminality from legalising. Alternatively the government could opt to decriminalise growing a couple of plants at home and not have coffeeshops etc. Then only people who were arsed could grow their own without risk of getting a conviction.

This is a lie used to try and make some sort of point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭al87987

Smoked weed regularly for the last 15 years, nothing substantially wrong with it to make it illegal. Definitely not for everybody, but cannot fathom how it remains illegal.

Legalizing would bring down costs and actually give people some knowledge of what they were buying. Imagine wanting an alcoholic drink but never knowing if you're going to get something with the strength of beer, wine or vodka. That's pretty much the state of play at the moment with cannabis so giving people the information to try different strains/strengths would be a gamechanger.

You can't win a "war against drugs" so time to start thinking about new ways of dealing with society's drug problems. Portugal are a good example in this respect.

I've never tried "harder" drugs either so I don't buy the gateway argument. I think your views on this are mostly related to your age, I can't see many under 40's against regulation/legalisation in some form but as usual we have to wait far longer than we should for change.

All valid points but I can simply it, if I'm 14 or 15 and discover weed and really enjoy the feeling of being high you can bet I'll be open to a line of coke or a tab of ecstasy. I know because as I said I lived it, thankfully I was wise enough to quit in my 20s mostly due to emigrating but many many young peoples lives were ruined. On a side note I know people in their 40s and 50s today who started smoking hash at a young age and are still smoking it and it has definitely held them back.

Post edited by olestoepoke on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'm genuinely not being facetious here but I'd wager living in Coolock in 80s/90s Dublin had far more to do with the decision of those who moved onto harder drugs to do so than the fact they'd tried and enjoyed weed.

Held them back is an understatement. "You're grounded!"

..oh it's ok mam I have grounded myself but waccy baccy can be as addictive as tobacco itself; which hasn't exactly gone down a storm nowadays and in some cases can cease to be an accompaniment in even replacing tobacco completely. For that extra psychotropic effect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Relax brah

It’ll be decriminalised in every country across Europe before we do it. Yet we are happy to allow a free for all alcohol consumption policy (with the discussion of extending pub opening hours.)

No one has ever been murdered or overdosed on weed. The pros absolutely outweigh the con’s, this is demonstrated in the countries that have decriminalised and especially those who have legalised. Reference US states like Colorado for example

What is a lie? Go ahead and prove me wrong, rather than some childish comment about lying. Pathetic attempt.

Smoking cannabis was common in my hometown among the teens back twenty years ago... most ended up drinking alcohol as adults instead. Even though we had the heroin house (where the few addicts in town lived) nearby, and many of us knew a variety of dealers who sold a range of drugs. It really wasn't hard to get our hands on most drugs.. however, the supply would have been very unreliable.

You mention E and Coke as being examples of hard drugs.. I certainly wouldn't consider E to be. More likely to get Speed over Coke, as coke is rather expensive to maintain any kind of habit. Kinda hard to form a habit on coke if you don't have the cash to do so.. and I'm doubting that most teens would have that kind of cash handy.

I've done the range of psychedelics, and most of the party drugs, along with many of the smoking substances.. and it didn't lead me into the hard core drugs.. because I didn't want the addictions involved. As a teen, I saw the heroin addicts and the alcoholics, and knew I didn't want any part of that.

Now, personally, absent the truly addictive drugs, I say that people turn to the harder drugs because of events in their lives, rather than being a stoner. Most people would be peer pressured into doing such drugs, often by a GF/BF, or a close friend. I'd also say that Alcohol is far more a gateway drug than cannabis, due to the buzz involved... and the lessening of inhibitions. I've been offered many drugs while stoned, and I was always capable of refusing (even if it might have took me a few moments to frame the words).

Education is important here. Not simply the general knowledge of the drug, but the real truth about what users lives are like. Not the simplistic stereotypes thrown around about hippy stoners, but the simple reality that people can manage to have successful lives while managing their drug use. A no-nonsense approach to drugs, which assumes that people can decide for themselves if given accurate information. The current approach to talking about drugs is far more likely to convince people to do them.. whenever that person feels even slightly rebellious, which I think most people experience many times in their lives.

Anyone who has ever been caught with a "small" quantity of weed on them, know that that most Gardai aren't going to chase small-time offenders especially in the local sense. Most dealers are known to the Gardai already, and as long as they avoid the heavy stuff, they're generally left alone.

But nah.. you know better. Without contributing anything to the thread except for accusations of lies, we should accept that you know better. Right.

The biggest lie you've ever read on board.. haha.. what a load of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 newgrangepets

To be honest, the biggest gateway drug is not weed but rather prescription drugs or polydrug use. I know many people who use drugs apart from cannabis and ecstasy. Most of those who went to harder drugs actually started after getting prescribed sleeping and anti-anxiety tablets like benzos/z-drugs. Combining them with alcohol produced interesting effects and it sparked an interest in other controlled and illegal drugs. In America most heroin users started from prescription painkillers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I have used Cannabis sporadically and as a recreational "drug" since I was a teenager. In small quantities it is potentially harmless. The grass available these days is far too strong and I do not generally enjoy consuming it. If it were legalised at least consumers would be in a position to quantify and rationalise how much they are taking, this would help them to make better decisions about what they doing. We offer alcohol users the exact same facility and even subsidise the running of the country by taxing its' use, it is a massive no brainer.

Abuse of any stimulant has the potential to cause you problems in life. The biggest drug problem Ireland faces is the ignorance of the entire country, both users and non users, surrounding their use. People using drugs deserve to be protected by the entire community, the only reason they are not tolerated is through fear and bigotry. The reality is that people with serious addiction issues can end up being addicted to anything.

This country needs to grow up and start supporting its' people and give up isolating and chastising them.

People who think that cannabis is a "gateway drug" are essentially clueless. They are entering the entire matter with a slanted attitude on the subject. Tens of millions of Cannabis users do not end up chasing the dragon down dark alleyways. Millionaire entrepreneurs and famous actors or celebrities tend to bang it up in the comfort of their expensive mansion, it happens. There is also a substantial middle ground.

The amount of security resources the state could free up by legalising is huge. In the meantime psychotic parents murder their families without being under the influence of anything apart from a medical imbalance in their head. Over on the next channel Alcohol abuse is claimed to be one of the biggest catalysts for domestic abuse and street violence globally, governments shrug their shoulders and keep taxing it.

People need to stop blaming drugs on everything. It is complete ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Weed from the 60s era yeah fine. Supper strains that make people psychotic and depressed not to much.