Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most hated chore.

• 06-02-2022 10:58pm

Mine...hoovering. not in the narcissistic way just the plain old literal hoovering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

It has to be cutting your toenails. Bejesus it's backbreaking stuff, especially if you're getting on a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Shaving.

Give me tonnes of ironing and I'll be happy to makes excuses not to use the razor

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Ironing. Hate it with a passion.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What the narcissistic version of hoovering? 🤔

Washing windows is mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Ironing…shaving or hoovering

love cooking/preparing food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭tscul32

Ironing and hoovering. So I only buy clothes that don't need to be ironed and if they do I'll sweet talk my husband into doing it. For the hoovering I'm working on the kids, it's on their chore list. But I'll happily cook and while I don't like cleaning I've no problem with washing dishes or clothes.

Grand with Netflix or a rugby match. Although you might tend to spend 80 minutes ironing the shite out of one piece of clothing

Come on legendaria..you know what that is!

That's like saying I don't know what gaslighting is in this day and age.

Agree I hate window washing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

Now there's a pleasant kind of serenity can be associated with both those mundane tasks. You can kind of drift away in your thoughts and forget what you're doing.... unlike trying to get your nail clippers or scissors to go through the steel plated b'stard of a toenail on your big toe, without slipping and drawing a quart of the red stuff.

There should be more fun threads like this. Thanks op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Footing turf.

Grand depending on the sandwich you got. Tea was always too milky.

Bringing out the bins...close 2nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

cleaning / tidying.

There is a yoke outside the kitchen built out of red bricks that catches all the solids & oils that get flushed down the sink before it goes to the soak away. Has to be emptied periodically and it absolutely reeks. If it gets on my skin it takes several showers to get rid of the pong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I hate cleaning/polishing glass.

No matter what I do I seek to have smeers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Cleaning the toilet. Even with the marigolds on, just looking into the toilet makes me want to be sick.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,964 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Cleaning the oven, also enthusiastically agree with toenail chopping/foot butchery closely followed by changing the poxy effing duvet cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Interesting that personal hygiene is included under "chores". Not saying this is wrong or anything. I just realized that my own brain had them as entirely different categories for whatever reason.

Dish washing in general I avoid entirely. Pretty much never do it. Never liked it.

Dishes, duvets, and dandelions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Lena11

Cleaning the Window Blinds! (Also I haven't ironed in about 18 years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Emptying the dishwasher especially the cutlery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,606 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Cutting the grass.

Mostly because of the awkward edges.

Once they are done it's not too bad.

Pulling all the hair out of the shower drain hole. 🤮🤮🤮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The only thing worse than hoovering is other people hoovering in my presence. And bonus points for "Will you move your feet? ...And again?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,412 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Changing the duvet covers

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Irish_wolf

For me shaving is considered a chore because I worked customer service jobs for years while in college and had to be clean shaven when I turned up or else I'd be sent off to get a razor. Haven't shaved in about 6 years cause I just hate it. Much easier to let the beard out and just give it a trim and tidy every 2-3 weeks.

Actual job that I hate? Cutting the grass. Have no issues with gardening, in fact I love pruning and maintaining a nice flowerbed or herb garden but cutting the grass just grates on me. I love a wild garden so keeping the grass trimmed to the root goes against my very being, probably subconsciously related to the shaving thing. What happened to all the young ones trying to make a few quid offering to cut the grass in the Summer? They'd make a fortune off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Washing clothes. Probably just laziness as it's the only thing I have to do myself, as we have a cleaner. But the whole rigmarole of washing, taking them out, hanging them. Pain in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Definitely cutting the grass.

I don't mind ironing. Get setup in front of TV I also have a cordless iron which is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Ironing is something I do so rarely and hate so much, I forgot it was something people still did. Like churning your own butter, or starching collars. My mother loved it, though. She'd set up in front of the TV and iron everything, including socks and tea towels.

I usen't to mind shaving, but I've got our of the daily habit from WFH over the past two years. But I don't like it when my stubble gets too long, and then it's even more work to shave it. Bought an electric razor recently to keep on top of things daily without the chore of hot water, gel and sharp tools.

I don't mind cutting the grass, but I don't do it very often as I like to let it and the daises/dandelions grow a bit for the pollinators.

Cleaning venetian blinds is something I've never figured out how to do effectively, so I just don't do it.

I really don't enjoy emptying the kitchen compost bin into the one that gets collected. Rancid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭CaboRoig

Ironing shirts. No problem with, jeans, tshirts, etc but I fecking hate shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Kurooi

Putting clean laundry back.

I'd do everything else but the moment it's done clean and dry I just can't bring myself to do that last step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Hoovering I don't mind usually, but hoovering a flight of carpeted stairs with an old-fashioned, corded machine is a special kind of hell.

Can't imagine it's half as bad with a cordless but I've never owned one. Maybe I like the misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

Wash the shite off first before you iron them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭Xander10

Cleaning up after a pet vomits. I'd be retching.

Tip: pretend you didn't notice it and hope someone else finds it and deals with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭GIMP

Hate emptying the dishwasher, hate putting laundry away, hate cleaning bathrooms. Everything else I don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Having your cat bring in live mouse, and letting it free in the living room. Turing the place upside down looking for the mouse. Giving up, setting traps, and going to bed, defeated. Coming down the next morning, nothing in the traps - but finding half a mouse (and the little bean-shaped cecum that they never eat) under the dining room table. Cleaning that up, then the cat casually strolls in and vomits on the sofa because she's not used to eating mice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't do any ironing and I don't miss it one bit.

On the rare (like once a year) occasion that I have something to iron, I don't really mind it.

Shaving I dislike mostly because I'm doing it on the clock. It makes too much noise to do it at night when the kids are in bed, and during the day I'm trying to fit it in inside some narrow window. If I have a couple of hours free and can take my time, it's not so bad. Though I supposed it's the frequency more than the job itself. I get 5, at most 7 days before the growth is intolerably itchy or homeless looking and I have to go again. If I could go two weeks between shavings I wouldn't mind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭bobdcow

Painting, I hate painting, the house, the indoors, the outside walls (a yearly job). It's so tedious and boring....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,964 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Trying to get to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,297 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Ironing. Mostly because I'm crap at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭boardise

Cleaning bird droppings off the car....( though I love birds ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,811 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Another one for ironing.

Also clothes and shoes shopping. Often fruitless waste of time in pre-internet shopping days.

Pro tip right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Liberty_Bear

Hoovering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Bluebell woods

Cleaning the shower doors !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

The dishwasher.

I hate it beyond belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Amias

Cleaning the toilet or bathroom. I have the rest automated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I hate ironing so much, I don't even have an iron/ironing board.

I love cutting grass. Standing looking at the garden after I'm finished with all the edges neatly cut and the smell of freshly cut grass😊