Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever met a complete headcase?

• 21-12-2021 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Have you ever met someone that is a complete head case? A guy I know was telling me he met this absolute fruit loop in the shop the other day that told him covid was a hoax, vaccines are the devil's juice and we are all going to burn in the wrath of some god because the pope was going to meet the Russian orthodox leader soon

It got me thinking, what sort of weird or peculiar people have you met?

I knew a man that murdered his wife and children a few years back, he didn't seem weird on the face of it but what he done is obviously incomprehensible but I'm thinking more along the lines of someone that would go to the winter solstoce and be far too excited by the experience

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

About half the posters on Boards - especially in Current Affairs...

... just not in person yet (Thankfully!! 😁😜😜).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Met plenty in person. They all share one trait... the inability to deal with anything that goes against their worldview, and they frequently react with anger when challenged.

Have met very many of them when working in a public office. Some with insanely high levels of crazy. I won’t begin to detail cos I’d just go overboard. Well maybe one example, a customer who thought she was a cat and would meow at you and had whiskers painted in her face and wore cat’s ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

..Waiting for all the crystal ball owners who suddenly realised what their exes were suffering from…

The most memorable experience was an old man at the metro who kept hitting himself in the face with a spoon in between talking to himself. Obviously my mistake had been laughing about it because he kept following me as I left the station.

At least he was obvious because the muttering was very audible, as was the constant spoon smacking sound. I eventually shook him off by running through a park I think, which was probably a terrible idea in hindsight.

I was mocked relentlessly at home for having been scared by a man with a spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You "shook him off" ? That was nice of you. I hope you moisturized your hands first

Doesn’t that mean get away from someone?

As a shameful non native speaker I often get idioms wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I knew a guy in work who lied incessantly. Different, conflicting lies to different people. When he left the job we presented him with a list of all his lies.

The look on his face was priceless.

Headcases.... I've known a few, mostly members of my own family, me included.

It does. But using poetic licence, and an attempt at adding some comedic value to the thread, I implied you were referring to what the yanks might say "jerk off"

(i.e. it means what you understood it to mean. It wouldn't be used to mean the other thing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

Met them??...fecking work with most of them.

Meet absolute headbangers everyday I work🙄

Public and.workmates😂

Ah thanks for clarifying!

I think I was ten or so, but you go and enjoy that thought if you like 😉

Well given that you were only ten or so, I will retract the original comment

i.e. you probably had soft hands already and didn't need to moisturize first

True, but I am sure the spoon could have added lots more fun. But maybe we leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭sporina

Such an astute observation that puts a totally different spin on the example provided by the op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I work in a prison so the answer has to be yes. Loads of them !!

They used to keep these guys in asylums or mental hospitals.

That became 'Care In The Community'

Now it's jail 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

I've met a bunch. Personally worked with three people I'm sure would have been diagnosed with antisocial personality disorder if they ever tested, weirdly one of them was a physicist and worked at CERN at one point. Complete creep and very rapey vibe off him although no indication he ever acted on that. A guy in a group I went climbing with in France killed 2 people and is prison for life. He was actually hilarious but way off the deep end and had no verbal filter so he'd blurt out the most outrageous things in front of complete strangers and got his willy out in front of people the whole time. One of my friend's Dad is really nuts too but I don't want to risk doxxing anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Its either male or female. I'd a 50% chance and I bet I'm still not wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Generally speaking i like offbeat people,,, i was watching the news earlier and thought the crowd at new-grange were refreshing... i think the OP may have been watching as thread started 9.30... some of them are far more interesting than you people who think you are normal...

I wonder is the OP on something...

@nj27 and who knows what those 3 pseudo-diagnosed you with.

We have probably all been put into one box or another by a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Greyhound bus, Illinois, mid-noughties - 6-hour journey. Got sitting next to an African American lady who proceeded to tell me her life story. Tupac Shakur was the father of her son - but the mayor of Chicago found out and ordered the cops to come and take the kid, and her son was handed over to the CIA. Basically, the CIA had Tupac killed because 'he was gunna liberate black America and they is afraid my son got his powers.' She claimed she was on her way to see her lawyer so they could file a lawsuit against the Director of the CIA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Had a textbook sociopath in our secondary school, far more worrying behaviour than any anti-vax kooks.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

An auld headcase bint of a manager in my first ever job… if you were efficient and getting your work done ahead of a deadline she’d give you stuff to do like cleaning the kitchen, the cleaners would arrive at 8pm and do it but she insisted as she hated… you through your own efficiency, it being just quiet or a combination of both having nothing to do… the other managers once everything was done and you trebled checked for accuracy… you got to take an extra few mins break on the back of it or leave a few mins early…with auld Aileen she’d be looking to score you extra work, if she had have had ladders she’d be insisting we did the gutters.

shed approach you at the water cooler asking if you were busy.. “ yes, busy getting a drink “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

I hung out with a guy in Feile 92 , who was a little short on cash but good craic to be around. He went wandering one night and when I found him I spotted him picking up someone's discarded snack box chicken bones literally from the wet from piss and booze gutter outside the chipper and stripped them clean . I kinda stopped hanging out after that. I should have seen the signs when he substituted milk with scrumpy in his corn flakes that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

This thread is delivering

From spoon man, to 2pacs baby' momma, to eating a pissy snack box at Feile 92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

A fairly innocuous one, but I was taking photographs for a college project in Stephen's Green back in the early 90's when this woman with a dog approached me. She strongly insisted that I take photos of her dog. This was before digital cameras; I had just finished a roll of film, and didn't want to waste another one on this, so I had to pretend to be taking all these photos of the dog. She got him to do various "tricks", which mainly consisted of him not doing what he was told and just running about. She very proudly told me the dog had chosen to be a vegetarian. She then told me to be sure to send her on the photos, before heading off without giving me any contact details.

Regarding the example given in the OP, my mother had a cousin in England who was a "white witch". She managed to get into Newgrange for the winter solstice in the 90s. She was very, very excited about it. But to be honest, I wouldn't call her a complete headcase for that alone.

I also know someone elderly with Paranoid Schizophrenia (an actual medical diagnosis, before Jequ0n starts at me) who refuses to take their meds, so total lunacy is always only a phone call, house visit or Garda contact away. Far too numerous to mention, and not fun thinking about it, so I won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭honeyjo

I work in a public body answering calls. Wow! In the short time I have been here I have taken a number of calls from individuals with unique views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

I know of someone who is spending €2000 on a course this weekend to 'cleanse her ancestral lines'!

Funnily enough, she is way up there on the anti-vax, plandemic front as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Lad I went to school with. Vice principals son. If you did English for your junior cert or leaving cert it's quite likely you read one or more of his father's books.

He is an only child. He's in his late 40s, still lives at home and is with best description a man child. Only person I know that did the leaving cert 4 times. Without question has never got the sniff of a young one's arse

He's a first cousin of my best friend who has little time for him. Usually needs to rush home because mammy doesn't like him to stay out too long

He's the prime example of someone that has lived under the shadow of their parents and remains there for what ever reason. Its common enough in rural Co Roscommon

Completely sheltered. He could do with getting shitfaced and sniffing a bag of coke out of a whores arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,296 ✭✭✭✭banie01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Thanks for the update chief, I guess they're free to come here and post what they think of me if they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

"Completely sheltered. He could do with getting shitfaced and sniffing a bag of coke out of a whores arsehole"

Couldn't we all!

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Many many headers out there. what with the state of mental health service in this country they are roaming the streets.

once worked doors with a fella who snapped one day and went off for a few weeks only to come back wearing a dress and wig with a new name still worked on the doors though fair play to him

another lad i knew , didnt leave the house for the whole summer between collage 2nd and 3 rd years apart from the buy drugs ,

another guy who went rouge in iceland and ended up in a mental health detention there for about 6 months .

once met a fella who had traveled from new york to meet enya with some song ideas , unfortuanty he was on the wrong side of the country to her house and she was in the states in any case , he did manage to get fcuked out of the family pub though .

meet a Congolese fella living rough in a field by the sea having come in to Ireland in a truck undetected . seemed to be the runner up in a civil war or something.

passed gemma and waters in the street once near the 4 courts but didnt have anything to throw at them mores the pity

and on and on and on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Don’t forget about the humans zoos. I bet they’d still be popular weekend attractions now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Headcases can be grand as long they are your type of headcase and are not a COMPLETE headcase.

I knew a few in college, best one was the biggest Walter Mitty I ever met. He was like a cross between Rambo, Chuck Norris, Bruce Lee and MacGyver. Non stop lies about what he had done. Sound apart from that.

Headcases stick out a mile in workplaces and are generally ridiculed.

It's the sneaky arseholes, manipulators and subtle bullies who nobody thinks are headcases that you need to worry about. Those who don't "fit in" would sometimes be vulnerable to being bullied by these types.

Plenty! Try working in any public facing job for a few months.

Or mention something to do with vaccines on Twitter and leave your DMs open…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

A lad I used to go to school with and some of the lads still see is a compulsive liar, and I think the chap is just depressed and wants to make out his life isn't really that bad, here's some of the highlights over the years :

When the JFK Ship was in Dublin many moons ago, his uncle was a fighter jet F16 pilot over from the US and let him take the controls to land it on the JFK himself

He had 6 metal plates in his head and 6 metal ribs (T2 was a big deal at the time)

His Mam died 5 times and when she finally died and he told us we didn't believe him as he had lied so many times about it prior to her actually dying years later...

I'm sure more will come back to me but that's just the tip of the iceberg

Sounds like an ideal candidate for the Tory front bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Fionne

I may have dated a couple.

With this one guy, we went for a drive one day, stopped off at a waterfall. He said he wanted to take my photo and gave me a red jacket from the boot of his car to wear. I had my own coat already but he was pretty insistent, said I'd be warmer, etc.

A couple of weeks later, he's had to go into work unexpectedly and I'm left alone in his place, start flicking through his photo albums (yep, I'm that old and this happened that long ago) and lo and behold, there is a photo of his ex, wearing a red jacket in the exact same spot at the waterfall. Not only that but she's my absolute double. 😯

Outside of that, I used to hitch to and from work about 25years ago and got a lift one dark, wet evening and knew immediately I shouldn't sit in with him, he had that creepy vibe. A few miles down the road, he was getting very "handsy" and decided to turn off down a quiet side road, I had to open the door and threaten to jump out until he slowed enough so that I actually did jump out and run across the road to get away from him, too panicked to even get his number plate. This wasn't long after Jo-Jo Dollard had gone missing in Kildare while hitching a lift so it was enough to put an end to my hitch-hiking days for good.

There was a guy who used to hang around in Bruxelles pub in Dublin just to be telling people that due to his mind powers they would go home that night and find some of their electronics not working.

Thing is he did it for long enough - on enough people - that statistically some people did go home and find electronics not working. So I also met a few people in Bruxelles in hushed whispers telling me that it was true and he did use his mind powers like he said and something like their lights or their toaster was not working when they got home.

Not sure who the biggest head cases were there then. Yer man hanging out telling everyone this - or the ones who bought into it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I knew one in NY. Complete space cadet, I got on well with him though, but he was off his rocker. Coke had a major part to play . Met za very sad end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Hodger

I worked with a guy one time one of those people you can tell something is off about them but can,t quite put a finger on it, the last I heard of him and more importantly read about him in the news he was jailed over stabbing someone over a battered sausage my Initial intuition about something off about him was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

A girl who against my better judgement i went on a date with about twenty years ago. She asked me out which should have been a warning sign, no sane woman has ever asked me out on a date. Within the first ten or so minutes she asked me if I wanted to go to Lourdes with her, I politely declined. A song by Prince came on in the bar we were in and she practically shrieked "he's gay" and went on a diatribe about gay people. I pointed out that he wasn't gay and asked why did it matter anyway to which she said something like you can always spot them. Oh and she would randomly and loudly break into opera singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Post edited by Pinch Flat on