Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Access laneway

• 20-10-2021 12:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

just looking for advice hoping someone has been in a similar position. I live in an area which has a shared back laneway with one way through to allow residents park in their own private back gardens. There is no through road in this laneway. in total it gives access to the back of 9 properties. the issue I've been having for the past 15 years is the house at the back of me continue to use the lane as their own private driveway. its actually both children who don't live there who are the culprits. On a good day I am able to squeeze into my back garden and on a bad day i cant get in or out. I use this laneway possibly 4 times a day I am in and out constantly for work. they know I use the lane regularly but still park with complete disregard. there doesn't seem to be a lot I can do due to the fact its deemed a public road. the family have been approached over the years they know how upsetting this is for me but continue to disregard my feelings. im the only person they block. I contacted a td who said the only thing I can do is contact the Gardaí which will probably escalate situation even more than it already is. anyone got any advice please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Can you put cones outside your egress point?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭dubsfan

I actually don't know to be honest the hassle ive had im sure they'll just move them. I was really hoping the council would put a yellow box outside my entrance or something to take the matter seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Start Blocking them and see how they like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Block his car in with your car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Block them. If its going on 15 years, a yellow box wont stop them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

I had a similar problem...

Leaving notes on the car made no difference.

Eventually I had a few boulders dropped across the lane.

Now nobody can use it.

I blocked their car in once when I couldn't gain access to my property I just abandoned my car in the laneway and they beeped and beeped until I eventually went out and they were nice as pie in a sarcastic tone sorry love did we block you in. Monday when I went around to ask them to move I was told to f**k off that theyd only be a few minutes. I had been trying to get out for 20 mins beeping for 10 and missed an appointment. im really at my wits end

Your problem is you're too nice.

Myself, being from athlone I'm a half knacker with a vile temper particularly when someone is tying to throw the leg over so this issue would have been ironed out years ago. Had similar problems, nipped it in the bud hard and fast.

Your car needs to be parked behind his every day. Until they get they get message. Take your time moving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Different setup, but in an apartment building car park someone blocked my space a number of times, like that, making me miss an appointment. Next opportunity I got, I blocked them in, they rang the intercom asking me to move, but I was making white sauce at the time and couldn't leave the cooker. For 40 minutes.

Is there anywhere within walking distance you could go and work from for an hour or so at some stage?

Please tell me you told them you were making white sauce.

If you didn't, just lie and say you did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Sorry it took me a week to respond. I was making risotto.

But yes, I said something along the lines of "I'm making white sauce, I'll be down in a while, can't leave the cooker."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

The only solution is to call the Gardai your neighbours are selfish idiots there's no cure for that are your other neighbours not annoyed about this or else they park the car in front of your exit only blocking you

They know what they are doing they don't care about you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Maybe you could park your car somewhere else during the day within walking distance of your house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Sure everyone knows you cant leave white sauce in the middle, the cream would go off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

eh? no cream in white sauce, wtf are you making.

it being AH and all, let the air out of their tyres everytime they park there

they only block my access and your right they don't care. so far this week has been ok haven't seen much of them but its the nerve in my stomach constantly when I come home from work or wake in the morning to see if im blocked. my main reason for concern is I feel I cant get a new car in January as my current car is scraped from the occasions where I've scraped it myself trying to squeeze into the back. thanks so much for all your replies. I dread confrontation but the nice approach hasn't worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Presume you have a door or something from the back of your house onto the lane?

How close to hitting their car does it get when they have blocked your access?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I had the same issue for a couple of years. I was living in a semi-D and for some reason both houses had a shared driveway that split in two nearer the gates off each house, like a Y shape. The guy living there was grand but it was his daughter, son in law and other visitors to the house who were the culprits. Some days might be fine , others it could happen multiple times. And each time I asked them to move the cars it felt like I was inconveniencing them to do so. The last time it happened I lost the plot and was about to knock on the door but I noticed the car's driver window was down. The driveway is on a slope so I let myself into the car and released the handbrake, I left it out on the middle of the road and drove away in my own car. It never happened again.