Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What has fuelled you to learn something new and succeed at it?

• 28-09-2021 7:57pm

For me it nearly always is fear or frustration, simple as that.

I took my first ever flight aged 14 in 1975 in a light aircraft from Dublin Airport. My father was very enthusiastic to reacquaint himself with the joy of flying in light aircraft, and apart from the pilot there were two free spaces. My father designated me as a passenger, but my mother declined. In those days flying on commerciaL airliners was particularly expensive so we just didn’t do it as a family. Hiring a light aircraft with pilot was the way to go.

the weather was appalling, with high winds. It didn’t strike me that the wind blown challenge I experienced walking out to the aircraft would be magnified once airborne. Got the shock of my life at the extreme turbulence, whilst my Dad and the pilot laughed their heads off.

I was so perturbed by my own reaction to this flight that there and then I made up my mind to learn to sit in the left seat (as the captain) and fly confidently in all flyable weathers. Aged 19 I was earning and funded myself to learn flying, and subsequently became competent. I did that for several years until I could not renew my private pilot’s license due to failing the medical requirements because of insufficient vision without glasses. I am still well able to fly, from start-up to stop, supervised by a typically very chilled-out hands-off qualified instructor. The squeaky smooth touchdown always reminds you, the skill is not forgotten. You just never forget how to fly.

That’s the sort of way I really get to grips with anything. I can of have to fear or loathe or be frustrated by it initially be it flying or something much more basic.

Love to hear how people are inspired to learn new things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭CptMonkey

The first lockdown got me learning the guitar. Always thought i didn’t have time to learn and play it but when I was at home I bought one online and the local shop delivered and now all this time later I have 3 guitars and have even played in front of people I didn’t know.

so in a way lockdown was good for me at least in 1 way

Well done you!!!

I have an electric guitar I learned to sort of play decades ago (it’s still majorly in tune!), learned riffs, all sorts of stuff, I’m well capable of improving on it, but I’ve neglected it for so long. I have musical ability, but unlike my artistic ability it takes way more application and dedication.

I should plug in my amp, get tuning, get remembering my chords and riffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I suppose I learned the bodhran in 1992 and living in Galway, there was a few of my goatskin heroes knocking about there who inspired me and sessions galore. I stuck at it, got a few paid sessions around the town, went to all the fleadhs and trad events, entered a few comps, coming second in the Connacht championships one year, but never placed in the senior all Ireland comps. I've just one regular session these days a week, but often get a call to fill for someone who couldn't make the gig. Anyway its nice that I love the trad and folk that trust me to keep the beat. 😊

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Not sure really what fuelled me to the level of drive I have now. I was a layabout Incel type in my college years and barely graduated and was heading towards overweight and drinking all all sorts of laziness and generally pathetic.

What finally made me get up and pull myself out of that I have never been entirely 100% sure. That the turnaround was as stark as it was is even more a mystery. I am now highly driven in pretty much all areas of my life.

But these days I do a lot with my life. Things I do and learn and pursue that I am relatively successful at.

Maybe subconsciously I realised I was on a path that was going to lead to nothing (at best) and suicide (at worst) if I kept being the person I was being - so perhaps my drive comes from some kind of survival instinct and fear of dying that way. I don't know. Whatever it is - I guess I can not complain. I am generally very happy almost constantly with the life I have now.

I learned how to fight after stopping someone from being attacked and in turn got my face kicked in.

Now I have 2 black belts and can hold my own. I will say this, like the army and such, it's great for building confidence if nothing else.

Yeah Martial Arts has been the biggest life saver for me. Especially BJJ and Capoeira. It has built confidence. Fitness. Pride. But also Humility and empathy. It has affected every area of my life physically and mentally. My Health is better. My self discipline is better. Everything. And since my partners do it with me too - it has even affected my relationship as it is something we do together and share together a lot. Even though we live our own lives too and have our own pursuits and interests we always have this shared thing too.

Lots of things I have taken up as pursuits and goals and hobbies have brought benefits and joys to my life. But Martial Arts is by far in the lead with the positive effects and benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Money. The pandemic & having to pivot in business to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Had problems with my mental health for tears and didn't admit it to myself. Went down a very long journey of self discovery (became a psychotherapist, studied Freud, Jung, the usual). Then got into NLP and realised the psychotherapy stuff was pure bull. Learned how to change my behaviour and become aware of how I can improve. Took a long time (15 years and counting) but now I have a fantastic wife, two daughter and good mental health.

Also realised I don't care about wealth or peer opinions. I judge myself based on what my family and thinks of me. My aim is to be a great dad, husband, brother, and son, nothing more. Money's not important to me. New cars, keeping up with appearances.. means nothing to me.

My Children. Gardening/food growing, hens, books, models and generally educational stuff. I would much prefer spending my time off watching junk and playing video games and slamming beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

the realisation of the harm of widely believed ideas of being the truth, but in fact are doing great harm to our planet and all living things, including all humans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The pandemic and the boredom of lockdowns. It was a wakeup call and it gave me the time to change careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was always musical and into music, growing up I learned the recorder, clarinet and the piano and on each occasion was thought by respected musicians from members of the Garda band to a teacher / composer who used to sit in and play with the piano with the NSO... so when I hit my teens, got into rock / indie music I picked up the guitar and taught myself to an ok and decent standard eventually , took years but im still learning, improving, rough around the edges but a love of music, playing, learning, improvising and experimenting and having fun with it fueled my journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭neenam

I've recently started studying Portuguese. I've actually wanted to learn a language for a few years, but I assumed that it wouldn't be worth it as I would not become fluent enough at my age in my 20s. 30 now and the desire is still there. I recently saw an article about a syrian man in his 40s who moved to germany and studying german, so when I saw that I just said "f**k it, study it already ya gobshite" 😆

Acknowledgement on one's hard work and skill is a great motivator. Dislike compliments on one's appearance, cos it's not something that you would have worked on (talking about natural looks, not like good clothes, makeup, etc.) and not fair on those who don't have that.

Learning a language is reckoned to be particularly good for the brain, but learning anything new at any time in life is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

I tried ages ago but it was a half asses attempt. I could never “get” music so thought I was one of those people that completely lacked the ability to learn. For the last month I have been listening to a lot of music theory videos on YouTube in the hope that some will sink in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭CptMonkey

Try Justin guitar if you still have a guitar. Makes it very straight forward

I learned guitar years ago, was pretty rough at it even though I am not lacking musical ability, but am so rusty now I would need to start afresh.

I saw a clarinet for sale one Christmas in Lidl. Bought it for the laugh, learned the embouchure and was delighted at how I could get a smooth fast run of notes. Must resurrect it… when I get time!