Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,537 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

OK I'll bite. What has she ever actually achieved?

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,803 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

She does the odd youtube video

Apart from that you will be struggling to find her to have achieved anything in her political career

Like all Independents, achieving anything is not what they became a TD for, the pay and pension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I'll tell you what, before I reply...for comparison purposes, can you tell me your constituency and who your first preference was in 2020.

I'll reply when I am home. Don't forget your own TD @Hotblack Desiato

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

Catherine Connolly has been notorious for years even in left wing political circles as being all about champagne socialist / media optics issues, and primarily only really caring about her own profile. She hasn't achieved a patch on any TD who's been a minister and who's actually directly influenced government policy. Or even plenty of opposition TDs that have done actual work that was good for the country over the years like Catherine Murphy or Michael McNamara.

I too would be eager to know what exactly you think she's achieved. Hopefully this time without you trying to deflect from giving a direct answer to a very easy question.

My guess is that Hotblack voted for some random FFG TD backbench that nobody knows. He/She has spent 4 years voting as per the whip and doing what he/she was told. Possibly making good use of expenses.

Catherine Connolly is the 1st ever woman to hold office as Ceann Comhairle. Her election by the Dail in 2020 came as a bit of a shock. FFG were not happy about it. It caused them huge embarrassment for FFG but the rest of the Dail knew they had elected a superb Leas Ceann Comhairle and she has proven her abilities in that role. It was noted at the time that 15 FF and FG TDs must have voted for her.

Connolly is extremely intelligent and speaks very well in the Dail. She is a barrister and a psychologist. She was chair of the committee on the Irish language, the Gaeltacht and the islands and has done great work both in the Dail and in the west to promote the Irish language. Connolly was also superb on the Public Accounts Committee

Connolly has done amazing work in her defence of the women in both Magdalene laudries, Industrial schools and Mother and Baby homes. She has worked tirelessly on their behalf. This is exceptionally important to me personally. She embarassed the 3 unwise men (Leo, Martin, Roderic) to instigate an investigation into the leaked and whitewashed Mother and Baby home report.

She has more honestly and integrity than most TDs. She worked as a psychologist in the western health board and is "allergic to spin" as she said herself. She is constantly tackling the Taoiseach in Leaders questions around the trolley crisis and the state of the health system. And they squirm when she has the floor because they know she runs rings around their spoof.

But yeah I wish I had elected a backbench FFG TD.

Some superb contributions on the mother and baby home report (I know some won't look at them because they are intimidated by intelligent women).

On the leaking of the report and the "abuse heaped upon abuse" with the whitewashed report.

On the delays of the reports. Zappone was squirming.

Most recently on the Trolley crisis in Galway hospital.

'One always loses the will to live on this': Catherine Connolly slams Govt over trolley numbers

“All of the time I am getting different answers.

“It would be easier to read The Castle or Metamorphosis by Kafka – which is extremely difficult to read – It would be easier to read it in German, Irish or English than to understand the answers that are coming in relation to the hospital in Galway,” the Independent TD said. 

Connolly pointed to an appraisal carried out in 2019 which found that 64% of the infrastructure was not suitable.

She said today, 62 patients are on trolleys in the hospital and noted that earlier this year when the number hit 73 it was the worst recorded figure since the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) started collecting data. 

In 2015, Taoiseach Enda Kenny told the Dáil that the hospital was “not fit for purpose”.

In response, Connolly said: 

Minister, one always loses the will to live really in relation to this.”

She continued: “2014: Not fit for purpose. 10 years later: Not fit for purpose. And you are telling me then that there is money going into this?”

“How in God’s name can we stand over a situation 10 years later, where we don’t even have a deadline for an accident and emergency?,” Connolly asked.

I don’t want to stand here and lambaste the Government. I want a public health service that’s fit for us to call ourselves a Republic.”

No nonsense. Tough lady.

Catherine Connolly has never been Ceann Comhairle. She was Leas-Cheann Comhairle.

Thats like saying Mary Harney was the first woman to ever hold office as Taoiseach and deserves praise for it. It rather devalues your entire post if you don't know the very basic difference.

Its also a personal achievement that advanced herself, not any influence on policy making/laws for the country of Ireland.

"Extremely intelligent and speaks well" or "honesty and integrity" are also not achievements. They're adjectives. Did you ask ChatGPT for a blurb on her or something?

Maybe try again and actually answer the question, and outline any actual achievements, ie laws implemented or concrete policy changes.

She still does the role when Sean is not doing it.

Leas-Cheann Comhairle – Houses of the Oireachtas

Catherine Connolly is the first woman to hold office as Ceann Comhairle or Leas-Cheann Comhairle in Dáil Éireann. She was elected Leas-Cheann Comhairle of the 33rd Dáil on 23 July 2020.

In the absence of the Ceann Comhairle the Leas-Cheann Comhairle deputises and performs the duties and exercises the authority of the Ceann Comhairle in Dáil proceedings

She has never been in government but you knew that.

Who is your hero TD?

As I said, a couple of YouTube videos is now seen as an achievement

You could reply directly Clo-Clo instead of the indirect snide comments. A little honour perhaps. I know she intimidates you but I can't help that.

What has your No. 1 TD achieved? Backbencher?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

No election for Leas-Cheann Comhairle has ever caused anyone any embarrassment in the history of the State because most people don't even know the first thing about it.

Independents, and particularly opposition independents, have contributed absolutely nothing of any legislative importance historically.

Right yeah.

Catherine Connolly is the first woman to be elected Leas Ceann Comhairle

Ms Connolly beat the agreed government candidate, Fine Gael's Fergus O'Dowd, in a further embarrassment to the Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Green Party coalition.

Sources say "a post mortem" was underway in the aftermath of the result, as the vote is held in a secret ballot, it is not yet known who defected from the government.

"As it happened someone from Fine Gael just said: 'What the ****?' out loud," a source added.

"Everyone's in the same boat, total shock, we expected Catherine to get a good vote as everyone likes her, but it turns out she had the lion's share."

"It's extraordinary, this government is a shambles."

"Between the committees and now this, it's one thing after another," a source added.

………

Some of the male TDs in the Dail took umbrage with her direct style. She fairly took on some your FF heroes including the lovely Marc McSharry.

Complaint lodged over Marc MacSharry's 'outburst' in Dáil

But I really liked the way she stood up to the disrespectful waffler Stephen Donnelly.

And yet none of ye have told me about your own hard working TDs that you voted for. Touched a nerve I think 😂

Surprise defeat for Government as Catherine Connolly becomes Leas Cheann Comhairle – The Irish Times

The result marked the first Dáil defeat for the Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael-Green Party coalition and is being seen as an embarrassment given its majority in the House. An estimated 15 Government TDs voted against Mr O’Dowd.

Ms Connolly received a standing ovation from her colleagues on Thursday night when the result was formally declared. Ceann Comhairle Seán O’Fearghaíl described her election as “historic” and a great occasion and acknowledged the “distinguished” campaign run by Louth TD Mr O’Dowd.

Ms Connolly had decided to run because “we complain about gender inequality” and there was only one other, male, candidate.

Uncomfortable for some here I know…

See Her Elected - SHE

Uncomfortable for some here I know…

I could not possibly care less who the Leas-Ceann Comhairle is and nor does 99.9% of the country.

You still haven't pointed to anything she has actually done. This isn't even a point relevant to her individually, independent TDs generally accomplish absolutely nothing, especially in opposition.

I don't particularly disagree with this - I think the starting salary is probably too low - but it is not an "easy" solution because there is no way you could do it without causing uproar among every other Public Service union across the country.

That comment wasn't directed at you. It was for the misogynists.

She has held the government to account on many topics especially around the treatment of women by the state. I can guarantee that the 3 unwise men hold her in the highest regard despite her gutting them several times.

Who should I have voted for in Galway West?

Who did you vote for?

Fair enough.

You should vote for whoever you want to represent you. If people want that to be independents that is their choice, I'm merely saying that they tend to be fairly ineffective. I can't speak to how much value people ascribe to questions and speeches in the Dáil though.

I don't live in Ireland so nobody, last time I was there I voted for Richard Bruton if you must know. I am not sure who I would vote for now had I the choice. I'm not really seeing the relevance though - I have very little time for people who go into the Dáil with no intention of ever even aiming for governance.

"intimidates you"

😂

Already had this discussion with you and pointless going over it.

Independents are totally useless, over paid county councillors. All of them, male or female. A couple of YouTube videos doesn't change that

If an Independent was offered a Minister role they would run a million miles from it because it would require work. More than a few YouTubes.

Now you can waffle on that its "misogynists" etc to cover up. But as I said all independents are useless

To give an example of who votes for Independents. Healy Rae on the radio saying the RSA should give all their money to road companies to build more roads. Cheered on by his voters. When I pointed out he has a company which makes millions from building roads I was told I was wrong, then all sorts of names. Thats the voters for the Independents.

Or actually the best example, you moaned before on this thread that a greenway wasn't built in your area and it was the Green Party fault. The Green Party has no TD in your area but instead of blaming the TD you voted in, you blamed a party with no TD in your area.

That's what Catherine has achieved for you. But you blame someone else. Ridiculous stuff but carry on.

Independents are useless. Overpaid County Councillors.

They should be banned. Leave them at the county council level, they can do YouTube videos as a county councillors.

No that's not how it works. You made a claim but you can't back it up, so now you're deflecting. As an independent she's a waste of space just like the rest of them, glorified county councillors. She might have achieved something as a member of a party.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

Well it's all entry level grades in the public sector which are having great difficulty in recruiting and retaining staff - substantial increases across the board are needed. Successive public sector pay deals have resulted in increases below inflation.

If an Independent was offered a Minister role they would run a million miles from it because it would require work.

Shane Ross somehow got the Minister for Transport job - he was entirely useless and spent the whole time trying to get a garda station reopened in his constituency. His inaction cost lives.

Sure, but at that point it stops being "very easy" or cheap. Clearly it is something that needs addressing, though whacking 20k onto the starting salaries of anyone is not going to happen.

I admire your honesty. Bruton was a good TD (I voted FG for 20 years until 2016). I wish others were a little more open. Connolly has sponsored several private members bills - Independents can produce legislation. Tony Gregory did ok for an IND...

Lies Clo-Clo. Stop making things up. Find the link (you know, proof?). I don't care about the greenway. I don't cycle. I believe the greenway is a council project. Nice to have but I wont hold my breath.

It was the Galway Ring Road. In "planning" for 20+ years. Traffic has ground to a halt. I blame FFG completely and entirely for that.

Now, who did you vote for? Show me what they achieved. Backbencher I presume. Robert Troy maybe? 😉

Quid pro quo. A little honour please. I have answered all your questions. You haven't answered a single one.

What did your TD achieve? Alan Farrell perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

In what sense did his inaction cost lives? Road safety deaths were far better under him.

The best solution I've heard for that is to massively increase the pay premium for weekend and night work across the board, for all public sector employees. That would be much easier to get past the other unions but would see the increase effectively limited to emergency services staff who do shift work (and junior staff within that most of all). ie the public sector staff who most need the pay increase.

Though given the huge difficulties retaining and recruiting pretty much all public sector staff at the moment a bump to starting pay across the board of 5k would probably be advisable/reasonable too, if much more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,748 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Apologies for the delay responding.

I suppose in hindsight I should have voted for one of the "New Politics" Fine Gael politicians since 2011.

Who would you have recommended from this crew?

Alan Farrell (FG) – Dodgy expenses, Insurance scam

Michelle Mulherin (FG) – Dodgy expenses

Maria Bailey (FG) – Dodgy expenses, Insurance scam

Dara Murphy (FG) - Expense fraud. Leo asked him to pay it back 🤣

Simon Coveney - Created crony position for Zappone as a reward for not doing her job

Fidelma Healy Eames (Galway West) - Dodgy Expenses, Not paying tax, Not paying for public transport

James Reilly (FG) - Cronyism for healthcare facilities, Children's Hospital

Phil Hogan (FG) - Irish Water setup, Consultant spend, Missing minutes

Leo Varadkar (FG) - Leaked documents

Hugh McElvaney (FG) - Show me the money - Planning fraud

etc

If I voted for Fine Gael again, I would be condoning above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Oops I posted whilst I am still banned sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭harryharry25

Don't think many watching Simon tonight will be voting for FG

3 nights of FG/FF on TV have just made an absolute joke of themselves

Roll on the next few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

FG housing manifesto is ill advised at the least. More money to heat up the market even more.

Increase to 40k for help to buy

First home scheme expanded to 2nd hand houses.

Would they just leave it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There's some merit in expanding it to second hand homes. A big problem with the current situation for renters is trying to put a deposit together while paying rent and other bills (not everyone can move home to their childhood bedroom or has access to the bank of mam and dad).

There's money available from the Revenue from taxes paid that could help with this problem, but it's only for new houses which are out of reach for many of these people.

The second hand market however could certainly help. Yes it would increase prices there too unfortunately, but "leaving them all to it" hasn't worked out either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,748 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I think one of the main parties is promising to extend HTB to the second-hand market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yep. Martin mentioned it in an interview yesterday I believe.

Simon Harris last night promising to increase the energy bills of every household, and every business, in the country by 2% is a bold move. I can't imagine it'll be too popular.

Blut2's suggestion was increasing the salary of a Garda by 20k which is what I was originally responding to.

Increasing the salary of every member of the gardai in Ireland by 20,000e overnight would only cost us an extra 282mn a year, and thats not accounting for the tax returns of that money filtering back into the economy which would reduce the headline cost figure substantially.

Its a very easy, achievable solution, that our current government just refuses to consider.

My point was just that a) you can't do it in isolation like that and b) it's definitely not "very easy".

I agree that across the board civil servants probably need a payrise at this point.

In the grand scheme of whats possible as a country through government policy it is actually comparatively very easy to give our currently very poorly paid junior gardai a significant pay rise.

We have the money, we have the logic/reason to do it, and it would have the voter support.

And logistically its exceptionally easy - the stroke of a pen. Its not exactly building a children's hospital.

Except you can't give gardaí a pay rise and not tens of thousands (hundreds of thousands?) of other civil servants without causing massive disruption.

I'm not particularly arguing the signing of a piece of paper is difficult, but that the fallout from it would need to be dealt with and would inevitably end up costing many billions.

If the will was there there are things that could be done.

As I noted above, one useful example I've heard discussed is to give a uniform, across the board, big pay rise for all public employees - but limited to renumeration for night and weekend hours.

That cuts out the vast majority of office based, and senior, civil servants, and would limit the benefit almost exclusively to gardai and emergency/medical staff. And junior staff in those areas, at that - senior management isn't working at 3am on a Tuesday morning. Reducing the cost hugely.

And its also something it wouldn't be difficult to sell to the voters - whos going to object to junior nurses or gardai getting paid more to work horrible overnight shifts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

You're right about that.

One thing they could do, and they've had a few stabs at it so far with small increases, is raise the training allowance to match the year 1 salary.

€354 a week isn't bad money if you're joining the Gardai in your early 20s and dont have financial commitments. However there's no point extending the age at which people can join up if they can't afford to switch career.

Jim O'C and Helen McEntee having a spat on Prime Time.

It all looks very rehearsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Justice. Policing. Jim was essentially saying that the stuff FFG got done (very little) with regards policing and legislation were down to his ideas. Ideas he had passed to the minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

They had the same spat on "The Tonight" show from yesterday.

It's funny to see a spat within the same party.