Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous overtake, need help with dashcam footage

• 25-04-2021 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭

Hi folks,

this absolute tool almost caused a 100km/h head on crash with me today during his crazy overtake. he was inches from smashing into me, i've tried to get his/her reg plate from my dashcam footage but i'm finding it hard to get it, is anyone a wiz and can perhaps 'CSI Enhance' this and try and help me get it?

https://youtu.be/MfifLya_D1g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Ah he wasn't that far into your lane. Seen worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Hardly a criminal matter. They were a bit over the line but hardly "head on"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Jesus lads, i dont know, looks dicey to me and is far beyond acceptable.

He started a little soon, that's about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Hotter porridge than that will cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭kil

I had to watch it twice to see the car pulling out. But of an overreaction to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

mickdw wrote: »
    Jesus lads, i dont know, looks dicey to me and is far beyond acceptable.

Bad driving ok, but I've experienced far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Could have been messaging on the phone either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

You must not leave the house often if that's bothering you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Craftylee

watch it in slowmo, you'll see how close it was

What do you plan on doing with the plate if you do get it, any guard will find it hard to get to get motivated to waste time on something like this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 44 Loverlyhorse

Jesus the comments here. That was very dangerous. No wonder we've so many deaths on the road with people thinking this is grand driving. Having "seen worse" is irrelevant, if these cars collided someone could have died at those speeds.

As the OP said - watch is 0.25 speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

Craftylee wrote: »
    watch it in slowmo, you'll see how close it was

Yeah when it's actually happening in real life and you only spot them last second ,at 100 kph and out of the corner of your eye it's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I wouldn't call that head on, they started to overtake a bit early. If he was along side the car he was overtaking I could see reason to report him

What do you plan on doing with the plate if you do get it, any guard will find it hard to get to get motivated to waste time on something like this

Then they should find a different profession. This is absolutely worth prosecuting and giving penalty points.

Guards are pretty well motivated to fine drivers for speeding in much less dangerous circumstances than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Has somebody said "please think of the children" yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

I like to press on but that early out overtake thing is something I hate. Surprised that people are defending it.

Tzardine wrote: »
    Has somebody said "please think of the children" yet?

Yeah, because nobody dies on Irish roads. Dangerous driving is such a non-issue. Bloody nanny state.

/s

kil wrote: »
    I had to watch it twice to see the car pulling out. But of an overreaction to me.

If you had to watch it twice to see the car pulling out - that shows you exactly how dangerous this can be. You've made his point for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Lad ,

Let it go . Move on.

Signed

Fella in Passat

Jesus the comments here. That was very dangerous. No wonder we've so many deaths on the road with people thinking this is grand driving. Having "seen worse" is irrelevant, if these cars collided someone could have died at those speeds.

As the OP said - watch is 0.25 speed.

Statistically we're very safe drivers

Could have been messaging on the phone either

He was indicating

Then they should find a different profession. This is absolutely worth prosecuting and giving penalty points.

Guards are pretty well motivated to fine drivers for speeding in much less dangerous circumstances than this.

Speeding is easily prosecuted with evidence ie. Speed camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭User142

The venn diagram of people who think this is nothing and have panic attacks when these types of roads speed limits are reduced is a circle.

Statistically we're very safe drivers

This person, however, was not.

Speeding is easily prosecuted with evidence ie. Speed camera

And this case is also easily prosecuted with evidence i.e. a camera.

Not that easy. If the OP had a clear image of the reg then he could make a complaint to the Gardai. He would have to go on record, and potentially be a witness in court.

Many "dash cam constables" have not got the stones to actually go this far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

I sincerely you are able to identify the licence plate and are able to report that driver.

Unacceptable way to be driving and equally unacceptable to believe it's a non issue.

This person, however, was not.

I was referring to your post "no wonder we have so many road deaths" statistically we don't have that many at all

What evidence tho, can you point out what the offence is that was caught on camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

What evidence tho, can you point out what the offence is that was caught on camera

Nice passat whats your reg?

Wow this has really caused a stir.
    I think the fact how some (like me) think this was very dangerous and others have the "sure lookit, he didnt hit you, its grand" view, kinda highlights how low the standards are for folks on the road.

I can pretty much guarantee all of you, had this been you with your family in the car and being inches from colliding head on with some impatient idiot, you would have a different view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

In Ireland you have to kill someone before anyone cares. Even then depending on your age the law might still try to help you escape prosecution. We are just an awfully "nice" place to live.

I was referring to your post "no wonder we have so many road deaths" statistically we don't have that many at all

That comment doesn't make any sense. Don't have that many at all - compared to what?

Compared to lightening deaths... we've far more road fatalities.
    Compared to other countries... well so what?

74 deaths in 2019 is 74 too many.

Crossing onto the other side of the road. Dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭kirving

Craftylee wrote: »
    Wow this has really caused a stir.

No matter how lose abiding and safe you are, if you post dashcam footage on boards.ie, you'll get abuse.

YouTube will tend to minimise detail in fast moving video. If you could upload to Google Drive as a .zip file, or any other file sharing site, you might have a better chance of ID'ing the reg. You could also open in VLC player and go frame by frame (in think you press E), and zoom in.

kirving wrote: »
    No matter how lose abiding and safe you are, if you post dashcam footage on boards.ie, you'll get abuse.

YouTube will tend to minimise detail in fast moving video. If you could upload to Google Drive as a .zip file, or any other file sharing site, you might have a better chance of ID'ing the reg. You could also open in VLC player and go frame by frame (in think you press E), and zoom in.

Yeah i think you're right - crazy how some belittle these things and take the sides of folks driving however they want. But thanks for your help

Crossing onto the other side of the road. Dangerous driving.

This is not typically considered to be "dangerous driving" as per the Act.

It is however something which carries a fixed penalty notice of 80 euro and 3 points.

That comment doesn't make any sense. Don't have that many at all - compared to what?

You're just being obtuse about it now, you do understand how statistics work dont you, you said "no wonder we have so many road deaths" when in actual fact compared to other countries we don't, your post was hyperbolic at best and totally irrelevant to the topic at hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Everybody makes a bad judgement from time to time and I'm sure the OP does too. This guy probably realised he made the wrong choice when he had to correct it but this is in no way reckless driving, no matter how much you'd like it to be. Typical of boardsies to call this out as requiring life in jail

You're just being obtuse about it now, you do understand how statistics work dont you, you said "no wonder we have so many road deaths" when in actual fact compared to other countries we don't, your post was hyperbolic at best and totally irrelevant to the topic at hand

In a list of 28 EU countries, we were number 24 for road deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

He was a bit early alright. Truth be told though the guards won’t have interest in prosecuting. I’ve submitted video evidence of worse on two different occasions and all I got was excuses.

Can’t help with your original query regarding reg number, but the guards themselves can help with that if you make the compliant and submit it via USB key which you won’t get back.

Good luck.

GuHOB5w.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Everybody makes a bad judgement from time to time......but this is in no way reckless driving

It bloody hell is.

You cannot start to overtake with a car coming in the opposite direction.

It's that simple.

We've all seen driving like this and your first thought is fu€,king hell.......that driver should be reported and taken off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭embraer170

The Youtube footage doesn't seem to be good but I wonder if it starts with 03 - D - ????.

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Everybody makes a bad judgement from time to time and I'm sure the OP does too. This guy probably realised he made the wrong choice when he had to correct it but this is in no way reckless driving, no matter how much you'd like it to be. Typical of boardsies to call this out as requiring life in jail

Nobody called for that. Typical boardsie you are - exaggerating to paint a straw man of the opposing argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

I hate that arguement. We aren't designed to travel at car speeds so its inevitable that road deaths will happen, tragic yes but silly hyperbole like 'x deaths is x too many' doesn't help the conversation at all. Apply that logic to anything and it falls on its face

Tzardine wrote: »
    In a list of 28 EU countries, we were number 24 for road deaths.

What about international stats

We do even better.

How do you expect we would compare to countries in Africa, South America, Central Asia and Middle East?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Forget the chat about yearly deaths. Who thinks this was dangerous and who thinks it wasn't

I think its more dangerous than 99% of speed fines I've seen posted on the garda twitter account