Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prevent my catalytic converter from being stolen?

• 28-03-2021 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭

Hi there
    I have 07 Yaris. A few cars in my area have had their catalytic converter stolen. Am just wondering where it would be in my car. Near the front or back. Just wondering what safest way to park it in my drive. I usually reverse in with the back of the car facing my front door. Is this the safest way to park so it would be more difficult to steal the converter

Many thanks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

The cat on a Yaris isn’t worth taking. You are safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Here's an image of the underside, it's basically the front middle of the car section where the exhaust pipe widens.
    https://i.imgur.com/XcBcsNG.jpg

The issue is access to the underside of the car, once they can get a jack in they can get access. There are deterrents you can have fitted like Catloc (www.catloc.co.uk).

I was thinking myself if you were to build a line of blocks just high enough so that you can open the car doors and drive the car in between that channel of blocks it wouldn't be possible to put the car up on a jack from the sides. Not the most appealing thing to have on your driveway.

There's a thread here on thefts...
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057951744

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its just hybrids they target??

M

fryup wrote: »
    its just hybrids they target??

Primarily but small petrol cars too are targets like Honda Jazz. Diesels have been stolen too but to a lesser degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭JibJabWibWab

yogalady wrote: »
    Hi there
    I have 07 Yaris. A few cars in my area have had their catalytic converter stolen. Am just wondering where it would be in my car. Near the front or back. Just wondering what safest way to park it in my drive. I usually reverse in with the back of the car facing my front door. Is this the safest way to park so it would be more difficult to steal the converter

Many thanks

I was going to recommend a dog, but the fcukers steal both cats and dogs now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Tork

Not true. I know someone who had a mid noughties Yaris that had its cat stolen. Car was written off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

Last 2 people I know who had them stolen were driving old yaris's

Prob just an easy target.

Was wondering this myself. Missus got a little hybrid there and was thinking of seeing if one of the lads could do a bit of extra welding.

I assume they just cut the pipe pre and post cat and pull the whole lot out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I know someone who had a mid noughties Yaris that had its cat stolen

as in catalytic converter? not meoww cat?

never know these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

They're roughly €120 onwards to the scrapman, well worth for the shams to take unfortunately

In fairness its the scrapyard that actually buys 20 of these of the dirty robbing rats we should really be after.

All cash and a pointless docket in the Irish scrapyard.

M

All cash and a pointless docket in the Irish scrapyard.

They should have to provide a logbook record linked to each catalytic convertor they have and verified photo ID taken matching logbook of who they got it from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Miscreant

There is a long, multi page thread about Catalytic Converter thefts here: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057951744 already if you want to have a read through it OP. Plenty of advice and suggestions in it too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

You need to keep your day job if you think a cat off a Yaris is making €120.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Only telling it as it is, you don't have to take my word for it

No shame in being incorrect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Especially when they're handy to get at on a yaris.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

All this is hypothetical and such.... I've ordered a decat pipe for my car. Now mine is positively ancient compared to the majority of cars, but it has a cat and fcuk the scum if they think they can nick it. It'll run perfectly fine without it(should even liberate a few horsies) and I'll just stick it back on for the NCT. If the politicians, judges and Guards aren't going to clamp down on this and they could, then I dont see why I should give a toss. Allegedly..

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Isn’t it the mk1 Yaris they go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Funnily enough he has been working on cars all his life so I wouldn't be too quick to dismiss his opinion ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I know of a couple of early yaris that were done lately so must be worth their while and easy to get at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Isn’t it the mk1 Yaris they go for?

Yes, more precious metals in mk1 cat I heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Wibbs wrote: »
    All this is hypothetical and such.... I've ordered a decat pipe for my car. Now mine is positively ancient compared to the majority of cars, but it has a cat and fcuk the scum if they think they can nick it. It'll run perfectly fine without it(should even liberate a few horsies) and I'll just stick it back on for the NCT. If the politicians, judges and Guards aren't going to clamp down on this and they could, then I dont see why I should give a toss. Allegedly..

If they go to the bother of getting under your car to cut the cat off and don't find one they'll still cut the feck out of your car or worse snip the brakes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Del2005 wrote: »
    If they go to the bother of getting under your car to cut the cat off and don't find one they'll still cut the feck out of your car or worse snip the brakes.
    Highly unlikely. It's not worth their hassle. If you look at videos of them, they almost always look under the car first to check. So they see no cat, then go to the trouble of jacking up the car and getting the saw out, all the while increasing the risk of being seen and for what? Far easier to just go to the next easier pickings. Never mind that if the cat is present they'll cut the fcuk out of the exhaust and the lambda sensor wires so that'll need replacing too.

I've seen this a "ah sure if they really want something.../they'll take revenge if they don't get it" notion before when applied to security and preventative action of all kinds. It's self defeating and very passive IMHO and one reason why some property crime is so high. You can make it harder for them, you can decrease your risk. If we all took that attitude then why have burglar alarms, or locks and immobilisers on our cars. After all if they really want to steal from you...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

I see they have recovered a few!!
    (Just the tip of the problem)

Shame no arrests.

https://www.rte.ie/news/dublin/2021/0415/1210030-garda-dublin/

Sligo Metalhead

BronsonTB wrote: »
    I see they have recovered a few!!
    (Just the tip of the problem)

Shame no arrests.

https://www.rte.ie/news/dublin/2021/0415/1210030-garda-dublin/

Would love for them to really penalise those involved but it will be minor and the game will go on at another warehouse location.

Maybe find 300 victims with the requisite car types and make the owner pay for all damages caused.

Good to see they are actually trying to do something about it anyway. Love how a car that arrived during the raid had no tax or insurance (hopefully they found a few in the boot so the driver can be done)