Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Irish family appeal mandatory quarantine..

sporina wrote: »
    so lots of people on here slagging the Mum cos "we have been in lockdown etc and so as we have had to suffer, then they should suck it up too etc"...

2 wrongs do not make a right... granted she was being a bit dramatic about it all - but yeah, she's human.. but she wasn't trying to get out of quarantine - she just wanted better conditions for her and her family..

Nonsense, that's exactly what she's trying to do......tug on the heart strings so they can get out of quarantine and have that big birthday bash for the kid. Do you reckon she would be quarantining the entire family without the mandatory rules in place?
    would she fcuk

She is going on as if it's Auschwitz. This is a four star hotel that costs upwards of €100 a night for a room. And it's quite telling that the things she's giving out about are either a) completely fabricated, b) easily avoided or c) not really that big of a deal. If she had real complaints, then there might be some real sympathy. She doesn't, so comes across as a moany whinge-bag. she chose to go public, so be it on her own head.
    faceman wrote: »
    Ironically the family came from the safest places in the world as far as covid is concerned and had a mere 45 minute layover and they’re forced to a 2 weeks quarantine at the cost of €5000.

Great. Who were they sitting beside/behind/in front of on the plane(s) for hours at a time? Where did those people originate from and who were they sitting beside? Don't know? Then tough titty, missus, into quarantine you go.

Also, maybe it might dawn on you (but maybe it won't) that the reason the place they've come from is so safe to begin with BECAUSE of the mandatory quarantine imposed on people flying in. Like I said, maybe.

They don’t even have a bed or chair each!

Oh, the humanity. We can't all sit in chairs at the same time (based on the incomplete video we've staged to make things seem worse than they are). And the two youngest have to share a bed........this is outrageous, someone call Interpol!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭sporina

Antares35 wrote: »
    By slagging do you mean "expect some kind of perspective"?

And it's been pointed out many times the mental health issues caused by lockdown over the last year, impact on abuse survivors and victims, domestic abuse, people in care homes suffering isolation, people being buried in body bags, dying alone, minimum numbers at funerals, babies unable to meet their family, some women giving birth alone, all antenatal appointments including those where the woman receives devastating news, attended alone.

So, not just "we have been in lockdown too". But more of a "please have a bit of perspective and think about the cohorts affected by the above mentioned before whingeing to the national press about not being able to get a birthday cake".

yes and of course I have the upmost sympathy for anyone who has been adversely affected by the restrictions etc.. and this family too...

people on here have been going on about how tough they have found lockdown, but so what, this family should just suck it up and shut up... no sympathy at all.. one would imagine that those struggling with our restrictions would have even a little sympathy for this family who have to live in a hotel suite for 2 weeks! but no.

I'd like to see how some people on here would cope with the situation.. jaysus - the boards website would crash with the onslaught.. awe well - none as queer as folk as my Mum would say..

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Pelezico

The border is open....people can come and go as they please. This whole quarantine is a joke. It panders to the opposition. Pity our vaccination programme is so dire.

Watching returned immigrants pay loads of money is great craic for some people though

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Nonsense, that's exactly what she's trying to do......tug on the heart strings so they can get out of quarantine and have that big birthday bash for the kid. Do you reckon she would be quarantining the entire family without the mandatory rules in place?
    would she fcuk

You're making a lot of assumptions about people you dont know. People often do that when projecting their own beliefs about what they personally would do. Just saying....
    wrote:
    She is going on as if it's Auschwitz. This is a four star hotel that costs upwards of €100 a night for a room. And it's quite telling that the things she's giving out about are either a) completely fabricated, b) easily avoided or c) not really that big of a deal. If she had real complaints, then there might be some real sympathy. She doesn't, so comes across as a moany whinge-bag. she chose to go public, so be it on her own head.

At nowhere in her video, or in news was any reference made to Auschwitz. Its offensive. Godwin's law at its best. You're trivialising one of the greatest tragedies and atrocities in human history. Also you're suggesting that quality of life, health and civil liberties.

You've undermined your credibility at this point but I'll continue because, sure why not.

wrote:
    Great. Who were they sitting beside/behind/in front of on the plane(s) for hours at a time? Where did those people originate from and who were they sitting beside? Don't know? Then tough titty, missus, into quarantine you go.

Also, maybe it might dawn on you (but maybe it won't) that the reason the place they've come from is so safe to begin with BECAUSE of the mandatory quarantine imposed on people flying in. Like I said, maybe.

You have just contradicted yourself over the space of both paragraphs. But lets take them separately, for fun.

I'm not psychic but I expect unless the are a very odd family, they were probably sitting beside each other on the plane. As to who was in front or behind, well that doesn't matter so much. Everyone was wearing masks, was traveling with a negative PCR test and was onboard a commercial aircraft. We know that commercial aircraft have HEPA air filtration systems, similar to hospitals, so they're in a lower risk environment than any other indoor setting. in fact they're in one of the safest indoor environments because there is virtually no socialising on airplanes beyond interacting with airline staff, who are wearing PPE and are tested regularly.

In the unlikely event that they were exposed to Covid, and its very unlikely they were, passenger manifestos are shared as part of contact tracing.

Taking your second paragraph. They've come from the safest place in the world with a 45 minute stopover. The risk is extremely low. A year worth of Covid data from around the world confirms that.
    wrote:
    Oh, the humanity. We can't all sit in chairs at the same time (based on the incomplete video we've staged to make things seem worse than they are). And the two youngest have to share a bed........this is outrageous, someone call Interpol!

At this point you've lost the run of yourself. Why should the family, who paid €5,000, not be entitled to a bed each and a chair each? They haven't committed a crime. Even in high security prisons, where we house murderers and rapists, each prisoner has access to a bed and seating. Is there a particular reason why people in quarantine should be deprived of basic necessities? Do feel the same about people in direct provision, homeless shelters, women's refuge centres? I suspect you dont, but Im not sure given your tone.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Irish mentality at its pettiest

• Registered Users Posts: 11,753 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users Posts: 13,729 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

so lots of people on here slagging the Mum cos "we have been in lockdown etc and so as we have had to suffer, then they should suck it up too etc"...

2 wrongs do not make a right... granted she was being a bit dramatic about it all - but yeah, she's human.. but she wasn't trying to get out of quarantine - she just wanted better conditions for her and her family..

thats what baffles me.. people so quick to judge them.. yet are moaning about our lockdown - so i wonder how ye would in with their situation!! the irony of it all.. thats the nature of the species i guess... quite sad.. not v nice!

They came from Australia, which applied exactly the same rules as we have here. A family of 5 in 2 adjoining rooms with a door is hardly much of a hardship, I found it very difficult to feel any sympathy for them, lots of people in lots of worse situations.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Clouron

It's good that some normal people have finally spoken on this thread. The utter nastiness and character assassination is toxic! Covid has turned some Irish people into absolute nutters.

Can this thread be shut down now...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭bloopy

Insane the level of vitriol for the family. It’s as if the public want them to suffer. Comparisons with direct provision and homelessness. Jesus, tactics the Catholic Church used to use to shame people.

Ironically the family came from the safest places in the world as far as covid is concerned and had a mere 45 minute layover and they’re forced to a 2 weeks quarantine at the cost of €5000.

No provision for the exercise programme the state assured would be in place for mental and physical health. No room for it either.

Meanwhile John and Mary will have been diagnosed with covid yesterday in Ireland and can come and go from their house as they please, visit the supermarket, pick up their take away coffee and pop in to the chemist for a few lemsips. So can their close contacts. No one will check that they’re quarantining and no will know

The family in the hotel are low risk. John and Mary have covid and will spread it.

Bonkers

Don't worry. Forced detention for John and Mary will be added to the list of demands soon enough.
    The ease at which some people have headed on down the authoritarian road is a little scary.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Clouron - no need for the attack on posters in the thread nor the back seat modding

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Speedline

I hope this story is read by everyone wishing to fly into Ireland. I hope they all believe your ones cribbing and moaning, and think to themselves, "I'm not putting myself through that."

It could be one of the states best tools for preventing the inward spread of coronavirus, and it didn't cost the state a penny.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Insane the level of vitriol for the family. It’s as if the public want them to suffer. Comparisons with direct provision and homelessness. Jesus, tactics the Catholic Church used to use to shame people.

No provision for the exercise programme the state assured would be in place for mental and physical health. No room for it either.

Meanwhile John and Mary will have been diagnosed with covid yesterday in Ireland and can come and go from their house as they please, visit the supermarket, pick up their take away coffee and pop in to the chemist for a few lemsips. So can their close contacts. No one will check that they’re quarantining and no will know

The family in the hotel are low risk. John and Mary have covid and will spread it.

Bonkers

The people who are cheering on the restrictions and hurling vitriolic abuse at this family are the same types of people that defended the likes of mother and baby homes and institutional paedophiles.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭NSAman

GazzaL wrote: »
    The people who are cheering on the restrictions and hurling vitriolic abuse at this family are the same types of people that defended the likes of mother and baby homes and institutional paedophiles.

And those defending her and wanting all restrictions lifted are the same ones, spreading it everywhere and screaming that hospitals are full when they get sick, and then sh1tting their pants in fright.....

See we can all make generalisations!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Some effort at a website.....

I wasn't expecting to class work but that looks like something that was cobbled together in 10 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭Northernlily

thats what baffles me.. people so quick to judge them.. yet are moaning about our lockdown - so i wonder how ye would in with their situation!! the irony of it all.. thats the nature of the species i guess... quite sad.. not v nice!

Irish friendliness is one of the biggest myths going. There is a nastiness, curtain twitching and bitterness in our society, always has been. Empathy is rare.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Irish friendliness is one of the biggest myths going. There is a nastiness, curtain twitching and bitterness in our society, always has been. Empathy is rare.

During this pandemic, I have experienced all of my neighbors out searching for the two missing girls who went missing in Galway Bay. Witnessed multiple funerals where the entire village came out and lined the road to pay respect as people couldn't go in person. People organized an outdoor scavenger hunt for kids for St. Patrick's Day. Teachers at preschool had a big party the day the school reopened to celebrate the birthdays of all the kids who had a birthday while the schools were closed. There were landlords letting to frontline workers as a priority.

I lived in the states for almost 10 years where many see empathy as weakness. I have enjoyed the empathy in Ireland.

The lady in question and the media in particular have made a balls of this story. On Saturday they were making it seem like everyone was in one room so when you find out it was actually two rooms it's as though you were lied to, which tends to make people angry.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'm curious about how long it will take before people from affected countries decide to travel via Belfast instead of Dublin and we will see hardly anyone take up these quarantine places.

Not sure that's going to work tbh

Currently the UK have the following countries on their " Red" list and If you have been in or through any of the countries listed below in the previous 10 days, you will be refused entry to the UK.

If you are a British or Irish National, or you have residence rights in the UK, you will be able to enter. You must quarantine in a government approved hotel.

Angola
    Argentina
    Bolivia
    Botswana
    Brazil
    Burundi
    Cape Verde
    Chile
    Colombia
    Democratic
    Republic of the Congo
    Ecuador
    Eswatini
    Ethiopia
    French Guiana
    Guyana
    Lesotho
    Malawi
    Mozambique
    Namibia
    Oman
    Panama
    Paraguay
    Peru
    Qatar
    Rwanda
    Seychelles
    Somalia
    South Africa
    Suriname
    Tanzania
    United Arab Emirates (UAE)
    Uruguay
    Venezuela
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

Ireland has a similar list of "Category 2 countries". Any passenger who has been in any Category 2 country in the previous 14 days, even if only transiting through one of the countries, and even if remaining airside, is legally required to quarantine at a designated facility (Mandatory Hotel Quarantine). There are very limited exemptions to this requirement.

Angola,
    Argentina,
    Austria,
    Bolivia,
    Botswana,
    Brazil,
    Burundi,
    Cape Verde,
    Chile,
    Colombia,
    Democratic Republic of the Congo,
    Ecuador,
    Eswatini,
    French Guiana,
    Guyana,
    Lesotho,
    Malawi,
    Mauritius,
    Mozambique,
    Namibia,
    Paraguay,
    Panama,
    Peru,
    Rwanda,
    Seychelles,
    South Africa,
    Suriname,
    Tanzania,
    United Arab Emirates,
    Uruguay,
    Venezuela,
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

So whether you arrive in Belfast or Dublin from any of these countries or have transited through any of them - then looks like you'll be using hotel linen.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Wompa1 wrote: »
    During this pandemic, I have experienced all of my neighbors out searching for the two missing girls who went missing in Galway Bay. Witnessed multiple funerals where the entire village came out and lined the road to pay respect as people couldn't go in person. People organized an outdoor scavenger hunt for kids for St. Patrick's Day. Teachers at preschool had a big party the day the school reopened to celebrate the birthdays of all the kids who had a birthday while the schools were closed. There were landlords letting to frontline workers as a priority.

I lived in the states for almost 10 years where many see empathy as weakness. I have enjoyed the empathy in Ireland.

The lady in question and the media in particular have made a balls of this story. On Saturday they were making it seem like everyone was in one room so when you find out it was actually two rooms it's as though you were lied to, which tends to make people angry.

Yeah for the most part Irish people are lovely and sympathetic, I wouldn't judge the everyday people from a few trolls on this site.

However They definitely played the wrong media game. Should have dressed the kids up in school uniforms doing their homework at a cramped desk. Cry as they mention they've a 5k bill yet are just ordinary Joe and Jane. Finish off with an honoury tale of how she's coming back to help the already exhausted health service and to care for her elderly parents.

I do in fact have have sympathy for them, I don't live in Ireland and want to return soon with my family, if the government put a country I'm just getting a connecting flight through on a list, I'd be raging too. People might not realize but there's a huge amount of logistics to moving a family home, lots to plan and worry about. It isn't exactly like getting a Ryanair flight to Amsterdam.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Yeah for the most part Irish people are lovely and sympathetic, I wouldn't judge the everyday people from a few trolls on this site.

However They definitely played the wrong media game. Should have dressed the kids up in school uniforms doing their homework at a cramped desk. Cry as they mention they've a 5k bill yet are just ordinary Joe and Jane. Finish off with an honoury tale of how she's coming back to help the already exhausted health service and to care for her elderly parents.

I do in fact have have sympathy for them, I don't live in Ireland and want to return soon with my family, if the government put a country I'm just getting a connecting flight through on a list, I'd be raging too. People might not realize but there's a huge amount of logistics to moving a family home, lots to plan and worry about. It isn't exactly like getting a Ryanair flight to Amsterdam.

One thing about that. That country has been on the list since January. It made sense it would be on the list for quarantine. London to Dubai was the busiest international route through December. If they could have pushed out their flights by a few weeks, it would have been grand I'd say. The UAE are flying through their vaccines.

I moved home with my family in 2019. There is a huge amount involved but also you tend to have the planning and everything buttoned up long before the departure, you have to. I brought a dog with me too. The flights are the most important part. She said herself on an Expats group on FB if she had known, she would have changed their flights to go through Doha. Sounds like she just didn't realize UAE was on the list. A costly mistake.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/arid-40253549.html

The first lad to leave MHQ was interviewed. He wasn't give pain killers for a tooth ache having had a root canal in Mexico. His was completely avoidable, he didn't have a negative PCR test with him.

We are very lucky. We are a privileged bunch.

Mean vindictive and small minded. We have an open border on one hand and harass people coming in by plane and ferry.

You're making a lot of assumptions about people you dont know. People often do that when projecting their own beliefs about what they personally would do. Just saying....

Lol.........she said it herself, they timed the flights to be back home in time for the kid's birthday. Why would she say that if they a) didn't plan on having a birthday party or b) they were going to have it online, when they could have done it online from Perth?

She 100% wanted to have the kid's birthday party with the rest of the family and this is a huge factor on her attempts to get out of quarantine. But yeah, you're right, it's me who's projecting and wants to throw a bash for all those kids I don't have :pac:

At nowhere in her video, or in news was any reference made to Auschwitz. Its offensive. Godwin's law at its best. You're trivialising one of the greatest tragedies and atrocities in human history.

You are aware of what a simile is, correct?

Also you're suggesting that quality of life, health and civil liberties.

This sentence doesn't make any sense, you're embarrassing yourself
    Why should the family, who paid €5,000, not be entitled to a bed each and a chair each? They haven't committed a crime. Even in high security prisons, where we house murderers and rapists, each prisoner has access to a bed and seating. Is there a particular reason why people in quarantine should be deprived of basic necessities? Do feel the same about people in direct provision, homeless shelters, women's refuge centres? I suspect you dont, but Im not sure given your tone.

First of all, having to temporarily share a bed with your sibling is not 'inhumane' unless you really have to stretch the definition of the word.

Secondly, not everybody needs to sit in a chair at the same time. We can't even see if her claims about the chairs is true, but 4 chairs between 5 people when you have 4 spare beds is not the end of the world, love.

Thirdly, who says they don't have enough beds? She does, then pointedly doesn't show the other room so we've nobody's word to go on, but her own. So let's take a look at her statements so far, to determine how valid her word is:

We don't have enough chairs: Impossible to tell without seeing the other room.....Unverified
    We have to leave the luggage on the floor and live out of that: There's wardrobes everywhere, anyone who's ever even seen a hotel room knows that.......Lie
    "We can't eat together, one of my daughters sat on the floor and myself and my husband sat at the table and the other two were sitting on the bed in the other room."........there's allegedly four seats and three of the five had to sit on the floor?....despite the fact there's three seats visible in the photos?.......Lie
    "There is no space so we put our delivered lunches on the floor"......before showing a big empty desk and a sideboard......anyway, thought they only had the small tables to use?.......More lies

So her word, on this matter at least, is worth diddly squat. she is a dishonest participant in the conversation and trying to make things out to be harder than they actually are. Why is she doing that? What is her goal? To be allowed to go home? What happens then when every single other Quarantina Turner starts giving it the poor mouth, or takes an action against the state for discrimination because they're not allowed home?

She wasn't forced into doing this. She chose, of her own volition, to move during a global, unprecedented pandemic. She knew what was going to happen going into this. Sure it's not as nice as being at home, but it's two weeks in one of the nicest hotels in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,025 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Meanwhile John and Mary will have been diagnosed with covid yesterday in Ireland and can come and go from their house as they please, visit the supermarket, pick up their take away coffee and pop in to the chemist for a few lemsips. So can their close contacts.

Well Faceman, if you are convinced that there are all these people who are breaking isolation at home after testing positive, then that is surely an argument for centralised quarantine facilities? No?

If you are saying that people can't be trusted, and given that most people will understand the importance of preventing new variants from entering, then it makes a very strong argument for mandatory centralised quarantine!

So which is it - you want people to be trusted to isolate at home or you are of the opinion that loads of people ignore guidelines and laws and will not isolate properly?

Well Faceman, if you are convinced that there are all these people who are breaking isolation at home after testing positive, then that is surely an argument for centralised quarantine facilities? No?

If you are saying that people can't be trusted, and given that most people will understand the importance of preventing new variants from entering, then it makes a very strong argument for mandatory centralised quarantine!

So which is it - you want people to be trusted to isolate at home or you are of the opinion that loads of people ignore guidelines and laws and will not isolate properly?

We have an open border with NI on one hand and treat people at ports like criminals.

Thia whole quarantine is tokenism. Completely nonsensical and a slavish adherence to a dogma which is unsustainable.

Pelezico wrote: »
    We have an open border with NI on one hand and treat people at ports like criminals.

Thia whole quarantine is tokenism. Completely nonsensical and a slavish adherence to a dogma which is unsustainable.

You answer it too sure. Two questions

1) Do you trust that people isolate properly at home after getting a positive test or being confirmed as a close contact?

2) Do you understand the importance of preventing new variants from being brought from outside into the country?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

You're taking all this very personally. Why is it so important to you that people in quarantine must suffer lower living conditions than everyone else?
    Lol.........she said it herself, they timed the flights to be back home in time for the kid's birthday. Why would she say that if they a) didn't plan on having a birthday party or b) they were going to have it online, when they could have done it online from Perth?

She 100% wanted to have the kid's birthday party with the rest of the family and this is a huge factor on her attempts to get out of quarantine. But yeah, you're right, it's me who's projecting and wants to throw a bash for all those kids I don't have :pac:[/quote]

Timing is irrelevant once the detention centres are in place. Should they be penalised further for not wanting to be there or because its their kid's birthday? :D:D

Again why do you want them to suffer?

You're very much projecting.
    wrote:
    You are aware of what a simile is, correct?

Auschwitz isn't a simile. Trivialising the holocaust is deplorable. I suggest you look up Abraham Foxman — a Holocaust survivor and the national director emeritus of the Anti-Defamation League (ADL) who now heads the Center for the Study of Antisemitism at New York City’s Museum of Jewish Heritage.

To quote him:

"Stay away from the Holocaust, especially if you’re ignorant about it. Trivializing the Holocaust is as dangerous as denying it"

wrote:
    This sentence doesn't make any sense, you're embarrassing yourself

Theres an error where the sentence isn't complete. Unless a reader as a low IQ they could not only see that, they could also work out what I was trying to say.

Let me know if you couldn't and I'll re-post it.
    wrote:
    First of all, having to temporarily share a bed with your sibling is not 'inhumane' unless you really have to stretch the definition of the word.

Who said it was inhumane? Why are you using that word?
    wrote:
    Secondly, not everybody needs to sit in a chair at the same time. We can't even see if her claims about the chairs is true, but 4 chairs between 5 people when you have 4 spare beds is not the end of the world, love.

I dont think its unreasonable to expect enough chairs (and beds) for everyone, particular during an enforced mandatory stay at a government sponsored facility. But dont just take my word for it, even health professionals who support MHQ have publicly said the same over the past few days.

The use of the word 'love' is sexist and being used as an insult. Unless you are someone close to me. Are you someone close to me? If not, can you explain why you are using it?
    wrote:
    Thirdly, who says they don't have enough beds? She does, then pointedly doesn't show the other room so we've nobody's word to go on, but her own. So let's take a look at her statements so far, to determine how valid her word is:

We don't have enough chairs: Impossible to tell without seeing the other room.....Unverified
    We have to leave the luggage on the floor and live out of that: There's wardrobes everywhere, anyone who's ever even seen a hotel room knows that.......Lie
    "We can't eat together, one of my daughters sat on the floor and myself and my husband sat at the table and the other two were sitting on the bed in the other room."........there's allegedly four seats and three of the five had to sit on the floor?....despite the fact there's three seats visible in the photos?.......Lie
    "There is no space so we put our delivered lunches on the floor"......before showing a big empty desk and a sideboard......anyway, thought they only had the small tables to use?.......More lies

Guilty until proven guilty right? What a load of nonsense :rolleyes:
    wrote:
    So her word, on this matter at least, is worth diddly squat. she is a dishonest participant in the conversation and trying to make things out to be harder than they actually are. Why is she doing that? What is her goal? To be allowed to go home? What happens then when every single other Quarantina Turner starts giving it the poor mouth, or takes an action against the state for discrimination because they're not allowed home?

You're against them from the start. But her voice isn't the only one complaining about he facilities as we have seen from other people staying there including the link a previous poster shared earlier today.

How many complaints and issues need to be raised before you might stop assuming people are lying and consider that there is an issue?

Who would you need to verify their claims? The Gardai? A solicitor? The local parish priest?
    wrote:
    She wasn't forced into doing this. She chose, of her own volition, to move during a global, unprecedented pandemic. She knew what was going to happen going into this. Sure it's not as nice as being at home, but it's two weeks in one of the nicest hotels in the country.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Are you a hotel critic that can show your credentials? If not I will have to assume you're lying about it being one of the nicest hotels in the country.

You’ve hit the nail on the head DT, and it’s a catch 22 really. If people can’t be trusted to quarantine after travel, the general public can’t be trusted to quarantine if they’re a diagnosed case or a close contact.

So if someone argues for MHQ, then its non-sensical for the same person not to argue for MHQ for people who are confirmed cases or close contacts.

This is why I prefer to deal in probabilities of risk than absolutes.

You’ve hit the nail on the head DT, and it’s a catch 22 really. If people can’t be trusted to quarantine after travel, the general public can’t be trusted to quarantine if they’re a diagnosed case or a close contact.

So if someone argues for MHQ, then its non-sensical for the same person not to argue for MHQ for people who are confirmed cases or close contacts.

The additional point is that those coming in could introduce a new variant. The elevates it to a new level of seriousness. That is what the MHQ for travellers is trying to do. Keep new variants out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 truth_01

Have you ever though why is Ireland the only country in the EU adopting mandatory quarantine rules following the UK suit as per usual, no other country in EU had the brains to adopt something more stupid than this. Australia (an ex British colony follows the suit, created the precedent on mandatory hotel quarantine showing the rest of the world their attitude towards migrants and in fact their own people being bullied into this scam, Closed the country simple as without regards to the fact that the world is interconnected, the fact that corona virus is here to stay most probably, I don't see the way to get rid of it completely as it is way too widespread by now... Why leading into depression, why deceiving ppl, do you all wanna be living chained up on this emerald island ? Ask yourself ?

And second point, spending 2k for the mandatory quarantine is way out of proportion, this is clear message from the government - we don't want you to travel anywhere. Ireland being multicultural society cannot lock itself from the rest of the world...

• Registered Users Posts: 2 truth_01

gozunda wrote: »
    Not sure that's going to work tbh

Currently the UK have the following countries on their " Red" list and If you have been in or through any of the countries listed below in the previous 10 days, you will be refused entry to the UK.

If you are a British or Irish National, or you have residence rights in the UK, you will be able to enter. You must quarantine in a government approved hotel.

Angola
    Argentina
    Bolivia
    Botswana
    Brazil
    Burundi
    Cape Verde
    Chile
    Colombia
    Democratic
    Republic of the Congo
    Ecuador
    Eswatini
    Ethiopia
    French Guiana
    Guyana
    Lesotho
    Malawi
    Mozambique
    Namibia
    Oman
    Panama
    Paraguay
    Peru
    Qatar
    Rwanda
    Seychelles
    Somalia
    South Africa
    Suriname
    Tanzania
    United Arab Emirates (UAE)
    Uruguay
    Venezuela
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

Ireland has a similar list of "Category 2 countries". Any passenger who has been in any Category 2 country in the previous 14 days, even if only transiting through one of the countries, and even if remaining airside, is legally required to quarantine at a designated facility (Mandatory Hotel Quarantine). There are very limited exemptions to this requirement.

Angola,
    Argentina,
    Austria,
    Bolivia,
    Botswana,
    Brazil,
    Burundi,
    Cape Verde,
    Chile,
    Colombia,
    Democratic Republic of the Congo,
    Ecuador,
    Eswatini,
    French Guiana,
    Guyana,
    Lesotho,
    Malawi,
    Mauritius,
    Mozambique,
    Namibia,
    Paraguay,
    Panama,
    Peru,
    Rwanda,
    Seychelles,
    South Africa,
    Suriname,
    Tanzania,
    United Arab Emirates,
    Uruguay,
    Venezuela,
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe

So whether you arrive in Belfast or Dublin from any of these countries or have transited through any of them - then looks like you'll be using hotel linen.

The question is why is the UK not on that list, they should have been there long time ago, it was spreading from there all this time, why do we block mostly African and South American countries when there is UK beside here with population of 80 million and pandemic out of proportion. what are the chances of someone landing and bring it from Burundi vs bring it from the UK ? UK should be in the red zone for Ireland for a long time by now to start with...

It's not completely non-sensical. There are multiple variants already and the possibility of further variants that could be more deadly is a real concern. Compliance in the general population has been high and the average number of close contacts has been low most weeks with some exceptions like when students in Galway lost the run of themselves. Also, pardon the use of the word but the study on the spread of COVID on a single flight that went viral months ago was based on a flight into Ireland.

If we were using the definition of close contact being within 2m of someone for 15 minutes or more and factor in the type of ventilation used on planes, that would put more than 3 people at high risk of infection then realistically factor in the lack of ventilation on planes when they are sitting on the tarmac the 2m rule of thumb goes out the window. It's a petri dish. People within 10-15 rows could be considered a close contact. It's a lot different than two people meeting in a garden or even in a room sitting more than 2m apart with the windows open.

There is a much larger risk of one positive case on a plane, spreading to many more people who could then spread it again and again into exponential spread like the UK variant spread.

If we have MHQ of everyone travelling in for 6 weeks and a lockdown like our first lockdown we could get down to very few cases and implement a proper containment strategy, imo. Not going to happen though, the Government doesn't have the stomach for it.