Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your favourite covid memory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Greyfox

It's far too soon for that question, covid hasen't gone away and is still a bit of a pain in the h*le

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

I don't remember anyone shouting my body my choice much this time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The panto's being cancelled, it took those headwrecking ads off the radio.

Additionally the Bóthar charity going under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Getting to Work from home was a genuinely good outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Scum getting put behind bars for spitting on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Pearse Doherty sticking out like a sore thumb at a paramilitary funeral during the worst of lockdown and his subsequent unconvincing claims that he was a good friend of the deceased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Munstergirl854

At the start when everyone was wearing plastic gloves in the supermarkets and washing their hands..no masks ..then you stopped hearing about handwashing and everyone started wearing masks...the streets being deserted to the point where a fox was pictured roaming Grafton Street...listening to the daily figures at the evening press conference...the likes of Zara King creaming herself if there was a spike....the scenes of music blaring in apartment blocks in Amsterdam and at home in Dublin,things like outdoor bingo...the army are being brought into the streets to control people rumour...the "hope you're safe" comment brigade on Facebook as if the bubonic plague was back in fashion...going to work became working from home and going to the pub became the home bar/shebeen that's now in so many back gardens...the people on about the fierce bad chest infection they had in December 2019 and how they believe it was the covid they had and it was in the country before 2020...when everyone called it Corona....the praising of essential workers that seemed to dwindle as time went on....my personal favourite was the people chatting online to each other and saying things like "oh I must meet you now girl for a drink when all this is over" ..The same people are now probably crossing the road to avoid each other.

Well done lads, we've all survived something that will now come to define a generation....prior to this I'd often thought the only remarkable thing I had lived through in my time was 9/11 this has surpassed that.

I can't wait to get into a nightclub and have drink spilt on me again.That and a foreign holiday I'm looking forward to most.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,338 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Caring nurses.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The commute. And being able to nip downstairs for a decent cup of coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

The hordes of morons who had to panic buy so much **** that they probably lived off it for the rest of the year. It was great to see how little it takes to make people drop their caring facades and show their true and selfish side.

I love the smell of Covid in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Seeing so many gardai on foot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

A summer of sitting on the canal around Drumcondra sipping takeaway pints from The Bernard Shaw and then lashing into a bag of cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,169 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I wouldn’t describe it as my favourite memory but one that sticks out was the month before the first lockdown receiving a letter from the Central Bank in the company I was working in warning about a potential virus coming from China and recommending potential procedures to be put in place. I remember a meeting between all of the heads of business units lead by the head of risk to discuss the letter, it was dismissed as a non major risk and all of the information presented said that it would never happen. Little did we know that less than 3 weeks later everything changed.

another memory was the day of the first lockdown I went out for a walk. Dun Laoghaire was literally a ghost town and seeing people crossing the street to avoid coming close to another pedestrian. I will always remember it for the fact that I couldn’t go home and see my parents for close to 15 months. And weekly ignoring by me to zoom bingo/quiz nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Probably the Japfest last September. It was a bit surreal being at a large event with so many people enjoying themselves.

good times, good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭zv2

Seeing people alone in their cars with face masks on; didn't know you could get Covid from urself...

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We used play guess Today's numbers.

Also we almost stopped watching RTE.

It was also great knowing that you didn't have to tidy up for visitors or having unexpected ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

Having to take the farming back roads to visit my parents when the county travel ban & check points were in place.

It was little more than 10 minute drive but across the county border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Yes, it provided me with a lot of entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Even though it was juvenile and stupid, I got some laughs out of the nick names

Fat Tony

Bishop Tony

Saint Tony

Snake Oil Nolan

Sam McDonkey

Cormican the Cabbage

Cable Jointer Reid

Also the numerous phrases and aspects that are almost memes at this stage

The next two weeks are crucial

Cause for concern

The Worry Index

The 15 minute rule

Wash your hands while chanting happy birthday

Outside your 2km/5km

Buying a trampoline

Hi Guard, I'm on a essential journey to visit a grave

Etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,740 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I liked the first lockdown.

The working from home, the lack of rushing and racing with the kids to drop or collect from school, sports, friends houses etc.

The weather was great and we spent so much time outside.

And as another poster mentioned not have to get the house tody for short notice visitors or cleaning up after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Weirdly, getting vaccinated.

I remember going through the process - Notification of appointment via a text which included clear instructions of what I needed to take with me - id etc.

I turned up at the agreed time, my name was on the list, ID checked, given clear instructions where to go, and I was subsequently dealt with by a series of friendly, kind, and efficient people.

In and out in 20 mins, which included a 15 minute post-shot wait.

It was the best organised and run system that I have ever seen in this country, ever.

If anyone reading this was involved in this setup, I take my hat off to you and offer you my Thanks, for what its worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,740 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

That really struck me too.

There I was in a sports hall with all these cubicles, and staff, and organisation, and procedure and order etc etc.

A few years earlier I was in the same hall at a kids basketball blitz, but now it had turned into this great big military style operation to get people immunized against something that was just a small news item 16 odd months earlier.

And all of it so efficient and calm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

smells like, nothing at all, nothing at all, nothing at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Working in a vaccine clinic back in February, first group of over 85s. The sense of hope and optimism was fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Two halfwits trying to drag four trolleys my local Tesco.

All the more entertaining as they queued to pay .

Even more entertaining when I realised it was Mrs Corners sister and brother in law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

The absolute quiet with little or no traffic on the roads whilst standing out the back of the house in the evenings. Was like living in another century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Yet another illustration (if one were needed) as to what an absolute prat fat Tony is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

The several times where all the optimistic people thought it was all over because the Government opened things up too fast to save the hospitality industry...

“Too fast”? When exactly was this? It’s been painfully slow and riddled with paranoid “caution”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Working from home has been great for the most part. I have been far more productive workwise. My dog loves it, has had plenty of walks the last two years!

I work from home anyhow pre Covid so I agree it is great. You need a level of experience and to be established in a career I think. Can’t imagine it’s great for young recent graduates.

I hope organisations don’t force staff that can work from home well back to the office and mind numbing long commutes just for the sake of it. I think that would be cruel on people that have made it work. I can see that happening though

My ol dog passed over after 17happy yrs in Jan.2020......roll on April2020.....im quite happy on the PUP....one day I'm out jet washing the paths....this ol beat up down-on-his-luck half starved mutt wanders up the drive & threw himself down in the porch......so I feed him, dig the dog-basket out of shed & let him rest....being honest I thought he was dying/ was on his last legs. I try all the facebook/ recue centre searches.1 or 2 days turn into a week....the guy is eating all around him. So, after a fortnight or so I bring him to the vet ( wasn't chipped)...& she said he's only 3yrs old & gave me vitamins/ calcium tablets. I call him 'pandemic' dog.....now I've had dogs all my life.....i gotta say this guy is a legend......best dog ever.../ he's fantastic.....easily my favourite covid memory is this guy rocking up.

Love this story. Brilliant to hear of a dog that’s been horribly neglected find his forever loving home. Dogs are very perceptive and probably picked up the kind vibes off you and once you fed him that was it. Would love to see a pic of him!

Haha.....this guys timing sure was spot on......mrs Mc Carthy always says " did Buster find you......or did you find him???" He ain't the 'prettiest' dog in the park....wont be winning any ribbons at cruffs...... but he's very smart...vet reckons a cross between a Jack Russel & a bulldog. Unfortunately, no idea how to post pics but he does look v content in his standard being position.......right in front of stove on his back/ 4 paws pointing north.😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

That very serious lockdown. Leaving the house to go to work at 9.15am and walking into the office at 9.18am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,216 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

notifications as each person I care about and myself obviously were notified about their vaccine appointment..

all covid denying shît stirrers were found out to be what they are, my cousins fella being one too causing undue stress and worry to his wife, daughter and extended family by having back door pub access until my cousin called the Gardai on them… had to get used to cans poor sod, and no ‘company’ awww diddums * crocodile tears * …my daughter couldn’t have married a bigger muppet”… he was told by my Aunt… he is on extended, dog house / gardening leave… he doesn’t like when I ask on FB if he needs a bigger fridge for his cans…

favourite musicians and artists doing the odd free online session on their websites and YouTube which was welcome…embarrassed for the very rich and established ones though who wanted to charge to see them play an acoustic guitar on the internet while sat in their front room for an hour…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ChinMusic21

BBQing and drinking/partying in my back garden with my folks during the sunny and warm spring of 2020 and blasting out Nussun Dorma on my blutooth PA speaker for the whole neighborhood to hear when we thought the world was coming to an end, for a few weeks it seemed like all every neighbor did was BBQ and sit in the sun (south facing back gardens)

Also passing my driving test

Really wasn't all bad tbh

8 slabs of near-dated Irishtown Pale Ale going on sale for 10 quid a pop down in my local Mace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

We would regularly walk in parks and along the local riverside. With the lack of traffic on the nearby main road we discovered we could hear birdsong loud and clear. We felt we had never really heard it before so loud. That's a nice memory for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

During the initial lockdown, the quietness of the roads, the awareness of local wildlife, the birdsong mingled with the socially distanced weekly street quiz's was something I looked forward to positively. Also lost the Da after a 6 month spell in hospital in late Jan 2020, was lucky to be with him to the end just before the C19 hit our shores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,216 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The odd fox was spotted walking down the path outside…. So weird it’s a pretty built up area of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Strumms - just like the iconic night-time snap of the fox at the steps of the Halfpenny Bridge

The pre COVID moments in March 2020 when we thought or were fooled in to thinking it would be over in a few months.

In retrospect, had most people have known they were going to lose 2 years then they would have gone all in back in early 2020.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

The weather during the first lockdown.

The absence of traffic.

Getting into gardening!!

Spending lots of time with my senior dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

peace and quite!