Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Israeli - Palestinian Conflict *Threadbans in OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Lmkrnr

seamus wrote: »
    And of course you have the mouthbreathers claiming that "Hamas are using civilian buildings as shields" as if Hamas are a governmental organisation that can have headquarters or barracks which wouldn't be pummelled into the ground almost immediately.

Even legitimate Palestinian government buildings have been repeatedly attacked by Israel. So no sh1t that Hamas don't have their own premises.

There can be all the outrage in the world about this, but until any Western government has the balls to call a complete embargo on Israel, nothing will happen.

I would like for Ireland to be the first to refuse to do any business with Israel, but we don't have the balls for it. Too much fear about what the US multinationals would do.

Now would be the ideal time. The democrats are not as cosy with those killer's in the Israeli government, if it was the republicans they would put more heat on the Irish Gov regarding sanctioning Israel.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Housefree

Let's not forget the hit squad the apartheid regime sent out using fake Irish passports
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/hit-squad-used-fake-irish-passports-26632716.html

You think more death/destruction is what's needed?

I think there is less war when the stakes are higher. Israel has a free hand for to long.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Fandymo wrote: »
    It is illegal under international law, to fire on residential buildings. It's almost as if Israel don't care about international law.

This is why Hamas fires rockets from residential areas. They purposely put their own citizens at risk. In many cases sign their own death sentence. Would you continue to allow rockets to be fired towards your area and not try and neutralise the threat just because it is coming from a residential area? Hamas are evil.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

IngazZagni wrote: »
    This is why Hamas fires rockets from residential areas. They purposely put their own citizens at risk. In many cases sign their own death sentence. Would you continue to allow rockets to be fired towards your area and not try and neutralise the threat just because it is coming from a residential area? Hamas are evil.

"Israel should simply to be more tolerant and take no actions against Hamas"- average boards member

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Palestinians live under constant human rights abuses
    https://www.amnesty.org/en/countries/middle-east-and-north-africa/israel-and-occupied-palestinian-territories/report-israel-and-occupied-palestinian-territories/
    Israel continued to impose institutionalized discrimination against Palestinians living under its rule in Israel and the Occupied Palestinian Territories (OPT). It displaced hundreds of Palestinians in Israel and the occupied West Bank, including East Jerusalem, as a result of home demolitions and imposition of other coercive measures. Israeli forces continued to use excessive force during law enforcement activities in Israel and the OPT.

TomTomTim wrote: »
    "Israel should simply to be more tolerant and take no actions against Hamas"- average boards member

"Israel should keep steeling Palestinian land and isolate people in an open air prison, if they don't like it its ok to blow up said land and civilians with Hi-tech weapon's". Average Israeli Apologist.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The cynic in me would point out that this comes at a good time for Netanyahu: Government still in limbo, his corruption trial, the recent crush at a Jewish festival.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,426 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Kind of hard to fire them from anywhere else seeing as they've literally no other bloody land left!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

boetstark wrote: »
    You are a dirty piece of thrash, dogs in the street have a greater moral compass than you

Don't agree what Israel does but you are right this is disgusting and actually Anti-Semetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The real problem is too much democracy in Israel. The PR system there has created a mess where mish mash coalition government are dependent on votes from increasingly extreme ultra orthodox parties.
    This is a perverse situation really as Israel founded on secular zionist and socialist ideals. A nation that was bravely defended, contrary what some nut jobs have posted on here about cowardice, and developed into a modern liberal nation by progressive minded people. The ultra orthodox for the most part do not take part in the IDF inspite of conscription yet are increasingly having a say politically.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

So international law doesn’t apply to Israel?? At least we know where you stand.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Yeah, Hamas are evil, but to pretend Israel isn't evil as well is absurd.

Also, Gaza is one of the most densely populated places on earth, pretty much everywhere has people, but last I checked the IDF has tech to precisely target, and they choose to take down tower blocks and deliberately murder civilians, due to the presence of Hamas alone, not due to rocket fire, but for Hamas just being there. This is a war crime.

Also, Hamas rockets (again wrong as it is indiscriminate) were in retaliation to Israel, ethnic cleansing in Sheikh Jarrah. Maybe Israel should stop there criminal ethnic cleansing? Also, do Palestinians have a right to defend themselves? Perhaps Israel should not have engaged in ethnic cleansing and attacking Palestinian holy sites in the first place (there is a ****ing vile video of Israeli's celebrating, with the temple mount fire burning in the background (not saying they were celebrating the fire btw), all the while chanting from a bible story "O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes": https://theintercept.com/2021/05/11/not-fine-video-ultranationalist-frenzy-jerusalem-unsettling/ ), what country would put up with that?

All, I see is excuse after excuse for murderous Israeli aggression. Hamas who again are awful are the ones who retaliated not Israel, Israel are the aggressor, and as such need to stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Fandymo wrote: »
    So international law doesn’t apply to Israel?? At least we know where you stand.

That they believe in self defence?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Self defence?? Haha, if you threw some rocks at my house and I followed you home, killed your family, neighbours, blew up the local hospital, and a local school. I don’t think the judge would take a self defence plea.

Were the Israelis defending themselves when they targeted and murdered the 4 kids, easily distinguishable as children, playing football on the beach in 2014??

Ismail Mohammed Bakr (9)
    Zakaria Ahed Bakr (10)
    Ahed Atef Bakr (10)
    Mohamed Ramez Bakr (11)

biko wrote: »
    It's only news if Israel shoots back.

Very true. Israel is always held to a different standard. I have some sympathy with them.

Quite simply, the day Israel loses a military conflict on their territory, they will be wiped from the map.

Its not self defense as Israel are the aggressor, Palestinians have the same right to defend themselves as anyone else from being ethnically cleansed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Do you not find it curious that Hamas et al are able to stockpile rockets at will? Do you know why...because Israel allows it.

Think about it.

Very true. Israel is always held to a different standard. I have some sympathy with them.

Quite simply, the day Israel loses a military conflict on their territory, they will be wiped from the map.

But hey lets wipe out the Palestinians for the same reason.

Marco23d wrote: »
    Yeah, the israelis/jews are cowards they can only fight now with all their power to crush a powerless people.

Anyone who denies the cowardice of the israelis should ask themselves why it only took 3 or 4 guards to march thousands of jews to their deaths because the nazis knew that not one of them would have the guts to sacrifice themselves.

I know it's harsh to say but it's the truth, it's part of the reason they have become such aggressive bullies to try and wash away the fact that deep down they are the most cowardly people in all of human history.

Jesus H Christ.
    In this day and age.

I can condemn attacks on civilians. Israeli or Palestinian.

Can you?

Eventually the palestenians are going to demand and get Israeli citizenship. That will be the end of country and all their tanks and planes can't save them.

They could prevent this by creating an actual state of palestine, with borders, international trade and a military, but they won't, I understand why they don't want that but it's really their only choice. The palestinians are going to win by losing. It's going to cost a lot of lives but they're willing to pay it. I just can't believe the Israelis are so short sighted

Edz87 wrote: »
    Eventually the palestenians are going to demand and get Israeli citizenship.

IMO, they should do that now. Disband the PA, and all Palestinian governmental agencies. Its clear Israel is opposed to a 2 state solution (Likud definitely is), and will never allow a Palestinian state to exist. So they should demand equal rights.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭jmreire

Do you not find it curious that Hamas et al are able to stockpile rockets at will? Do you know why...because Israel allows it.

Think about it.

Going by the Nr of Israeli attacks on weapon dumps on Syrian territory, I'd doubt that very much.

wes wrote: »
    IMO, they should do that now. Disband the PA, and all Palestinian governmental agencies. Its clear Israel is opposed to a 2 state solution (Likud definitely is), and will never allow a Palestinian state to exist. So they should demand equal rights.

With the scraps of land they have left maybe it's the best outcome. Unfortunately Israels racist nation state laws declare
    The right to exercise national self-determination in the State of Israel is unique to the Jewish people

Think about it.

Costs the Israelis about 50k to shoot down a 500buck glorified mortar

wes wrote: »

With the scraps of land they have left maybe it's the best outcome. Unfortunately Israels racist nation state laws declare
    The right to exercise national self-determination in the State of Israel is unique to the Jewish people

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/4/28/israels-nation-state-law-to-unleash-deepening-apartheid

https://www.msnbc.com/opinion/israeli-palestinian-conflict-complex-court-case-shows-nation-state-law-n1249778

Costs the Israelis about 50k to shoot down a 500buck glorified mortar

Subsidized by the US
    More recently, in fiscal year 2019, the US provided $3.8 billion in foreign military aid to Israel.[2] Israel also benefits from about $8 billion of loan guarantees.[2] Almost all US aid to Israel is now in the form of military assistance,

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Israel%E2%80%93United_States_relations

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Our grandchildren and great grandchildren will be reading about this in their history books, right alongside stories about Nazi Germany and apartheid in South Africa.

They will wonder why our generation sat idly by and done nothing to stop the ethnic cleansing of the Palestinian people.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Our grandchildren and great grandchildren will be reading about this in their history books, right alongside stories about Nazi Germany and apartheid in South Africa.

They will wonder why our generation sat idly by and done nothing to stop the ethnic cleansing of the Palestinian people.

They probably won't..if a txt book said anything bad about Jews it would be pulled from the shelves.