Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Did You Cope With BWS?*

• 15-07-2021 10:02pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭

*denotes Boards Withdrawl Syndrome... 😁

So, in the week that Boards was unavailable for posting, how did you cope without your daily fix of Boards? Did yis go over to other online forums? Avail of counselling, addiction support, peer support groups, medication?

Meditation even... ?

Or were you white knuckling it, going cold turkey, just climbing the walls to share with the boards community your pearls of insights, wisdom and your invaluable musings?

Come now... reveal all! What got you through the past week of hardship?

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Real world, and spent a little bit of time stoking Brit culture war on twitter.

Sure I didn't miss this yoke toooo much like as there was always Reddit (Great site 😉) to fall back on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

A few of us in the Wherers thread were able to get in a few days ago and post.. ye missed it all guys 🤫

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Checked everyday to see if it was back up , only to find they've made a clusterfuck of it . I can't find anything. Was on reddit, which is a headwreck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Missed it for a day or two but, just got used to it being unavailable....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Cried, wanked and hit F5 an awful lot.

Same as any other week, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

What are you using? a game emulator? it's the only time you hit F5 so many times. Alt-f5 numpad Alt 09889

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

Went to boards.co.uk

I discovered “outside”. Didn’t like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I missed posting my morning rant while on the bus to work :) I'm glad it's back but I'm not too keen on the new format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Tried reddit. Got more confused than anything, threads don't seem to follow any logic, posts get buried and all that, I don't get it and I've tried a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

First few days were rough then something magical happened, I got myself a girlfriend, it's all online at the moment but it's my first real girlfriend in my 40 years on this planet so I'm super excited. My mother is so excited (probably thinks she can get me out of the house) she's bringing me to penny's and buying me a suit. Not sure if I should share this info with my WoW clan yet.

The weather was lovely,so probably wouldnt been online anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I don't like it either. Too much emphasis is put on likes and therefore its too much of a pissing contest and not enough about discussion

It was a bit like that scene 'they left us' in Jurassic Park and then you looked at feedback and it was like where the guy comforts them and says 'but that's not what I'm going to do' but then it came back on and you ended up left in the kitchen with the velocirapters!

I kinda missed the general air of negativity and begrudgery and pessimism. I don't use Facebook or twitter or anything else. So boards is the only source I have for people seeing the negative and down side of even the most seemingly positive things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It was a week where I didn't have difficulty trying to figure out if what people were saying was genuine or a parody. It was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I drew the curtains, inhaled outdoor air for the first time in 20 years, got a job, invested a weeks wages in crypto and now I'm a millionaire a week later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭sporina

must check it out - this site is painful as it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I think it's a joke. There is no UK version as far as I know

i read on wiki that there is one... must check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I stopped showering and shaving on day two , i refused to leave my house and moved into the attic.

What was the question again , please ?

Many moons ago there was a UK and US boards site that IE users used to flock to during downtime.

Digital Spy is probably the next closest thing to boards. https://forums.digitalspy.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Night owl gal

I watched a few episodes of a TV show/went to the cinema/did some cleaning/admin/played a few games on my phone/laptop. I left a thank you card under my neighbor's door as she found and handed my phone back to me, when it went missing (I either dropped my phone without realizing it or it fell out of my pocket). Good to see honest people out there. Was very glad to see boards back online though 😀

thanks for that.. will check it out - v little activity here - I use to love to log on and find lots of notifications - thats not the case now.. as I have not been posting much - and seems less people are in general - such a shame.. will give it a few days and if no improvement, I might have to say goodbye to boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭thehairygrape

I made solid plans to end world hunger, solve climate change, perfect cold fusion and convert Donald Trump to Marxism. Then I had to reply to this post and managed to delete everything!!! Damn you JupiterKid.