Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Net free round bales

• 25-03-2021 6:52pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone here tried using baletite film instead of netting?

https://www.silotite.com/product/baletite/

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

blue5000 wrote: »

Have never seen it in practice. It has been around for a while though and I think lads like it because you don't have to separate out the net and the plastic.

What are the recommendation for numbers of wraps on top of it? Can you save on that end of things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Have had bales made with film instead of net by a fusion. Don't know what film was used, bales won't take much abuse when being handled in wintertime. Often had film wrapped bales split in half when caught with grab. Probably due to chop length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Super job, bales last better too. Not sure about sparing wraps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

timple23 wrote: »
    Have had bales made with film instead of net by a fusion. Don't know what film was used, bales won't take much abuse when being handled in wintertime. Often had film wrapped bales split in half when caught with grab. Probably due to chop length.

I think they're a euro more a bale too ?
    As well as the machine applying it costing 10 grand more.
    If memory serves me right.
    I dont see the advantages of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

What ever happened to the edible bale net that the youngsters had one year at the annual science fare in Dublin. Remember seen it and thinking it would take off. You just remove the wrap and drop the bale at that barrier to be eaten

Was something like this

https://www.paulickreport.com/horse-care-category/edible-bale-wrap-will-reduce-wasted-hay/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

We get baled here ever year with film on the fusion 3 plus ... and we think it's a great job!! Better bales .. less wastage!! Film seems to go into chamber very tense and wraps around the bale very tight which I like!! Also getting rid of the all plastic bales is less hassle too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

Mixed reports. Have heard of lads swearing by it, have also heard of contractors regretting paying the extra for the Fusion Plus for the want of interest in plastic netting from customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭trabpc

At 1 eur extra it adds to cost. At 400 Bales a year it's alot extra with beef prices they way they are.... I can do without it.

I find when feeding if stripping a bale and bale collapses as some do, before u get inner plastic layer off it becomes trapped and you can't pull it as it will snap off and your left with plastic stuck trapped in bale at barrier.

Neighbor had same issue too and also gone back to net wrap.

At least with net wrap it has more strength and if the net wrap becomes trapped it will pull out and not snap like the other stuff. I Went back to netting last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Reggie. wrote: »
    What ever happened to the edible bale net that the youngsters had one year at the annual science fare in Dublin. Remember seen it and thinking it would take off. You just remove the wrap and drop the bale at that barrier to be eaten

Was something like this

https://www.paulickreport.com/horse-care-category/edible-bale-wrap-will-reduce-wasted-hay/
    Don't know what happened to it.

But if it's edible. It's edible to microbes and thus means the moment you take that wrap out of the box it's there to be devoured by biology.
    Even storing the wrap in the box in unsuitable conditions could leave you with a box of gunk.

Char manufacturers in the UK with char infused with microbes had to change their paper packaging as the bags were lasting no length and breaking apart due to the biology from the char munching on the bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

rs8 wrote: »
    We get baled here ever year with film on the fusion 3 plus ... and we think it's a great job!! Better bales .. less wastage!! Film seems to go into chamber very tense and wraps around the bale very tight which I like!! Also getting rid of the all plastic bales is less hassle too!!
    Will agree on it being very tight on the bale. Contractor had 2 fusions in a field during the summer. One new and the other a year old. Marked difference in bale size barrel wrap were a bit smaller. Not pushed on either but saw a small difference in very dry silage being a bit better with the barrel wrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Last year (2020) was the 1st year we used it.
    E1 a bale more expensive but no need for the extra wrap so it works out more or less the same.
    1st thing notable was the bales took more abuse or handling without tearing.
    Stood up well over the winter and came out of the bale good , very little waste.
    All in all very happy and don't intend going back to net wrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Last year (2020) was the 1st year we used it.
    E1 a bale more expensive but no need for the extra wrap so it works out more or less the same.
    1st thing notable was the bales took more abuse or handling without tearing.
    Stood up well over the winter and came out of the bale good , very little waste.
    All in all very happy and don't intend going back to net wrap.

Would the €1 for barrel wrap go far to paying for an extra layer of plastic instead - is there much difference in amount of bales you get out of a roll of plastic at 4 vs 5 vs 6 layers ?

Think usually a roll does about 30 bales here

Sami23 wrote: »
    Would the €1 for barrel wrap go far to paying for an extra layer of plastic instead - is there much difference in amount of bales you get out of a roll of plastic at 4 vs 5 vs 6 layers ?

Think usually a roll does about 30 bales here

In short I don't know. But 30 bales/roll seems optimistic.
    I suppose the reason I don't know is that when the baler comes we'd have several bits of rolls that would be used so there's always some form of confusion. But now that you ask maybe I'll try get a better handle on it!

In short I don't know. But 30 bales/roll seems optimistic.
    I suppose the reason I don't know is that when the baler comes we'd have several bits of rolls that would be used so there's always some form of confusion. But now that you ask maybe I'll try get a better handle on it!

I know the feeling of those bits of rolls around the place alright. It would be so much handier if the baler men just supplied the plastic but I suppose its too much of an expense for them even though there are some around here that still do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

One of the contractors we use has a Fusion 3. We got one of those bale shears this winter and they are a gift to feed out with it.... the wraps come off perfect 95% of the time. Also feed some net wrapped bales but there's often a half a turn of net left behind on the silage .... I know, how bad....

Happy with the barrel wrap, good solid bales and less waste /damage compared to net wrapped bales I would say. Not sure of the cost differential, €1 perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Fusion 3 plus uses its only special type plastic wrap where as the Kuhn 3d uses 2x standard rolls of silage wrap

This years silage (2020) was my own first year baling and wrapping for myself. I was putting on 2 rotations of net on a bale and wrapped it 16 times.

2019 silage (Contractor) he put about 1.25 rotations of net on the bale and 16 wraps of plastic . Big difference in how the bales held there shape with the same handling

Do many of ye put on more than the 16 layers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

From talking to the lads it's not as user friendly from the contractors perspective and your out and in more often... aside from the additional machine buying cost

Sami23 wrote: »
    Do many of ye put on more than the 16 layers

Do you mean 4 layers?

Everything here is 6 layers the last decade or so. Used to do 4 layers before that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Do you mean 4 layers?

Everything here is 6 layers the last decade or so. Used to do 4 layers before that

How much extra do you have to pay for 6 layers instead of 4?

Do you mean 4 layers?

Sorry yes 4 layers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Bought a few bales that are all plastic wrapped and they are a disaster. Silage is wet and they just fall apart either using a grab or bale lifter. I suppose if the grass is really dry going into them and you only handle them twice they might be ok. Bad and all as taking net off a bale is, forking silage out of a collapsed bale to get it to a feed passage is worse. I don't want to see another one here anyway.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

tanko wrote: »

wrapping cost is the same

Your getting 20 bales per roll at 6 layer (24 revolutions) where 30 bales per roll at 4 layer (16 revolutions)

Haylage the only thing here I wrap at 24 because im getting €30 a bale

Bought a few bales that are all plastic wrapped and they are a disaster. Silage is wet and they just fall apart either using a grab or bale lifter. I suppose if the grass is really dry going into them and you only handle them twice they might be ok. Bad and all as taking net off a bale is, forking silage out of a collapsed bale to get it to a feed passage is worse. I don't want to see another one here anyway.

I'd be thinking if it goes in wet , its gonna come out wet .
    You may drop them where you want them before you take the plastic off. Wet bales are a hoor for splitting.

tanko wrote: »

50% more for 50% more extra plastic :-)

It takes a bit more time to wrap them as well I suppose. So time and diesel. I don't know whether lads charge more to wrap the extra. We only really do our own here, but whenever we used to do small bits for others, the charge would be the same for the wrapping. Lads would supply their own wrap though