Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Good news for businesses as RTE announce women are now working for free until the end of the year

• 08-11-2021 12:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭

Women in Ireland are effectively working for free for the last 14.4% of the year - ie from today - according to research from WorkEqual today.

Today is Equal Pay Day - the date on which women in Ireland effectively stop earning, relative to men, because of the gender pay gap which currently stands at 14.4%.

Why are these people allowed to go unchallenged? Differences in pay are a fact, but it has nothing to do with gender. If businesses can pay women less, why are there not more women hired?

I also really dislike the "equal pay for same work" mantra that's often mentioned. It's very simplistic as not everyone performs the same job with the same ability. For example, two men fix doors. It's the same job but one man can be much better at it than the other so of course the better one will get paid more.

And that's all before I even get into the fact that men do more overtime, don't have career breaks due to pregnancy and are more likely to work higher paying jobs such as construction worker or tradesman.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭crossman47

According to the report, 85 per cent of people believe the gap is caused by women not being paid the same as men for the same work. So the vast majority do not even understand the issue which is caused by women not doing the same jobs. This could be discrimination in promotions but more likely is by choosing to work less hours, not apply for senior positions, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

RTE seem to be liking the smell of the sewers, otherwise they wouldn't be spending so much time in them.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

RTE is great at amplifying the voice of minority fringe groups. Almost every single debate on RTE has 1 person from FF/FG (40% support), 1 from SF (30% support), 1 independant (14%) and 1 from hard left socialists (Boyd Barrett, Murphy etc.) who can barely scrape 1% support. RTE gives 25% airtime to groups that have less than 1% support.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,967 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I thought that was the most (well only) eye opening part of the piece and should have been the real story.

" Most people don't understand what the gender pay gap is" wouldn't have been as catchy a headline though !

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

Gender pay gap is a myth.

The fact that women get shotgun on the lifeboats when the titanic goes down, that's a reality.

"It's okay honey, I don't really mind dying because I have a penis!"

Feminists who drive this flawed narrative, want all of the nice bits about being a man, with none of the ugly bits.

I don't hear anyone crying about the lack of women in some of the toughest, dirtiest and most dangerous jobs. Professions that very often are essential for keeping economies and society going btw.

Even if men were paid more (which they're not), you could call it "the titanic surcharge". We'll get 14.4% more than you, but when a skyscraper is on fire because some nutjob flew a plane into it - you can run in the opposite direction like a sane person. And we'll run towards the burning inferno like crazy lunatics and die in the smoldering twisted metal. Deal?

Actually, on second thoughts, we want 16.5%. But you get the widow's pension, so you'll get most of it all back in the end anyway! 😅

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

They have another article showing the outrage that 1/3 cocaine addicts seeking help in Dublin are women:

We want 50:50 pay equality! Ok, what about equality in cocaine addiction? **Tumbleweed***

• Registered Users Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Women are slightly more than 50% of the population not a minority fringe group.

Well the 30% gap between my net and gross earnings means I’m working for free since about august.

And that’s a real gap not the gender one, which is by the way tiny compared to gaps between rich and poor, the college educated and the not college educated, northside and south-side Dublin, Dublin and the rest of the country. There are dozens of other examples.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,943 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This could open a can of worms are RTE.

What about all those male presenters or hosts, who are working same hours are Miriam or Claire Byrne, who aren't being paid the same.

Surely they have a claim to be paid the same for sale hours worked?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,698 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Maybe if they went for jobs that involve manual labour or an element of danger things might improve, or even work more hours in their current one.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Why would any business hire a man when they can hire a woman and just pay her less?

The fringe group being "Workequal" who came out with the women working for free idea. I think most women realise that this all BS.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭corny

Is anyone surprised by this? I don't know if there's been a change in management at RTE recently but by Jesus I can't believe what I'm reading on their website these days. Talk about an agenda.

There's no way citizens of this country should be propping them up if a balanced narrative is never put forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Workequal may be a small organisation but all women have skin in this game and I don't recall them appointing you as their spokesman either.

I appreciate the role campaign groups play in civic society.

A lot of important social change would never have happened without them.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Exactly.

People giving out about this will give out about anything that brings about equality. Best ignored.

Only speaking from the interactions with the vast majority of the women I know/work with - they don't have a thorn in their side about their employers/male colleagues. A lot of them get flexible working hours/4-day week to balance their lives at home. Do you ever think that this may be one of the reasons for the pay discrepancy?

I have seen a few interviews over recent years that more or less disprove that a gender pay gap actually exists, and indeed some of the contributors to them were female as well.

It's also hard to compare many jobs out there. There are so many factors to take into account that it's often not a simple case of "he earns X, so I should earn X as well".

Pick any example, say a bus driver. I have no doubt that if a man and a woman both get brand new jobs with Dublin Bus, starting tomorrow, they will both start on the same salary.

But if the woman claims she should be earning the same wage as a guy doing it 35 years, who has had 35 years of good service and pay increments etc, then most would agree that she shouldn't. I think the male new start wouldn't expect to be earning the same as the 35yr veteran.

A slightly humorous video, but makes plenty of very valid points.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=J7GWHgVZJQU

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

If RTE thought an ethnic pay gap claim could go out without too much complaint.

I could imagine them saying that this business of the average Nigerian ( in Ireland) earning less than the average American ( in Ireland) can not stand.

Of course an individual Nigerian cardiac surgeon will earn the same HSE wage as his American counterpart with identical experience and qualifications

Nuance sadly lacking and deliberately so

I'm a woman and can happily acknowledge it's bollox. It is illegal to pay women less than men for the same work. Other factors can affect pay negotiation - like experience and qualifications, but not sex.

There are issues affecting women and girls such as over-sexualisation and the blurring of boundaries between sex and gender, but woke feminism doesn't take issue with that - instead it latches on to this clear fallacy.

Gender equality for employment, and salaries/benefits are a reality. If a woman feels that she is being discriminated against, she has the right to complain both at the level of HR or to a State department. It's not as if HR isn't, in the vast majority of cases, populated by women, and it is them who tend to determine pay scales, and promotions. Same with investigations over complaints.

Some women may be discriminated against due to their gender. The possibility is always going to exist. The same for men to be discriminated due to their gender. However, we already have a society that seeks to protect against it, and the mechanisms are in place for people who believe that such discrimination has been applied to them.

There are issues affecting women and girls such as over-sexualisation and the blurring of boundaries between sex and gender, but woke feminism doesn't take issue with that - instead it latches on to this clear fallacy.

True enough, although considering the range of women employed by media outlets, and in fashion, the over sexualisation of women is often as a result of women themselves, as much as it is coming from men. There are definite advantages to being considered sexy, beautiful, etc, and the conditioning that exists in society to place emphasis on physical beauty affects both men and women.. except that most of the advantages (in addition to the disadvantages) of that conditioning relate to women and their place in society.

In feminism, they need an enemy to justify their demands, and that enemy is the male gender. They're never going to acknowledge the effect that women have on developing the societies we live in (or the negative consequences of that involvement).

Just as they're never going to stop going on about the Gender wage gap, the need for more women in <insert> industry, or departmental level... even when women have reached parity, or actually outnumber men in those positions. They can't back down because being a feminist in modern society is a profession as much as an ideology.

Most of the reason for the discrepancy is the care burden, caring for children and / or elderly relatives. This work is mostly done by women and choices are made to go part time to facilitate this. I do think people should be more open to both men and women availing of those options. I think it can be monopolised by women. I had a chat with a friend I hadn’t seen for years the last day and she’s working 2 full days and three half days. Her husband would love to cut back on his hours but she won’t consider it at all as she’d have to maybe work another full day. Both kids are in school. My husband works part time and I work full time. People seem to find this bizarre but it suits us regarding our jobs etc. I also have friends who both work part time, one three days and one two. That way childcare is not a burden for them. They both have good jobs. I think the bias socially is still there regarding the view of men working part-time. If a woman is working part-time that’s grand but if a man is then he’s lazy. I don’t find this to be case with anyone I know, people seem busy with kids or gardening or bees or building projects or cooking or music as well as childcare and cleaning. It just takes the pressure off if they’re careful with their money and can afford it.

What they’ve done in Iceland is very smart in my opinion. Start from the bottom up - restructure the system. Since 2000, mothers get three months leave, fathers get three months untransferable leave and a further three months can be taken by either parent. It has been augmented since but it’s seen a whole change in their working lives from the bottom up. Fathers are more active in childcare and women are more active in management at work. It’s much more effective than any quota system. Women aren’t monopolising childcare and men aren’t monopolising management. Worth a read.

http://www.nordiclabourjournal.org/i-fokus/in-focus-2019/future-of-work-iceland/article.2019-04-11.9299118347

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

I saw this last night and initially thought that's rough, but then though to myself if 33% are female that means 66% are male but there was nothing in the report on the main evening news to suggest anything other than women are the real victims here, ffs the blatant sexual discrimination by the national broadcaster is scandalous stuff, what donkeys are in charge of content in there. It's not just rte tho, I heard Matt Cooper bringing up the fact women are effectively working for free from now on, what respect I had for him vanished and I just turned the simpleton off, if normal women are buying into this nonsense then it's not a financial wage deficit that's the problem it's the fact that maybe the academics years ago were correct and women who believe this are just born with smaller brains for believing this sort of shìte, all they're doing is giving a certain cohort the beliefs they're the eternal victims in all of this

Post edited by Still stihl waters 3 on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Women earn more than men in the under 30 age bracket. Should there be a campaign to pay men under 30 more?

Or should we look at what's causing the differences and work at that instead of daft point scoring and clickbait headlines? There needs to be proper paternity leave on the same scale as maternity leave in order to help reduce the gender earnings gap. That, and a change in work cultures which celebrate overwork and no work life balance.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

Ha yeah, when you're right you're right.

I watch so many different comedians, I can never remember where I heard stuff.

Bill Burr is great. Says it way better than I ever could.

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

Checked with a few lasses, none of them are working for free today nor any day between now and end of year

Maybe im asking all the wrong women

Women earn more than men in the under 30 age bracket. Should there be a campaign to pay men under 30 more?

The focus is wrong though. Women under 30 tend to earn more because children aren't part of the equation, with most people deciding to have children around that period. Whenever we hear about employment inconsistencies, the attitude is to look at parents, and how they should benefit from that status. But the reality is that the numbers of people who are single/childless are growing, and it is them who invariably are picking up the slack.. and typically, there are more males who remain single than women... hence the difference in salaries and benefits over time.

While I understand the logic that says we need people to have more children, I don't think anyone is really considering how single people fit in, and I suspect the singles (male/female) are losing out to those who get married and have children.

I mean over sexualisation of kids. Cardi B, Kardashians etc.