Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legally blind Dublin pensioner in court for growing Cannabis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Ultimate Gowlbag

anytime i see the "this is what the guards are doing instead of....bla bla bla" makes me think some people believe we only have a couple of guards employed and all resources were poured into the wrong thing 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Juran

Can you explain why they turned a blind eye to Tallaght funeral road circus, and chase down a poor fella who moved to bus lane to early ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

While I am with the OP on those idiots but the law is not a don't focus on this until y is done. Of course you know there are different sections of the Gardai and they each do different jobs. That 1 who got pulled over (why not wait the 50 meters) is the traffic division they do not deal with anything else and only in there area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Ultimate Gowlbag

You and I have no idea what they are doing about the funeral,making out the guards can only investigate on thing at a time is silly though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Easy target... What if the person growing them was actually growing them for sale or supply? Granted, in this case, common sense came through in the end and she was acquitted of sale/supply, and probation for possession then. But who was to say she wasn't growing it for some gang? I'm not saying she was, but it's also a possibility. If it turned out that she didn't have all these conditions and was indeed growing it for sale, would you still have had a problem with it?

Same as the lad driving, why couldn't he wait the 50m and turn when it's legal? Do you think we should turn a blind eye to everyone that does this? We should pick and choose the laws which apply to us? Bus lane jumping is a problem and illegal, regardless of your own opinion on it. The lights and sirens are there to let the person know you want to either pull them in, or to get out of the way. Not sure what other way they could have done that tbh. Maybe passed him by and jump out in front of him then? Ram them off the road? Follow them until they stop, regardless of how long that would take?

Bad attempt OP. Bad attempt. Also, FYI, they are investigating the events of that funeral, but unlike TV/CSI, this actually takes time to put together. And no doubt they're trying to get everyone at the same time, so it will take a bit longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Legally blind....can you be illegally blind?

If you're legally blind, your vision is 20/200 or less in your better eye or your field of vision is less than 20 degrees. So blind, but not totally blind. But for legislative purposes, legally blind. Or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Fair play OP, that article gave me some laugh, it reads like all involved were experiencing the ‘soothing effect’, as the Judge put it. Comedy gold, like that film with the pensioners who had the same idea a few years back 😂

Perhaps they’re legally blind and all, show some sympathy, have a heart and all that 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

This thread is a shocking illustration of of the traffic drop off on boards since the changeover. Its up 2 and a half hours and no one has said they bet he didnt see that coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Post edited by Smiles35 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Juran

Whoah .... I think Potential-Monke needs to take a chill pill.

Its only a discussion mate )//-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

can the DPP decide not to prosecute a case? or a charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

"What ifs" are the bedrock of stupidity. A farmer could legally own a shotgun. Are you going to say "What if he was planning to use it to hold up the local Post Office"? A guy could be brewing beer in his basement. Are you going to say What if he was going to start selling it after 10pm to 13 year olds and (God forbid) not pay any tax on the cash income. Gimme peace FFS.

Whoah .... I think Potential-Monke needs to take a chill pill.

Its only a discussion mate )//-/

I am chill. I just don't grow my own. And I am discussing? Can't help if people read my posts with different emotions to how I wrote it...

can the DPP decide not to prosecute a case? or a charge

They can. And they do. It's why this woman ended up in court, the Gardai make the case but in bigger cases like this (ie: not a small enough amount for 100% personal use) the DPP decides to go to court or not.

"What ifs" are the bedrock of stupidity. A farmer could legally own a shotgun. Are you going to say "What if he was planning to use it to hold up the local Post Office"? A guy could be brewing beer in his basement. Are you going to say What if he was going to start selling it after 10pm to 13 year olds and (God forbid) not pay any tax on the cash income. Gimme peace FFS.

No, in your examples you're using legal things, ie: owning a shotgun and brewing your own beer. This woman was growing an illegal plant (one which I love, by the way, so I'm not against her growing it). She had around 11 ounces, and an oz sells to most people for €300-400. Granted, there were twigs and leaf, but that doesn't matter when it comes to quantity. So she had roughly €3000 of weed there. I smoke a lot, but if I had that much on me, I would fully expect to be brought up for dealing if I was caught. Luckily, the judge saw sense and gave her the probation act for simple possession. Still not to say she wasn't dealing it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Because they could get a slap of one of those boys and as the Gardai here have already said, they don't get paid enough to do their jobs so arresting poor Miss Murphy is a low hanging fruit to make their job easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

So people have a stereotype about my country the Netherlands that we smoke loads of weed. This is obviously because we're the first country to decriminalize. But it's actually untrue when you look at the statistics. Countries such as Ireland, France and especially Spain have way higher cannabis consumption rates.

I don't get why Ireland hasn't decriminalized cannabis at the very least. I've walked past guards with a spliff with impunity before. They seem to only ever detain people from a certain community native to ireland that starts with a T for possessing cannabis.

I am off the stuff nowadays, by the way, so no need to call them gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh