Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Private citizen reporting another private citizen for parking on double yellow line

• 06-06-2021 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

What is the story with private citizen reporting another private citizen for parking on double yellow line while driver is sitting in car?

I was waiting in the car earlier today on a one way street with on street parking on both sides, waiting for a shop around the corner (behind where I parked to open), I was at the start of the street. Although it is on double yellow line, i was not obstructing anyone or anything. I made sure of that and the street was very quiet traffic wise. There was even two disabled parking spot further behind where I was (about 2 car length away) - to give a picture of how far away the road behind is.

Out of the blue this lady came up from behind and ask me to move citing I parked on double yellow line. Fair enough, I started the car and began to move. She says that she will be sending the picture to the local authority just as I start to move the car to round off the lovely encounter.

So my question is, will anything more come out it? Is private citizen reporting another private citizen on such issue even a thing? (Is it not only Garda or traffic warden that can issue fine?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

SheisTA wrote: »
    Is private citizen reporting another private citizen on such issue even a thing? (Is it not only Garda or traffic warden that can issue fine?)

Yes, it is. Picture plus testimony is enough for a conviction.

I doubt she will follow though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

She's taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

Say you weren’t parked, just driving very slowly. A photo want show that the car was stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

What is the story with private citizen reporting another private citizen for parking on double yellow line while driver is sitting in car?

I was waiting in the car earlier today on a one way street with on street parking on both sides, waiting for a shop around the corner (behind where I parked to open), I was at the start of the street. Although it is on double yellow line, i was not obstructing anyone or anything. I made sure of that and the street was very quiet traffic wise. There was even two disabled parking spot further behind where I was (about 2 car length away) - to give a picture of how far away the road behind is.

Out of the blue this lady came up from behind and ask me to move citing I parked on double yellow line. Fair enough, I started the car and began to move. She says that she will be sending the picture to the local authority just as I start to move the car to round off the lovely encounter.

So my question is, will anything more come out it? Is private citizen reporting another private citizen on such issue even a thing? (Is it not only Garda or traffic warden that can issue fine?)

You moved on and she parked in your spot more than likely.

whats with the "Private citizen"?

Not a Garda or traffic warden I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 SheisTA

grogi wrote: »
    Yes, it is. Picture plus testimony is enough for a conviction.

I doubt she will follow though.

I don't know, she seems to be one of those that has nothing better to do.

Can you guide me to any official that can give a more formal guidance (I can't find anything official to say as such, only Garda and traffic warden). I know I did wrong in the eye of the law but this happens every where every day and mostly just get told to move on especially those sitting in a car as common courtesy but it is the first time I've encountered a person that is being such a stickler about it.

Just want to make sure I'm covering myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Can you guide me to any official that can give a more formal guidance (I can't find anything official to say as such, only Garda and traffic warden). I know I did wrong in the eye of the law but this happens every where every day and mostly just get told to move on especially those sitting in a car as common courtesy but it is the first time I've encountered a person that is being such a stickler about it.

Why would expect a common curtesy when you can’t do the same and park legally?

Any Joe Bloggs not in a official of the law

Smee_Again wrote: »
    Why would expect a common curtesy when you can’t do the same and park legally?

As I have said, it is a Sunday, very quiet, and I'm not obstructing traffic (not even one bit), not near a corner either to the road perpendicular to the road I'm on and I'm sitting in the car. It is not as if I left the car unattended.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    You moved on and she parked in your spot more than likely.

I don't think she drive because I didn't see any. Probably a local resident though.

As I have said, it is a Sunday, very quiet, and I'm not obstructing traffic (not even one bit) and I'm sitting in the car. It is not as if I left the car unattended.
    Country appears to be full of snitches at the moment and only waiting for a chance to ring the Gardai. Perhaps Varadkar will set up another tout line for minor motoring offences.

As I have said, it is a Sunday, very quiet, and I'm not obstructing traffic (not even one bit) and I'm sitting in the car. It is not as if I left the car unattended.

Can’t have been that quiet if all the available parking on both sides of the road was taken.

Or it wasn’t taken and you just parked like an arsehole and now you’re upset that you might get a ticket.

And around the corner from the shop so you don’t were probably dangerously parked.

Odelay wrote: »
    Say you weren’t parked, just driving very slowly. A photo want show that the car was stopped.

It is the testimony that is the main reason for the fine and will be required in court should it come to that. Photo is only supporting evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭koutoubia

As I have said, it is a Sunday, very quiet, and I'm not obstructing traffic (not even one bit), not near a corner either to the road perpendicular to the road I'm on and I'm sitting in the car. It is not as if I left the car unattended.

Whether you were blocking anyone or anything is irelevant.
    You can stop on a double yellow eg to let people in or out of the car but cannot park.

Can’t have been that quiet if all the available parking on both sides of the road was taken.

Or it wasn’t taken and you just parked like an arsehole and now you’re upset that you might get a ticket.

It is quiet traffic wise. On street parking is on both sides of the one way street and was full when I first got there.

There are more space much further down the road probably about 300 meter down the road (when I moved).

Again I was in the car the whole time so is not like I left it unattended. I was taken a bit by surprise on this as it is the first time I've encountered someone like this in my 16 years of driving. As I have said, a simple word to ask me to move would suffice. Mentioning to report me was totally uncalled for.

I have to say I was initially upset but I have come to terms about it and just want to check if this is a thing by citizen as I can't see anything official about it.

I'm not going to go into a word fight with you. If you have nothing constructive to add other than name calling. Please feel free to contribute to other topic.

It is quiet traffic wise. On street parking is on both sides of the one way street and was full when I first got there.

There are more space much further down the road probably about 300 meter down the road (when I moved).

Again I was in the car the whole time so is not like I left it unattended. I was taken a bit by surprise on this as it is the first time I've encountered someone like this in my 16 years of driving. As I have said, a simple word to ask me to move would suffice. Mentioning to report me was totally uncalled for.

I have to say I was initially upset but I have come to terms about it and just want to check if this is a thing by citizen as I can't see anything official about it.

I'm not going to go into a word fight with you. If you have nothing constructive to add other than name calling. Please feel free to contribute to other topic.

I don’t know why you’d think someone saying they’re going to report a crime, no matter how trivial a crime it might be, is uncalled for. Of course citizens can report crimes to the authorities.

Nothing will come of it though, if they’re even bothered to report it.

Maybe next time park legally and you can avoid the whole rigmarole.

I don’t know why you’d think someone saying they’re going to report a crime, no matter how trivial a crime it might be, is uncalled for. Of course citizens can report crimes to the authorities.

Nothing will come of it though, if they’re even bothered to report it.

Maybe next time park legally and you can avoid the whole rigmarole.

Common courtesy was partly expected but I guess that was naive on my part. Like I said, this is the first time I have encountered someone making such a big deal of this.

Guess I'll wait and see.

Common courtesy was partly expected but I guess that was naive on my part. Like I said, this is the first time I have encountered someone making such a big deal of this.

Well, you clearly do it far too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Guess I'll wait and see.

Common courtesy would have been to have parked 300m down the road in the available spaces instead of on double yellow lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Slow day on the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

When you say you were “at the start of the street”, do you mean that you were within 5m of the junction? I suspect so. This is dangerous parking which is 3 penalty points for a fixed charge notice or 5 points on conviction. The fine is trivial but the level of points should indicate how stupid such actions are.

Hilarious. The common courtesy would be to have the respect not to park atrociously.

grogi wrote: »
    Well, you clearly do it far too often.

Now that is just outlandish speculation.

When I say normally people give common courtesy, I mean in the sense that you don't see me going around reporting every tiny thing other people does wrong.

That being said, this has opened my eye that everyone is a perfect law abiding citizen here. I should probably start reporting others I see wrong doing from here on too. I guess it is just the right thing to do.

Now that is just outlandish speculation.

When I say normally people give common courtesy, I mean in the sense that you don't see me going around reporting every tiny thing other people does wrong.

That being said, this has opened my eye that everyone is a perfect law abiding citizen here. I should probably start reporting others I see wrong doing from here on too. I guess it is just the right thing to do.

You could start your reintroduction to courteous society by starting to park legally.

Marcusm wrote: »
    When you say you were “at the start of the street”, do you mean that you were within 5m of the junction? I suspect so. This is dangerous parking which is 3 penalty points for a fixed charge notice or 5 points on conviction. The fine is trivial but the level of points should indicate how stupid such actions are.

No, that's what I was highlighting that I'm far away from a corner, there are actually even 2 disable parking spots well behind me (and behind those disabled spot is the perpendicular road)

You could start your reintroduction to courteous society by starting to park legally.

I'm sure you do no wrong yourself ever.

That being said, thanks for the lesson learnt. Will take it in stride and also learn from this to report others (we all have to be a stand up citizen right?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Guards will only laugh at that. Its a non story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

One wonders why there are double yellows there, if it is such a great spot.

If it was me that situation I'd told her to f##k off and mind her own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,707 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Muppet Man wrote: »
    Guards will only laugh at that. Its a non story.

Absolutely.

The Guards will take that "very seriously" and as soon as the hatch is closed on the public desk will file it in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,179 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Double yellows are in places where you are deemed to be obstructing something whether you think you are or not. Dont park in them and you wont have to worry

I'm sure you do no wrong yourself ever.

That being said, thanks for the lesson learnt. Will take it in stride and also learn from this to report others (we all have to be a stand up citizen right?)

Of course I do, sure I’m only human.

What I don’t do is get upset if people point out my wrong doings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Guess I'll wait and see.

Maybe its a massive ongoing issue on that street and their patience for common courtesy is well and truly waned.

I have family that live near a school and every single day people think they are the special one off case that can just block the driveway for 5 minutes while the residents are trying to leave for work. They dont understand why the residents are getting all pissy with them "its just for a few minutes". Yes a few minutes, like everyone else, 10 times a day, every day, for years on end.

I do not know either

Noo wrote: »
    Maybe its a massive ongoing issue on that street and their patience for common courtesy is well and truly waned.

I have family that live near a school and every single day people think they are the special one off case that can just block the driveway for 5 minutes while the residents are trying to leave for work. They dont understand why the residents are getting all pissy with them "its just for a few minutes". Yes a few minutes, like everyone else, 10 times a day, every day, for years on end.

I get that and it would be completed understandable if that was the case. I'm not stopping in front of people's driveway. I'm well away from the main road behind me and that it is a Sunday with very little traffic.

Maybe as you said, it has waned on this particular person.

Of course I do, sure I’m only human.

What I don’t do is get upset if people point out my wrong doings

Like I said, I have already come to terms with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,179 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I get that and it would be completed understandable if that was the case. I'm not stopping in front of people's driveway. I'm well away from the main road behind me and that it is a Sunday with very little traffic.

You dont get to decide what is and isnt a good spot to park. Thats what double yellows are for.

Anyway cant wait to debate your next made up controversy from your next brand new account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

koutoubia wrote: »
    Whether you were blocking anyone or anything is irelevant.
    You can stop on a double yellow eg to let people in or out of the car but cannot park.

Commercial vehicles can park on double yellow whilst loading and unloading.

Also if you are stopped on a double yellow and a traffic warden (gardai have no interest unless it's dangerous) walks by, they will allow you move on.

This is a local sad busy body.

Any Joe Bloggs not in a official of the law

So are traffic wardens "Public citizens"? Such a weird way to say 'person'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Tippman24

Private citizen can report it to trafficwatch. Fixed Charge Notice issues. If unpaid, the matter goes to Court with the person who made the initial report called as a witness.

There's a strong whiff of psychopathy coming off you suggesting hat the person with a lack of common courtesy is the one who points out that you are breaking the law. A normal, empathetic person might apologise and move on.

Marcusm wrote: »
    There's a strong whiff of psychopathy coming off you suggesting hat the person with a lack of common courtesy is the one who points out that you are breaking the law. A normal, empathetic person might apologise and move on.

Pointed. Done. Moved on. Done.

Parting shot saying that she will report to authority. Was that necessary.

I'm going to guess you're gonna tell me yes anyway (no need to reply)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Someone who keeps to himself. Comes home, doesn't bother switching on the lights even though its dark and slips up to his room to make finger puppets out of old socks. Only ever greets his neighbours with a finger salute. Usually will have a very tidy front lawn with neatly manicured hedge. Usually works in the basement of some big megacorp, eats his lunch at his desk, he is the only guy on his "team", very diligent and meticulous at his job but doesn't really talk to anyone bar the odd work-related email. Was likely to have been madly in love with his soulmate for a spell many years ago but the demise of this relationship left him permanently scarred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

How’d I know that this was going to be from a new user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I do not know either

Any vehicle can park on double yellow lines for up to 30 minutes. She obviously doesn't know that law, or you .:p
    You were there for a reason, in your car, you didn't park up and go for a picnic for the day.

Any vehicle can park on double yellow lines for up to 30 minutes. She obviously doesn't know that law, or you .:p
    You were there for a reason, in your car, you didn't park up and go for a picnic for the day.

You’re ignorant of the law yourself; that’s only if actively loading and/or unloading.

Pointed. Done. Moved on. Done.

Parting shot saying that she will report to authority. Was that necessary.

I'm going to guess you're gonna tell me yes anyway (no need to reply)

Whether it was worthy of reporting to an authority would depend on your response when it was pointed out to you. Had you, as I suggested, evinced a level of contrition perhaps the person might not have come out with that “parting shot”. We all infract, only some of us are unwilling to acknowledge it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭wandererz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,257 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

They're for other people, obviously.