New Touch site

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

You can request Desktop Site by tapping the Aa button on the left of the address bar.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Ha, there's no mod notices under people's names.

I'll wait until this cluster **** (swear filter check) is dome with. Could end up with a site ban instead of simple forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,371 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

It's dreadful. I haven't used the desktop version yet but the touch site is practically unusable. The who's online bit at the bottom is terrible and completely ridiculous. Probably to a few mods delight I can't see myself being here very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,888 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I absolutely hate the touch site as it is. Hope to god its not the final version as its unusable and a total mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

Is there no 'Thanks' button anymore no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Can't say I'm enamoured..... Early days yet so not condemning anything but I'm missing the drop down menus to navigate between forums. I can't see an indicator that shows me I've read a thread either. Seems to have a lot of wasted space as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,802 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

That'll be back, was there earlier but you couldn't see who thanked the post so they're fixing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,128 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The mobile site is 10 tome s worse.

Big gap in the market for a new site to be created today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,746 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's back now, but you still can't see the list by default - you have to hover over the Like button and it'll appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

Lads you have made shite of the site

on the old site, when u went to a users profile u could view all their previous posts on threads

can't find this now 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,486 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Probably for the better, this update will cut down on my time spent on here.

I won't be using the Touch Site any more on my phone if this is the finished version, so use will be limited to desktop use, and I am only on the laptop every couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,839 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Will take a while to get used to but should be fine

Was using reddit and **** me I was confused with all that karma and points stuff

Boards.ie any day over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭ClosedAccountFuzzy

Sorry Boards but this is extremely messy to use on mobile. Think that it may be the end of my use of the site. Finding it extremely uncomfortable to navigate & it’s way, way too bright.

I hardly used the desktop version, so this is really a big deal from my point of view.

Also how do I find my posts? That was mostly how I navigated boards.

Also wtf is the pages of who’s online at the bottom of the screen?! I don’t really care who’s online. It’s not relevant to the way boards is used.

Why didn’t you do a public beta with a couple of test forums? You’d have found all these issues out.

Just unilaterally landing a change like this on an old community isn’t going to end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I only use the touch site on my phone , but this is far to cluttered. A difficult colour to read . Navigation is difficult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Darksoul

I think everything is too big and takes up space so more scrolling to get around to view what I need to read, I don't like the new layout but will try it out and maybe il get used to it.

I don’t like the new touch site on my iPhone and when request desktop option it all becomes squashed :(

is it possible to get the old touch website back please

Can we get dark mode also for touch site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,187 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It's funny people here giving out about the migration. It's usually immigration they're more concerned with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,097 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Can someone give a link to the touch site? My browser is giving not available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

no dark mode.

c'mere to me ... the entire internet should be in dark mode.

eye burny mode should not be the default. ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

Sooooo much white space on desktop. Need sun glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭athlone573

I agree with the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Peppa Cig

Rewind back to old platform 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Why couldn’t ye just leave it the way it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭ec_pc

Its truely awful. No logic whatsoever to the new layout. Forums mixed into subforums. Information not carried over correctly from old site, too many clicks and new windows to find anything. Hard to use.

Poor user experience, really putting me off boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Reminds me of the Rollercoaster site when they changed. So bad they lost a lot of regular posters.

I'll hold tough and see how the new boards works before passing judgement 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Well I like it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

previous upgrades were a bit different but you got used to it

I really can’t see myself using this site going forward it bears no relation to anything in the past

terrible shame I used to really enjoy this site