Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silage Costs

• 04-04-2021 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭

What is cost to mow bale and wrap with/without plastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

Mow/bale/wrap €10 per bale - including VAT, not including plastic.

Plastic supplied at cost if needs be but it's only a balls carrying the credit of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

karolmc100 wrote: »
    What is cost to mow bale and wrap with/without plastic

20 ac to mow

6 to bale and wrap not including plastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

€13 mow, rake, bale, wrap+one extra wrap per bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

Some of ye get great deals - it’s 12/acre from my man just to rake it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Sugarbowl wrote: »

Wat size fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

I’ve a couple 3-4 acres fields and thats what it cost. He wouldn’t do it every time, only if you wanted it.

That's why tis 12 a 3 acre field will take as long as a 6 acre field small fields are a bastard to rake you've to be fully concentrated you cant touch a thing with a rake or your talking alot of money to repair likes of posts etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

lab man wrote: »
    That's why tis 12 a 3 acre field will take as long as a 6 acre field small fields are a bastard to rake you've to be fully concentrated you cant touch a thing with a rake or your talking alot of money to repair likes of posts etc

it dose no take that long extra. I have all paddocks most varying in size from 3-5 acres. Contractor charges 10/bale to mow, rake, bale and wrap. There is about 25 acres to do. I pay when he contacts me usually within 7 days of him going out the gate. Second cut would be similar about 18-20 acres.

Slava Ukrainii

it dose no take that long extra. I have all paddocks most varying in size from 3-5 acres. Contractor charges 10/bale to mow, rake, bale and wrap. There is about 25 acres to do. I pay when he contacts me usually within 7 days of him going out the gate. Second cut would be similar about 18-20 acres.

Fair play to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Fair play to you

Fair play to the contractor I’d say. Local lad here is a nightmare to get a bill off. I’d be chasing him with at least 5 phone calls every year to get bill. One year got nothing off him and the bill ran to the following year and paid 2 years together which is not good.

I’d love to pay lads going out the gate but they never make it happen. A different lad done reseeding for me last year. After the 5th phone call I gave up. Still hasn’t come with a bill.

Fair play to you

As Dunedin says it's s two way thing the contractor must supply the bill and you must have money in the account( I have a 10k overdraft on the farm account) to pay it. He be happy with half and remainder a few weeks later.

Dunedin I know a lads that pays on account to a contractor that is like that. The. O tractor dose baling and slurry. When the slurry is g
    Done he gives him 80% of previous years final slurry bill. With bales he counts the bales knows the prices and gives him 80% of it. I am not sure dose he post it or have it on him if he meets him

Slava Ukrainii

When the slurry is done he gives him 80% of previous years final slurry bill. With bales he counts the bales knows the prices and gives him 80% of it.

I couldn’t be arsed with that sort of messing. Silage is straight forward in it’s easy count the bales but the hedge cutting, disking, ploughing, bits of agitation, maybe put out an odd tank of slurry or ton of fert where I haven’t time all vary from year to year and contractor should just give a bill when asked or in a reasonable time and let the farmer pay them.

Dunedin wrote: »
    I couldn’t be arsed with that sort of messing. Silage is straight forward in it’s easy count the bales but the hedge cutting, disking, ploughing, bits of agitation, maybe put out an odd tank of slurry or ton of fert where I haven’t time all vary from year to year and contractor should just give a bill when asked or in a reasonable time and let the farmer pay them.

I agree entirely bits it's a solution of sorts. If on the other hand the contractor is good and come when you need him and his charges are competitive do you change him over an issue like this. I taught this lads solution was handy. It serves him as well in that he has a good idea how his account balance is. This way he would only have 500-1k outstanding at end of year.

I am always of the opinion look at the solution not continually at the problem. Most lads get bogged down by problems as they are not willing to consider the solution.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

I agree entirely bits it's a solution of sorts. If on the other hand the contractor is good and come when you need him and his charges are competitive do you change him over an issue like this. I taught this lads solution was handy. It serves him as well in that he has a good idea how his account balance is. This way he would only have 500-1k outstanding at end of year.

I am always of the opinion look at the solution not continually at the problem. Most lads get bogged down by problems as they are not willing to consider the solution.

A good contractor who comes when you want him, within fair reason, is more than worth a cheque in the cab of the tractor going out the gate. Worth it to the farmer as well.

And visa versa is true too if he a bit of a pain in the hole to get a bill off. Just look at solutions not problems

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

And visa versa is true too if he a bit of a pain in the hole to get a bill off. Just look at solutions not problems

Can someone please tell me why they don’t want to get paid?

Never said anything about changing him at all. He’s 110% reliable in any kind of weather. Just paying him is the problem

Where u based if u dont mind me asking I'm in clare there isn't a hope of getting money off 90% of farmers till october that's a fact I could be asking and asking

Midlands biffo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Fella around here is 15 an acre + VAT for raking.

Not for 3 or 4 acres at a time either. You'd be talking at least 20 acres at a time.

Midlands biffo

A lad did a job for me here in 2018. I’d know the lad so there’d be no issue with his work or price. He said job would be around €8500 and maybe less. Anyways after a long battle I rang him at Christmas (2020) and said jayus we need to get this sorted. He came down and said €8k for the job and I gave him a cheque and all were happy - still hasn’t cashed it......

Single fella with no mortgage but even so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭trg

Does anyone contract out their silage? As in cut none yourself but buy it all from someone.

trg wrote: »
    Does anyone contract out their silage? As in cut none yourself but buy it all from someone.

I know of a guy that does it buys 1000 plus every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I know of a guy that does it buys 1000 plus every year

My father did it once a few years ago. Not everything but a few hundred bales.
    He figured it was cheaper per bale to buy it in rather than making it. And it was. Just not cheaper when you take quality into account. He only buys in a few now if he thinks he might run short. So only the odd year.

trg wrote: »

Assuming you mean bales. The problem is knowing what’s in them. If you know the grass that’s in them and can get them stacked in your yard for €25 , then it’s a good way to go as it’ll cost you nearly €25 yourself. But I certainly wouldn’t be buying too many from unknown sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

How do you deal with lads that don't wrap the bales enough? All the balers in our area seem to have broken timers on their balers :rolleyes:

They ere on the side of caution and don't wrap them half enough...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Fair play to the contractor I’d say. Local lad here is a nightmare to get a bill off. I’d be chasing him with at least 5 phone calls every year to get bill. One year got nothing off him and the bill ran to the following year and paid 2 years together which is not good.

I’d love to pay lads going out the gate but they never make it happen. A different lad done reseeding for me last year. After the 5th phone call I gave up. Still hasn’t come with a bill.

Get me then.....I've no trouble sending out a bill :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Reggie. wrote: »
    Get me then.....I've no trouble sending out a bill :D

I'm always saying this "we are absolutely blessed round here anyway with lads prepared to beg,borrow,steal, money & buy machinery & go out on the country for a few weeks work at most types of work & then not be too bothered if their not payed promptly by being hard to get them to tell you what their owed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ruwithme wrote: »
    I'm always saying this "we are absolutely blessed round here anyway with lads prepared to beg,borrow,steal, money & buy machinery & go out on the country for a few weeks work at most types of work & then not be too bothered if their not payed promptly by being hard to get them to tell you what their owed"

For the farmer maybe true but for the contracting business its not good really having individuals like that